Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

30%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 57 reviews
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Review: Does it Work?

If you're a carb addict, don't think you can't reward yourself... daily!

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet is a weight loss diet claiming it can help prevent addiction to carbohydrates while promoting weight loss. It’s mentioned how certain people can have a metabolism disorder via this addiction which when solved, can help suppress appetite and promote weight loss results.

The idea behind this diet is presented in an official book, which mentions many people have an insatiable addiction that prevents blood sugar and energy from remaining stable. It’s recommended to eat low amounts ofcarbohydrates, and making sure to introduce healthy protein sources. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of diets, and the most effective overall was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has a fat burning metabolism boosting diet pill and a meal replacement which can suppress appetite for hours. For more information about the 18Shake Diet, you can read about it in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The diet calls for the following:

No carbohydrates other than vegetables during breakfast and lunch.

• Dinner allows for a meal with anything you’d like, but only high carbohydrate foods every one hour. One can indulge in a portion of cake or other similar foods.

• Diet soda and coffee are allowed but no snacking in between meals to start with.

• First two weeks: Two small meals consisting of 3 to 4 ounces of meat, chicken or fish, 2 ounces of cheese, and about 2 cups of salad or vegetables .

• After 2 weeks: Different eating plans are introduced depending on one’s own weight loss desires. This can include a snacka day.

         • Drinking large amountsof water is advised.

The website discusses carbohydrate addiction:

“The word addict is associated with carbohydrate is not being used loosely”

“We believe that there is a TRIAD OF ADDICTION: that is BEHAVIOR, ENVIRONMENT, and BIOLOGY”

They fail to offer any evidence however that all carbohydrates can cause an addiction. Certain sources such as sugary foods may be unhealthy and can cause addiction, but carbohydrates also come from healthy sources such as vegetables, legumes, beans, and other foods.

The diet also allows for a reward at dinner for higher carbohydrate foods. It’s strange they allow for this while they also claim that it’s potentially dangerous to eat these kinds of foods.

You can also eat one higher carbohydrate food as long as it’s separated by an hour during dinner. This can make it easy to overeat and introduce unhealthy foods as there is no caloric limit set. The emphasized moderation, but certain foods can be high in calories or unhealthy ingredients.

Our experts have reviewed many diets and have compiled a list of the highest rated which is featured here.

The diet does not require any calorie counting which can lead to overeating if one is not careful. Not allowing for many carbohydrates of both breakfast and lunch can lead to side effects as well:

         • Fatigue, brain fog, difficulty concentrating.

         • Irritability, headaches, and mood swings.

It’s also suggested by the creators of this diet that it is not for everyone, they add how only those with metabolism disorders would really benefit.

MedicineNet.com has reviewed this diet and has mentioned:

“This diet is hardly a favorite of nutritionists or specialists with a medical background… abnormally high insulin levels… is a part of the medical condition known as metabolic syndrome”

They add how this issue:

“has a variety of causes – notably obesity itself “Carbohydrate addiction” has never been shown to be among them”

They debunk a major part of this diet which claims it can help those who have diabetic type of issues. John McDougall a medical doctor who has reviewed this diet also adds:

“The whole premise that we are carbohydrate Addict’smakes about as much sense as telling people they are oxygen or water Addict’s”

Therefore, the main premise behind this diet has not been proven to be truthful about how the body works. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click the link here.

Getting rid of carbohydrates only for a portion of the day makes no sense as one is still receiving this supposedly harmful macronutrient.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet does allow for certaincarbohydrates for the first 2 meals of the day, and the final meal allows for anuncontrolled caloric carbohydrate food every hour. This is a poor quality diet as it does not emphasize counting calories, and there’s no science to back up any of its claims.

It’s been described by a Dr. John McDougall as being:

“a way of tricking people into restricting food intake”

It’s not a comprehensive enough weight loss strategy as it has limited information about food intake, and it’s not based in any real science. Click the link cited for a comprehensive top ranking list of weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

Pricing depends on the quality of foods one chooses, and the book itself is sold on Amazon.com for $7.66 currently.

As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of CarbohydrateAddict’s Diet”, there are many suggestions made which people mention is outdated and no longer verified. There are many issues with this die due to the claims made about carbohydrate addiction which are not true. There is no evidence to help support the main idea behind this diet.

The overall quality is poor as allowing for those who truly have a metabolic disorder to eat as they like can promote unhealthy eating behaviors.  Dieters are allowed to gorge and eat potentially fattening foods which is not a proven solution for weight loss.

Business of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The diet was created by a husband and wife duo, Dr. Richard F. Heller and Dr. Rachael F. Heller. Both are retired doctors who specialize in psychiatry and biology work respectively, not weight loss or nutrition.

Dr. Richard Heller was settled a $20,000 lawsuit for allowing controlled substances to be easily accessed by people.

It’s unknown what research either doctor had to do to figure out that this kind of diet would be effective for weight loss. Without any real proof, it’s impossible to determine if this diet is based in real science. They don’t offer any explanation as to how one can become addicted to carbohydrates.

To see a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The books official Amazon.com page has a total of 98 critical reviews. Featured below are some quotes from users of the diet:

“Dedicated for 5 months and nearly no loss”

“this diet eventually backfires for many of its users”

“NO WAY I could eat like this for the rest of my life which is what the book tells you have to do”

“I began to feel dizzy and disoriented about the third day until I got my reward meal”

There are many issues with users claiming that the book is outdated, and that the information given is no longer proven effective. People have experienced side effects such as fatigue, brain fog, nausea, loss of energy, mood swings, headaches, and other symptoms.

Some people mentioned how they made sure to follow the advice given, only to experience a lack of any weight loss benefits. There were also issues from people who felt that the restriction on carbohydrates is too extreme, and that it made them no longer want to continue eating the same kinds of foods as it became unsatisfying.

Click the link cited here for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Work?

The Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet relies on the idea that certain people have a metabolic disorder that causes them to be addicted to carbohydrates. It’s claimed this is the real reason why people cannot lose weight no matter how long they try. This is not supported by any real science, and nutrition experts agree there is no evidence to support this claim. This makes sense as the creators are doctors who have no background in nutrition and health. Users of this diet also mention how they felt there wasn’t enough support, and there were issues with side effects and a lack of weight loss.

In reviewing many of the top ranked weight loss diets, our experts have found that the overall most effective for weight loss was the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement that suppresses appetite for hours, alongside a fat burning diet pill. Customers have rated them highly and there are testimonials from those who have managed to lose weight off this diet. There are also no added stimulants, artificial additives, colors, fillers, binders or any preservatives of any kind.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for users to try it for 30 days with no questions asked. To learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Carbohydrate Addicts Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Carbohydrate Addicts Diet
  • 30 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 87 total comments)

SKD

+

This is the only diet that has ever worked for me in my life. I did it a few years ago and went from 156 to 125...I still managed to participate in everything I wanted to and never felt deprived of anything. I haven't gained back all of the weight but I've gained back some of it after my wedding (all my doing) I should have just stayed on this diet! It is the discipline that I need in my life. I highly recommend this diet. I know it's an older one from the 90s and there isn't much updated information but you honestly don't need it...it's a pretty simple plan to follow. Good luck to everyone and wish me luck as well!

posted May 11th, 2016 11:26 pm


Ashley

?

Can I use Vegan protein powder I am starting the Carbohydrate Addicts plan but I have had success in the past with drinking vegan protein shakes in the morning for breakfast. It's fast, easy and convenient as I am a busy college student. I use the Sun warrior vegan protein powder with a cup of almond milk and 1 to 1 and 1/2 bananas. Sometimes I use about 5-6 strawberries in the shake as well. My question is does the protein powder work as a complementary meal?

posted Jul 5th, 2015 1:47 pm


Fermina

Hi, I started this diet last Jan 28/2015. So far I`ve lost 11.2 pounds. It has been slowly but I can wait, and I can do this for the rest of my life, so, no rush.

posted Apr 19th, 2015 12:52 am


Kelly

+

I have read the book and tried the diet. During the reward meal, you may eat fruit, pasta, and a Snickers bar, if you like-every day. Of course, if one is sensible, one will eat protein, vegetables, and healthy fats during the reward meal, as well as during the other meals. Limiting insulin raising foods to a one hour period does the trick, encouraging fat release from fat cells, and discouraging fat storage. Being allowed to eat what you want for one hour a day should prevent a person from feeling deprived. Anytime a person ceases to eat healthfully and returns to old habits, they will gain weight again. Permanent change to a low carbohydrate, moderate protein, high healthy fat diet, will balance the body's hormone response and result in effortless weight maintenance. Very occasional, say once a week, desserts after supper will not disturb the balance once achieved.

posted Mar 5th, 2015 4:09 am


Lisa

+

Just to add to my previous post, I noticed a few of you expressing guilt about 'going overboard' at the reward meal. Let me stress that you CAN EAT ANYTHING YOU WANT at the reward meal. Excuse the caps, but I have no other way of putting it. You have an hour to eat whatever you want since the insulin (the hormone that causes fat storage) isn't released until approximately 75 minutes after your first bite. Heck, sometimes my entire reward meal consists mainly of carbs! Since it's been so engrained in us that it's how much we eat instead of WHEN we eat, it is understandable that we say 'Oh, that's impossible. How can I eat 3 bowls of ice cream and still lose weight?!' Maybe it's guilt, maybe it's your spouse or family criticizing you for enjoying eating a lot for once. Who knows. But I don't feel guilty anymore, because I know the diet works. It has in the past and it is now. If you find yourself gaining weight, don't panic and don't blame the reward meal (unless you went over your allotted 60 minutes). Instead, look at the amount of carbs per meal you are eating at the complimentary meals. For example, I just bought a pack of bacon and forgot to check the label in the store, turns out that particular brand of bacon has more carbs (1 carb per 2 slices) than my usual brand (0 carbs per 2 slices). The same with cheese. Some cheese lists 1gm per serving, some 0. I pick the 0, always. I try to keep my carbs under 6 grams per complimentary meal. Again for the reward meal, I just don't count.
That's all I had to say. Good luck!

posted Jan 6th, 2015 7:45 pm


Lisa

+

Luckily I've never really had to diet before, but several years back, I gained 35 lbs from my first child. I thought I'd look into a diet and chose this one. I started this diet and lost the 35 lbs with no effort and lots of BACON!! Neighbours I barely knew noticed my weight loss, which was great, but it also showed how I hadn't even noticed the weight creeping up on me. It is difficult to cheat on this diet because things like bacon and cheese are allowed, so you really don't feel deprived. I started back on it a couple months ago after gaining some winter weight last year. Even though I had been working out trying to lose it, I just wasn't losing it. So, I thought I'd just give the diet another go because I was so sick of the gym. I've lost more weight in the last few weeks than a whole year at the silly gym. The reward meal is the best because if you have it at dinner, as I do, it gives you something to look forward to throughout the day and so helps keep you on track. And now, I just don't have the appetite for carbs that I used to - even at the reward meal.
It was too bad Oprah trashed the doctors a few years ago on her show. I think she did them and those who were watching a real disservice since most of the audience who had tried the diet did, in fact, lose weight on it. In fact they lost a total of 300 lbs! I see that the diet has a rating of 100% on this site. So the good doctors must be doing something right. But, all Oprah complained about was she 'just wanted an apple'.Yeah right. lol I think she was having more than 'just an apple' and that's why she wasn't losing weight. And the doctors tried to delicately point that out but she still slammed them and blamed the diet. Who knows, maybe her chef didn't appreciate the specific details of the diet and was inadvertently sabotaging the diet. Or it could have been because Oprah seems to like her wine ... a lot. Anyway, the whole point is to accept that you may have an insulin problem or even marginally diabetic if you can't lose weight any other way but this, which she still hasn't accepted. Addiction, whether it be food, alcohol or crack, has no regard for the facts and can convince the brain the sky is red.
But I digress, I haven't read the whole 'finish your coffee in 15 minutes' part of the diet since I'm using the older book. But that may be something I should look into as I realise now that savouring my coffee every morning may be detrimental to the diet.
I don't agree that one should stop this diet. It is based on the idea that the dieter is insulin resistant and therefore is much like a diabetic in the way that they will always be that way or will be for a very long time. Six months on the diet but then going back to regular eating is not recommended and this is not just for your weight but for your overall health. I'm going to keep at it since it's good for me and I enjoy it!

posted Jan 6th, 2015 6:57 pm


Fermina

I would like to star this diet tomorrow april 1st.
I'll let you know how was it.

posted Mar 31st, 2014 9:30 pm


Rose Beach

+

Love the inspirational posts from people who have succeeded on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. I'm on it now and am very happy!

posted Jun 9th, 2013 8:32 pm


S.Sree Kiruthika

?

Is the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet suited for vegetarians? This is simply amazing diet plan. Does this diet suit vegetarians also?

posted Feb 21st, 2013 5:39 pm


Greg

+

I read the book and followed their instructions...No carbs for 23 hrs. then when u fell as if u are going to quit the diet it is time for an hour of nothing but peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with milk..I lost 11 lbs. the first week and 40 more after that....Now for 5 years I have been retired and not getting enough exercise and falling into my carb gouging...So starting today, I am going back to the Carbohydrate addicts diet.. My colesterol and triglycerides when I was on the diet for two months dropped sooo low that my doctor thought he had the wrong blood work...He was amased.. I went from 335 bad colesterol to 95 and triglycerides went from 365 to 135...This diet WORKS...but I would use it for only about 6 weeks..shed about 45 lbs. and go back to my point system @ weight watchers...and I will be good to go... ps: after u are on the Dr. Heller's diet for 2 days, your cravings for sweets will just about diminish completely..good luck and God Bless......

posted Nov 13th, 2012 7:43 pm


Brenda

+

I love this diet and am just starting it for the second time. I did it approximately 15 years ago and lost 42 pounds in 2 1/2 months! It was the greatest thing for me. My doctor had suggested the Atkins diet but I love my carbs too much and it just wasn't working out for me so he suggested the CAD. I'm a believer! I kept most of the weight off for about 10 yrs but now I'm back were I started unfortunately. :( So here we go again and I know I'll have the same luck. I'm already off to a great start with 3 pounds gone in my first day. I can't wait to get to were I was back then.

posted Jul 17th, 2012 7:58 pm


Carollynnalexander

The Diet Does Work, It worked better for me than Atkins. In the beginning My reward meal was huge but after a couple of weeks I felt I was in control of my eating. I lost 50+ lbs. If you do not taper off the plan as stated in the book you will gain the weight back and the uncontrolled hunger/cravings. it is a plan that you can live with. It is a good plan

posted Mar 1st, 2012 7:02 pm


Marjorie

I have been on this plan and it's great! I never cheated ONCE in four months because you don't have to cheat on this. If you're feeling deprived or if someone brings cake into work, you just save it for your reward meal. If you didn't get to eat your craving today, there is always tomorrow. You get to reward yourself EVERY DAY. The trick is not to do it ALL day, like I was doing!! LOL

posted Jan 11th, 2012 3:04 pm


Patricia Smith

+

It has been working like a dream for me....What a relief to stop the bingeing! I do whatever I have to at the reward meal to ensure I don't eat past the one-hour time limit. I used to use the Atkins plan, but found I went crazy with cravings. The Carbohydrate's Addict's Diet has been a new, energized way of living! I take comfort in knowing that I can fit all my favorites in my reward meals, which stops the feelings of deprivation. This is my second month, I lost 8 lbs. painlessly. This includes family dinners, parties, events, etc.

posted Oct 28th, 2011 4:22 pm


Barb

I did this diet back in 1994 and lost 35 lbs in about 7 months. I have always taken thyroid pills and can starve and won't lose weight. I do need to do some exercise such as walking or dancing to the oldies. Anyway, I regained the weight the following year, because I thought I could eat normal. Now I need to lose 35 lbs again. I am 78 yrs young and can do the exercise. I am on second day and feeling good. Good time of year to do this diet because of big dinners on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Just stay in that hour. I used to go to buffet and yes, pig out, for an hour and still lost weight.

posted Oct 20th, 2011 4:23 pm


bill cramer

?

On the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet, can we have wine in the reward meal? red wine

posted Oct 11th, 2011 6:09 pm


Patricia

+

My doctor suggested eating this way , no carbs before dinner. He lives this way and he's pretty slim!!! He's never heard of the Hellers but was fine with me following this way of life. I've lost 16 pounds since May. He did say though that this has to be a forever thing or the weight will come back. Good luck everyone!!

posted Sep 11th, 2011 8:01 pm


Hey, that's the greaetst! So with ll this brain power AWHFY?

Hey, that's the greaetst! So with ll this brain power AWHFY?

posted Sep 9th, 2011 2:59 am


Alice

I am 66 and started the diet yesterday. I am 5 ft. 9 inches and 222 lbs. and a mild diabetic, recently diagnosed. So far so good, including my blood sugar readings. It is difficult w/o a snack but I'm hanging in there. Why must coffee be consumed within 15 mins.? I wish I could have a small protein snack like string cheese or boneless chicken breast, but so far am adhering to the rules. I would like to get down to at least 175 lbs.

posted Jul 18th, 2011 10:55 am


ania

Hi everyone, I have been struggling with losing weigh my whole life and am currently doing a bit more research on this book before I decide to get it. Can anyone please tell me what is the difference between this diet and Atkins??? I have so many questions lol! I tried the Atkins induction but I cannot stand eggs and any of the fake sweeteners, they give me migraines, plus I too have PCOS.Please feel free to email with any comments, thanks!

posted May 31st, 2011 6:47 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Do you often enjoy a large meal and soon after feel hungry again? Or, do you feel like you can't stop eating starchy goodies once you've started? It's time you faced up to your addiction to carbs. You're not alone and the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet might just be the plan for you.

It's possible your body doesn't process carbs the way everyone else does. Sometimes, carbs in your body will result in substantial production of insulin, which in turn creates fat stores. The Carb Addict's Diet, created by Dr. Richard and Dr. Rachael Heller, manages your insulin level by helping you eat in a way that properly mixes when and what you eat. You'll even get to fight the addiction with your food must-haves.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

Common Misspellings

Carbhydrate Addicts Diet, Carbahydrates Addict's Diet, Carbohydrate Addict's Deit

PRO
  • Allows for a substantial portion of daily carbohydrates
  • May help to control imbalanced blood sugar levels, sugar cravings and mood swings
  • Nutrient-less carbohydrates are replaced by nutrient-rich foods
  • May help you to lose weight
  • Consuming too many unhealthy carbohydrates has been linked to obesity, diabetes and other chronic health conditions
CON
  • Specific instructions for reward meal are needed
  • Reward meal may turn into a 60-minute binge fest for those feeling truly carbohydrate-deprived
  • Restriction of fruit is disputed by some nutrition experts
  • Weight loss is likely to be temporary unless the dieter restricts their carb intake for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITION

True to its name, the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet restricts certain carbohydrates from your diet while allowing you to eat a modest of amount of approved carbs.

During the first two weeks of the diet, you follow a fairly strict plan of eating only certain foods and foods delineated in the Complimentary Meals list. Such foods include:

  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Fats, oils and dressings
  • Eggs and dairy products
  • Vegetables and salads
  • Special low-carb desserts (recipes in book)

Three meals a day are allowed. Breakfast and lunch must be protein plus low-glycemic vegetables. Dinner is referred to as your reward meal where you can eat whatever you want as long as you eat it in a one-hour time period.

Once you finish with the first two weeks of the diet, you gradually start to re-introduce certain carbs back into your diet, but the quantity and kinds of carbs are dependent upon your weight loss goals. The same reward meal applies.

A sample day on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet might look like this:

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with a combination of egg whites and one whole egg, bell peppers and mushrooms
  • Lunch: Romaine lettuce salad topped with grilled chicken breast, cucumber slices and olive oil and lemon juice
  • Snack: Hard-boiled eggs or string cheese
  • Dinner: Modest serving of pasta marinara and topped with Parmesan cheese shavings, served with sauteed broccoli.

Foods that are to be avoided during the day are:

  • Fruit
  • Fruit juices
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Sugar & sweets
  • Processed food
EXERCISE

You are encouraged to be consistently active while following the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. Clocking hours at the gym or on the StairMaster is not recommended, but rather you should aim to move your body more through modest exercise and in your daily routine.

CONCLUSION

Carbs have certainly received a bad rap in recent years as more and more research shows that diets high in refined carbohydrates can lead to weight gain and out-of-whack insulin levels.

While it's great dietary practice to limit the amount of refined carbs you eat, completing nixing fruit or even the occasional candy bar is just not realistic or healthy.

Even though the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet is likely to result in weight loss and receives high marks for its inclusion of lean protein and healthy veggies, its permission of a reward meal may lead to pasta binges and the resulting weight loss is likely to be temporary, once you cycle off the diet.

Related Diets: Bread for Life

Whats better than
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet?