Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

30%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 57 reviews
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Review: Does it Work?

If you're a carb addict, don't think you can't reward yourself... daily!

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet is a weight loss diet claiming it can help prevent addiction to carbohydrates while promoting weight loss. It’s mentioned how certain people can have a metabolism disorder via this addiction which when solved, can help suppress appetite and promote weight loss results.

The idea behind this diet is presented in an official book, which mentions many people have an insatiable addiction that prevents blood sugar and energy from remaining stable. It’s recommended to eat low amounts ofcarbohydrates, and making sure to introduce healthy protein sources. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of diets, and the most effective overall was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has a fat burning metabolism boosting diet pill and a meal replacement which can suppress appetite for hours. For more information about the 18Shake Diet, you can read about it in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The diet calls for the following:

No carbohydrates other than vegetables during breakfast and lunch.

• Dinner allows for a meal with anything you’d like, but only high carbohydrate foods every one hour. One can indulge in a portion of cake or other similar foods.

• Diet soda and coffee are allowed but no snacking in between meals to start with.

• First two weeks: Two small meals consisting of 3 to 4 ounces of meat, chicken or fish, 2 ounces of cheese, and about 2 cups of salad or vegetables .

• After 2 weeks: Different eating plans are introduced depending on one’s own weight loss desires. This can include a snacka day.

         • Drinking large amountsof water is advised.

The website discusses carbohydrate addiction:

“The word addict is associated with carbohydrate is not being used loosely”

“We believe that there is a TRIAD OF ADDICTION: that is BEHAVIOR, ENVIRONMENT, and BIOLOGY”

They fail to offer any evidence however that all carbohydrates can cause an addiction. Certain sources such as sugary foods may be unhealthy and can cause addiction, but carbohydrates also come from healthy sources such as vegetables, legumes, beans, and other foods.

The diet also allows for a reward at dinner for higher carbohydrate foods. It’s strange they allow for this while they also claim that it’s potentially dangerous to eat these kinds of foods.

You can also eat one higher carbohydrate food as long as it’s separated by an hour during dinner. This can make it easy to overeat and introduce unhealthy foods as there is no caloric limit set. The emphasized moderation, but certain foods can be high in calories or unhealthy ingredients.

Our experts have reviewed many diets and have compiled a list of the highest rated which is featured here.

The diet does not require any calorie counting which can lead to overeating if one is not careful. Not allowing for many carbohydrates of both breakfast and lunch can lead to side effects as well:

         • Fatigue, brain fog, difficulty concentrating.

         • Irritability, headaches, and mood swings.

It’s also suggested by the creators of this diet that it is not for everyone, they add how only those with metabolism disorders would really benefit.

MedicineNet.com has reviewed this diet and has mentioned:

“This diet is hardly a favorite of nutritionists or specialists with a medical background… abnormally high insulin levels… is a part of the medical condition known as metabolic syndrome”

They add how this issue:

“has a variety of causes – notably obesity itself “Carbohydrate addiction” has never been shown to be among them”

They debunk a major part of this diet which claims it can help those who have diabetic type of issues. John McDougall a medical doctor who has reviewed this diet also adds:

“The whole premise that we are carbohydrate Addict’smakes about as much sense as telling people they are oxygen or water Addict’s”

Therefore, the main premise behind this diet has not been proven to be truthful about how the body works. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click the link here.

Getting rid of carbohydrates only for a portion of the day makes no sense as one is still receiving this supposedly harmful macronutrient.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet does allow for certaincarbohydrates for the first 2 meals of the day, and the final meal allows for anuncontrolled caloric carbohydrate food every hour. This is a poor quality diet as it does not emphasize counting calories, and there’s no science to back up any of its claims.

It’s been described by a Dr. John McDougall as being:

“a way of tricking people into restricting food intake”

It’s not a comprehensive enough weight loss strategy as it has limited information about food intake, and it’s not based in any real science. Click the link cited for a comprehensive top ranking list of weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

Pricing depends on the quality of foods one chooses, and the book itself is sold on Amazon.com for $7.66 currently.

As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of CarbohydrateAddict’s Diet”, there are many suggestions made which people mention is outdated and no longer verified. There are many issues with this die due to the claims made about carbohydrate addiction which are not true. There is no evidence to help support the main idea behind this diet.

The overall quality is poor as allowing for those who truly have a metabolic disorder to eat as they like can promote unhealthy eating behaviors.  Dieters are allowed to gorge and eat potentially fattening foods which is not a proven solution for weight loss.

Business of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The diet was created by a husband and wife duo, Dr. Richard F. Heller and Dr. Rachael F. Heller. Both are retired doctors who specialize in psychiatry and biology work respectively, not weight loss or nutrition.

Dr. Richard Heller was settled a $20,000 lawsuit for allowing controlled substances to be easily accessed by people.

It’s unknown what research either doctor had to do to figure out that this kind of diet would be effective for weight loss. Without any real proof, it’s impossible to determine if this diet is based in real science. They don’t offer any explanation as to how one can become addicted to carbohydrates.

To see a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The books official Amazon.com page has a total of 98 critical reviews. Featured below are some quotes from users of the diet:

“Dedicated for 5 months and nearly no loss”

“this diet eventually backfires for many of its users”

“NO WAY I could eat like this for the rest of my life which is what the book tells you have to do”

“I began to feel dizzy and disoriented about the third day until I got my reward meal”

There are many issues with users claiming that the book is outdated, and that the information given is no longer proven effective. People have experienced side effects such as fatigue, brain fog, nausea, loss of energy, mood swings, headaches, and other symptoms.

Some people mentioned how they made sure to follow the advice given, only to experience a lack of any weight loss benefits. There were also issues from people who felt that the restriction on carbohydrates is too extreme, and that it made them no longer want to continue eating the same kinds of foods as it became unsatisfying.

Click the link cited here for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Work?

The Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet relies on the idea that certain people have a metabolic disorder that causes them to be addicted to carbohydrates. It’s claimed this is the real reason why people cannot lose weight no matter how long they try. This is not supported by any real science, and nutrition experts agree there is no evidence to support this claim. This makes sense as the creators are doctors who have no background in nutrition and health. Users of this diet also mention how they felt there wasn’t enough support, and there were issues with side effects and a lack of weight loss.

In reviewing many of the top ranked weight loss diets, our experts have found that the overall most effective for weight loss was the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement that suppresses appetite for hours, alongside a fat burning diet pill. Customers have rated them highly and there are testimonials from those who have managed to lose weight off this diet. There are also no added stimulants, artificial additives, colors, fillers, binders or any preservatives of any kind.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for users to try it for 30 days with no questions asked. To learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Carbohydrate Addicts Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Carbohydrate Addicts Diet
  • 30 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 5, 87 total comments)

Heidi

+

The only diet that has every truly worked for me....I don't know why but I am much less hungry on this diet than when following traditional diets like Weight Watchers, Slim fast etc. Thanks to the creators of this program!

posted Apr 14th, 2011 7:36 pm


Amanda

I too have PCOS and this is the ONLY thing that has ever worked for me! I tried the low cal and low fat and ended up gaining weigh!!!. I am so thankful for this plan, not diet, because it is a total new way of life that is easy and enjoyable!!!

posted Apr 10th, 2011 8:38 pm


Pam Phree

+

I just started on this diet today. As a carb addict, I never ate very much just ate all the wrong things. Carb loaded every meal and snacks. Now I'm eating no carbs for breakfast, huge salad for lunch, only carb is in the dressing and a moderate carb dinner. This works for me as I cook dinner for my elderly mother and must eat the same things she does to make her happy. I'm planning on sticking with this forever and will happily report when I've lost the 40 pounds I need to lose. Keep the comments coming! They encourage me to keep going.

posted Mar 28th, 2011 10:15 pm


Rossana

I did this back in 2000, I found the book in my house. I LOVE this plan. When you are an addict Like myself you cannot expect to not eat carbs at all or only "good carbs". I lost 50 pounds with a smile on my face. Now when we talk about diets my Niece refers to CAD as the Happy diet. Please read the book and try it too.

posted Mar 25th, 2011 6:26 pm


Paula

+

My 18 year old daughter has struggled with her weight since elementary school. I found a copy of The Carbohydrate Addict's diet . My daughter took it, read it ,and immediately put it into practice, and has lost 28 pounds in less than 3 months! She is looking great and her self esteem has zoomed. I have now started the meal plan, and hope to have similar results!

posted Feb 9th, 2011 5:44 pm


Holly

+

I tried this diet back in the 90's shortly after the book came out. It worked like a dream. I was not extremely heavy, just needed to lose 15-20 pounds. I lost 17 pounds almost effortlessly - never felt hungry or deprived, and was able to keep the weight off for almost 3 years. Why did I regain the weight? Because I stopped eating low-carb, pure and simple. Since then I have struggled with my weight and been unable to lose it by traditional methods. I even gained more weight so that I need to lose 20+ pounds now. So I'm back to what worked for me before. The beauty of having a reward meal is that it's much easier to forego carbs if you know you can have them later on in the day, rather than that you can't have them at all. And yes, sometimes I did "pig out" at my reward meal, but I still lost the weight. It didn't matter if it took a little longer, because I wasn't starving, I wasn't depriving myself, and I was able to eat all the foods I liked. I'm hopeful that with the plethora of low-carb recipes that have now been developed, I will be able to eat low-carb for life and won't fall off the wagon again because of boredom with the same foods over and over again.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 3:08 am


liz

So I am starting this diet today. I need something that I can do around the holidays and still lose some weight, I want to lose 20-25lbs. I have been stuck at my current weight for a few years now which is frustrating. I am pretty active but I work part time nights which throws my eating and sleep off. I may have to have my reward meal in the morning some days instead of at night. Do you think this is a problem as long as it's only one reward meal a day eaten within 1 hour.

posted Nov 16th, 2010 4:29 pm


Louis

I am so happy I found this comment page in reference to CAD which I just started. (First I wish to extend my sincerest condolences to "Jan" on the loss of her grandson. I can't even begin to imagine the pain her family has lived through.)

After taking the Hellers' test and scoring 48 in the severe carb addiction range, I felt their book was wriiten for me. I actually had read the book when it first came out, but back then I was very much into OA, a 12 step program which advocated total abstinence from the addictive foods, so i dismissed the book entirely.
On the CAD I do not feel hungry or have cravings throughout the day anymore, and I don't find myself desiring the carbs I thought I would want to devour at my reward meal. Somehow, just knowing I can have them makes them lose their allure.
I pray this is the solution for me, and I am really going to stick with it. If I don't lose enough weight , I will see my physician about more advanced and thorough testing for a thyroid condition

posted Jul 24th, 2010 6:31 pm


jennync

I am confused about a couple of things with the diet. Are we allowed to eat 3-4 ounces of meat but count the 1-2 two eggs as dairy? Can some one help me. Thanks

posted Jul 1st, 2010 11:23 am


Jan

+

I am back on the CAD way of eating and I feel better than ever. I lost 55 lbs 10 yrs ago and gained that all back (and then some) when I went on antidepressents after my grandson died 5 yrs ago. I am 46 yrs old and so far I have lost 15 lbs. I love this eating plan and it is my intention to stick with this lifestyle for the rest of my life. I was successful with keeping the weight off for 5 yrs, so I know that this works.

posted Jun 23rd, 2010 11:43 pm


Dana Cieslak

+

Back 2000, I finished losing 240lbs after 15 years of trying dozens of ways to eat. Right after I left high school standard exercising-more-eating-less failed, and even eating a little under my recommended calories for more than a year straight gave me nought but a ten pound up & down - after that I tried weight watchers, atkins, jenny craig, and a bunch of other ways of eating, but none lasted long term for me. Being the methodical geek that I am, I sat down and charted exactly how I felt after I ate different foods, and over a period of about six months I came up with a slightly dull, but heavily effective plan that I repeated weekly. It fed me, was affordable, alleviated pretty much all my cravings, and most importantly lead me to reach an ideal healthy weight. I relaxed the monotony of my plan after I hit goal, but it's kept the weight off. This June 2010 I'll have been at my ideal weight for a decade.

It's only in the last week that I discovered a second hand copy of the carbo addict's diet, and saw every word on the pages echo my experiences - and although it's much more in depth for varied eating than mine ever was, I see exactly the same concepts!. One large meal heavy on the carbs if we wish, and two smaller ones with minimal carbs - I had large lunches and left the others as small.

It's a tremendous validation, and I'm so so glad it's out there for others to use and enjoy! Kudos to the wonderful authors, only wish I'd happened upon your book when I started :)

posted Apr 20th, 2010 11:42 am


Cynthia 127

After reading the feedback, Ima try this out today and post updates. I'll also try to eat my carbs in the morning on the weekdays and lunch or dinner on weekends since it's so much more harder to resist when it's play time. TGIF! =P. South beach diet was really good for me but it was hard because they don't allow carbs the first 2 weeks. Also doesn't recommend exercise for that time prob cuz u don't have much energy. I think this diet sounds more like a lifestyle change and I'm ready to get rid of the excess long term. Wish me luck! Thanks for all the feedback!

posted Apr 16th, 2010 12:13 pm


Rena

+

I went from a size 8 to a size 4 back in 1999 and never felt like I was on a diet because of the reward meal. It was the first time I could have 3 meals a day because of a sluggish thyroid.

I'm on day #2 and hoping for good results since I've gained 20lbs of menopause weight this past year.. Nothing else has worked and the pounds just keep coming!

Wish me luck!!!!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 7:28 pm


Redhead74

+

I am day two (second time around - previous 30lbs weight loss and suprise pregnancy) of this simple diet. I too have PCOS and this plan suits not only my body but also suits the whole family.

To the lady who is trying to concieve...don't give up. PCOS does not rule my life anymore. Food cravings do not rule my life anymore....my 3 yr old miracle does!!!

GOOD LUCK ;-)

posted Mar 10th, 2010 6:41 pm


Berkley

I have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome which prevents my body from processing insulin correctly. As a result, your body is constantly telling itself to store fat rather that burn it as energy. I am trying to get pregnant so for me this goes way beyond losing weight. I was told yesterday by a doctor that I have to cut out carbs almost completely. I LOVE potatoes, bread, pasta, everything I shouldn't I guess. I was really bummed until I ran across this page. This definitely sounds like it has a good success rate and something I see myself sticking to. Buying the book after work tonight. I really hopes this works for me because, while being healthier is obviously a great thing, there is nothing that I want more than to have a child with my wonderful husband and be a mommy! Wish me luck!

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 12:24 pm


714

I tried this diet DECADES ago and found it was the only one that worked for me. I lost 50 #s and kept it off for 3 yrs. I gained those #s and more back- slowly, by not exercising and not eating right. I'm 58 now, and plan on losing 75#s - starting today - wish me luck!

posted Feb 19th, 2010 12:41 pm


Cassandra

I have been on this diet for a week and have not lost anything, although I haven't gained an ounce. My problem is most likely going crazy at my Reward Meal, and because I am no longer feeling such a need for carbs, I am cutting down on my intake.
One thing I noticed right away, though, is the improvement in my mental clarity, along with the reduction in carb cravings and constant hunger. Suddenly I can think again. It's a great feeling. I am going to keep at it, making sure I eat more sensibly at my Reward Meal so that I can start dropping the weight. I have the 1991 version of the book that I found in a thrift store, so I guess I should check out more recent editions.

posted Jan 30th, 2010 11:45 am


jan

I have been on this diet one week and absolutely love it! It is the best diet I have ever been on and I don't really feel like I am on a diet, just a good eating plan and hopefully for life. I hope to lose 60 lbs in a year. I have told all my friends abouit this diet.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 12:08 am


Linda Elms

+

I had lost 90 lbs. several yrs. ago on this diet. It was the easiest diet I was ever on and stuck to it. I really liked it. Unfortunately I had several injuries/health issues and I had to take asprins and such which made me gain weight back which lead to other prescibed medications that I have to continue to take possibly for the rest of my life so all the medications put the weight back on ...PLUS more. Now I have 100+ lbs. to lose and I'm ready to go back on it. I referred this book to other people and they too lost weight. I am ready to start this lifestyle change again and hopefully I'll keep it off. I was losing 1-2 lbs. a week and that made me very happy enough to keep me sticking to it.. It took me about 6 months to lose the 90 lbs. It just melted off me and I truly mean that. Thank you Dr's.

posted Jan 12th, 2010 10:11 pm


Julie Curtiss

I am doing well on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. It works for me! Does any one know of any soup that can be purchased as part of the Complementary meal? Can I use soups with 4 carbs or less per serving? Please let me know if you have any suggestions. Thank you.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 1:09 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Do you often enjoy a large meal and soon after feel hungry again? Or, do you feel like you can't stop eating starchy goodies once you've started? It's time you faced up to your addiction to carbs. You're not alone and the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet might just be the plan for you.

It's possible your body doesn't process carbs the way everyone else does. Sometimes, carbs in your body will result in substantial production of insulin, which in turn creates fat stores. The Carb Addict's Diet, created by Dr. Richard and Dr. Rachael Heller, manages your insulin level by helping you eat in a way that properly mixes when and what you eat. You'll even get to fight the addiction with your food must-haves.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

Common Misspellings

Carbhydrate Addicts Diet, Carbahydrates Addict's Diet, Carbohydrate Addict's Deit

PRO
  • Allows for a substantial portion of daily carbohydrates
  • May help to control imbalanced blood sugar levels, sugar cravings and mood swings
  • Nutrient-less carbohydrates are replaced by nutrient-rich foods
  • May help you to lose weight
  • Consuming too many unhealthy carbohydrates has been linked to obesity, diabetes and other chronic health conditions
CON
  • Specific instructions for reward meal are needed
  • Reward meal may turn into a 60-minute binge fest for those feeling truly carbohydrate-deprived
  • Restriction of fruit is disputed by some nutrition experts
  • Weight loss is likely to be temporary unless the dieter restricts their carb intake for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITION

True to its name, the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet restricts certain carbohydrates from your diet while allowing you to eat a modest of amount of approved carbs.

During the first two weeks of the diet, you follow a fairly strict plan of eating only certain foods and foods delineated in the Complimentary Meals list. Such foods include:

  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Fats, oils and dressings
  • Eggs and dairy products
  • Vegetables and salads
  • Special low-carb desserts (recipes in book)

Three meals a day are allowed. Breakfast and lunch must be protein plus low-glycemic vegetables. Dinner is referred to as your reward meal where you can eat whatever you want as long as you eat it in a one-hour time period.

Once you finish with the first two weeks of the diet, you gradually start to re-introduce certain carbs back into your diet, but the quantity and kinds of carbs are dependent upon your weight loss goals. The same reward meal applies.

A sample day on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet might look like this:

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with a combination of egg whites and one whole egg, bell peppers and mushrooms
  • Lunch: Romaine lettuce salad topped with grilled chicken breast, cucumber slices and olive oil and lemon juice
  • Snack: Hard-boiled eggs or string cheese
  • Dinner: Modest serving of pasta marinara and topped with Parmesan cheese shavings, served with sauteed broccoli.

Foods that are to be avoided during the day are:

  • Fruit
  • Fruit juices
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Sugar & sweets
  • Processed food
EXERCISE

You are encouraged to be consistently active while following the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. Clocking hours at the gym or on the StairMaster is not recommended, but rather you should aim to move your body more through modest exercise and in your daily routine.

CONCLUSION

Carbs have certainly received a bad rap in recent years as more and more research shows that diets high in refined carbohydrates can lead to weight gain and out-of-whack insulin levels.

While it's great dietary practice to limit the amount of refined carbs you eat, completing nixing fruit or even the occasional candy bar is just not realistic or healthy.

Even though the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet is likely to result in weight loss and receives high marks for its inclusion of lean protein and healthy veggies, its permission of a reward meal may lead to pasta binges and the resulting weight loss is likely to be temporary, once you cycle off the diet.

Related Diets: Bread for Life

Whats better than
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet?