| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 128 reviews

Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers weight loss of three to seven pounds per week. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Women can expect to lose three to four pounds per week while men can lose four to seven pounds per week on this program. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Diet is less than 1,000 calories each day

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. This diet is high in protein overall. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.


The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick t the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method

Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, Sugar Busters!

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 6, 105 total comments)


The plan works. But like any other challenge in life, The main component is YOUR DETERMINATION. If you do the work the plan will work for you. I'm 6 weeks in and lost 21 lbs. It has not been perfect but I haven't given up and it's good to be on a plan that helps you to live a healthier lifestyle and not just to lose weight temporarily. My coaches have been very supportive and were my saving grace and have helped me not to give up. I've tried other methods of losing weight but I love Ideal Protein! I'm more disciplined and I'm back in the kitchen cooking and I feel healthier and the reward is shredding unwanted pounds.

posted Jun 7th, 2015 3:38 pm


I've lost 40 lbs from 4/13/15 to 6/5/15, about 5 1/2 lbs a week. Ideal Protein diet works for me.

posted Jun 6th, 2015 1:53 am


It is a bit expensive and hard to find competent coaches that really are there to help.

posted Jun 3rd, 2015 11:01 pm


I have been on the ideal protein diet for one week. I lost 7 pounds so far. I followed it perfectly.
1- You have weekly follow ups with your coach; you know how much fat you've lost, your body composition, the inches you lost also.
2- Chocolate Wafers, all soy puffs and chocolate chip pancakes are really good, also the bbq chips.
3- You will feel tired, that's inevitable but it's nothing you can't handle.

posted Jun 1st, 2015 11:04 pm


I'm in 3rd week and have lost 18 lbs. it isn't too hard, goal is 40 lbs. I struggled a few days with light headless, but otherwise not too bad. Some say it's tough, it hasn't been too bad for me. First diet I've been on that actually works. Well worth the minor/temporary suffering.

posted Jun 1st, 2015 9:51 pm


Lost 18 lbs in first 3 weeks, and it isn't too hard. Not too hungry. Very doable.

posted Jun 1st, 2015 9:42 pm


60 y/o male, 202 lbs, BP 150/90. Started program little over one week ago and lost 7 lbs first week. Feel very good about that. Goal to lose 25 lbs, maybe more. Woke up one night and felt the fat burning/ketosis, which I had never felt before (non-painful, just a sensation). Catalyst to my motivation: highest ever weight and highest BP for me; soul-searching. Doctor had this program posted on his wall. I believe in these kind of things. I signed up right away. Men are especially at need of this b/c of the way we store fats (belly) unlike women who store in more healthy ways by nature. High BP may not be seen in overweight women (my opinion) like is seen in men. Reduce weight and you reduce BP, double benefit.

posted May 30th, 2015 10:39 pm

Pat Moriarty

I made the big decision to try the ideal protein program and I do beleive that you have to be in the right mind set. I have always struggled with my weight, and what I found shocking was the explanation of how the program worked and in the end explained why I all my efforts previously did not work. The education part is a bonus, and the coaching videos keep you focused. I am consider this as an investment in myself as I feel I am worth it and I beleive you are also.

posted May 21st, 2015 4:15 pm


Not for everyone. Lost 20lbs over 3mos leading up to my wedding which was great! My colleagues lost 36+lbs in same timeframe. Stuck to the diet, bought the expensive engineered food. Staff were rude, telling me I was doing something wrong that I did not lose the weight as fast as others. Passed out in 1st week, BP dropped. Achy muscles noted throughout. After wedding I decided to try it again to lose another 20lbs. Painful to lift arms, weak, sluggish energy, muscle mass lost in shoulders, biceps, triceps, scapula(extremely painful), glutes, thighs and small hernia right groin. Staff rude and once again telling me I was doing something wrong not to lose the weight. Lost only 6lbs in 2nd 3mos which appeared to be muscle wasting. I stopped diet in December 2014 but still experiencing painful weak triceps, shoulders, scapula. All the best.

posted May 21st, 2015 3:44 am


About how much does IP cost? About how much does IP cost monthly?

posted May 19th, 2015 9:36 pm


This is my second time on the program. I am a woman, age 43, 5'2" and started at 165 lbs (size 10/12) the first time. I lost 40 pounds in 6 months, going down to 125 lbs and a size 4/6, and I kept it off for two years. Then life happened and, during a time of extreme stress, I stopped taking care of myself. As a result, I slowly but surely gained 30 pounds. So I am back on it and have lost 13 pounds in 4 weeks, with a 30 pound total goal. Pros: it is easy to follow. Cons: I HATE the lunch options (soups, etc.) which limits my choices. I do like the shakes, the BBQ chips, the crispy cereal, and I use the southwest cheese puffs as croutons for my salad. The oatmeal and some of the bars are OK, and the raspberry chocolate bar is really good (but high in calories.) It also requires a good investment of time to plan and prepare meals. One word of advice: thy to vary your dinners, or you will plateau. I was eating grilled chicken and salad just about every night and my progress nearly stopped for almost two weeks. Mixing up my diet put me right back into weight loss mode.

