Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

57%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 277 reviews
Nutrisystem

Nutrisystem Diet Review: Does it Work?

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Nutrisystem Diet is a weight loss plan offering portion and calorie controlled prepackaged foods as well as food suggestions.  It claims to be backed by 40 years of customer approved weight loss results.

The diet also is claimed to offer up to 5 pounds of weight loss within the first week. The company delivers their own meals and provides select portion sizes.  Suggestions are offered as to what foods to prepare, but the majority of what’s eaten will be Nutrisystem meals. Our experts have reviewed several diet plans and have hound the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It offers an all-natural stimulant free metabolism booster, as well as an appetite suppressing high quality duo protein formula. More information about the 18Shake diet can be found in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Nutrisystem Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some common ingredients added to Nutrisystem's prepackaged meals:

Sugar

Calcium Propionate

Modified Food Starch

Corn Syrup

Sorbate

Fructose

Guar Gum

Maltodextrin

Xanthan Gum

Potassium Phosphate

Carrageenan

Salt

Soy Lecithin

Sodium Caseinate

Tocopherols

Calcium Propionate: Food preservative often added to processed meats, dairy products, and bread.  It’s considered slightly toxic by a pesticides group.

A study published in ScienceDirect found that when it was given to mice it:

“increase in oxidative stress markers… hyperactivity…Development of limbic kindled seizures”

Many potentially damaging effects were seen in the use of this ingredient.

Fructose: Simple fruit sugar that is sweeter than standard sucrose and glucose. It’s often added to things like soda, and other processed foods. A study by the Louisiana State University System found that it:

“did not suppress ghrelin, a major appetite-stimulating hormone”

Therefore, when using this ingredient it has not been shown to satiate appetite.  The same study also adds:

“fructose is poorly absorbed… is also entirely cleared by the liver”

This can be of issue to diabetics, and it’s the reason why fructose is associated with cardiovascular diseases.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seen via the link provided here.

Carrageenan: Thickener extracted from seaweeds which is added to thicken and bind ingredients.  A study by the British Industrial Biological Research Association found that it:

“produces ulceration in the large intestine”

Another study by the University of Iowa confirmed:

“carrageenan, has been associated with induction and promotion of intestinal neoplasms and ulcerations on numerous animal experiments”

These types of ulcers and lacerations can trigger serious potentially dangerous health effects.

Xanthan Gum: Thickener and binder added to processed foods.  It can be extracted from common allergens that include dairy, soy, corn, and wheat.

It may also potentially lead to gas and bloating.

Corn Syrup: Processed form of food syrup that is extracted from corn. It’s believed that this sweetener is a major reason why there’s an increase in obesity. Since it’s processed by the liver, excess amounts turn into fats in the form of triglycerides, which can be harmful both to the arteries and the heart. How Stuff Works.com also adds:

“researchers do know that fructose doesn’t stimulate production of insulin, leptin, or ghrelin... which play a part in telling the boy how much it needs to eat”

This can then potentially lead to obesity.

There are 3 unique plans offered by Nutrisystem as well:

  • Basic: Begins at $9.82 per day. Certain foods are preselected, support tools and online tracking is offered. Complemented by a 4 week turbo plan which claims to offer 10 pounds of weight loss in a month. This involves being allowed only 1,000 calories a day maximum.  
  • Core: Begins at $10.54 a day. You get to select from 100 different foods, as well as everything offered in the basic plan but with added dieticians and counselors support.
  • Uniquely Yours: For around $11.96 a day, 150 different food options are offered. One can order as much of the frozen food items as one wants. All the other features from the core and basic are offered.

The turbo 10 plan which lasts 4 weeks calls for a 1,000 calorie limit. Live Strong.com commented on this type of low calorie diet by sating:

“may make the diet difficult to follow over the long term and could potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies”

It can also be hard to maintain as so little food is offered at this limitation. It’s possible for there to be weight loss, but this is only because of extreme deprivation.  These types of low calorie diets are often only advised with the support and watch of a physician to track any issues.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be viewed in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Nutrisystem Diet Quality of Ingredients

 Many common processed ingredients are added to Nutrisystem’s prepackaged foods. Since the majority of foods eaten will be their meals, this makes this a very limited diet. These ingredients aren’t very wholesome, and they may actually make it more difficult to lose weight.

The diet also calls for a 1,000 calorie limit to start with, which can be extremely difficult. This is the reason why many users of Nutrisystem Diet have found it to not satisfy appetite.

