Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Special K Challenge

Are you up for this special challenge?

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: Parent company Kellogg’s in 1906
  • Founder: Will Keith Kellogg
  • Stock Symbol: K
  • Headquarters: Battle Creek, Michigan
  • Accessibility: Online communities, book
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, two meals per day replaced with cereal
  • Gender: Female
BACKGROUND

You've probably seen the commercials - excited women dancing around with bowls of Special K cereal. You probably don't get this enthused after your morning breakfast, but does yours help you lose weight?

The Special K Challenge says that if you'll follow their simple dietary guidelines, including two bowls of Special K cereal each day, you can lose up to six pounds in just two weeks.

The Special K Challenge promotes a community effort, by partnering with Yahoo Health. There you can join the Special K Challenge group, to participate in forums and chats with other challengers and access weight loss tips.

You're advised to visit with your doctor before beginning the Special K Challenge.

PRO
  • A simple approach
  • interactive online community at Yahoo Groups
  • Fast approach to weight loss that is relatively healthy
  • High fiber diet
CON
DIET and NUTRITION

The Special K Challenge is much like a meal replacement diet. You'll begin the day with a bowl of Special K cereal for breakfast with skim milk and fruit. Then replace your typical lunch with a bowl of Special K cereal. You'll then enjoy the dinner of your choosing - the healthier the better. Throughout the day you should consume plenty of fruits and vegetables to replace unhealthy snacks.

Special K has a variety of cereals and snacks to help you stay committed to the program. There are six cereals including Red Berries, Vanilla Almond and Chocolatey Delight. There are also many flavors and varieties of snack bars, protein meals, shakes, cereal bites and bars. Plus, the recent addition of Special K2O Protein water in refreshing flavors like Strawberry Kiwi and Lemon Twist. It should be noted that some of these food items, like the protein bars, contain partially hydrogenated oils- which means they are a source of trans fats.

EXERCISE

There is not any guidance provided from Special K regarding exercise.

CONCLUSION

If you're looking for something to jump-start your weight loss, maybe you can try this for a week or two. Maybe it will be a physiological boost for you to continue. Otherwise, the idea of an obviously temporary eating plan seems like a losing proposition. Be sure to read the food labels of all of the Special K items as you'll want to avoid the ones that list partially hydrogentated oil in the ingredients, as this is a source of trans fats.

Common Misspellings

Special K Deit, Special K Diet, Special K Challenge Diet, special k diets


Related Diets: Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet, High Fiber Diet, Slim-Fast


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 10, 185 total comments)

Alison

I am 175 lbs
I am 5'7 or 5'8
i want to lose 45 to 50 lbs

i am staring this diet on sunday i am going to get everything on my calendar. i did the math if i lose 6lbs a week i can loose 50 lbs in less than 5 months. I tried it before but i was not strict on myself and my sisters ate all my food. This time i am going to be so strict. I am a size 12 right now i am going to try and get down to a size 4 the least.

Wish me luck! =)

posted Dec 4th, 2009 4:16 pm


kelly

i started this diet 3 days ago and have not lost 1 lb. I am so upset :( everybody i know who did it , it worked for them!

posted Nov 5th, 2009 1:55 am


Vann

I've been doing the special k diet 13 days, and I have lost 16lbs. It's an easy diet to follow and it has great results.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 8:36 pm


crystal mullins

I am trying to boost the low calorie intake plan I started on 3 weeks ago. I lost 5lbs. the first week and was pumped, but haven't seen any improvements since. It has been 3 weeks now. I exercise @ least 3-4 days a week for an 1/2 an hour. I am a busy mother of 4 and it is so hard to squeeze in exercise. I have been thin all my life practically and had gained weight over the last 3 yrs. due to medications. So I am going to try this Kellogg plan to try and boost some weight loss and then remain on a low calorie plan, watching portions.

posted Oct 16th, 2009 10:54 am


Alisha

I'm going to start this diet on Sunday. I really hope it works dispite the not so good reviews.

posted Oct 2nd, 2009 2:33 pm


yvette

well i just started my diet today. so im hoping that this does work. i will keep you all posted.

posted Sep 21st, 2009 7:12 pm


natalie

i started this diet today and i'm pumped to stay committed. i don't have the cereal, but i have those little snack bars. i had one for breakfast, one for lunch, and two for snacks. & then i'm going to eat a light & healthy dinner. but i'm going to ask my mom if i can get the special K cereal tonight, because i tried it while i was with my dad once and it was amazing. i have karate twice a week and on wednesday i help my sister coach a team of second graders, but i'll get on the tredmeal for 10 minutes or so on those days too, just to stay strong. hopefully i'll drop some weight & shrink my waist by the time homecoming rolls around. wish me luck & good luck to everyone else !

posted Sep 20th, 2009 2:34 pm


Sarah

I started the special k challenge. im on day 5 and have list 2 and a half pounds so far. I eat the cereal for breakfast with a banana. then usally for a snack a special k snack bar. for lunch i eat the chocolate peanutbutter meal bar(yummy) then usually a fruit for a snack. and i eat whatever i want for dinner. usually good protein.. only exercise like twice a week

posted Sep 8th, 2009 7:51 pm


Holiday

Im on my second day of the diet ,not to bad so far but i forget to eat the snacks? Does anyone know if that makes a big difference?

