Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Special K Challenge

Are you up for this special challenge?

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: Parent company Kellogg’s in 1906
  • Founder: Will Keith Kellogg
  • Stock Symbol: K
  • Headquarters: Battle Creek, Michigan
  • Accessibility: Online communities, book
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, two meals per day replaced with cereal
  • Gender: Female
BACKGROUND

You've probably seen the commercials - excited women dancing around with bowls of Special K cereal. You probably don't get this enthused after your morning breakfast, but does yours help you lose weight?

The Special K Challenge says that if you'll follow their simple dietary guidelines, including two bowls of Special K cereal each day, you can lose up to six pounds in just two weeks.

The Special K Challenge promotes a community effort, by partnering with Yahoo Health. There you can join the Special K Challenge group, to participate in forums and chats with other challengers and access weight loss tips.

You're advised to visit with your doctor before beginning the Special K Challenge.

PRO
  • A simple approach
  • interactive online community at Yahoo Groups
  • Fast approach to weight loss that is relatively healthy
  • High fiber diet
CON
DIET and NUTRITION

The Special K Challenge is much like a meal replacement diet. You'll begin the day with a bowl of Special K cereal for breakfast with skim milk and fruit. Then replace your typical lunch with a bowl of Special K cereal. You'll then enjoy the dinner of your choosing - the healthier the better. Throughout the day you should consume plenty of fruits and vegetables to replace unhealthy snacks.

Special K has a variety of cereals and snacks to help you stay committed to the program. There are six cereals including Red Berries, Vanilla Almond and Chocolatey Delight. There are also many flavors and varieties of snack bars, protein meals, shakes, cereal bites and bars. Plus, the recent addition of Special K2O Protein water in refreshing flavors like Strawberry Kiwi and Lemon Twist. It should be noted that some of these food items, like the protein bars, contain partially hydrogenated oils- which means they are a source of trans fats.

EXERCISE

There is not any guidance provided from Special K regarding exercise.

CONCLUSION

If you're looking for something to jump-start your weight loss, maybe you can try this for a week or two. Maybe it will be a physiological boost for you to continue. Otherwise, the idea of an obviously temporary eating plan seems like a losing proposition. Be sure to read the food labels of all of the Special K items as you'll want to avoid the ones that list partially hydrogentated oil in the ingredients, as this is a source of trans fats.

Common Misspellings

Special K Deit, Special K Diet, Special K Challenge Diet, special k diets


Related Diets: Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet, High Fiber Diet, Slim-Fast


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 10, 185 total comments)

Tonia

@
Sara, You dont need to lose any weight if your only 130 and 5'8"! Infact your right on target with your BMI, Im a CMA and I wouldnt advise you to go below 126. your BMI should be between 126 - 154 lbs.. You shouldn't even be dieting at 15, your running risk of becoming anorexic at this point if you lose 10 to 12 pounds !!

posted Apr 19th, 2011 9:25 am


Katie

I took this challenge expecting to lose 6 pounds in 2 weeks at the most, and I lost 7. I ate Special K cereal every single morning, replaced lunch with either a protein shake or meal bar, had 2 special k snacks, and had fruits and veggies. I took long walks almost every single day, and this worked great for me.

posted Apr 18th, 2011 8:38 am


Sophie

really easy and great diet!!
I tried it during 2 weeks and loose 5 pounds!!
I will try once more!
Thanks Special K!! <3

posted Apr 13th, 2011 9:53 pm


Hannah

I just started the Special K Challenge on Saturday and so far I like it. The last two days were a little rough because I used to eat all day everyday out of sheer boredom. I think that this diet is a good way to jumpstart your weight loss in anyones diet plan. When this challenge is over, I plan on sticking to a low calorie diet. I've been eating the meals that they say to eat for lunch and dinner and it sucks that I don't keep a lot of that stuff on hand so I'm constantly out buying it, but the meals are delicious. I highly reccommend the Jamaican Chicken with Mashed Sweet Potatoes.. It's super yummy! So is the avacado veggie sandwich! Yum!!!

posted Apr 11th, 2011 10:31 am


Divya

Healthly Breakfast

posted Apr 6th, 2011 3:22 am


chelsee

I'm starting this weekend, I wanna lose weight before I go to the army,
Im about 4'11'' and about 155 pound, i want to lose about 35 pounds, do you think this would be a good diet for me?

posted Mar 9th, 2011 11:30 pm


Lp3302

I started the Special K Challenge about a week ago and have nothing bad to say about it! It has been the easiest and most productive diet I have tried in quite some time! The one well proportioned meal has made this diet do-able! I am always full and my cravings for not so great food have decreased SO much! If you are still debating doing this challenge I highly recommend it! The products aren't expensive and it is definitely worth the effort and money! Just give it a shot and see what happens! Make sure to drink lots of water.

posted Feb 9th, 2011 5:44 pm


Kathy

I have lost 38-40lbs back in 2009, and for all of 2010 held at a huge plateau! I have gone back to some of my old eating habits, but am still maintaining my weight loss to 142ish...my goal weight when I started losing at 179.5 was 130. I am starting the Special K diet to see if I can kickstart some weightloss again. I am not very hopeful because I eat cereal now in the mornings and healthy salads but nothing seems to be working. I guess the real trick is upping the exercise--I am going to push for 5 hours a week...I WILL KEEP YOU POSTED cause I am definitely interested in seeing if this will work. I am sure everyone else will want a honest review as well. Happy dieting everyone. See you in 2 weeks!

posted Jan 23rd, 2011 8:08 pm


ANNA

anna dhamo

posted Jan 17th, 2011 4:59 pm


Sara

I am 15 years old and i just started to special k challenge. I am about 5'6 and weigh 130 pounds. im hoping to loose 10-12 pounds. I just bought 4 boxes off special k cerial, 2 boxes of special k bars, fruits, and special k water to curb my cravings off. ive been doing alot of research and i excercise about an hour a day. im hoping for succesful results!

posted Jan 13th, 2011 5:05 pm


Leila

I am not sure if this is a healthy way to lose the weight long term. But I think for 2 weeks it is doable. The problem is, you CANNOT reverse back to your old way of eating (pizza, cheesburgers, etc). See, this is more of a jump start towards your healthy weight loss. And then create a low fat, low calorie and healthy diet to lose the weight long term. Please do not go back to eating the way you were (if you were eating badly and a lot), or you will gain more than just 1 jeans size.

I am starting this "diet" today and will then go on a low calorie healthy diet.

Good luck to me!

posted Jan 12th, 2011 10:58 am


Felisha

I researched the special k diet and i cant wait to start!!!Im going to start tuesday of next week i hope it works!#motivated

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:38 am


15togo

I haven't done it with Special K I did it with high fiber/high protien oat meal made with water and a dab of milk for breakfast, and either Fiber One or Shredded Wheat- Wheat'n Bran for my second meal. The fiber and protien helps keep you full longer.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 6:01 pm


sarah

Hi
I am 16 and I started the challenge. I have lost about 5 pounds and my 2 weeks are almost over. I was just wondering do you know what to do when the challenge is over? Do you think it is safe to eat normally again or is there a certain approach to take while getting off it? Thanks

posted Dec 11th, 2010 4:30 am


Betsy

Great diet! I needed to lose vacation and business travel weight and this really worked and was not that painful. But here are a few things you MUST take into consideration or it will not work as QUICKLY as you want it to:

1.) Don't drink alcohol.
2.) Work out EVERY day (walk in the am and pm-or gym for 1 hour). No time? do jumping jacks during tv commercials, park far away from buildings and take the stairs.
3.) Pick one day a week to splurge and blow it. You need it to keep yourself sane. It also makes you feel motivated to get back on the diet the next day.
4.) Drink a lot of water and green tea. Green tea saved me from snacking more--I drink it all morning and then water in the afternoon.
5.) Eat dinner before 6:30pm. You will be starving by 8pm, but try to ignore it and remember that eating later at night or snacking after dinner is going to slow down your weight loss. Drink tea, club soda, chew gum or eat fruit.
6.) I take lots of vitamins, so about one day per week, I had cereal for all three meals.
7.) Eat the cereals that have more sugar in the morning hours (cinnamon/pecan etc) and have the plain Special K for dinner. You then have all day to burn off the sugar in the cereal, where at night you don't unless you are doing a walk after dinner.

I am definitely going to do this again the next time my weight creeps up!

Good luck everyone!

posted Oct 15th, 2010 12:56 pm


alicia

I did a modified version of the Special K challenge.
Getting enough excercise is really tough for me, I'm a fulltime college student and I work fulltime. I noticed I was at 153 lbs on 5'2 frame, and had become very unhappy with my figure. So, I bought Special K cereal and decided to eat healthier.
It was really hard to get used to (because I used to eat whatever I wanted), but in a couple of weeks I had no cravings for junk food. I would eat Special K cereal in the morning, a piece of fruit as a snack, a healthy lunch, a small healthy snack before dinner, then have a bowl of Special K OR a healthy dinner. I reduced the amount of red meat I ate, and instead reached for chicken and fish. When I craved sweets, I would eat an orange or apple, or have a popsicle. If I craved carbs, I would have a whole grain piece of toast with a bit of peanut butter on it.
Doing this for about 4 months made me lost 21 pounds. I weighed in at 132 in june, and have been able to keep it off despite weaning myself away from Special K cereal. I only have a bowl every once in awhile now. I plan to lose about 4 more pounds to get to my goal weight, and have been incorporating more excercise in to my schedule now :)

posted Sep 28th, 2010 3:56 pm


achus

I'm trying to lose my weight using this special k.I am having this for brakfast n for dinner....yesterday i started my diet n hope this will work soon!!!....i am also doing excersice along with my proper diet.....

posted Sep 14th, 2010 7:25 am


kat

At the end of September in 2008, I tried the Special K Challenge for the first time. I just had my 2nd baby and needed to lose the weight from both kids. By Halloween that year I noticed a huge change. I ended up doing the diet for 3 months and lost 20lbs. I dropped 4 pants size when I tried on my jeans from High School and not only did they fit, but they were loose. I was looking at pictures the other day and couldn't believe how skinny I looked. Since then I have put back the weight plus about 10lbs. So today I have just started the special K diet again and hope to lose the weight again and keep it off. I have tried just about every diet and excersize there is and nothing ever seemed to work for me except this. So here is to another chance at it and I am hoping to lose around 30lbs!!

posted Sep 13th, 2010 2:45 pm


Amelia

I'd love to try this just to jumpstart things. However, the ingredients in their products are terrible. They are loaded with both high fructose corn syrup and trans fat. While the debate on HFCS is still ongoing, there is no doubt about the harmful consequences to consuming trans fat. I'd love to drop a few pounds but I'd like to do it in a way that isn't putting my health at risk.

posted Sep 12th, 2010 12:20 pm


rfvbijk

i like it very much because it helps to reduce the weight . I loose my weight about 4kgs in 2 months. Thanks to kelloggs K special.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 7:21 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account