Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

30%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 57 reviews
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Review: Does it Work?

If you're a carb addict, don't think you can't reward yourself... daily!

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet is a weight loss diet claiming it can help prevent addiction to carbohydrates while promoting weight loss. It’s mentioned how certain people can have a metabolism disorder via this addiction which when solved, can help suppress appetite and promote weight loss results.

The idea behind this diet is presented in an official book, which mentions many people have an insatiable addiction that prevents blood sugar and energy from remaining stable. It’s recommended to eat low amounts ofcarbohydrates, and making sure to introduce healthy protein sources. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of diets, and the most effective overall was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has a fat burning metabolism boosting diet pill and a meal replacement which can suppress appetite for hours. For more information about the 18Shake Diet, you can read about it in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The diet calls for the following:

No carbohydrates other than vegetables during breakfast and lunch.

• Dinner allows for a meal with anything you’d like, but only high carbohydrate foods every one hour. One can indulge in a portion of cake or other similar foods.

• Diet soda and coffee are allowed but no snacking in between meals to start with.

• First two weeks: Two small meals consisting of 3 to 4 ounces of meat, chicken or fish, 2 ounces of cheese, and about 2 cups of salad or vegetables .

• After 2 weeks: Different eating plans are introduced depending on one’s own weight loss desires. This can include a snacka day.

         • Drinking large amountsof water is advised.

The website discusses carbohydrate addiction:

“The word addict is associated with carbohydrate is not being used loosely”

“We believe that there is a TRIAD OF ADDICTION: that is BEHAVIOR, ENVIRONMENT, and BIOLOGY”

They fail to offer any evidence however that all carbohydrates can cause an addiction. Certain sources such as sugary foods may be unhealthy and can cause addiction, but carbohydrates also come from healthy sources such as vegetables, legumes, beans, and other foods.

The diet also allows for a reward at dinner for higher carbohydrate foods. It’s strange they allow for this while they also claim that it’s potentially dangerous to eat these kinds of foods.

You can also eat one higher carbohydrate food as long as it’s separated by an hour during dinner. This can make it easy to overeat and introduce unhealthy foods as there is no caloric limit set. The emphasized moderation, but certain foods can be high in calories or unhealthy ingredients.

Our experts have reviewed many diets and have compiled a list of the highest rated which is featured here.

The diet does not require any calorie counting which can lead to overeating if one is not careful. Not allowing for many carbohydrates of both breakfast and lunch can lead to side effects as well:

         • Fatigue, brain fog, difficulty concentrating.

         • Irritability, headaches, and mood swings.

It’s also suggested by the creators of this diet that it is not for everyone, they add how only those with metabolism disorders would really benefit.

MedicineNet.com has reviewed this diet and has mentioned:

“This diet is hardly a favorite of nutritionists or specialists with a medical background… abnormally high insulin levels… is a part of the medical condition known as metabolic syndrome”

They add how this issue:

“has a variety of causes – notably obesity itself “Carbohydrate addiction” has never been shown to be among them”

They debunk a major part of this diet which claims it can help those who have diabetic type of issues. John McDougall a medical doctor who has reviewed this diet also adds:

“The whole premise that we are carbohydrate Addict’smakes about as much sense as telling people they are oxygen or water Addict’s”

Therefore, the main premise behind this diet has not been proven to be truthful about how the body works. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click the link here.

Getting rid of carbohydrates only for a portion of the day makes no sense as one is still receiving this supposedly harmful macronutrient.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet does allow for certaincarbohydrates for the first 2 meals of the day, and the final meal allows for anuncontrolled caloric carbohydrate food every hour. This is a poor quality diet as it does not emphasize counting calories, and there’s no science to back up any of its claims.

It’s been described by a Dr. John McDougall as being:

“a way of tricking people into restricting food intake”

It’s not a comprehensive enough weight loss strategy as it has limited information about food intake, and it’s not based in any real science. Click the link cited for a comprehensive top ranking list of weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

Pricing depends on the quality of foods one chooses, and the book itself is sold on Amazon.com for $7.66 currently.

As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of CarbohydrateAddict’s Diet”, there are many suggestions made which people mention is outdated and no longer verified. There are many issues with this die due to the claims made about carbohydrate addiction which are not true. There is no evidence to help support the main idea behind this diet.

The overall quality is poor as allowing for those who truly have a metabolic disorder to eat as they like can promote unhealthy eating behaviors.  Dieters are allowed to gorge and eat potentially fattening foods which is not a proven solution for weight loss.

Business of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The diet was created by a husband and wife duo, Dr. Richard F. Heller and Dr. Rachael F. Heller. Both are retired doctors who specialize in psychiatry and biology work respectively, not weight loss or nutrition.

Dr. Richard Heller was settled a $20,000 lawsuit for allowing controlled substances to be easily accessed by people.

It’s unknown what research either doctor had to do to figure out that this kind of diet would be effective for weight loss. Without any real proof, it’s impossible to determine if this diet is based in real science. They don’t offer any explanation as to how one can become addicted to carbohydrates.

To see a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The books official Amazon.com page has a total of 98 critical reviews. Featured below are some quotes from users of the diet:

“Dedicated for 5 months and nearly no loss”

“this diet eventually backfires for many of its users”

“NO WAY I could eat like this for the rest of my life which is what the book tells you have to do”

“I began to feel dizzy and disoriented about the third day until I got my reward meal”

There are many issues with users claiming that the book is outdated, and that the information given is no longer proven effective. People have experienced side effects such as fatigue, brain fog, nausea, loss of energy, mood swings, headaches, and other symptoms.

Some people mentioned how they made sure to follow the advice given, only to experience a lack of any weight loss benefits. There were also issues from people who felt that the restriction on carbohydrates is too extreme, and that it made them no longer want to continue eating the same kinds of foods as it became unsatisfying.

Click the link cited here for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Work?

The Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet relies on the idea that certain people have a metabolic disorder that causes them to be addicted to carbohydrates. It’s claimed this is the real reason why people cannot lose weight no matter how long they try. This is not supported by any real science, and nutrition experts agree there is no evidence to support this claim. This makes sense as the creators are doctors who have no background in nutrition and health. Users of this diet also mention how they felt there wasn’t enough support, and there were issues with side effects and a lack of weight loss.

In reviewing many of the top ranked weight loss diets, our experts have found that the overall most effective for weight loss was the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement that suppresses appetite for hours, alongside a fat burning diet pill. Customers have rated them highly and there are testimonials from those who have managed to lose weight off this diet. There are also no added stimulants, artificial additives, colors, fillers, binders or any preservatives of any kind.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for users to try it for 30 days with no questions asked. To learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Carbohydrate Addicts Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Carbohydrate Addicts Diet
  • 30 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 5, 87 total comments)

Sharon M

+

I 've tried other low carb diets & always feel much healthier when I cut the carbs & eliminate sugars. So I know that low carb is the way I want to go. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to stick with other low carb diets for more than a couple months. I've realized that completely eliminating the foods I love the most like fresh fruits, pasta dishes, authentic Mexican food, or fresh baked bread, etc., for the rest of my life just isn't gonna happen. I have to stop deluding myself about that no matter how appealing and easy the diet authors make it sound.

Successful Atkins dieters have done it and I admire them. But I'm done with that diet. And tired of reading all their success stories while I keep failing at it.

And not just Atkins, but all of those other overly sweet meal bars, and drink mixes just gag me after while. What's up with that extreme sweet anyway.

I'm ready to give the Hellers' diet a try and am excited and hopeful.

I want to get 50 lbs of ugly blubber off me and am detemined once again.

Wish me luck. I'm starting today.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 3:04 pm


Michele

+

It's Easy and it works. South Beach is a lot harder to stick with. This gives you all the benefits of low carb while giving you at least one meal you can splurge on. After a while you won't even want to splurge but knowing you can is nice.

posted Dec 26th, 2008 1:58 pm


June

+

This is my favorite diet. I've already lost 5 lbs in less than two weeks. This diet works best for me because it reduces my cravings in the day, and the thought that I can have almost anything I want at least once a day keeps me sane. I usually have a coffee or redbull in the middle of hte day to keep my energy up, but the caffeine adds even more to my appetite suppression.



Give this a try. I think the reason why this diet works so well is because it (1) reduces cravings and helps you to eat less, (2) stops you from snacking throughout the day, and (3) gives you permission to your favorite foods at least once.



GOod luck!

posted Nov 26th, 2008 9:46 pm


Ginger

+

110 lbs off............need more info?

posted Nov 24th, 2008 2:47 pm


Robin

+

I've been on this plan for a little under a week now, and I've already lost 4 lbs. No cravings, no stomach upset, no problems whatsoever! We'll see how it goes over the long haul, but so far, so good!

posted Nov 17th, 2008 1:06 am


Lisa

+

Tried and loved this program.....but as the norm. fell off and am having a hard time restarting. Going to the Library tomorrow to reborrow the book. Having the book as reference is definitely helpful. The most difficult part I found was trying to watch all the eggs, cheese etc. regarding cholesterol. Any suggestions for breakfast?????

posted Nov 15th, 2008 8:35 pm


Lara

+

This diet is my all time favorite ever. It reduces cravings, and stops you from snacking all night. I started on July 1st and have lost 25 pounds so far (it's November 2nd 2008 today) without excersice and I feel great. Try to get the newest version published in 1991 because the versions released after are a little different as far as balancing your reward meal and what you eat for complimentary meals. Read the book from beginning to end, keep going back to read it over and over so you don't forget the basic rules. Make sure that you aren't accidentally eating hidden sugars in your complimentary meals, and stay away from msg on your complimentary meals as well. Don't get discouraged about the scale becasue you will be up and down and all over the place. Good luck to you!

posted Nov 4th, 2008 4:24 pm


Diane

+

I did this plan for eating 7 years ago and lost 20 lbs. I could not believe it, I was eating coffee rolls from dunkin donuts all the time at my reward meal and still losing weight.. I ended up having knee surgury and couldn't contiue it.. I'm back on it again and need to lose 25 to 30lbs. I don't feel hungry. sometimes I feel that I dont eat enough during the day and OVER DO IT at my reward meal.. I have decided to make cereal my carb snack at night. NO MORE SUZI Q'S and CHIPS... GOOD LUCK TO ALL

posted Oct 22nd, 2008 2:41 pm


maxx yee

+

you said in your book not to go on this diet if you have an autoimmune disease (i have hypothyroid) or if you have diabetes. my glucose level is about 100 (borderline). i went on it anyway and wonder if i am damaging myself? also will it make me insulin resistant?

i travel a lot, and it is impossible for me to stay on the diet while travelling. will going on and off the diet all the time be damaging to my body?

posted Oct 15th, 2008 10:15 pm


AMANDA

+

I started the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet 1 year ago today (10/8/08). I have lost 60 pounds and feel wonderful. This diet is simply amazing! If you can stick to it everyday you will have success too! And to the person who asked about the low carb bars. No you cannot have those on this diet except at your reward meal. Be very careful not to go by net carbs, only grams. Its a common mistake at first but it can throw off your whole day.

posted Oct 8th, 2008 12:30 pm


Rebecka

+

I started this diet. On 10/4/2008. I thought there is no way I can lose weight eating dessert. But, low and be hold it works. this is 10/7/2008 and I have already lost 2lbs. It is great! I put my husband on it too. He was optomistic at first but, he is starting to get into it also. Hopefully we will get healthy again.

posted Oct 7th, 2008 11:26 am


#34

+

Can you eat the low carb bars on this diet? These bars show high carbs but low IMPACT carbs. - Thanks for any input.

posted Oct 6th, 2008 5:55 pm


#34

+

Can you eat the low carb bars on this diet? These bars show high carbs but low IMPACT carbs. - Thanks for any input.

posted Oct 6th, 2008 4:28 pm


Susan

I, too, have had great success on this diet. I made sure also that my calories and fat for the Reward Meal were not out of control and changed all my grains, including pasta, to 100% whole grains. I increased fiber to the recommended 25-30 g per day and lost weight consistently. Most often, dessert was a piece of fruit. The weight came off and I am not young with a young person's metabolism. I first tried this diet in my late forties and am about to go back on it at the age of 50 because I allowed myself to return to bad habits. I highly recommend this diet.

posted Sep 16th, 2008 11:06 am


Sonja

I did the diet about 7 years ago. I had the complimentary meals and during my hour I ate a balanced meal but I ate whatever I wanted. I did what she talked about in the book. Broke the meal up into categories. I had something for appetizers, main course and dessert. I was sooo stuffed in the end that I didn't even think about anymore food all night. I also chased everything down with coffee.................. I lost 48 pounds. I was soooooo ammazed! I love this diet.

posted Sep 11th, 2008 6:18 pm


carole

I'm losing weight slowly because at first I ate too much at my reward meal. now that i've returned to my senses its coming off faster. 15# in 4 months so far. It just takes some creativity, i dont follow the recipes. my favorite dinner is salmon/broccoli/garlic bread/red wine . YUM! other regular meal foods I like are celery and cream cheese, eggs N bacon, cottage cheese, salads, salads, salads . A hot dog and chocolate shake fits in the plan too.! Dont give up on it, write down that weight. Good Luck.

posted Sep 2nd, 2008 8:37 am


Heather

I did this diet about ten years ago when I was 37 years old. It was like a miracle for me because after having two children and getting them to a reasonably comfortable phase, I just could not seem to lose the weight. I would sometimes not eat anything all day and then find myself in a convenience store having a doughnut and coffee to reward myself for driving in the snow and working. It was a terrible thing. So, I began it at Easter with candy all around and was able to have a bit if I felt like it at my reward dinner. I lost sixty pounds and kept it off for three years, then had a bit of trouble keeping on it, and jumped back on it again. I maintained my weight for several years with this plan. I went off of it for several years but have just begun it again after undergoing a hysterectomy and surgical menopause which spurred a weight gain of about twenty pounds. I've lost six pounds in a few weeks, and feel back in the driver's seat again. Like others, I would really eat everything I could think of at the reward meal at first, and now I don't bother. I had to use my reward for a junky catered food meal at work and still the weight went down. Trick to this is weighing daily, averaging then entering weekly average to chart. Trust me. Best of luck!

posted Aug 10th, 2008 8:07 pm


dogmeboatall

usa red water all dog water girl vacant student man

posted Jul 28th, 2008 9:11 am


Diana

I know that I am a Carbohydrate addict. This diet has been a blessing for me. I've had the book in my night stand for many years finally four weeks ago I started reading it and I thought oh my goodness I can do this. If this works it will a great way for me to control my appetite and break my carb addiction. I started the day after my 48th birthday and 4 weeks later I'm already down 10 lbs and I never feel hungry and I even have to remind myself to eat both complimentary meals. I don't even need the snack meal. At first I was out of control with the reward meal but now I just eat a regular meal with a desert within one hour. I don't even think about a snack at night I'm just not hungry!!! I am amazed at the energy I have too. This is by far the best diet/lifestyle change I have ever done. I've been telling everyone to try this diet because it is so easy and it WORKS!!!!. This IS the diet you've been looking for...Good Luck! God Bless

posted Jul 21st, 2008 5:09 pm


Sallyann

I did this plan 5 years ago and lost 30 lbs. I unfortunately went on vacation and got out of control with the carbs and gain every bit back plus some. I have tried other things, eating right and I have a limitation to exercise since I have osteoarthritis, but I can still walk. I will go on this plan again. The first time I didn't even buy the book I got it from the library, but this time, I'm going to get the book and shed this weight to take the pressure off my joints. Wholeheartedly recommend it.

posted Jul 10th, 2008 9:11 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Do you often enjoy a large meal and soon after feel hungry again? Or, do you feel like you can't stop eating starchy goodies once you've started? It's time you faced up to your addiction to carbs. You're not alone and the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet might just be the plan for you.

It's possible your body doesn't process carbs the way everyone else does. Sometimes, carbs in your body will result in substantial production of insulin, which in turn creates fat stores. The Carb Addict's Diet, created by Dr. Richard and Dr. Rachael Heller, manages your insulin level by helping you eat in a way that properly mixes when and what you eat. You'll even get to fight the addiction with your food must-haves.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

Common Misspellings

Carbhydrate Addicts Diet, Carbahydrates Addict's Diet, Carbohydrate Addict's Deit

PRO
  • Allows for a substantial portion of daily carbohydrates
  • May help to control imbalanced blood sugar levels, sugar cravings and mood swings
  • Nutrient-less carbohydrates are replaced by nutrient-rich foods
  • May help you to lose weight
  • Consuming too many unhealthy carbohydrates has been linked to obesity, diabetes and other chronic health conditions
CON
  • Specific instructions for reward meal are needed
  • Reward meal may turn into a 60-minute binge fest for those feeling truly carbohydrate-deprived
  • Restriction of fruit is disputed by some nutrition experts
  • Weight loss is likely to be temporary unless the dieter restricts their carb intake for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITION

True to its name, the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet restricts certain carbohydrates from your diet while allowing you to eat a modest of amount of approved carbs.

During the first two weeks of the diet, you follow a fairly strict plan of eating only certain foods and foods delineated in the Complimentary Meals list. Such foods include:

  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Fats, oils and dressings
  • Eggs and dairy products
  • Vegetables and salads
  • Special low-carb desserts (recipes in book)

Three meals a day are allowed. Breakfast and lunch must be protein plus low-glycemic vegetables. Dinner is referred to as your reward meal where you can eat whatever you want as long as you eat it in a one-hour time period.

Once you finish with the first two weeks of the diet, you gradually start to re-introduce certain carbs back into your diet, but the quantity and kinds of carbs are dependent upon your weight loss goals. The same reward meal applies.

A sample day on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet might look like this:

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with a combination of egg whites and one whole egg, bell peppers and mushrooms
  • Lunch: Romaine lettuce salad topped with grilled chicken breast, cucumber slices and olive oil and lemon juice
  • Snack: Hard-boiled eggs or string cheese
  • Dinner: Modest serving of pasta marinara and topped with Parmesan cheese shavings, served with sauteed broccoli.

Foods that are to be avoided during the day are:

  • Fruit
  • Fruit juices
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Sugar & sweets
  • Processed food
EXERCISE

You are encouraged to be consistently active while following the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. Clocking hours at the gym or on the StairMaster is not recommended, but rather you should aim to move your body more through modest exercise and in your daily routine.

CONCLUSION

Carbs have certainly received a bad rap in recent years as more and more research shows that diets high in refined carbohydrates can lead to weight gain and out-of-whack insulin levels.

While it's great dietary practice to limit the amount of refined carbs you eat, completing nixing fruit or even the occasional candy bar is just not realistic or healthy.

Even though the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet is likely to result in weight loss and receives high marks for its inclusion of lean protein and healthy veggies, its permission of a reward meal may lead to pasta binges and the resulting weight loss is likely to be temporary, once you cycle off the diet.

Related Diets: Bread for Life

Whats better than
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet?