Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 47 reviews

Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers weight loss of three to seven pounds per week. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Women can expect to lose three to four pounds per week while men can lose four to seven pounds per week on this program. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

PRO
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
CON
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Diet is less than 1,000 calories each day
DIET and NUTRITION

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. This diet is high in protein overall. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol
EXERCISE

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.

CONCLUSION

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick t the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method


Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, Sugar Busters!


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 48 total comments)

cliff

I started the IP program on Oct. 27,and have lost 71 pounds. Follow the protocol exactly and the weight will fall off. No cheating and you will be rewarded. Gotta go buy new clothes.

posted Feb 10th, 2013 10:14 pm


Disappointed

What a horrible diet! As well as the most expensive only to eat powders and chocolate bars. Full of artificial sweeteners that are very unhealthy! Stay away...

posted Jan 31st, 2013 9:57 am


llpearson18

what proteins compare to the ideal protein packets? which ordinary proteins, like egg whites or cottage cheese, compare to the IP packets?

posted Jan 10th, 2013 4:12 am


Stephanie

I have been on the diet for almost a month and have lost 15 lbs!!! The diet was difficult at first, headaches for the first three days, which was expected for weaning off the sugars and carbs. After that it has been quite easy, even being able to go out with friends to restaurant, I just would check the menu first and restaurants are always willing I found to give out double veggies rather than fries or other starches. I expect to be on the diet for another 2 months or so, and I am feeling great. Sometimes I do get cravings but I just power through them, and look at my wedding dress that I want to look gorgeous in on my wedding day!! Find your motivation and the diet is only a few short months out of the rest of your life!!

posted Jan 5th, 2013 8:23 pm


Sue

This is the easiest diet I have ever done!!! Down 18 pounds in 8 weeks and I wasn't fat I was slim but want to go slimmer started at 131 down to 113 I feel wonderfull!! And by cutting alccol it is not more expensive then what you already spend on food alcool and restaurant.. no craving and don't feel like having a drink ever again... feel so good! I totally recommend this diet much more easier than ww or cookie diet good luck!

posted Dec 6th, 2012 7:59 pm


diane

i am 50-50 on what i think of the diet. I was put on this diet to bring down the inflammation in my system. It seems reading what others are able to eat, i am on a more restrictive diet. I started at 156, and am down to 143 at the end of 7 weeks. Before starting this diet, i was already on a restricted sciliac diet, in which i never lost one pound for over a year ... no sugar, no gluten etc. This is the first diet, since being ill, that i've been able to lose any weight. I was told by my doctor that when the body is inflammed and/or has toxicity levels, the body will not want to release the infected fat cells. He also informed me that if i was not ill, i would be losing 3+ lbs a week. For those of you that are not losing weight "fast enough" and are not cheating, you may want to talk to your doctor. It is not your fault ... the weight just drops off much slower.

My complaint about the diet, since i'm only allowed to eat 1 real meal a day + 3 IP products, i feel like i'm going neurotic about the food that I am not allowed to eat, and what my family eats around me. I am not talking about junk food - my nutritionist said I was eating a perfect diet .... but the idea that i cannot even have real oatmeal, or 2 eggs for breakfast, that i need to replace my chicken breast for lunch with a shake, makes me extremely cranky ... i take all of the supplements without fail, but have never adjusted to the excessive drop in my energy level. I'm restricted from having hummus, carrots, squash .... i'm trying to find the logic of why i have to remove them from my eating ... has anyone become overly possessive about their "real food" in the refrigerator? I have never been this way in my life - if someone takes a bite of my 1 real meal of the day, I go into "freak-out" mode.

More later.

posted Jul 13th, 2012 2:11 am


skinnychicnot

I am a 145lbs, up 20lbs in the last 15 years. I have developed a hypothyroidism and gastritis. My inability to eat high fiber foods eliminates a lot of fruits and veg's. I went on IP 4 weeks ago and I have to say it is by far the worst diet I have ever been on. I did loose about 2lbs a week but at what cost. I have been in constant pain and I do not have my period. I can not believe this is considered healthy? Its hard for me to believe that these are all genuine users writing this review if they are saying it is easy. It is by far the easiest diet. You can not go out with family for a meal. I am off the dies and will continue to loose 2lbs a week but by exercising, eating normal everyday healthy nutritious food

