Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Special K Challenge

Are you up for this special challenge?

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: Parent company Kellogg’s in 1906
  • Founder: Will Keith Kellogg
  • Stock Symbol: K
  • Headquarters: Battle Creek, Michigan
  • Accessibility: Online communities, book
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, two meals per day replaced with cereal
  • Gender: Female
BACKGROUND

You've probably seen the commercials - excited women dancing around with bowls of Special K cereal. You probably don't get this enthused after your morning breakfast, but does yours help you lose weight?

The Special K Challenge says that if you'll follow their simple dietary guidelines, including two bowls of Special K cereal each day, you can lose up to six pounds in just two weeks.

The Special K Challenge promotes a community effort, by partnering with Yahoo Health. There you can join the Special K Challenge group, to participate in forums and chats with other challengers and access weight loss tips.

You're advised to visit with your doctor before beginning the Special K Challenge.

PRO
  • A simple approach
  • interactive online community at Yahoo Groups
  • Fast approach to weight loss that is relatively healthy
  • High fiber diet
CON
DIET and NUTRITION

The Special K Challenge is much like a meal replacement diet. You'll begin the day with a bowl of Special K cereal for breakfast with skim milk and fruit. Then replace your typical lunch with a bowl of Special K cereal. You'll then enjoy the dinner of your choosing - the healthier the better. Throughout the day you should consume plenty of fruits and vegetables to replace unhealthy snacks.

Special K has a variety of cereals and snacks to help you stay committed to the program. There are six cereals including Red Berries, Vanilla Almond and Chocolatey Delight. There are also many flavors and varieties of snack bars, protein meals, shakes, cereal bites and bars. Plus, the recent addition of Special K2O Protein water in refreshing flavors like Strawberry Kiwi and Lemon Twist. It should be noted that some of these food items, like the protein bars, contain partially hydrogenated oils- which means they are a source of trans fats.

EXERCISE

There is not any guidance provided from Special K regarding exercise.

CONCLUSION

If you're looking for something to jump-start your weight loss, maybe you can try this for a week or two. Maybe it will be a physiological boost for you to continue. Otherwise, the idea of an obviously temporary eating plan seems like a losing proposition. Be sure to read the food labels of all of the Special K items as you'll want to avoid the ones that list partially hydrogentated oil in the ingredients, as this is a source of trans fats.

Common Misspellings

Special K Deit, Special K Diet, Special K Challenge Diet, special k diets


Related Diets: Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet, High Fiber Diet, Slim-Fast


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 10, 185 total comments)

Carol Cenn

I was on the Special K diet in 2002 for almost six months and lost 50 pounds.

posted Aug 27th, 2010 4:19 pm


TC

Please be sure and drink 4 24 oz bottles of water a day.
This will help you
You may not lose if you don't

posted Jul 30th, 2010 1:43 pm


sara

help me i want to lose weight

posted Jun 26th, 2010 2:56 pm


alyssa

i really dont like this diet, ithink that its waaaay to much sugar grams for someone to intake in one day if they are looking into losing some weight , i tried this already for about two weeks and no good results just lost like five pounds, i really dont recomend thiss diet just to do some exercise and eat lots of greens!

posted Apr 30th, 2010 8:30 am


ASZ

I can not beleive that Special K uses so much high fructose corn syrup in all their cereals. YUCK!

posted Apr 12th, 2010 1:47 pm


Anon

I found all these reviews so helpful. I;ve bought 3 boxes of special K meaning to go on the diet...lets say 2 weeks ago, And I always get sucked into to getting some sort of fast food with my husband. But I am so inspired. I have about 50lbs to lose so Im sure I will see a fast jumpstart but thank you to all the people who wrote what it was like for them and what they did :D

posted Apr 1st, 2010 10:40 am


Kat

I would encourage anyone doing the diet to not only check you weight but measure you body i went from 42 inch on my hips to 37 1/2 it was amazing

posted Mar 30th, 2010 8:44 am


Mark

I have been on it for 2 weeks. I have lost 15 pounds. But I stick to the 1 Cup only at each meal, with some 1 piece of fruit. And I don't snack. But I don eat a dinner of 800-900 calories. Bringing my daily calorie intake up to around 1400-1500. And I am exercising around 30-60 minutes 6 days a week with my heart rate brought up to 150+, so relatively rigorous. I started this diet at 321 pounds. And expect to lose 120 pounds in the next 6 months. I am only concerned that eating Special K for 2 meals a day will not give me enough Protein, Cholesterol and Fat to stay on the diet for 6 months. I know everyone recommends it for 2 weeks only, but it works and I am sticking with it.

posted Mar 30th, 2010 7:20 am


Bethlauren

This diet is working! I am 46 yrs old and lost 7 lbs in a week--(have to lose about 25 lbs) I eat one serving of cereal with lots of berries, another serving /banana, SpK snack bar & SpKcrackers (1 serv) w/vegetables, then dinner. will substitute healthy choices as time goes on since ya can't eat SpK forever.
If I get hungry I have FRUIT or veggies w/fat free bluecheese dressing. love it

posted Mar 20th, 2010 4:53 pm


zanna

hey um 13 and um 80kg...
i knw itz too much for a girl of my age..
i started the diet today um confused abt smthg..should eat only specialk and other fruits or can have sm meat or fish..

posted Mar 7th, 2010 11:05 am


elissa

weight 135
height 5'2

I'm starting this diet March 3rd, i plan on losing up to 6 pound or more before i got on my trip to california in april, yeah i know i started a little late but HOPEFULLY it'll work for me! If im that much determine looking at my bikini i want to wear to the beach i know i can lose it.!
Wish me luck guys.! if you have any tips email them to

posted Feb 24th, 2010 10:49 am


sheila

hola a todos.. tengo 19 años y un par d meses mas cumplo 20.. bueno lo q pasa conmigo es q hace casi 7 meses tuve a mi primer bebe mi barriga se me stiro tanto q ahora la tngo colgada y muy flacida.. kisiera saber q puedo hacer al respecto .. aparte d eso tengo como 30 libras demas.. q tipo de dieta, ejercicio o alguna otra cosa debo de hacer.. por favor ayudenme.. lo necesiito.. soy mui joven para tener un cuerpo asi.. les agradeceria mucho sus respuestas.. y disculpen x la molestia.. muchas gracias .. pasen un lindo dia todos uds.. !! oh otra cosita mas kisiera saber q hacer para tener duros mis pechos ya q amamanto a mi bebey se me han caido, tambien mis piernas y gluteos(pompis) otra vez.. !! (como ven stoy fregada).. muchisimas gracias a todos..!!

posted Feb 17th, 2010 4:12 pm


Jess

MommyJay, I wouldn't do this while breastfeeding. Your calorie consumption must remain about 200 calories per day over what is normally called for (usually 2000). If not, your milk will not contain enough nourishment for your baby.

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 11:16 am


ally

im 15 years old and i been eating the special k cereal for 6 months since my daughter was born and i see no results i eat it everyday in the mornig and everytime i come from school.i see no results i really want to lose alot of weight and i need help.i read comments were girls say they lose alot of weight with it but its not working for me..=[ i need help

posted Feb 2nd, 2010 12:31 pm


Angie

Started the Challenge today....
my goal is 10 pounds in 3 weeks. Let's see what happens. I will also try to exercise 3 times a week for 30 minutes.

posted Jan 19th, 2010 9:34 am


Myra

Im going on this challenge starting today i just ate 1 cub of cerial since im a college i can just take some milk and cerial to school and have that for lunch i exercise at the gym at my school so it should be easy i have heard from my friends that it does work they have lost from 7 to 10 lbs in 2 weeks wish me luck!

posted Jan 15th, 2010 11:24 am


mommyjay

is it safe to begin the special k challenge while breastfeeding?

posted Jan 7th, 2010 2:58 pm


Jesca

I Started This Today. Do You Drop Weight And That Is It? Or Are You Actually Able To SEE The Results?

posted Jan 7th, 2010 12:49 am


Mrs. S

I started this challenge on Jan 3, 2010. I weighed before, and I'll wait until the end of the week to weigh again. Surprisingly, the cereal leaves me full. I typically eat a late breakfast (11 am), which means I might skip lunch...I'll eat a normal dinner (4-5 pm), and later I'll eat another bowl of cereal if I get hungry. I hope to lose between 35-40 pounds. I want this to be a jump start to my weight loss.

posted Jan 5th, 2010 10:44 am


Boochie

I'm starting the Special K diet Monday. I hope I see some Improvement. Will let u know.

posted Jan 3rd, 2010 9:27 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account