Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 56 reviews

Carbohydrate Addicts Diet

If you're a carb addict, don't think you can't reward yourself... daily!

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Do you often enjoy a large meal and soon after feel hungry again? Or, do you feel like you can't stop eating starchy goodies once you've started? It's time you faced up to your addiction to carbs. You're not alone and the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet might just be the plan for you.

It's possible your body doesn't process carbs the way everyone else does. Sometimes, carbs in your body will result in substantial production of insulin, which in turn creates fat stores. The Carb Addict's Diet, created by Dr. Richard and Dr. Rachael Heller, manages your insulin level by helping you eat in a way that properly mixes when and what you eat. You'll even get to fight the addiction with your food must-haves.

Common Misspellings

Carbhydrate Addicts Diet, Carbahydrates Addict's Diet, Carbohydrate Addict's Deit

PRO
  • Allows for a substantial portion of daily carbohydrates
  • May help to control imbalanced blood sugar levels, sugar cravings and mood swings
  • Nutrient-less carbohydrates are replaced by nutrient-rich foods
  • May help you to lose weight
  • Consuming too many unhealthy carbohydrates has been linked to obesity, diabetes and other chronic health conditions
CON
  • Specific instructions for reward meal are needed
  • Reward meal may turn into a 60-minute binge fest for those feeling truly carbohydrate-deprived
  • Restriction of fruit is disputed by some nutrition experts
  • Weight loss is likely to be temporary unless the dieter restricts their carb intake for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITION

True to its name, the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet restricts certain carbohydrates from your diet while allowing you to eat a modest of amount of approved carbs.

During the first two weeks of the diet, you follow a fairly strict plan of eating only certain foods and foods delineated in the Complimentary Meals list. Such foods include:

  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Fats, oils and dressings
  • Eggs and dairy products
  • Vegetables and salads
  • Special low-carb desserts (recipes in book)

Three meals a day are allowed. Breakfast and lunch must be protein plus low-glycemic vegetables. Dinner is referred to as your reward meal where you can eat whatever you want as long as you eat it in a one-hour time period.

Once you finish with the first two weeks of the diet, you gradually start to re-introduce certain carbs back into your diet, but the quantity and kinds of carbs are dependent upon your weight loss goals. The same reward meal applies.

A sample day on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet might look like this:

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with a combination of egg whites and one whole egg, bell peppers and mushrooms
  • Lunch: Romaine lettuce salad topped with grilled chicken breast, cucumber slices and olive oil and lemon juice
  • Snack: Hard-boiled eggs or string cheese
  • Dinner: Modest serving of pasta marinara and topped with Parmesan cheese shavings, served with sauteed broccoli.

Foods that are to be avoided during the day are:

  • Fruit
  • Fruit juices
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Sugar & sweets
  • Processed food
EXERCISE

You are encouraged to be consistently active while following the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. Clocking hours at the gym or on the StairMaster is not recommended, but rather you should aim to move your body more through modest exercise and in your daily routine.

CONCLUSION

Carbs have certainly received a bad rap in recent years as more and more research shows that diets high in refined carbohydrates can lead to weight gain and out-of-whack insulin levels.

While it's great dietary practice to limit the amount of refined carbs you eat, completing nixing fruit or even the occasional candy bar is just not realistic or healthy.

Even though the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet is likely to result in weight loss and receives high marks for its inclusion of lean protein and healthy veggies, its permission of a reward meal may lead to pasta binges and the resulting weight loss is likely to be temporary, once you cycle off the diet.


Related Diets: Bread for Life


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 85 total comments)

Fermina

Hi, I started this diet last Jan 28/2015. So far I`ve lost 11.2 pounds. It has been slowly but I can wait, and I can do this for the rest of my life, so, no rush.

posted Apr 19th, 2015 12:52 am


Kelly

I have read the book and tried the diet. During the reward meal, you may eat fruit, pasta, and a Snickers bar, if you like-every day. Of course, if one is sensible, one will eat protein, vegetables, and healthy fats during the reward meal, as well as during the other meals. Limiting insulin raising foods to a one hour period does the trick, encouraging fat release from fat cells, and discouraging fat storage. Being allowed to eat what you want for one hour a day should prevent a person from feeling deprived. Anytime a person ceases to eat healthfully and returns to old habits, they will gain weight again. Permanent change to a low carbohydrate, moderate protein, high healthy fat diet, will balance the body's hormone response and result in effortless weight maintenance. Very occasional, say once a week, desserts after supper will not disturb the balance once achieved.