posted Jul 9th, 2012 12:07 am


Zahra

How can I maximize my weight loss? One pound is not motivating. I lost about 6 pOunds at my first week and today I went for check up at my second week I lost only 1 pound . I was sad coz I didnt cheat but I told them that I skipped 2 dinners during my second week including 2 ideal meal .. I will start my 3rd week tomorrow what can I do to maximize my lost I want to cry .. ;( I liked the snack that's why it's easier than other diets

posted Jun 30th, 2012 11:15 pm


Sandy

Today was the end of the 9th week for me on this plan and I am thrilled to report a 35 lb weight loss as well as a 30 inch loss. I am a vegetarian and have found this diet to be the easiest (and I've tried several). It is scientifically based and balanced. Once you understand how it affects your metabolism, it's easier to stick to even in the midst of others around you who are eating pizza and drinking beer! Another huge benefit for me is that my knees don't hurt (I have osteoarthritis) and I can only attribute it to the fact that they are now bearing so much less weight. I have no trouble recommending this plan to anyone who is serious and committed to better health - nothing tastes better than slim and healthy feels!

posted Jun 15th, 2012 9:39 pm


Simone

Love the Ideal Protein Diet. It's easy to do and I lost 30lbs. Haven't put the weight back on in over a year. I only felt hungry the first couple of days and then I was always full. For the people that say it's expensive, I was spending at least that much a week on fast food, processed food, drinks and restaurants. Once I cut out all the soda, my grocery bill actually was cheaper and I feel great!

posted Jun 6th, 2012 6:56 pm


LAN

I started this diet September 23, 2011 and I have lost 68 pounds. It is the easiest diet I have ever done. I have reached my goal weight and I never had a week that I did not lose weight.You do eat 4 cups of vegetables each day and all of the salad you want.If you follow all four phases you learn how to ad foods back and keep the weight off. I would recommend this diet to anyone who has tried every other diet out there. I know I tried them all and none worked like this for me.

posted May 22nd, 2012 2:32 am


LAN

I started this diet September 23, 2011 and I have lost 68 pounds. It is the easiest diet I have ever done. I have reached my goal weight and I never had a week that I did not lose weight.You do eat 4 cups of vegetables each day and all of the salad you want.If you follow all four phases you learn how to ad foods back and keep the weight off. I would recommend this diet to anyone who has tried every other diet out there. I know tried them all and none worked like this for me.

posted May 22nd, 2012 2:30 am


ginnyla

This is a four phase protocol and if you follow program through the four phases your chances for continued sucess are much greater. Of course your sucess as always depends on you and how you make the needed changes to your lifestyle. There is no program that is going to magically fix your weight, you have to continue to work at it. It is a great diet and it DOES work!

posted Apr 24th, 2012 6:49 pm


Ginny Latham

This diet is a four phase protocol and if you follow it through all four phases, your chances of maintaining your weight loss are significantly higher than most other diets. Of course your continued sucess depends on you as with any weight loss program. It is a great diet and it DOES work!

posted Apr 24th, 2012 6:39 pm


car

someone have a secundary effects at the moment to use this program?

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 6:22 pm


KAT

I lost 30# in 13 weeks almost 3 yrs ago. Maintained wt loss for 9mths, and then MY fault I derailed on sugar, then shrugged and ate whatever. Shame on me, back on program because I know it works. You can enroll on line and order directly from them

posted Apr 10th, 2012 4:29 pm


Hartha

Easy to do. I am in my second week. I began to experience this subtle but serious feeling of well being on day 3 and I get it ever morning now about an hour after I eat their pudding for breakfast. Worth the expense, to me. Of course YMMV...

posted Apr 1st, 2012 5:37 pm


Ann

I am mid way thru my fifth week and I went from 250.2 lbs to 223.8 lbs... It is easy to do. I cheated here and there till now, this week I am back on track and won't cheat at all. My daughter is getting married in 15 weeks and I want to be 185 lbs... that's 2.5 lbs a week... I know I can do it!!

posted Mar 25th, 2012 3:28 pm


Denise

I started the diet October 2010 and by April 2011 I had lost 80lbs. It was easy to follow. Currently, I have gained back 10lbs (on purpose) due to the loose skin from the rapid loss left me looking "older" & fielding questions about my health. I want to lose 20lbs more and will restart diet in a month. I gave myself a year to allow my body to get used to the transformation. You have to have the right mindset for any diet to work. This diet came along at the right time when I had the right mindset & I was successful.

posted Mar 24th, 2012 12:58 am


Victoria

I have been on this diet twice,the first few weeks you lose weight, but then you plataeu and what more can you cut out. It is very expensive around $90.00 a week. After you stop you do put the weight back on.

posted Mar 21st, 2012 11:52 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account