posted May 19th, 2015 6:17 pm


Long term studies? Is there any long term data that supports its effectiveness over time? What % of people keep the lost weight off over a year?

posted May 5th, 2015 2:51 am


It's not easy, but it's worth it! The food on its own, can be really gross. But a few simple modifications and it's not too shabby. Their soups are awful, but you add 3tsp egg whites, some water, and 1/8tsp of baking soda --- stick it in the oven and you have "bread". It works, that's all I can tell you! If you want it badly enough b/c nothing else has worked, it will work for you.

I'm on day 23 and I've lost 15 lbs. 35 more to go.

posted Apr 14th, 2015 5:59 pm


I started the Ideal Protein diet because I'm 5'4 and weighed 154 lbs. I tried many diets but couldn't seem to lose the weight. This diet taught me why eating healthy won't take off your weight. You have to restrict the carbs and fat. I thought eating fruits and veggies would help me lose weight but it did the opposite because I was starving my body by not getting enough protein. So yes this diet will educate you and you will lose weight but it is very very difficult to follow. If your body is use to carbs and you do not get them you will feel tired. You cannot exercise because you are not getting enough calories to support the energy burned. Drinking alcohol is dangerous because your liver and kidneys are working hard in ketosis and adding alcohol put more of a burden on the liver. I cheated every week and still lost 2.5 lbs a week but my cheating consisted of adding creamer in my coffee and using a different protein bar *less expensive, sometimes I would drink a diet coke and to stray just a.little will ruin your weekly weigh in, so if your not extremely disciplined DON'T waste your money. It cost me about 000.00 to lose 25 lbs. It does work but you must use their products and strictly follow their daily plan. No cheating.

posted Apr 14th, 2015 12:44 am


I have been on the IP for the past 5 days. I am happy to say that I have already lost 6 lbs. I haven't even had the urge to cheat I am pleased with that. My weight was at an all time high and I had to do something about it. I have a friend who done the IP and lost 100 lbs in 7 months. I find the food good tasting and I feel changes in my body already.

posted Apr 10th, 2015 4:35 pm


My friend lost 40 lbs so I decided to try it. Started at 133 pounds and am down to 128 a week later. Food is not great but it is amazing to me to see that I am fine with far fewer calories. Would like to get down to 125 or 120, we will see!

posted Apr 10th, 2015 11:18 am


5th week, down 28lbs

posted Apr 6th, 2015 8:34 pm


Worked fabulous for me , changed the way I think about food and learned to accept that the only way to stay healthy I to eat healthy. Some of the food is delicious and some not , but lots of choices. The food is very high protein and then you eat plenty of fresh veggies . I haven't felt or looked this great in 25 years .

posted Apr 5th, 2015 2:48 pm

Kelly Jo

I used Ideal Protein last year. I lost 50 pounds in a 3 month period. I was under a doctors care at the clinic. He was able to adjust my medications as needed. I was able to get off of Metformin which was prescribed for my PCOS. I however, did not follow the program for phasing off and had a binge weekend of drinking and eating bad foods over the course of the next year my poor choices led me to gaining the weight back. This is my fauly! Not that of the program. Something I needed to learn is, that this is NOT A DIET. It is a LIFE STYLE. Once you reach your goal weight, don't give in to making poor choices again. Also, previous comments talk about the food. I think Ideal Protein has come a long way in their products. Their shakes are great. The also have some very good bars, brownies, soy puffs, etc. I'm huge on texture, so I don't care for the puddings. But that's just me. They also have a jello that's pretty good. I received weekly if not daily e-mails from the program with different recipes that used their products. I made pancakes/waffles, Tortillas to make a wrap/taco. I'm telling you that this Life Style works if you are dedicated. That being said. It is extremely difficult to stop the program and then restart it later. The first time I started the program it was a little challenging, but I was able to cut out the carbs, sugar, and dairy and not cheat. The second time, was a lot more difficult. So please if you do this program, be ready to make the Life Style change. If you aren't, it will be a waste of time and money. BTW I also have a lot of health problems. PCOS, Chrones Disease, Colitis, and more. If I can do this, you can too!!!

posted Mar 21st, 2015 3:21 pm


Let me be specific. I don't like the diet but it works. If you don't mind constipation, severe headaches and expensive, highly processed foods, then this diet is for you.

posted Mar 19th, 2015 9:28 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account