Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 152 reviews
Ideal Protein

Ideal Protein Review: Does it Work?

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
What is it?

Ideal Protein is a weight loss meal replacement made to be used alongside a comprehensive diet and lifestyle change. These shakes are available in 3 flavors that include vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry.

It’s a low carbohydrate drink that’s meant to trigger faster weight loss results than the competition. The makers of the shake claim that all forms of carbohydrates prevent the fat burning process, that’s why each shake offers around 18 grams of protein, and roughly 6 grams of net carbohydrates. There’s also a low 110 calories, alongside an average of 4 grams of sugar. Is this this meal replacement truly an effective weight loss solution? What have customers experienced with this shake? You’ll learn everything needed to make an informed decision on Ideal Protein in this full review. To see what the top 10 shakes are, you can click here.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

Ideal Protein Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are the ingredients to their chocolate flavor:

Milk Protein Concentrate

Cocoa Powder Processed with Alkali

Skim Milk

Whey Protein Isolate

Natural and Artificial Flavor




Sodium Caseinate

Sea Salt

Xanthan Gum


Acesulfame Potassium

Silicon Dioxide


Milk Protein Concentrate: Typically made from skim milk, this processed form of milk protein is spray dried and added as a cheaper alternative to other protein sources.

This ingredient is now largely imported from different countries. According to the Food and Water Watch organization, there’s a lack of safety from imported milk protein concentrate:

“hard to imagine how regulatory agencies manage to keep track”

“MPC’S are largely unregulated”

They also mention that similar kinds of protein were imported from China, and that they contained contaminated dairy which was added to baby formula. It contained high levels of melamine, which is known to cause liver damage and other side effects.

This ingredient is added to help make the protein content seem much more than it truly is.

Cocoa Powder Processed with Alkali: A treated form of crushed cocoa bean which when alkalized reduces much of the antioxidants.

Due to the natural stimulants found within, it may produce unwanted side effects that include:

  • Rapid heart rate.
  • Insomnia.
  • Restlessness.

This ingredient can contain levels of caffeine, and due to the way it’s processed; it’s not as nutrient rich as pure cocoa powder.

Sugar: Simple carbohydrate with no nutritional value, it’s only added to provide a pleasant taste to foods.

It can be extracted from many different foods such as sugar beet and sugar cane.

In its unrefined form it may produce several unwanted side effects:

  • Increased risk of cardiovascular disease.
  • Increased risk for obesity.
  • Addiction that can lead to mood swings and flu like symptoms.
  • Tooth decay.

A study published in the New England Journal of Medicine adds:

“sugar is associated with (being) overweight, possibly because liquid sugars do not lead to a sense of satiety”

So it’s possible to eat lots of sugar and still not be satisfied.

Carrageenan: A thickener and stabilizer found in many processed foods.

Juntendo University performed a study by giving this ingredient to mice. The findings revealed toxic effects:

“carrageenan is carcinogenic to the colorectum of the rat”

This study showed an increase in tumors in once health rats.  Another study was also performed on rats, this time by the Laboratoire de Securite des Aliments:

“promotes the growth of aberrant crypt foci in the rat colon”

This means it created abnormalities in the colon and rectum. This can potentially lead to cancer.  Therefore, both studies confirmed cancerous side effects.

Xanthan Gum: Thickener made from a mixture of a sugar and bacteria.  It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat, corn, and soy. It may also lead to unwanted side effects that include:

  • Loose and frequent stools.
  • Diarrhea.
  • Bloating, nausea, gas, and stomach problems.

Sucralose: Artificial sweetener that’s commonly sold as its bran d name Splenda. It’s up to 1,000 times sweeter than sucrose.

Studies have shown it can lead to potential side effects. One study by the Hachinohe National College of Technology showed that sucralose:

“induced DNA damage in gastrointestinal organs”

Another study by the Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health adds how it:

“exerted numerous adverse effects”

“Alters Gut Microflora and Increases Intestinal P-Glycoprotein and Cytochrome P-450

The effect on reducing gut bacteria may cause damage to the immune system. Also, P-Glycoprotein is only released by the body when a potential toxin might cause damage. So according to this study, the body treats sucralose as a toxic ingredient.