posted Jun 16th, 2009 9:53 am


lillie poole

i on my own lost 150pounds but now i am looking for a structure diet one that help me keep the weight off i have no problem with limiting my food intake for 1 year i stay losing once again by just cutting back on my intake and making better choice on what i ate i much amit i include cake very small slice once every 2 month i also include my only weekness red vine when i eat them i eat the whole bag so i throw them away after i eat 5 so i want eat them all but that work i went from 331 pound to 200 in one year i started 1/2008 and reach 200 by 1/2009 then i when to a structure diet and it was harder because they told me what to eat my doctor disagree with me starting a structure diet for he was concern i could not strict but the first one i lost another 24 pound but my cholestol went up for what reason my doctor did not know so he ask me to stop that diet so i did and went back to doing it my self but i still wanted a structure diet i try a quick lost diet it was ok but my doctor want me to eat more so this week i started the special k diet and i love it so far i try not to check the scale tell the 2 weeks was over but that is inposible for me for over a year i check the scale every day or once a week so i check and i love it i told my sister who got the lapban to try the special k diet and it will help her i lost so far 9 pound i ate the cearl in the morning i measured to make sure i did not eat more i ate the meal bar for lunch and a health dinner whick was grill chicken and veggie and for snack i ate the bars i am a late riser so my meal go throught 6 pm and i save my snack both bars for bed time and my fruit i eat throught out the day leaving at lease2 fruit for bed time that may be why i only lost 9 but my plan is to stay on the specialk diet for the 30pound i want to lose or at lease to get me started on a better meal plan i would like to learn more about the special k diet please email me thank you

posted Jun 6th, 2009 2:31 am


Megan

I started the challenge today. I had one bowl for breakfast, a chicken wrap for lunch, and Chinese for dinner. I played Wii Fit for less than an hour and I still lost one pound and half a centimeter off my waist in one day!!!!!

posted May 26th, 2009 11:43 pm


nay

im 5ft 141 pounds i used to be a size 3 im now almost size 9 ill be ok with a size 5 the extra weight on my body has made my old knee injury act up my self esteem hit the floor none of my clothes fit my breathing is more challenging and i have serious food allergies so im very limited to what i can eat which is why i put on soo much weight i want to get back to 120pounds ill be ok with 125 and just to have more energy for my son who is 5.5 yrs old with endless energy im starting the diet tomorrow if anyone has any veggitarian receipes please post:)

posted May 22nd, 2009 12:14 pm


nicole

i loved it. I lost a ton of weight. I did it for only two weeks and lost 8lbs.

posted May 19th, 2009 9:46 pm


Alyssa

People, believe me when I say, this diet works. however, like any other diet...you have to stay committed and be disciplined.



I eat one cup of the special k cereal (a choice from vanilla almond, red berry, or cinnamon pecan) with 2/3 of a cup of soy milk (since i dont drink cow's milk straight) for breakfast usually with a banana, or some tea and since I dont have accomodations to keep my milk chilled at work, i usually eat one of the protein bars. Also, throughout the day I drink LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS of water.



I exercise about 3O mins a day and burn around 25O to 3OO calories. I dont eat after 6 and I have lost 6lbs by the end of the two weeks.



I did slack off a little during the time and i know i would have lost more but starting tomorrow, im going back on it for another two weeks.



wish me luck ... again .

posted Feb 15th, 2009 5:09 pm


Bindu

I started today. I want to loose 15- 20 Pounds by the end of the March. I am going to exercise atleast 3 timesa week for one hour each. I sure will keep update. wish You good to you all loosers. I love eating cereal and this time i will reach my goal.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 3:57 pm


Mary

I love the Special K diet. I went on it for 1 week, lost 8lbs (I am exercizing every day too) went off it for 1 week, kept the weight off, and I'm back on it!

woooo

posted Feb 7th, 2009 6:57 pm


Laurie

A friend went from a size 14 to a size 8 in a little over 2 months. I was impressed and she looks wonderful. I'm starting this diet Monday. I only need to loose about 10 lbs, but need to loose inches around my middle. I'm also going to start exercising. I'll see how this works.

posted Feb 5th, 2009 1:12 pm


Tammy

I started the Special K Diet today. I love the new blueberry flavor. I don't really like cereal/milk but honestly it wasn't bad at all. I can do this.... better yet, I will do this.

posted Feb 4th, 2009 12:16 pm


Sunni

I started this diet 2 weeks ago and have lost 10 pounds. I am also making sure to keep my caloric intake to 1200 a day. I do allow for extra calories if I have done at least 20 minutes of exercise! Good luck to all!

posted Jan 29th, 2009 2:45 pm


Amanda

I'm starting this diet tomorrow and I hope it works! I would like to lose 20 pounds and start a daily exercise of 30 minute walking. Wish me luck!

posted Jan 27th, 2009 10:11 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account