Advertisement

| |

Home > Videos > Diets In Review Video Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this Video like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 10 reviews

Courtney's Summer Challenge: Week 10

Forget an apple a day! Try a few different fruits each day.

Courtney's Summer Challenge is sponsored by Wholly Guacamole

We've made it all the way to week 10 of Courtney's Summer Challenge! Courtney's come up with a real fruity idea this week, one you'll want to sink your teeth right into. Eat fruit with each meal!

This challenge is one we all need to make a stronger effort to do every day of every week, so hopefully it will set you up for success for weeks to come. "You're not going to get fat eating fruit," Courtney playfully advises as she tries to debunk the myths about the natural sugars and carbs in fruit. Rich in vitamins and minerals, not to mention satiating fiber that keeps you full for hours, fruit is a vital part of any healthy diet.

Courtney wants to see you break free of the apple/orange/banana rut (which is totally fine if those are your faves). There are just so many fruits that she wants you to enjoy something new. Her favorite is pineapple! Cherries, grapes, berries, and watermelon are all in season.

Week 10 Prize: DIR T-Shirt and free Wholly Guacamole!

Participate in the challenge by posting below. Tell us which fruits you're enjoying and if you're trying them in new and different ways; for instance grilling pineapple for a sandwich, or tossing grapes on top of a salad.

Sign-up for weekly updates for Courtney's Summer Challenge

Visit this link to get all of the details and archive of each week's challenge: Courtney's Summer Challenge

Flag this Video Flag this Video



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 19 total comments)


Amanda Reed

My favorite fruit right now is frozen mango chunks. It's such a fantastic treat to beat the heat! I also thru some pineapple into a veggie and brown rice bowl. That was phenomenal. Planning to try whipping up some mango salsa as I hear it's fantastic on egg white omelets. Been eating lots of watermelon, too, lately. So delish!

posted Aug 26th, 2011 1:33 pm


Kristin

My favorite has been cheerios with plain greek yogurt and a fruit on top.. one time has been strawberries... the next a peach. I have been addicted to cherries this year for some reason.. delicious!! If I need something sweet I just eat cherries. Mandarin Oranges are so yummy on salad too!!

posted Aug 26th, 2011 12:07 pm


Kristin

LOVE this challenge! Usually I'm great about keeping the house stocked with fruit, especially in the summer but for some reason this summer we've been slacking! I'm carrying this challenge over to help my kids too. This morning they had eggs and I cut up some fresh pears. They LOVED it! Then I found a yummy dessert that's almost like ice cream. You can either use fresh strawberries and freeze them or buy frozen (unsweetened) ones. Throw a few in a blender with some seltzer water, stevia, a quarter lemon juiced (more fruits!) and voila... it's almost like sorbet but it's essentially just fruit! So yummy and refreshing. We now have other fruits like blueberries and raspberries in the fridge too. Can't wait to endulge. We'll be carrying over this challenge for many weeks to come and hopefully it'll become a normal part of our lives!

posted Aug 26th, 2011 11:26 am



Courtney Crozier

I had the BEST pineapple this morning & delicious nectarine last night!! On deck today = strawberries & raspberries! I love this weeks challenge!!! :)

posted Aug 26th, 2011 10:43 am


Kristin Black

What a great tip this week! I saw this yesterday and had to have pineapple with dinner ;) I LOVE fruits and during summer we usually eat tons of it. Have to admit that we've been slacking a bit and this was just the push I needed. This morning I made my girls eggs and then cut up some fresh pears. They're loving having the fruit too! A new trick I tried was getting frozen strawberries (unsweetened) stick them in the blender with a quarter lemon juiced (more fruit!) some stevia (to slightly sweeten it) and a dived mint leaf or two for some added flavor. Super yummy ice cream alternative and the whole family LOVED it!! Thanks again for the great tip! We'll be carrying this one over week after week after week ;)

posted Aug 26th, 2011 10:43 am



Amanda Cravens

I JUST joined a produce co-op and got great stuff. For breakfast I had a fruit salad with bananna, strawberries, grapes and kiwi. Mmm Mmm good!

posted Aug 26th, 2011 10:39 am


Chris

Well, the local strawberries are about finished, but you can still get them in the stores. I love spinach salads ...fresh spinach, sliced strawberries, fat free feta cheese, sweet onion and homemade poppy seed dressing made with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Soooo good!

I also love using grapes, oranges and pineapple in chicken salad. Along with the diced chicken, grapes, oranges and pineapple, I add diced celery and onion, and toss with low fat mayonnaise. Season with salt and pepper and serve on lettuce leaves.

posted Aug 25th, 2011 11:25 pm


Jana

I love to grill my fruit on kebobs with chicken and veggies as well as grilling the fruit on its own.

My fav is grilled sliced peaches. Very good!

posted Aug 23rd, 2011 6:32 pm



yellowstarkiss

I love fruit. Try grilling watermellon. It may sound wierd, but it is super yummy. I like to mix in fruits with my yogurt like strawberries, bananas, blueberries, and rapsberries. I usually have my full survings of fruit. I incorporate them either as part of my meal or snacks. I tend to eat what is in season to gain the maximum benefit and good price of the fruit. I love summer, becaue that is when I get the greatest variety of fruit in my diet.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 11:47 pm



Regina Marie Nwoha

I put blueberries in my yogurt and for lunch I put strawberry's, mandarin oranges and blueberry's on my salad with chicken, it makes a great combo and less feeling of needing something more or a higher calorie dressing. For dinner I like to put pineapples or apples in my vegetable stirfry, anything to add more zest and color instead of the sodium rich stir fry sauces. Yum! and of course for a little treat strawberries and truvia when i am craving "junk" food.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 9:58 pm


MaryButterfly

Yum, fruit!! I love blueberries in my oatmeal or nonfat Greek-style yogurt!! I also like mango &/or pineapple with salsa. Put that on top of chicken, delish!! Of course, I love to make smoothies in my Vitamix!! Simply add fruit, a bit of water & ice (if you like it colder and thicker)!! Super yummy and super healthy!!!

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 8:28 pm



librarykait

I just stocked up on some produce again this morning. Bought baby carrots, green bell pepper, romaine lettuce, apples, oranges, kiwis, grapes, and avocado.

I tried the avocado today on a chicken sandwich with some ranch. It was awesome!

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 4:04 pm


Nancy

I just stocked up on fruit at the Farmer's Market on Saturday.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 3:15 pm



Margaret14

I just had a little apple for dessert after lunch! I'm not sure what other fruit I have in the house--guess I'll have to stock up!

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 3:05 pm



anskysue

Right now I have fresh peaches, plums, bananas and grapes. My trick is to cut up some fresh fruit each night with dinner. If it's cut up into bite size chunks, my family will eat it all.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 2:25 pm


jenny

awesome:) we have a banana everymorning with cereal, and any other fruit we have with lunch and dinner most nights...we go through alot of fruit in our house! the kids LOVE it:)

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 2:02 pm


Cindy Carlson

tossing mandarin oranges on my salad

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 1:57 pm


Chanda

For Breakfast I made the blueberry smoothie that you had posted Courtney and my son LOVES IT!!! We loves our fruits and veggies so this weeks challenge will come as a breeze to us. May God Bless you and your family!!!

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 1:44 pm



Brandi

For breakfast I had sliced strawberries on top of my whole grain bagel (only a half) and low-fat cream cheese.

For lunch I just finished a turkey sandwich with big slices of avocado.

For dinner, we're planning on having Chef Devin's chorizo nachos, so we might have to have some melon for dessert.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 1:33 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Featured Blog Posts

Featured Recipes