You can discover the best shake brands for weight loss by clicking here.

Acesulfame Potassium: Artificial sweetener that is calorie-free and around 200 times sweeter than sucrose.

Studies have shown it to potentially cause side effects.

One such study was added to a journal in the Hormone and Metabolic Research Journal:

“can also induce insulin secretion”

So though it’s intended to not have an effect on blood sugar, it still causes an increase which can make hunger reduction harder.

Another study by PLOS One found:

“could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

So it can be eaten in large amounts and not effect hunger levels, this can potentially increase the risk for obesity.

Ideal Protein Quality Of Ingredients

Finding the ingredients to this shake was difficult, and after discovering what was added it became clear why.

There are artificial sweeteners, artificial flavors, potentially damaging thickeners, and many cheap forms of protein.

Though there’s a lot of protein provided with the chocolate having 18 grams, it’s made up of milk protein concentrate and sodium caseinate. Both of these are poor in comparison to the unknown quantities of whey protein, which is also added to this shake.

They also fail to mention what the amino acid content is. When choosing a protein rich shake it’s important to know if there’s a well-balanced amount of amino acids, since it’s what gives the body nourishment to function properly. The quality of ingredients is very poor for the price paid.

They also fail to properly describe what makes their meal replacements stand out. Many of the ingredients are common to other standard shakes. There’s nothing unique in this shake that would make it stand out from the competition. For shakes in the top 10 list click here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven meal replacement such as 18Shake for better results.

The Price and Quality of Ideal Protein

You’re not allowed the opportunity to buy the meal replacements on their own, so you have to pay for overall weight loss support from one of their diet centers. This includes paying for pre-packaged meals which can be extremely costly.

There are also different diet phases which range in cost. Here’s what some customers have experienced in terms of price:

“$85.00 per week; or $500 for Phase 1”

“$60.00 per week; or $120 for Phase 2”

“$30.00 per week; or $60 for Phase 3”

“Around $700 for 10 weeks; or average $70 per week”

So the price for this can vary depending on what one’s individual demands are. It’s fairly expensive for what you’re getting.

The meal replacements offered are not very good quality, since they’re full of artificial ingredients and cheap protein. There’s not enough here to satisfy as a proper meal replacement. Many of the ingredients have been shown in clinical studies to lead to metabolism disorders and weight gain.

There are cheap processed ingredients that make up the bulk of these shakes. For alternative brands that made the top 10 list click here.

Business of Ideal Protein

The Ideal Protein brand is owned by Laboratoires C.O.P. INC. They can be reached through the following contact detail.

Phone Number: (819) 772-4447

Address: 60 Jean-Proulx

                   Gatineau Qc J8Z 1W1

Email: cainfo@idealprotein.com

There’s no outstanding complaints filed against the company, though information about their customer service support is nonexistent.

No information is available about whether or not they offer a money back return policy.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results with meal replacement shakes diet our experts recommend to use it at least 5 months. Save your money buying a few bags of meal replacement product.

Customer Opinions of Ideal Protein

Reviews on this are scattered online. Here’s what a few customers have experienced:

“it’s not real food”

“They all lost weight and then they gained it back, plus more”

“way too hard for me”

“I had very little energy”

People who tried this meal replacement often complained that it left them without energy, and that they couldn’t think straight due to the low carbohydrate and lack of appetite suppression.

Conclusion - Does Ideal Protein Work?

Ideal Protein has an interesting website that claims to offer the ideal weight loss solution. Though before you decide on whether or not this is right for you, it’s important to look at the quality of their meal replacements. Their shakes are loaded with artificial sugars, mostly cheap protein sources, and they make it hard to know anything about what these shakes have to offer.

The better solution would be an all-natural, filler free, and nutritionally well-rounded shake. The 2016 best meal replacement is out in the form of 18Shake.

This shake is fully explained in detail as to what benefits it has to offer. Customers have also left testimonials showing how effective their weight loss effects were. Best of all, this shake has high quality whey protein, good fiber for appetite suppression, and you can read the full amino acid profile, of which there’s a lot of.

118Shake is even supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. To learn more about 18 shake click here.

How Does Ideal Protein Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 8, 149 total comments)

Julie thomas

I have been on ip protine it worked great lost fast went off gained 20 back decided to go. On it again first week 3 pounds next two weeks nothing have done every thing right measured water what's going on I want to cry is this not for me please help

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:26 pm



Combined Super HD Fat burning Capsule with my ideal pro town Diet Just started this diet today, was the hardest tiring nauseated day , But also a mixed feeling of just amazing!! The feeling to be able to have self control and knowing I don't have any unneccessery processed foods and sugar in me feels excellent !! My question is I used to take cellulosis super HD fat sculpting capsule once a day and want to know if it's safe to continue with this diet, I feel it will work so much better but don't want a reverse effect or any health issue. Please let me know only if you are sure, I read some where the combination of a fat burner with IP is great ! Thank

posted Jan 17th, 2016 4:36 am



The structure was very helpful for me. The education has helped me keep the weight off. I love the 4 phases. My coach was amazing. Also, I like that it is based in real science and provided by an actual healthcare provider.

posted Jan 15th, 2016 7:12 pm



I am in my 40's and have always struggled with my weight. I would manage to lose 20lbs here and there but gained back 40lb. When I saw a co worker melting away I had to ask what was going on. She introduced me to Ideal Protein and I knew this was my last shot at finding something that was going to work for me. I started on June 9th, 2015 and today I am proud to say I have lost 75lbs!!! It was a lot of self control, but my weight coach always made it fun and found me different recipes that I can make and I never felt like I was missing out! In fact, this program was a HUGE eye opener of how badly I used to eat. I have not been this small since way way before I got married and had kids. I am so glad I made this commitment and I will never eat the same again!

posted Jan 14th, 2016 6:49 pm

Susan Grim


I just started this week and lost 7 lbs! It was fun and not hard. Lookiing forward to the 3-4 lbs a week. No Cheating is my goal!

posted Jan 8th, 2016 3:09 pm



Lost 25 pounds in 2 months and learned how to keep it off! Great program that everyone should try!

posted Jan 6th, 2016 2:24 pm



It is an extremely effective diet but there is in misinformation in the description. The low calorie allowance launches a very powerful metabolic response that is safe, is a natural appetite suppressant (which is why people report not being hungry after the first week or days) so it is not as if you were starving your way through it. Your fat stores contribute a lot of calories so you are living off of those, the reduction in exercise is to prevent high intensity aerobics but walking and yoga are fine.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 7:00 pm



The center piece of the diet, and the part that leads to life long good health habits, is consuming four cups of selected vegetables and 8 oz of lean protein each and every day. The IP products are for supplementing protein intake while in ketosis. Although tasty, they are by no means the entire focus of the plan. The gradual reintroduction of dairy, grains and fruits in the one month phase off leads to a solid, long term eating plan that will promote health and keep the weight from returning.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 6:50 pm



First diet in 20 years that actually WORKS! Zero exercise, great protein products to choose from, and best of all .... belly bulge is gone along with back fat and muffin top!!! This is every women's best friend! (back pain, skin condition, and digestion issues I was having have gone away as well.) This is more than just a diet - IT'S LIFE CHANGING. Oh and did I say the chocolate drink mix is AMAZING!! (drinks, protein bars, chips, pasta, soup, pancakes, oatmeal, omelets, puddings, brownies.... oh my the options are endless)
Thank you Ideal Protein

posted Jan 5th, 2016 5:45 pm



First Diet in 20 years that has worked for me!!! The products are AMAZING and there is so much variety.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 5:28 pm



Ideal was the best thing I ever did for my health. Correction on your comments. You don't eat prepackaged meals, you supplement with three of their protein per day. So example I would pick a soup but then add shrimp to it. You learn what you should eat to lose weight. Once you're in ketosis (takes 3 days) you shouldn't be hungry. I wasn't. Got to my goal weight in 5-months.

posted Jan 5th, 2016 3:18 pm


I love this program and have been able to maintain my 37lb. weight loss for the past year. I am past menopause and didn't think my body would respond to any diet very well, but after setting out to lose 15 lbs. I was amazed to learn that Ideal Protein did indeed work very well for me. I am healthier than I've been in years, and my doctor was amazed at my bloodwork. The losing phase of the program is very restrictive, but by eliminating the carbs you are also eliminating the cravings that we all have. The continued education throughout the program becomes very motivational and helps keeps us focused on the end result - overall better health! Like any diet, if we return to our old bad eating habits after losing the weight, we will regain. The education on maintenance is quite a different strategy from other programs and makes it easy to eat "normally" and yet healthy. I'm thrilled that Ideal Protein came into my life and my husband's as well.

posted Jan 2nd, 2016 6:11 pm


Works quickly as long as you follow the plan exactly.

posted Jan 1st, 2016 2:34 pm


This is the only thing that worked for me after years of futile attempts. It's easy to stay motivated because if you follow the rules you lose weight steadily. It is strict but that makes it easier to follow - it's not complicated. The IP food can be awful but there is a wide enough variety to please most people and once you find 8-10 foods you like you'll be fine.

I will say if you plan on going back to your old bad food habits don't spend the money - you will regain. If you are looking for a reset and plan to eat healthily this is a good option.

posted Dec 31st, 2015 11:40 am


This is the best way to lose weight and get your blood sugar back to the way it should be. I lost 40 lbs., learned about nutrition and how to cook nutritionally sound meals that taste good!

posted Dec 30th, 2015 6:16 am

Adriana Ellis

JUST ANOTHER FAD DIET THAT DOESN'T WORK. This is just the latest diet that works. Newsflash people - All Diets Work. But can you stick with that diet for life to keep the weight off - or do you lose the weight, then go back to eating normal and gain all the weight back with some extra to boot.

Mindful Eating or Intuitive Eating is the way to go. Yes it is a slower process, you are not going to drop 5 dress sizes in 5 weeks. BUT you will slowly be able to make normal, but better choices about food. You will begin to lose weight and keep it off - FOREVER!!!! This is because you learn how to eat without over-eating or binge eating, etc.

Please stop looking for the miracle diet - it breaks my heart to see people repeat diet after diet, thinking maybe this is the diet that will work and keep the weight off. Diets are all to restrictive and most people are not able to live with the food restriction for an extended period of time.

What would you prefer. Lose 50 lbs in 5 weeks, but gain back 60 lbs within the year following the diet. OR, lose more slowly but you do not gain the weight back. Which do think is better for your body? The up and down weight... or consistent weight loss.

It is a known fact that dieting messes up people's metabolism which makes it harder and harder to lose weight. Every time a person 'diets' they are doing further damage to their metabolism and then making it harder to lose weight on the next diet. Mindful Eating is not a diet and therefore does not mess with your metabolism. Does not make it harder to lose weight.

Why can I talk about Mindful Eating so confidently. Because that is how I keep from gaining weight, and because I am a Certified Weight Loss Coach, I have been exposed to many people who have lost weight and keep it off with learning how to eat mindfully.

Stop and ask yourself..... do you really want to try another diet?

posted Dec 30th, 2015 1:24 am


I had great results, 50 lbs in 5 months and I have kept it off since August !! It is strict but surprisingly easy to stick to it. I've tried a million diets and lost the same 18 -20 lbs over and over. Ideal protein gave me the power to get where I wanted to be !!!

posted Dec 29th, 2015 11:52 pm


I lost 20# on this diet, then was a coach under the doctor for 2 years helping clients reach their weight loss goals. It was so rewarding watching people change their lives to unproductive & to full of life and vigor. I saw many people lost 20# to over 100#.
After my weight loss, 5 years ago, I continue to eat clean and live a whole food, organic lifestyle and haven't had as much as a cold in 5 years. I stay under the care of a functional doctor.

posted Dec 29th, 2015 10:07 pm

Gail Warner DC

As a doctor who wanted the best for my patients I chose this diet over all others. It is scientific and gets fabulous results! My patients have lost over 2000 # and kept them off while not losing lean muscle mass.

posted Dec 29th, 2015 4:20 pm

Thomas Evans

I lost 90 lbs on this diet. Been maintaining for 8 months.

posted Dec 29th, 2015 11:56 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers rapid weight loss while sparing lean muscle mass. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss. Ideal protein is not a high protein diet.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Calorie count is between 1,000-1,100 calories per day

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.


The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick to the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, Atkins Advantage, Sugar Busters!

Whats better than
Ideal Protein?