Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

30%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 57 reviews
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Review: Does it Work?

If you're a carb addict, don't think you can't reward yourself... daily!

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet is a weight loss diet claiming it can help prevent addiction to carbohydrates while promoting weight loss. It’s mentioned how certain people can have a metabolism disorder via this addiction which when solved, can help suppress appetite and promote weight loss results.

The idea behind this diet is presented in an official book, which mentions many people have an insatiable addiction that prevents blood sugar and energy from remaining stable. It’s recommended to eat low amounts ofcarbohydrates, and making sure to introduce healthy protein sources. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of diets, and the most effective overall was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has a fat burning metabolism boosting diet pill and a meal replacement which can suppress appetite for hours. For more information about the 18Shake Diet, you can read about it in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The diet calls for the following:

No carbohydrates other than vegetables during breakfast and lunch.

• Dinner allows for a meal with anything you’d like, but only high carbohydrate foods every one hour. One can indulge in a portion of cake or other similar foods.

• Diet soda and coffee are allowed but no snacking in between meals to start with.

• First two weeks: Two small meals consisting of 3 to 4 ounces of meat, chicken or fish, 2 ounces of cheese, and about 2 cups of salad or vegetables .

• After 2 weeks: Different eating plans are introduced depending on one’s own weight loss desires. This can include a snacka day.

         • Drinking large amountsof water is advised.

The website discusses carbohydrate addiction:

“The word addict is associated with carbohydrate is not being used loosely”

“We believe that there is a TRIAD OF ADDICTION: that is BEHAVIOR, ENVIRONMENT, and BIOLOGY”

They fail to offer any evidence however that all carbohydrates can cause an addiction. Certain sources such as sugary foods may be unhealthy and can cause addiction, but carbohydrates also come from healthy sources such as vegetables, legumes, beans, and other foods.

The diet also allows for a reward at dinner for higher carbohydrate foods. It’s strange they allow for this while they also claim that it’s potentially dangerous to eat these kinds of foods.

You can also eat one higher carbohydrate food as long as it’s separated by an hour during dinner. This can make it easy to overeat and introduce unhealthy foods as there is no caloric limit set. The emphasized moderation, but certain foods can be high in calories or unhealthy ingredients.

Our experts have reviewed many diets and have compiled a list of the highest rated which is featured here.

The diet does not require any calorie counting which can lead to overeating if one is not careful. Not allowing for many carbohydrates of both breakfast and lunch can lead to side effects as well:

         • Fatigue, brain fog, difficulty concentrating.

         • Irritability, headaches, and mood swings.

It’s also suggested by the creators of this diet that it is not for everyone, they add how only those with metabolism disorders would really benefit.

MedicineNet.com has reviewed this diet and has mentioned:

“This diet is hardly a favorite of nutritionists or specialists with a medical background… abnormally high insulin levels… is a part of the medical condition known as metabolic syndrome”

They add how this issue:

“has a variety of causes – notably obesity itself “Carbohydrate addiction” has never been shown to be among them”

They debunk a major part of this diet which claims it can help those who have diabetic type of issues. John McDougall a medical doctor who has reviewed this diet also adds:

“The whole premise that we are carbohydrate Addict’smakes about as much sense as telling people they are oxygen or water Addict’s”

Therefore, the main premise behind this diet has not been proven to be truthful about how the body works. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click the link here.

Getting rid of carbohydrates only for a portion of the day makes no sense as one is still receiving this supposedly harmful macronutrient.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet does allow for certaincarbohydrates for the first 2 meals of the day, and the final meal allows for anuncontrolled caloric carbohydrate food every hour. This is a poor quality diet as it does not emphasize counting calories, and there’s no science to back up any of its claims.

It’s been described by a Dr. John McDougall as being:

“a way of tricking people into restricting food intake”

It’s not a comprehensive enough weight loss strategy as it has limited information about food intake, and it’s not based in any real science. Click the link cited for a comprehensive top ranking list of weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

Pricing depends on the quality of foods one chooses, and the book itself is sold on Amazon.com for $7.66 currently.

As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of CarbohydrateAddict’s Diet”, there are many suggestions made which people mention is outdated and no longer verified. There are many issues with this die due to the claims made about carbohydrate addiction which are not true. There is no evidence to help support the main idea behind this diet.

The overall quality is poor as allowing for those who truly have a metabolic disorder to eat as they like can promote unhealthy eating behaviors.  Dieters are allowed to gorge and eat potentially fattening foods which is not a proven solution for weight loss.

Business of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The diet was created by a husband and wife duo, Dr. Richard F. Heller and Dr. Rachael F. Heller. Both are retired doctors who specialize in psychiatry and biology work respectively, not weight loss or nutrition.

Dr. Richard Heller was settled a $20,000 lawsuit for allowing controlled substances to be easily accessed by people.

It’s unknown what research either doctor had to do to figure out that this kind of diet would be effective for weight loss. Without any real proof, it’s impossible to determine if this diet is based in real science. They don’t offer any explanation as to how one can become addicted to carbohydrates.

To see a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet

The books official Amazon.com page has a total of 98 critical reviews. Featured below are some quotes from users of the diet:

“Dedicated for 5 months and nearly no loss”

“this diet eventually backfires for many of its users”

“NO WAY I could eat like this for the rest of my life which is what the book tells you have to do”

“I began to feel dizzy and disoriented about the third day until I got my reward meal”

There are many issues with users claiming that the book is outdated, and that the information given is no longer proven effective. People have experienced side effects such as fatigue, brain fog, nausea, loss of energy, mood swings, headaches, and other symptoms.

Some people mentioned how they made sure to follow the advice given, only to experience a lack of any weight loss benefits. There were also issues from people who felt that the restriction on carbohydrates is too extreme, and that it made them no longer want to continue eating the same kinds of foods as it became unsatisfying.

Click the link cited here for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet Work?

The Carbohydrate Addict’s Diet relies on the idea that certain people have a metabolic disorder that causes them to be addicted to carbohydrates. It’s claimed this is the real reason why people cannot lose weight no matter how long they try. This is not supported by any real science, and nutrition experts agree there is no evidence to support this claim. This makes sense as the creators are doctors who have no background in nutrition and health. Users of this diet also mention how they felt there wasn’t enough support, and there were issues with side effects and a lack of weight loss.

In reviewing many of the top ranked weight loss diets, our experts have found that the overall most effective for weight loss was the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement that suppresses appetite for hours, alongside a fat burning diet pill. Customers have rated them highly and there are testimonials from those who have managed to lose weight off this diet. There are also no added stimulants, artificial additives, colors, fillers, binders or any preservatives of any kind.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for users to try it for 30 days with no questions asked. To learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Carbohydrate Addicts Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Carbohydrate Addicts Diet
  • 30 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 98 total comments)

Cyndi


These people are idiots. Medical doctors don't know the first thing about nutrition. This diet works and YES, there is such a thing as sugary carbohydrate addiction. Sugar is just as addictive as the opioids that they prescribe. Doctors have very little training in nutrition, because they are taught how to push Big Pharma. They should check out their own reviews on 18 shake. Not so great!

posted Oct 6th, 2017 9:47 am


Brenda

This is the only way of eating that works for me! I love it!

posted Sep 29th, 2017 1:06 am


Kristen

Disappointed with this review. I feel like it pushes a shake diet that you have to pay for :( I am not a scientist but I know that when I eat a carb for breakfast like wheat toast with peanut butter I am hungry all day long. But when I choose a protein like an egg with spinach or with a slice of bacon I am not craving sweets or processed carbs and lunch time is a protein like chicken or Tuna wrapped in lettuce. Then comes dinner. I have what I want but I try to balance the carb with veggie and protein and because I eat what I want once a day I do not feel deprived. Having the carbs only at night for me keep me from eating bad carbs all day. My Motto " It's not that I can't have that, I just cant have that right now" I save the sweets, pasta, pizza, fresh bread for my reward meal. I have not just lost weight, I never get an afternoon slump when I eat this way, my BP has gone down to a normal range and this is a way of eating I can do for life.

posted Sep 19th, 2017 3:19 pm


Amanda

Fabulous way of eating. Thought I'd mention for those of you worried about overindulging at reward meal -- I found that tapered off after a few weeks. It took me 6 weeks to really notice any change, and then it just went smoothly. Slow for me, but that's ok as I'm that sort of person. Other people had faster results. Thing is, this way I keep all food groups, variety, and enjoy myself.

posted Sep 4th, 2017 9:36 am


Kyla

I was 214 lb at my heaviest. I tried the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet and lost 60 lbs in 9 months. I followed the diet religiously for 11 months until my physician told me I had PCOS and needed to go on a diabetic diet, which was so easy to switch to after being on the Carbohyrate Addict's Diet for so long.

posted Jun 1st, 2017 11:47 pm


Ruth

I like it! This is what I can stay on for life. I am definitely a carbohydrate addict. With this diet I am not even interested in carbs the rest of the day. The Reward Meal is just that. A meal. Not a carb binge. The creators of this diet are very clear about that. Within the framework of 'a meal' you can eat what you want. Baked potato, pasta, fruit, deserts etc.just don't binge on these foods. If you read the entire book you will read this instruction over and over. Those who don't get all the information and then incorrectly apply the diet in their life will fail. Don't blame anyone else. They also say that this diet only works for people who are carbohydrate addicts.One type of diet does not work for everyone. It will not work for anyone else. With their instructions it is a healthy well rounded diet. One I can stay on for life.

posted May 20th, 2017 12:36 am


lsd

this is a poorly understood and poorly reviewed report on the CAD. Read the reviews on the review. That's the truth of how good and successful this diet/lifestyle is. Calories are going the way of the dinosaur. Carbohydrates are the only thing worth counting. And this is far less restrictive than Atkins and just as successful.

posted May 12th, 2017 10:33 am


George

One week into this plan and I'm really enjoying it. I find it easy to eat in this way. I'll admit I've found myself stuffing it in during my reward hour but I think that will subside as I do this more. I know the recommendation is to only drink alcohol during the reward meal but does anyone have experience pro or con drinking non-carb and or low carb-drinks during the other meals? Just wondering what folks have found.

posted Mar 21st, 2017 1:37 pm


Leslie

This diet works. It is simple, low cost, and easy to understand.
I lost 30 lbs. on this diet in 2 1/2 months. My husband dropped about 15 lbs. very quickly when he needed to be weighed for a new job. And my 16 year old niece lost about 20 lbs. one summer eating this way. It seems to work for almost everyone who makes an effort to keep within the guidelines.
1. For 2 meals a day and a snack, eat only low carb. Keep carbs to under 4 total for meal. ( usually this means a protein source with low carb veggies)
2. Do NOT snack between meals.
3. For 1 hour a day eat whatever you want. Don't count carbs, fat or calories.
(The newer versions have guidelines concerning this meal. I have found it doesn't matter. ) Eat and drink what you want for up to 1 hour.
That's it. Easy.
My reward meal is usually a nice dinner of whatever I want and like and ending it with a piece of fruit and a dessert of some sort. Cookies, ice cream, bowl of cereal.
How wonderful to eat this way everyday and lose weight.
Stick to the rules and this works.
Break the rules and you will fail.

posted Mar 17th, 2017 6:26 pm


Susan Smith

I saw Dr.Richard and Dr.Rachel Heller on the Dr.Phil show. I was so impressed I bought the book "Are you a Carbohydrates Addict",followed it religiously,and the weight was melting off. I never did any exercises. It seemed like all I did was rearrange my foods and never had any cravings for the junk foods. And the best part is the Drs. explain how your body works when you eat good foods,bad
foods,and not eating at all. This is the first time someone has explained in simple words how the body works with foods. It's not a diet. It's a way of eating food. And you're not deprived of your favorite foods. You have to try it to believe it. Buy one of their books and you will never spend countless amounts of money on diet gimmicks ever again Thanks to the Drs. who found a way to make losing weight so easy and not being deprived of our favorite foods.
Remember people,they did their research on themselves.

posted Feb 24th, 2017 8:21 am


Eilean Burgess

one of the easier plans to follow.

posted Dec 28th, 2016 4:57 am


SKD

+

This is the only diet that has ever worked for me in my life. I did it a few years ago and went from 156 to 125...I still managed to participate in everything I wanted to and never felt deprived of anything. I haven't gained back all of the weight but I've gained back some of it after my wedding (all my doing) I should have just stayed on this diet! It is the discipline that I need in my life. I highly recommend this diet. I know it's an older one from the 90s and there isn't much updated information but you honestly don't need it...it's a pretty simple plan to follow. Good luck to everyone and wish me luck as well!

posted May 11th, 2016 11:26 pm


Ashley

?

Can I use Vegan protein powder I am starting the Carbohydrate Addicts plan but I have had success in the past with drinking vegan protein shakes in the morning for breakfast. It's fast, easy and convenient as I am a busy college student. I use the Sun warrior vegan protein powder with a cup of almond milk and 1 to 1 and 1/2 bananas. Sometimes I use about 5-6 strawberries in the shake as well. My question is does the protein powder work as a complementary meal?

posted Jul 5th, 2015 1:47 pm


Fermina

Hi, I started this diet last Jan 28/2015. So far I`ve lost 11.2 pounds. It has been slowly but I can wait, and I can do this for the rest of my life, so, no rush.

posted Apr 19th, 2015 12:52 am


Kelly

+

I have read the book and tried the diet. During the reward meal, you may eat fruit, pasta, and a Snickers bar, if you like-every day. Of course, if one is sensible, one will eat protein, vegetables, and healthy fats during the reward meal, as well as during the other meals. Limiting insulin raising foods to a one hour period does the trick, encouraging fat release from fat cells, and discouraging fat storage. Being allowed to eat what you want for one hour a day should prevent a person from feeling deprived. Anytime a person ceases to eat healthfully and returns to old habits, they will gain weight again. Permanent change to a low carbohydrate, moderate protein, high healthy fat diet, will balance the body's hormone response and result in effortless weight maintenance. Very occasional, say once a week, desserts after supper will not disturb the balance once achieved.

posted Mar 5th, 2015 4:09 am


Lisa

+

Just to add to my previous post, I noticed a few of you expressing guilt about 'going overboard' at the reward meal. Let me stress that you CAN EAT ANYTHING YOU WANT at the reward meal. Excuse the caps, but I have no other way of putting it. You have an hour to eat whatever you want since the insulin (the hormone that causes fat storage) isn't released until approximately 75 minutes after your first bite. Heck, sometimes my entire reward meal consists mainly of carbs! Since it's been so engrained in us that it's how much we eat instead of WHEN we eat, it is understandable that we say 'Oh, that's impossible. How can I eat 3 bowls of ice cream and still lose weight?!' Maybe it's guilt, maybe it's your spouse or family criticizing you for enjoying eating a lot for once. Who knows. But I don't feel guilty anymore, because I know the diet works. It has in the past and it is now. If you find yourself gaining weight, don't panic and don't blame the reward meal (unless you went over your allotted 60 minutes). Instead, look at the amount of carbs per meal you are eating at the complimentary meals. For example, I just bought a pack of bacon and forgot to check the label in the store, turns out that particular brand of bacon has more carbs (1 carb per 2 slices) than my usual brand (0 carbs per 2 slices). The same with cheese. Some cheese lists 1gm per serving, some 0. I pick the 0, always. I try to keep my carbs under 6 grams per complimentary meal. Again for the reward meal, I just don't count.
That's all I had to say. Good luck!

posted Jan 6th, 2015 7:45 pm


Lisa

+

Luckily I've never really had to diet before, but several years back, I gained 35 lbs from my first child. I thought I'd look into a diet and chose this one. I started this diet and lost the 35 lbs with no effort and lots of BACON!! Neighbours I barely knew noticed my weight loss, which was great, but it also showed how I hadn't even noticed the weight creeping up on me. It is difficult to cheat on this diet because things like bacon and cheese are allowed, so you really don't feel deprived. I started back on it a couple months ago after gaining some winter weight last year. Even though I had been working out trying to lose it, I just wasn't losing it. So, I thought I'd just give the diet another go because I was so sick of the gym. I've lost more weight in the last few weeks than a whole year at the silly gym. The reward meal is the best because if you have it at dinner, as I do, it gives you something to look forward to throughout the day and so helps keep you on track. And now, I just don't have the appetite for carbs that I used to - even at the reward meal.
It was too bad Oprah trashed the doctors a few years ago on her show. I think she did them and those who were watching a real disservice since most of the audience who had tried the diet did, in fact, lose weight on it. In fact they lost a total of 300 lbs! I see that the diet has a rating of 100% on this site. So the good doctors must be doing something right. But, all Oprah complained about was she 'just wanted an apple'.Yeah right. lol I think she was having more than 'just an apple' and that's why she wasn't losing weight. And the doctors tried to delicately point that out but she still slammed them and blamed the diet. Who knows, maybe her chef didn't appreciate the specific details of the diet and was inadvertently sabotaging the diet. Or it could have been because Oprah seems to like her wine ... a lot. Anyway, the whole point is to accept that you may have an insulin problem or even marginally diabetic if you can't lose weight any other way but this, which she still hasn't accepted. Addiction, whether it be food, alcohol or crack, has no regard for the facts and can convince the brain the sky is red.
But I digress, I haven't read the whole 'finish your coffee in 15 minutes' part of the diet since I'm using the older book. But that may be something I should look into as I realise now that savouring my coffee every morning may be detrimental to the diet.
I don't agree that one should stop this diet. It is based on the idea that the dieter is insulin resistant and therefore is much like a diabetic in the way that they will always be that way or will be for a very long time. Six months on the diet but then going back to regular eating is not recommended and this is not just for your weight but for your overall health. I'm going to keep at it since it's good for me and I enjoy it!

posted Jan 6th, 2015 6:57 pm


Fermina

I would like to star this diet tomorrow april 1st.
I'll let you know how was it.

posted Mar 31st, 2014 9:30 pm


Rose Beach

+

Love the inspirational posts from people who have succeeded on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. I'm on it now and am very happy!

posted Jun 9th, 2013 8:32 pm


S.Sree Kiruthika

?

Is the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet suited for vegetarians? This is simply amazing diet plan. Does this diet suit vegetarians also?

posted Feb 21st, 2013 5:39 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Do you often enjoy a large meal and soon after feel hungry again? Or, do you feel like you can't stop eating starchy goodies once you've started? It's time you faced up to your addiction to carbs. You're not alone and the Carbohydrate Addict's Diet might just be the plan for you.

It's possible your body doesn't process carbs the way everyone else does. Sometimes, carbs in your body will result in substantial production of insulin, which in turn creates fat stores. The Carb Addict's Diet, created by Dr. Richard and Dr. Rachael Heller, manages your insulin level by helping you eat in a way that properly mixes when and what you eat. You'll even get to fight the addiction with your food must-haves.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Carbhydrate Addicts Diet, Carbahydrates Addict's Diet, Carbohydrate Addict's Deit

PROPRO
  • Allows for a substantial portion of daily carbohydrates
  • May help to control imbalanced blood sugar levels, sugar cravings and mood swings
  • Nutrient-less carbohydrates are replaced by nutrient-rich foods
  • May help you to lose weight
  • Consuming too many unhealthy carbohydrates has been linked to obesity, diabetes and other chronic health conditions
CONCON
  • Specific instructions for reward meal are needed
  • Reward meal may turn into a 60-minute binge fest for those feeling truly carbohydrate-deprived
  • Restriction of fruit is disputed by some nutrition experts
  • Weight loss is likely to be temporary unless the dieter restricts their carb intake for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

True to its name, the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet restricts certain carbohydrates from your diet while allowing you to eat a modest of amount of approved carbs.

During the first two weeks of the diet, you follow a fairly strict plan of eating only certain foods and foods delineated in the Complimentary Meals list. Such foods include:

  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Fats, oils and dressings
  • Eggs and dairy products
  • Vegetables and salads
  • Special low-carb desserts (recipes in book)

Three meals a day are allowed. Breakfast and lunch must be protein plus low-glycemic vegetables. Dinner is referred to as your reward meal where you can eat whatever you want as long as you eat it in a one-hour time period.

Once you finish with the first two weeks of the diet, you gradually start to re-introduce certain carbs back into your diet, but the quantity and kinds of carbs are dependent upon your weight loss goals. The same reward meal applies.

A sample day on the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet might look like this:

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with a combination of egg whites and one whole egg, bell peppers and mushrooms
  • Lunch: Romaine lettuce salad topped with grilled chicken breast, cucumber slices and olive oil and lemon juice
  • Snack: Hard-boiled eggs or string cheese
  • Dinner: Modest serving of pasta marinara and topped with Parmesan cheese shavings, served with sauteed broccoli.

Foods that are to be avoided during the day are:

  • Fruit
  • Fruit juices
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Sugar & sweets
  • Processed food
EXERCISEEXERCISE

You are encouraged to be consistently active while following the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet. Clocking hours at the gym or on the StairMaster is not recommended, but rather you should aim to move your body more through modest exercise and in your daily routine.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Carbs have certainly received a bad rap in recent years as more and more research shows that diets high in refined carbohydrates can lead to weight gain and out-of-whack insulin levels.

While it's great dietary practice to limit the amount of refined carbs you eat, completing nixing fruit or even the occasional candy bar is just not realistic or healthy.

Even though the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet is likely to result in weight loss and receives high marks for its inclusion of lean protein and healthy veggies, its permission of a reward meal may lead to pasta binges and the resulting weight loss is likely to be temporary, once you cycle off the diet.

Whats better than
Carbohydrate Addicts Diet?