There is the convenience of delivered food, but the kinds of foods are offered are only low calorie, and full of potentially harmful ingredients.  The link provided here has the top 10 best diet plans of 2016.

The Price and Quality of Nutrisystem Diet

Pricing varies both on the plan chosen and the kinds of foods one makes at home.  Web MD mentions the following for prices:

“expect to pay about $230 to the mid $300s a month for the Nutrisystem foods, plus whatever you buy from the grocery store”

The price does not reflect the quality however, as many of the additives are cheap and often added to processed foods.  There’s also the issue that the kinds of ingredients used are already found in many other cheap foods available in supermarkets. The only difference in Nutrisystem is that the portions are smaller.

Business of Nutrisystem Diet

The company is owned by the Nutrisystem, Inc group, and they can be contacted via the following:

Phone Number: (800) 585-5483

Address: 600 Office Center Dr.

                   Washington, PA 19034

They have a total of 247 complaints on their Better Business Bureau page, and around 250 negative reviews on their Pissed Consumer page.

According from estimates of Pissed Consumer, $22,000 has been taken from consumers who tried to return products.

Here are what some customers had to say about the company:

“Bad customer service”

“nothing but chemicals and artificial ingredients”

“tried on many occasions to contact customer service but was out on hold”

“told that I have to pay back the shipping fee plus a discount… total to around $80”

People often complained about the lack of a quality returns system. Some were forced to have to pay expensive cancellation fees, even though they were promised a money back return.  The majority of negative reviews were due to advertising disputes, and issues with the foods. Click the link here to see a comprehensive top 10 list of the best diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Nutrisystem Diet

Customer reviews for the diets can be found online, here are some select quotes:

“tastes like any food you buy... that has to be microwaved, except you get a lot less of it”

“food is terrible and I just can’t get myself to eat meat that I store in my pantry”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“this food is just the worst I’ve ever eaten anywhere”

People often complained that the quality of food was extremely poor, and that it tasted artificial and bland. Many of the foods were described as having a TV dinner style of presentation, but with really small portions.

Customers were also concerned to find that there were many artificial ingredients and chemicals added to the foods. The top 10 list has the highest rated diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Nutrisystem Diet Work?

When researching the Nutrisystem Diet it’s important to look at the customer reviews, quality of ingredients, and the science behind the weight loss. The strategy is fairly simple, as pre-packaged meals are offered which are lower in calories. This makes it easy to diet without having to meal prep and count calories. The problem lies in the kinds of ingredients used, which many are processed and cheap to add. Many customers felt that the quality of food was poor, and they were alarmed about the lack of a quality return policy.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s a combination of a metabolism booster made without stimulants, and a nutritionally balanced meal replacement both which are free of artificial ingredients or cheap fillers. Customers also agree it’s a potent combination for weight loss.

Both the meal replacement and the metabolism booster are backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. All purchases are backed by this risk free offer. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet Plan when you click the link found here.

How Does Nutrisystem Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Nutrisystem
  • 57 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 15, 284 total comments)

Dan

+

I had success with Nutrisystem. I don't like cooking and have low self control with eating. Nutrisystems' foods kept me full. I did my own form of weight loss. Only NS food plus some vegetables. 1200 calories a day when I need 3200. I would lose 4-5 pounds a week at the start. I like the system if you want to lose weight fast.

posted Apr 2nd, 2011 8:39 pm


Monica

-

Unfortunately, I had a terrible experience with Nutrisystem. The food was NOT edible. They charged me without permission, they would not provide me with a copy of my contract (electronically or otherwise) and then charged me again to cancel! Then, they wouldn't let me file a complaint with customer service. Not to mention I had much better result with Weight Watchers! Please DO NOT waste your money on Nutrisystem.

posted Mar 28th, 2011 10:34 am


Wolfe

I have just forced myself thru 1 1/2 months of this junk and will be tossing most of it that is left in the garbage! Most of the lunches ( reconstitued soups) are worse than WW2 C or K rations , and not as good as store bought dry mixes. The deserts are over the top with chocolate Bars , small cakes,and mix your self Puddings! I have tried most every thing that they produce and find 2//3 of the products to be subpar in taste and texture and eye appeal. Save yourselves a lot of money and learn to make correct serving sizes,and the correct foods,and do a minimal amount of excerise each week and you will lose weight and become healthier. Also be prepaired to spend another 1/3rd more for the add to's in vegetable's and extra's.

posted Mar 25th, 2011 10:40 pm


auhi

I started nutrisystem today and the food in fact is not bad at all! Almost not hungry at all, i have manage, hope everything goes well. :)

posted Mar 25th, 2011 9:47 pm


Rosie

This diet is good for folks who can't plan and can stick with highly processed foods plus some salads. I didn't like the food - high carb, high sodium. It really worked for my sister but with my diabetes and high blood pressure, the sodium level was too high. My doctor wants me to see a dietician to reduce salt.

posted Mar 25th, 2011 8:24 pm


Barbara Lemons

When do I get to eat a slice of whole wheat bread? Also, I do not see sugar-free jello on the list in my booklet? This first two days gave me a galloping case of diarrhea and I get that easily because the metformin that I take for diabetes is also likely to cause diarrhea. Help. Otherwise, I like what I have eaten so far. Thanks.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 7:42 pm


marilyn

Hard to deal with. Missing item was not sent after 11 days. Must go through a long chat by the company till I handed my husband the phone. First I tried to email and they never returned my inquiry. Food to high in sodium,carbs and fiber. Such gas and bloat.Who are they trying to kid. Marie should be ashamed,

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 6:00 pm


JJ

In addition to the article, for me,

Pro's: convenience and portion control.

Cons:
- Not a Healthy, Sustainable way of eating long term - just another quick fix diet.

- Highly processed food

- Loaded with undesirable additives and lots of Aspartame.

- Almost every Item is sweet, even many lunches & dinners.,this does not promote "responsible" eating habits.



So-so:

- One of the "Pro's" listed above is: "Supplement with fresh produce from grocery store"; This can also be a con as it ads cost - and you still need to shop. (you also need to add dairy)

- The food is not great tasting, but edible. Lots of "Meal replacement bars" (not a fan of these). But you can choose your own menu items.

- Not the Best Diet solution - but if you have tried everything else, and must lose weight for health reasons, this may be worth a try.

posted Mar 19th, 2011 12:48 pm



Jenni11

I love NS. I love how the food tastes and have had no problems with orders or anything. I had tons of friends recomment the program because of how successful it was for them. I lost 15lbs the first month. I am just starting my 2nd month and excited to see my results at the end of the month. I love the new frozen foods also. I find it funny that people blame the company for things they could have and should have researched themselves before buying into the program. I also have diabetes and the plan really has helped regulate my blood sugar. In fact at my last dr appt I was told my diabetes was getting BETTER...Can't beat that. As for buying food outside of what you pay for of course you have to buy dairy fruits and veggies and if you did that prior to this program and eating them rather than going out or eating processed foods then we all wouldn't be here trying to lose weight. My kids are eating healthier because of me being on the program and love eating their fruits and veggies. Thank you NS. The food is good...there are a few items I wasn't fond of but I went to my acct and changed the choices that way I get what I like delivered to me.

posted Mar 13th, 2011 4:07 pm


june mcclerkin

I ordered nutri system 3 days ago and I paid 19.95 which i was told was a rush delivery chage and was soppose to receive my food by 12: the next day now I can't gt anyone to call me back. I am now told it will be on the 18th of this month which will be abt 2 1/2 weeks after i placed my order.. I believe it is a scam and i don't want any thing to do with it. i am going to my bank tomorrow to get my chages reversed

posted Mar 8th, 2011 9:14 pm


Joan

-

I ordered NS thru QVC and started it a week ago.
I'm not happy with it, especially the dinners, what do they put in it that makes it have a funny taste??? The breakfasts and snacks aren't to bad but the dinners....awful. If I paid the regular price for it I would have sent it back.
I know Jennie Craig is expensive but it's probably worth it to have food that tastes like food.

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 11:16 am


JL

Nutrisystem is awesome for people who are ready to make some changes and get healthy. You can't "diet", lose the weight and expect to go back to your old habits. It's really about getting rid of the factors that made you unhealthy in the first place. If eating fruits and veggies aren't something you care to do then don't bother with Nutrisystem. Continue to go through the drive-thru and use all time you saved yourself to complain about why you're fat.

posted Feb 19th, 2011 8:43 am


Ernest Cera

order was and is wrong. ordered diabetric program . u sent pasta crapi am a diabetic and ordered your diet for diabetics and u send me tons of pasta that i can not eat. i would like to return this junk and get a rebate. i am 70 years old and retired. if u can not get the orders right get out of the business. i can,t gave away this stuff. i would like to cancel my order.

posted Feb 18th, 2011 3:02 pm


Jill

I tried this diet for two months and really liked it. The food tasted reasonable for the price of the diet. There were a few things I couldn't stand to eat and I just called them and asked for something different. They were real nice about it and sent me new items of my choosing and never asked me to send back the items I couldn't eat. i quit after losing 10 pounds and decided I'd try to duplicate the diet on my own, only it's quite difficult and I failed at that. Two months later, I've gained back the ten pounds by eating exactly as I have pleased, but now it's time for me to go back and try Nutrisystem again. I'm looking forward to it with their new great prices and I plan on losing a lot more this time and sticking to it a little longer. Yes, I would definitely recommend this diet to anyone who wants to lose weight easily and fast.

posted Feb 17th, 2011 10:34 pm


Pixie

To the people that complain about the cancellation fees it's stated clearly that if you cancel before 2 months you will be charged a fee. It's also very clear on the website that you buy your own fruit and vegetables.

In regards to the diet I like it. The food isn't the best but it works. I would compare it to a Lean Cuisine. A few things I have gagged on but I can select my food options for the most part and not pick that one again. I think if they improved the taste of their food they would have one of the best affordable diet plans.

It's affordable and easy to follow. I'm really happy that they now include frozen food. Eating just the prepackaged food gets old.

I had no plans to use the online tools because they seemed too basic. However there are some fun things people do on the discussion boards. Biggest Loser challenge was a great motivator.

posted Feb 17th, 2011 3:06 pm


lina

i just ordered nutrisystem, i have diabetes and i would like to know if i can have regular diet.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 4:10 pm


Canalian

-

I used Nutrisystem when they had an office in Ontario, Canada.

Went to use the program again and was digusted by the service I received. My food never arrived, I was told that a new shipment would be sent to replace this but it never left the warehouse.

I was told 3 times on 3 different days that the food would "be sent today".

Four weeks later I still hadn't seen anything.

Ended up cancelling my order and will not consider this company again.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 1:58 pm


Jill Miles

Why did Nutrisystem close all satelite offices? I used Nutrisystem in Redmond Wash. and like it very much and would use it again if there was a office where I live now. I tied the mail system and it doesn't work. There are food I didn't like and talked twice with a person to send something different and they sent me the same thing both times so I quite it's a waist of money. I don't eat what I don't like. I throw it away. I'm looking to diet again but not with Nutrisystem. I don't like Jennie Craig and she has a office here where I live. To bad it isn't Nutrisystem. Mailing the food out and no one to talk to just doesn't work. Bad,Bad, Bad. :0(

posted Feb 8th, 2011 10:05 pm


Alison

+

I've lost 12 pounds in 3 weeks....so I have no complaints. The food is pretty tasty, there are only a couple of items that I could not eat but since I get to customize my orders, I'm just not going to order those again. Very satisfied!!!!

posted Jan 31st, 2011 9:47 pm


TB

+

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating.

posted Jan 21st, 2011 3:56 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started with this 40% off coupon! Nutrisystem Coupons

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

In January 2016, Nutrisystem launched Turbo10, a clinically tested program that promises up to a 10-pound weight loss and an overall reduction of five inches from the waist, hips, thighs, chest, and arms in just the first month. In a clinical study sponsored by Nutrisystem, those who followed Turbo10 lost 3x more weight, 3x more total body inches and 3x more body fat in the first month compared to those who followed a do-it-yourself weight loss plan. In addition to weight loss, those on Turbo 10 also significantly reduced their systolic blood pressure after the first month.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

  • Start Here for Discount Offering

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

In 2016, Nutrisystem has reformulated more than 50% of the Nutrisystem menu items to contain no artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners. Whole grains were also increased in a large number of their foods with the goal to have at least 50% of the grains coming from whole grain sources while still meeting the USDA guidelines for fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, sodium, carbohydrates, fiber, and protein.

In an effort to keep with customer demand for more fresh-frozen selections, Nutrisystem unveiled Uniquely Yours, which allows for ultimate flexibility in your food choices, allowing consumers to choose between ready to eat and fresh frozen menu options, with no restrictions, from more than 150 menu items.

As part of the Turbo10 program, Nutrisystem also introduced Turboshakes, the company’s first ever line of shakes with protein and probiotics to support digestive and immune health and help reduce belly bloat.

EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by

Related Diets: Jenny Craig, Medifast , Weight Watchers, Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Nutrisystem?