posted Mar 5th, 2015 4:09 am


Lisa

Just to add to my previous post, I noticed a few of you expressing guilt about 'going overboard' at the reward meal. Let me stress that you CAN EAT ANYTHING YOU WANT at the reward meal. Excuse the caps, but I have no other way of putting it. You have an hour to eat whatever you want since the insulin (the hormone that causes fat storage) isn't released until approximately 75 minutes after your first bite. Heck, sometimes my entire reward meal consists mainly of carbs! Since it's been so engrained in us that it's how much we eat instead of WHEN we eat, it is understandable that we say 'Oh, that's impossible. How can I eat 3 bowls of ice cream and still lose weight?!' Maybe it's guilt, maybe it's your spouse or family criticizing you for enjoying eating a lot for once. Who knows. But I don't feel guilty anymore, because I know the diet works. It has in the past and it is now. If you find yourself gaining weight, don't panic and don't blame the reward meal (unless you went over your allotted 60 minutes). Instead, look at the amount of carbs per meal you are eating at the complimentary meals. For example, I just bought a pack of bacon and forgot to check the label in the store, turns out that particular brand of bacon has more carbs (1 carb per 2 slices) than my usual brand (0 carbs per 2 slices). The same with cheese. Some cheese lists 1gm per serving, some 0. I pick the 0, always. I try to keep my carbs under 6 grams per complimentary meal. Again for the reward meal, I just don't count.
That's all I had to say. Good luck!

posted Jan 6th, 2015 7:45 pm


Lisa

Luckily I've never really had to diet before, but several years back, I gained 35 lbs from my first child. I thought I'd look into a diet and chose this one. I started this diet and lost the 35 lbs with no effort and lots of BACON!! Neighbours I barely knew noticed my weight loss, which was great, but it also showed how I hadn't even noticed the weight creeping up on me. It is difficult to cheat on this diet because things like bacon and cheese are allowed, so you really don't feel deprived. I started back on it a couple months ago after gaining some winter weight last year. Even though I had been working out trying to lose it, I just wasn't losing it. So, I thought I'd just give the diet another go because I was so sick of the gym. I've lost more weight in the last few weeks than a whole year at the silly gym. The reward meal is the best because if you have it at dinner, as I do, it gives you something to look forward to throughout the day and so helps keep you on track. And now, I just don't have the appetite for carbs that I used to - even at the reward meal.
It was too bad Oprah trashed the doctors a few years ago on her show. I think she did them and those who were watching a real disservice since most of the audience who had tried the diet did, in fact, lose weight on it. In fact they lost a total of 300 lbs! I see that the diet has a rating of 100% on this site. So the good doctors must be doing something right. But, all Oprah complained about was she 'just wanted an apple'.Yeah right. lol I think she was having more than 'just an apple' and that's why she wasn't losing weight. And the doctors tried to delicately point that out but she still slammed them and blamed the diet. Who knows, maybe her chef didn't appreciate the specific details of the diet and was inadvertently sabotaging the diet. Or it could have been because Oprah seems to like her wine ... a lot. Anyway, the whole point is to accept that you may have an insulin problem or even marginally diabetic if you can't lose weight any other way but this, which she still hasn't accepted. Addiction, whether it be food, alcohol or crack, has no regard for the facts and can convince the brain the sky is red.
But I digress, I haven't read the whole 'finish your coffee in 15 minutes' part of the diet since I'm using the older book. But that may be something I should look into as I realise now that savouring my coffee every morning may be detrimental to the diet.
I don't agree that one should stop this diet. It is based on the idea that the dieter is insulin resistant and therefore is much like a diabetic in the way that they will always be that way or will be for a very long time. Six months on the diet but then going back to regular eating is not recommended and this is not just for your weight but for your overall health. I'm going to keep at it since it's good for me and I enjoy it!

posted Jan 6th, 2015 6:57 pm


Fermina

I would like to star this diet tomorrow april 1st.
I'll let you know how was it.

posted Mar 31st, 2014 9:30 pm


Rose Beach

Love the inspirational posts from people who have succeeded on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. I'm on it now and am very happy!

posted Jun 9th, 2013 8:32 pm


S.Sree Kiruthika

Is the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet suited for vegetarians? This is simply amazing diet plan. Does this diet suit vegetarians also?

posted Feb 21st, 2013 5:39 pm


Greg

I read the book and followed their instructions...No carbs for 23 hrs. then when u fell as if u are going to quit the diet it is time for an hour of nothing but peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with milk..I lost 11 lbs. the first week and 40 more after that....Now for 5 years I have been retired and not getting enough exercise and falling into my carb gouging...So starting today, I am going back to the Carbohydrate addicts diet.. My colesterol and triglycerides when I was on the diet for two months dropped sooo low that my doctor thought he had the wrong blood work...He was amased.. I went from 335 bad colesterol to 95 and triglycerides went from 365 to 135...This diet WORKS...but I would use it for only about 6 weeks..shed about 45 lbs. and go back to my point system @ weight watchers...and I will be good to go... ps: after u are on the Dr. Heller's diet for 2 days, your cravings for sweets will just about diminish completely..good luck and God Bless......

posted Nov 13th, 2012 7:43 pm


Brenda

I love this diet and am just starting it for the second time. I did it approximately 15 years ago and lost 42 pounds in 2 1/2 months! It was the greatest thing for me. My doctor had suggested the Atkins diet but I love my carbs too much and it just wasn't working out for me so he suggested the CAD. I'm a believer! I kept most of the weight off for about 10 yrs but now I'm back were I started unfortunately. :( So here we go again and I know I'll have the same luck. I'm already off to a great start with 3 pounds gone in my first day. I can't wait to get to were I was back then.

posted Jul 17th, 2012 7:58 pm


Carollynnalexander

The Diet Does Work, It worked better for me than Atkins. In the beginning My reward meal was huge but after a couple of weeks I felt I was in control of my eating. I lost 50+ lbs. If you do not taper off the plan as stated in the book you will gain the weight back and the uncontrolled hunger/cravings. it is a plan that you can live with. It is a good plan

posted Mar 1st, 2012 7:02 pm


Marjorie

I have been on this plan and it's great! I never cheated ONCE in four months because you don't have to cheat on this. If you're feeling deprived or if someone brings cake into work, you just save it for your reward meal. If you didn't get to eat your craving today, there is always tomorrow. You get to reward yourself EVERY DAY. The trick is not to do it ALL day, like I was doing!! LOL

posted Jan 11th, 2012 3:04 pm


Patricia Smith

It has been working like a dream for me....What a relief to stop the bingeing! I do whatever I have to at the reward meal to ensure I don't eat past the one-hour time limit. I used to use the Atkins plan, but found I went crazy with cravings. The Carbohydrate's Addict's Diet has been a new, energized way of living! I take comfort in knowing that I can fit all my favorites in my reward meals, which stops the feelings of deprivation. This is my second month, I lost 8 lbs. painlessly. This includes family dinners, parties, events, etc.

posted Oct 28th, 2011 4:22 pm


Barb

I did this diet back in 1994 and lost 35 lbs in about 7 months. I have always taken thyroid pills and can starve and won't lose weight. I do need to do some exercise such as walking or dancing to the oldies. Anyway, I regained the weight the following year, because I thought I could eat normal. Now I need to lose 35 lbs again. I am 78 yrs young and can do the exercise. I am on second day and feeling good. Good time of year to do this diet because of big dinners on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Just stay in that hour. I used to go to buffet and yes, pig out, for an hour and still lost weight.

posted Oct 20th, 2011 4:23 pm


bill cramer

On the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet, can we have wine in the reward meal? red wine

posted Oct 11th, 2011 6:09 pm


Patricia

My doctor suggested eating this way , no carbs before dinner. He lives this way and he's pretty slim!!! He's never heard of the Hellers but was fine with me following this way of life. I've lost 16 pounds since May. He did say though that this has to be a forever thing or the weight will come back. Good luck everyone!!

posted Sep 11th, 2011 8:01 pm


Hey, that's the greaetst! So with ll this brain power AWHFY?

Hey, that's the greaetst! So with ll this brain power AWHFY?

posted Sep 9th, 2011 2:59 am


Alice

I am 66 and started the diet yesterday. I am 5 ft. 9 inches and 222 lbs. and a mild diabetic, recently diagnosed. So far so good, including my blood sugar readings. It is difficult w/o a snack but I'm hanging in there. Why must coffee be consumed within 15 mins.? I wish I could have a small protein snack like string cheese or boneless chicken breast, but so far am adhering to the rules. I would like to get down to at least 175 lbs.

posted Jul 18th, 2011 10:55 am


ania

Hi everyone, I have been struggling with losing weigh my whole life and am currently doing a bit more research on this book before I decide to get it. Can anyone please tell me what is the difference between this diet and Atkins??? I have so many questions lol! I tried the Atkins induction but I cannot stand eggs and any of the fake sweeteners, they give me migraines, plus I too have PCOS.Please feel free to email with any comments, thanks!

posted May 31st, 2011 6:47 pm


Heidi

The only diet that has every truly worked for me....I don't know why but I am much less hungry on this diet than when following traditional diets like Weight Watchers, Slim fast etc. Thanks to the creators of this program!

posted Apr 14th, 2011 7:36 pm


Amanda

I too have PCOS and this is the ONLY thing that has ever worked for me! I tried the low cal and low fat and ended up gaining weigh!!!. I am so thankful for this plan, not diet, because it is a total new way of life that is easy and enjoyable!!!

posted Apr 10th, 2011 8:38 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account