Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 44 reviews

Carbohydrate Addicts Diet

If you're a carb addict, don't think you can't reward yourself... daily!

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Do you often enjoy a large meal and soon after feel hungry again? Or, do you feel like you can't stop eating starchy goodies once you've started? It's time you faced up to your addiction to carbs. You're not alone and the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet might just be the plan for you.

It's possible your body doesn't process carbs the way everyone else does. Sometimes, carbs in your body will result in substantial production of insulin, which in turn creates fat stores. The Carb Addict's Diet, created by Dr. Richard and Dr. Rachael Heller, manages your insulin level by helping you eat in a way that properly mixes when and what you eat. You'll even get to fight the addiction with your food must-haves.

Common Misspellings

Carbhydrate Addicts Diet, Carbahydrates Addict's Diet, Carbohydrate Addict's Deit

PRO
  • Allows for a substantial portion of daily carbohydrates
  • May help to control imbalanced blood sugar levels, sugar cravings and mood swings
  • Nutrient-less carbohydrates are replaced by nutrient-rich foods
  • May help you to lose weight
  • Consuming too many unhealthy carbohydrates has been linked to obesity, diabetes and other chronic health conditions
CON
  • Specific instructions for reward meal are needed
  • Reward meal may turn into a 60-minute binge fest for those feeling truly carbohydrate-deprived
  • Restriction of fruit is disputed by some nutrition experts
  • Weight loss is likely to be temporary unless the dieter restricts their carb intake for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITION

True to its name, the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet restricts certain carbohydrates from your diet while allowing you to eat a modest of amount of approved carbs.

During the first two weeks of the diet, you follow a fairly strict plan of eating only certain foods and foods delineated in the Complimentary Meals list. Such foods include:

  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Fats, oils and dressings
  • Eggs and dairy products
  • Vegetables and salads
  • Special low-carb desserts (recipes in book)

Three meals a day are allowed. Breakfast and lunch must be protein plus low-glycemic vegetables. Dinner is referred to as your reward meal where you can eat whatever you want as long as you eat it in a one-hour time period.

Once you finish with the first two weeks of the diet, you gradually start to re-introduce certain carbs back into your diet, but the quantity and kinds of carbs are dependent upon your weight loss goals. The same reward meal applies.

A sample day on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet might look like this:

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with a combination of egg whites and one whole egg, bell peppers and mushrooms
  • Lunch: Romaine lettuce salad topped with grilled chicken breast, cucumber slices and olive oil and lemon juice
  • Snack: Hard-boiled eggs or string cheese
  • Dinner: Modest serving of pasta marinara and topped with Parmesan cheese shavings, served with sauteed broccoli.

Foods that are to be avoided during the day are:

  • Fruit
  • Fruit juices
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Sugar & sweets
  • Processed food
EXERCISE

You are encouraged to be consistently active while following the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. Clocking hours at the gym or on the StairMaster is not recommended, but rather you should aim to move your body more through modest exercise and in your daily routine.

CONCLUSION

Carbs have certainly received a bad rap in recent years as more and more research shows that diets high in refined carbohydrates can lead to weight gain and out-of-whack insulin levels.

While it's great dietary practice to limit the amount of refined carbs you eat, completing nixing fruit or even the occasional candy bar is just not realistic or healthy.

Even though the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet is likely to result in weight loss and receives high marks for its inclusion of lean protein and healthy veggies, its permission of a reward meal may lead to pasta binges and the resulting weight loss is likely to be temporary, once you cycle off the diet.


Related Diets: Bread for Life


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 5, 81 total comments)

liz

So I am starting this diet today. I need something that I can do around the holidays and still lose some weight, I want to lose 20-25lbs. I have been stuck at my current weight for a few years now which is frustrating. I am pretty active but I work part time nights which throws my eating and sleep off. I may have to have my reward meal in the morning some days instead of at night. Do you think this is a problem as long as it's only one reward meal a day eaten within 1 hour.

posted Nov 16th, 2010 4:29 pm


Louis

I am so happy I found this comment page in reference to CAD which I just started. (First I wish to extend my sincerest condolences to "Jan" on the loss of her grandson. I can't even begin to imagine the pain her family has lived through.)

After taking the Hellers' test and scoring 48 in the severe carb addiction range, I felt their book was wriiten for me. I actually had read the book when it first came out, but back then I was very much into OA, a 12 step program which advocated total abstinence from the addictive foods, so i dismissed the book entirely.
On the CAD I do not feel hungry or have cravings throughout the day anymore, and I don't find myself desiring the carbs I thought I would want to devour at my reward meal. Somehow, just knowing I can have them makes them lose their allure.
I pray this is the solution for me, and I am really going to stick with it. If I don't lose enough weight , I will see my physician about more advanced and thorough testing for a thyroid condition

posted Jul 24th, 2010 6:31 pm


jennync

I am confused about a couple of things with the diet. Are we allowed to eat 3-4 ounces of meat but count the 1-2 two eggs as dairy? Can some one help me. Thanks

posted Jul 1st, 2010 11:23 am


Jan

I am back on the CAD way of eating and I feel better than ever. I lost 55 lbs 10 yrs ago and gained that all back (and then some) when I went on antidepressents after my grandson died 5 yrs ago. I am 46 yrs old and so far I have lost 15 lbs. I love this eating plan and it is my intention to stick with this lifestyle for the rest of my life. I was successful with keeping the weight off for 5 yrs, so I know that this works.

posted Jun 23rd, 2010 11:43 pm


Dana Cieslak

Back 2000, I finished losing 240lbs after 15 years of trying dozens of ways to eat. Right after I left high school standard exercising-more-eating-less failed, and even eating a little under my recommended calories for more than a year straight gave me nought but a ten pound up & down - after that I tried weight watchers, atkins, jenny craig, and a bunch of other ways of eating, but none lasted long term for me. Being the methodical geek that I am, I sat down and charted exactly how I felt after I ate different foods, and over a period of about six months I came up with a slightly dull, but heavily effective plan that I repeated weekly. It fed me, was affordable, alleviated pretty much all my cravings, and most importantly lead me to reach an ideal healthy weight. I relaxed the monotony of my plan after I hit goal, but it's kept the weight off. This June 2010 I'll have been at my ideal weight for a decade.

It's only in the last week that I discovered a second hand copy of the carbo addict's diet, and saw every word on the pages echo my experiences - and although it's much more in depth for varied eating than mine ever was, I see exactly the same concepts!. One large meal heavy on the carbs if we wish, and two smaller ones with minimal carbs - I had large lunches and left the others as small.

It's a tremendous validation, and I'm so so glad it's out there for others to use and enjoy! Kudos to the wonderful authors, only wish I'd happened upon your book when I started :)

posted Apr 20th, 2010 11:42 am


Cynthia 127

After reading the feedback, Ima try this out today and post updates. I'll also try to eat my carbs in the morning on the weekdays and lunch or dinner on weekends since it's so much more harder to resist when it's play time. TGIF! =P. South beach diet was really good for me but it was hard because they don't allow carbs the first 2 weeks. Also doesn't recommend exercise for that time prob cuz u don't have much energy. I think this diet sounds more like a lifestyle change and I'm ready to get rid of the excess long term. Wish me luck! Thanks for all the feedback!

posted Apr 16th, 2010 12:13 pm


Rena

I went from a size 8 to a size 4 back in 1999 and never felt like I was on a diet because of the reward meal. It was the first time I could have 3 meals a day because of a sluggish thyroid.

I'm on day #2 and hoping for good results since I've gained 20lbs of menopause weight this past year.. Nothing else has worked and the pounds just keep coming!

Wish me luck!!!!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 7:28 pm


Redhead74

I am day two (second time around - previous 30lbs weight loss and suprise pregnancy) of this simple diet. I too have PCOS and this plan suits not only my body but also suits the whole family.

To the lady who is trying to concieve...don't give up. PCOS does not rule my life anymore. Food cravings do not rule my life anymore....my 3 yr old miracle does!!!

GOOD LUCK ;-)

posted Mar 10th, 2010 6:41 pm


Berkley

I have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome which prevents my body from processing insulin correctly. As a result, your body is constantly telling itself to store fat rather that burn it as energy. I am trying to get pregnant so for me this goes way beyond losing weight. I was told yesterday by a doctor that I have to cut out carbs almost completely. I LOVE potatoes, bread, pasta, everything I shouldn't I guess. I was really bummed until I ran across this page. This definitely sounds like it has a good success rate and something I see myself sticking to. Buying the book after work tonight. I really hopes this works for me because, while being healthier is obviously a great thing, there is nothing that I want more than to have a child with my wonderful husband and be a mommy! Wish me luck!

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 12:24 pm


714

I tried this diet DECADES ago and found it was the only one that worked for me. I lost 50 #s and kept it off for 3 yrs. I gained those #s and more back- slowly, by not exercising and not eating right. I'm 58 now, and plan on losing 75#s - starting today - wish me luck!

posted Feb 19th, 2010 12:41 pm


Cassandra

I have been on this diet for a week and have not lost anything, although I haven't gained an ounce. My problem is most likely going crazy at my Reward Meal, and because I am no longer feeling such a need for carbs, I am cutting down on my intake.
One thing I noticed right away, though, is the improvement in my mental clarity, along with the reduction in carb cravings and constant hunger. Suddenly I can think again. It's a great feeling. I am going to keep at it, making sure I eat more sensibly at my Reward Meal so that I can start dropping the weight. I have the 1991 version of the book that I found in a thrift store, so I guess I should check out more recent editions.

posted Jan 30th, 2010 11:45 am


jan

I have been on this diet one week and absolutely love it! It is the best diet I have ever been on and I don't really feel like I am on a diet, just a good eating plan and hopefully for life. I hope to lose 60 lbs in a year. I have told all my friends abouit this diet.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 12:08 am


Linda Elms

I had lost 90 lbs. several yrs. ago on this diet. It was the easiest diet I was ever on and stuck to it. I really liked it. Unfortunately I had several injuries/health issues and I had to take asprins and such which made me gain weight back which lead to other prescibed medications that I have to continue to take possibly for the rest of my life so all the medications put the weight back on ...PLUS more. Now I have 100+ lbs. to lose and I'm ready to go back on it. I referred this book to other people and they too lost weight. I am ready to start this lifestyle change again and hopefully I'll keep it off. I was losing 1-2 lbs. a week and that made me very happy enough to keep me sticking to it.. It took me about 6 months to lose the 90 lbs. It just melted off me and I truly mean that. Thank you Dr's.

posted Jan 12th, 2010 10:11 pm


Julie Curtiss

I am doing well on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. It works for me! Does any one know of any soup that can be purchased as part of the Complementary meal? Can I use soups with 4 carbs or less per serving? Please let me know if you have any suggestions. Thank you.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 1:09 am


Cynthya

Started this way of eating (I don't like to think of it as a diet -- something you go "on" and "off" of) yesterday, and I already feel great! My achy, arthritic knees were terrific, even first thing in the morning!

I've low-carbed (Atkins-style) in the past, but find it too restrictive to say no forever to carbs. My plan is to eat low-carb for breakfast, lunch, and all snacks, but allow myself a moderate portion of carbs at dinner. This will allow me to cook normal meals for my family and eat them, too! And I know my "inner-brat" won't whine too much if she knows she can have a little pizza (or whatever) for dinner.

I am convinced that the reason we're all so fat in America isn't just our huge portions -- it's the out-of-control hunger that carbs cause!

posted Oct 8th, 2009 1:46 pm


Nikki

It's been 37 days and I have stuck to the plan with no problems...in fact, it's the easiest thing I've ever done. As of today, I've lost 11 pounds. I got my mom to try it and she has lost 10 pounds. I'll keep posting periodically to report my progress. I would recommend this to anyone!! I loaned my book to a friend and hopefully she too will start on the plan and have the same success.

posted Oct 7th, 2009 5:05 pm


Nicole

I am starting this diet in the morning. I feel so much better when I limit carbs, I just cant eliminate them completely. I have done this diet in the past,but have never stuck with it, I dont know why, but I plan on sticking with it this time around. I will give some feedback in a few weeks.

posted Sep 13th, 2009 11:55 pm


Nikki

I'm on day 2 of this diet or shall I say new lifestyle, so far so good. So many times I've been on a diet and I do really well for awhile but then the cravings start kicking in and my will-power dwindles. The fact that at the end of the day I am allowed to have what normally is "forbidden" keeps me on track. My coworker ate pizza at lunch and it looked really good but it didn't bother me (and that's a big deal) because if I REALLY want pizza, I'll eat for dinner! How much more can you ask of a meal plan?? It's the best of both worlds! I know it takes longer to lose weight on this plan but I've been "living large" for so long that it doesn't really matter how slow it goes, I know I'm getting healthier and smaller little by little and that's all I need to stay on track. One day I'll wake up and say "oh my gosh, I did it!!!"

Please keep posting success stories...they really are motivating and helpful for others that are trying to lose weight and be healthy again. It's Day 2 and I will be back on Day 30, to post my results.

posted Sep 2nd, 2009 2:12 pm


Lisa

I‚??m a 33 year old female. I‚??m also 6‚??0 tall. So trust me, I can give my dad (who eats like a horse) a run for his money. I am about 65 pounds overweight. I was also recently diagnosed with high blood pressure, which runs in my family. It was a combination of the high blood pressure, and realizing that most of my jeans no longer fit, that made me realize it was time to make a real change. But I had no idea where to turn. I was a healthy weight as a child and a teen. It wasn‚??t until it hit my 20s that my weight became a problem. I heard of low-carb diets like Atkins and South Beach. But when I checked them out, I knew they were way too restrictive. I wouldn‚??t have been able to stick with them long-term. A few years ago, I tried the ‚??Weigh Down Diet‚?Ě. Which worked for a while. I lost about 21 pounds in about 3 months. But then I allowed myself one time of eating when I wasn‚??t hungry, and that was it. It was all downhill from there. I not only regained the weight I had lost, but by the time I hit my 30s, I had gained an additional 40 pounds.

A couple weeks ago, I was in my local Goodwill. I love browsing the book section. I don‚??t usually go out of my way to look at diet or cookbooks, but as soon as I saw the title ‚??Carbohydrate Addicts Diet‚?Ě I knew that was me. I knew before even taking the test that I would score really high. And I did. I scored 56 out of a possible 60. Once I started thinking about how many carbs I ate in a day, I was shocked. I ate carbs throughout the day, for every meal. Everything I ate seemed to contain either bread, rice, or pasta. I also had very intense cravings for carb snacks, such as crackers, cookies, and especially candy. I couldn‚??t make it through the day without snacking. It‚??s not like I could just eat a cookie or two, or a handful of crackers, or a few pieces of candy. I would eat 5, 6 cookies at a time (several times a day) I could eat an entire box of cheese crackers in a sitting, and could mow down an entire back of candy in a day. It is clear to me now that I was totally out of control. This book helped me understand why, and made me realize that I am far from alone. Also, I would pig out during meals. But less than an hour later, I would be starving again.

This is my third day of the Carbohydrate‚??s Diet. I‚??m amazed at how good I feel. I have more energy, I‚??m not hungry between meals, and I don‚??t have the compulsive desire to snack like I did. I love the idea of the Reward Meal. I‚??ve read that some people feel guilty about their Reward Meal, but I certainly don‚??t. I look forward to it. In my opinion, the promise of the Reward Meal provides the motivation to eat no/low carb the rest of the day. This is NOT a diet, it‚??s lifestyle change. This is something I can see myself sticking with for life.

The only problem I had on this diet was some sudden diarrhea after eating on Day 1. But by the time I got to my first Reward Meal, it was gone. I haven‚??t had a problem since. I‚??m so thankful I discovered this diet!

posted Jun 20th, 2009 11:21 am


marilyn zorn

I have lost 24 lbs, so far, on this diet. It is the only way to eat that has ever worked for me. I plan to eat this way for the rest of my life. I am 66 years old and want to lose 10 more lbs. I ride horses and losing the extra weight has really helped with the mounting and dismounting necessary to ride. I have no cravings anymore between meals, but really look forward to that reward meal and must confess that I eat a little more of carbs then than recommended. But, I am still losing 1-2 lbs. a week.

Love it!

posted May 24th, 2009 6:09 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account