Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

59%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 250 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 13, 259 total comments)

Elaine

Nutrisystem is not a miracle diet program, but it is easy to follow. If you're ready to make permanent lifestyle changes needed to be successful at losing weight and maintaining the weight loss, this could prove to be a very useful tool.

I just started NutriSystem a week ago, and so far so good. The prepackaged meals very convenient and yes, edible. It teaches you portion control. Surpisingly the soy and salt content has not been an issue for me (the program does fall below the range of daily recommended salt intake.) I actually like that you add fresh fruit, vegetables, and non/low-fat dairy, which are part of eating healthy anyway. I think it gives the diet some balance after all of the processed (prepackaged) food. The combination of high fiber, protein, low-glycemic index foods and 2 litres of water daily help keep you from getting too hungy before the next meal. The journaling keeps you honest. They also advise moderate exercise. It's definitely an easy program to follow.

posted Oct 14th, 2008 3:51 pm


Sallyb

Great way to lose weight. I always struggled with what to eat and preparing it. Nutrisystem really takes all that effort that tend to get you in trouble out of the weigh loss equation.

posted Oct 12th, 2008 6:53 pm


Phyllis Wooding

I tried the Nutrisystem program and it worked wonders for me. The food I chose was great but you have to try all the foods to choose what is tasty. I found the foods that were pleasing to my taste and I lost over 50 pounds and I have kept it off for over two years now. The program taught me portion control and how to eat healthy so after nutrisystem I have not returned to my unhealthy eating habits. I always plan and carry my lunch and I am very careful when I eat out. The food is not expensive for me. I am single so 240-300 dollars a month for food is quite cheap. Try the plan it really works. But please remember it is a diet so the food will not taste like regular food. If you want to lose the weight, then nutrisystem is the way to go.

posted Oct 10th, 2008 6:25 pm


Jennifer

This diet is terrible! The sodium is OUTRAGEOUS. You may lose weight because of portion control, but that much sodium causes it's own handful of potential health problems. Also -- you end up having to buy a TON of food at the grocery store. You think "this is nice, all my food is prepared"...its not at ALL. If your meal calls for a hamburger with lettuce, tomato, onions on a bun with a side salad, the only thing they provide is the hamburger patty!

posted Sep 22nd, 2008 9:37 am


DAVINA

I BOUGHT NUTRISYSTEM AT BIG LOTS AND IT HAS WORKED FOR ME!! YEAH SOME OF THE FOODS MAY NOT BE AS GOOD AS OTHERS, SO I KNOW NEXT TIME NOT TO GET THE NASTY ONES, BUT OTHER THAN THAT IT IS FILLING , MOST AMERICANS ARE GONNA COMPLAIN SIMPLY BECAUSE EVERYONE IS USED TO FATTY PROCESSED FOODS ON A DAILY BASIS THAT IS WHY EVERYONE IS OBESE...IF U WANNA DIET DONT COMPLAIN!!!

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Nan

Food is garbage. A friend of mine gave me two months worth of the men's program, and now I see why. You're better off buying fresh fruits and vegetables, yogurt, and salad.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


hopeful

I started Monday and this is Friday. The food is OK not as delicious as described but hey it's a diet. I've lost 7and 1/2 pounds. I'm going to try to stick with it.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Shawny

Nutrisystem was awful. I didn't start the program right away and found some expired product in my box. Contacted customer service and they did NOTHING to help me. The food was great!....if you like eating cardboard. Do NOT waste your money and time with this system. I have heard from my friends that Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers is so much better. Never again, I tell ya!

posted Sep 8th, 2008 7:25 am


Judith

Like the food, liked the weight loss. For the first few months anyway...Hated the customer service, if you can call it that. They lie, lie, lie. They have promised daily for three weeks now to send my food the next day and still no food. Cancel you say? Can't, they have my money and I want my food. Worst customer service I have ever dealt with. People are nice enough but nothing happens or changes or gets fixed. Even the supervisors, promise to call you with the remedy, give you their number and you never hear from them again. I am so frustrated and angry. I am paying for this! They are not doing me a favor! Why can't they just do what they say they will? Because they are inept and unethical and we should not let them get away with it. Do not use this company. If I could I would call Dan Marino and Marie Osmond myself and tell them how their name is being used to cheat people. Do not do business with this company.

posted Aug 26th, 2008 9:26 pm


Anonymous

I tried this for a month and never felt good. I always felt like I was going to faint even after adding all veggies, fruit and dairy. Actually, you have to fill-up on those or you'll have less than the calories needed for a full day. The food was not great. I could tolerate the chili and some of the desserts. Sometimes it smelled so bad after taking it out of the microwave, I just threw it in the garbage! When I called to talk to customer service they were rude. I am a vegetarian and when I asked how I could incorporate the diet to meet my needs, they had no clue. I'm doing much better just eating smaller portions of 'normal' food.

posted Aug 16th, 2008 9:35 am


Grace

I tried NutriSystem for less than a month. The majority of the food was horrible. There were certian desserts and a few entrees that were bareble. I was also disappointed in how much I had to spend on the food. You are required to have a certain amount of vegetables, dairy, fruits, etc., along your day, which is not included in the food packet you are given. I was also worried about the amount of sodium each food item had. It worked for a lady that I knew, who thought it was amazing. That encouraged me to get it. It may work for some and fail for others....GOOD LUCK!

posted Jul 25th, 2008 10:49 am


Grace

I tried NutriSystem for less than a month. The majority of the food was horrible. There were certian desserts and a few entrees that were bareble. I was also disappointed in how much I had to spend on the food. You are required to have a certain amount of vegetables, dairy, fruits, etc., along your day, which is not included in the food packet you are given. I was also worried about the amount of sodium each food item had. It worked for a lady that I knew, who thought it was amazing. That encouraged me to get it. It may work for some and fail for others....GOOD LUCK!

posted Jul 25th, 2008 10:49 am


Melinda

I tried NutriSystem for six weeks, but just could not stick with it. To me the almost all of the food had horrible texture, smell and taste. I did lose weight, but I think most was just because I would heat up the food and then could not force myself to eat it, most of my meal would end up in the trash can!

posted Jun 10th, 2008 8:37 pm


Diane Hardy

I got some of the nurti system foods at BIG LOTS I think they are great.People who say they are awful have to realize they are on a diet and the food is not highly spiced like reasturant foods .so my week 1 is going great 7 pounds lost .I will be placing my first order in 3 days thank you nutri system Diane

posted Jun 3rd, 2008 9:05 am


Laura

The food is nasty and expensive; you have to buy a LOT of supplemental foods. Jenny Craig was much better, or if you have more time, Weight Watchers. Bonus: NutriSystem customer service is awful. I will be donating much of my first order to a food kitchen, with apologies.

posted Jun 2nd, 2008 9:14 am


MATT

I LIKE THE BEEF DINNER WITH POTATOES AFTER SOME JONNYS

posted May 11th, 2008 7:15 am


Dee

I have been on Nutri System for 2 weeks now, and it works for me. The most important thing is to be prepared before you start. Read your meal planner first, and make a shopping list. Buy your veggies and dairy products, and don't forget to read the labels at the grocery store! Once you get into the habit of planning and portioning your meals the night before (like prepping your salad for lunch the next day and fruit selection) it becomes part of your regular routine. I must admit, the first 2 or 3 days were hard for me (I was a little hungry and felt like I was eating constantly), but I did not cheat and stuck with the plan. So far, I lost 5 pounds, and actually have the energy to start a walking routine after work. I have set small goals for myself. This is definitely not an overnight thing... but it does work! Plan ahead and be consistent!

posted May 6th, 2008 10:37 am


Anonymous (female)

Initially I lost weight on Nutri System. I loved the conveniece of prepackaged foods. But I was always hungry after eating. I called their toll free number and spoke to a Customer Service rep, who was ill-informed and uncaring. I realized then that it's a call center with workers reading from prepared scripts, and they have no more knowledge of the program than anyone else. She said "You're not supposed to be hungry." Well, I was. I did the program in the summer, and the chocolate desserts were melted within their sealed packets on delivery. Ugh. Plus it takes about 10 days to get your food package. I not only had to pay for the packaged food but had to buy extras. Too expensive to maintain especially since I was so hungry I ate extra and didn't lose weight. One of the dinner meals, Tuna Casserole, was so sickening that I nearly threw up. It looked like canned dog food, I kid you not. I called C/S and they agreed to credit me that amount. Soon after I canceled everything.

posted May 5th, 2008 8:38 am


silvia

I have been on Nutrisystem for one week, and lost 5 pounds.. i actually think the food is pretty tasty! I got all of my food that i ordered, and didnt pay extra? i am loving it, but then again its only my 1st week

posted Apr 8th, 2008 9:34 am


Nancy B.

I am looking to interview someone who has had success with NutriSystem for a weight loss success book I am writing. If you would like to hear more about the book, e-mail me at kennedy5961@aol.com. Thanks for considering this.



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account