Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

74%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 23 reviews

Tracy Anderson Method

Train the way Madonna and Gwyneth Paltrow do.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Tracy Anderson is one of the most sought-after personal trainers in Hollywood. Known for reshaping Madonna’s and Gwyneth Paltrow’s bodies, this pint-sized former ballet dancer has released three workout DVDs that include the same challenging and result-heavy routines that she designed for the Material Girl and Paltrow.

Tracy Anderson's DVD collection includes a mat workout, a dance/cardio workout and a post-pregnancy workout. Her routines increase strength, elongate muscle definition and improve flexibility and balance.

By combining dance moves with sculpting exercises, Anderson’s signature method allows you to get the body that you only dreamed of having.

PRO
  • Tracy Anderson’s method is an effective method for transforming your body
  • DVDs include a total body workout
  • Inexpensive
  • Increases strength and improves cardiovascular functioning
  • Defines some boundaries for eating
CON
  • Targeted to women only
  • Serious dietary restrictions
DIET and NUTRITION

Although there is no specific diet plan that is included with Anderson’s DVDs, she has created her own diet that can be used in conjunction with her method to maximize results. Her diet is comprised of a low-calorie, low-fat, low-carbohydrate eating plan that includes eating lean protein and green veggies at each meal. Caffeine, sugar, alcohol, most starches and refined carbohydrates are forbidden.

EXERCISE

Anderson’s method is a unique style of exercise that can radically change any woman’s shape.

Tracy Anderson’s dance DVD includes a combination of dance moves inspired by her years as a ballerina. Her mat workout strengthens and tones muscles by using small weights (only three pounds or less) and countless repetitions of sculpting exercises.

As a mother herself, Anderson knows how difficult it can be to get into shape after giving birth. Her post-pregnancy workout helps new moms acquire an even better post-baby body than their pre-baby physique.

Each of her DVDs run approximately one hour. The mat and cardio DVDs are best used in conjunction with each other for optimal results.

CONCLUSION

Tracy Anderson has spent more than 10 years researching and experimenting with various exercises that would give her the sleek and defined body she always dreamed of having. Her exclusive method is now available to any woman who wishes to transform her body through her line of workout DVDs.

Common Misspellings

Tracy Andersen’s DVDs, Tracey Anderson’s DVDs, Tracee Anderson’s DVDs, Tracy Anderson’s workout DVDs, Tracy Anderson Diet, Madonna Diet, Madonna Workout, Gwyneth Paltrow Diet, Gwyneth Paltrow Workout


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, Curves, Dancing with the Stars, Total Mommy Fitness, Work Out with Jackie Warner


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 35 total comments)

ANNA

i thought spot training did not "work" For YEARs the fitness experts have said "spot training does NOT work", is this not what tracy andersons "method" is all about?

posted Jan 31st, 2013 2:33 am


Me

How long is a Tracy Anderson Workout? how long is each workout? I am on a tight schedule with work and school and not sure I could squeeze in an hour a day to workout. I think this may be the workout I've been looking for if it fits my sechedule

posted Mar 8th, 2012 12:55 am


Eva

The COMPLETE lack of instruction causes more injury than benefit. There was no modified movements, no direction, no explanations, ect. given for individuals who may have any issues or limitations...not to mention the camera angles do not give you appropriate views of her movements as she constantly mentions "to follow her angles and positions". You can't tell what directions she's moving. I have a gymnastics background as well as exercise health and find this program terrible.

I wish I never wasted my money!!! I would NOT recommend this program.

posted Jan 22nd, 2012 8:24 pm


sandra

Love tracy's dvd......have been doing for a year, and see definition in arms and abs...my arms have never been slimmer.....and no i dont like her because of her celebrity following.....i like her cause her routines work, and feel very comfortable doing them. Not interested in her personal affairs, and her past etc. Reviewing her DVD only here.....and I have to attest that it really works, saw results in the first month.

She is brilliant.......

posted Jul 18th, 2011 11:24 pm


Molly

I don't understand why people claim you can't tone/strengthen without resistance. Have you not done Yoga or Pilates people??? Seriously. I love how when someone comes into the fitness market with a unique idea everyone who runs marathons and lifts 50 lbs weights freaks out cause they are scared that all their hard work will somehow be laughed at. People can and should do workouts they love. I have lost ten lbs by just doing the Mat workout and not changing my diet. THAT my friends is a workout that works. END OF STORY.

posted Apr 16th, 2011 2:31 am


Helen Beech

I have just started doing the mat work out but she recommends that in order to see results you have to do the cardio. I suffer from a very bad lower back and cannot see how I would do this cardio work out. Can soembody suggest an alternative or some helpful advise. i would be very grateful Thanks

posted Mar 1st, 2011 8:01 am


Sandi

Love love love the 30 day method, nothing I have ever tried (and I have tried everything!) has given me such tone and definition and I loved trying all the different foods and recipes on the diet
Fabulous - changed my life. Thanks Tracy!!

posted Dec 16th, 2010 9:01 pm


Lee

I love it! As a dancer, this is the perfect workout when I don't have time to go to the studio for a class. Tracy's method mat is wonderful. I've been doing it for a year and nothing tones me like that workout!

posted Oct 19th, 2010 4:33 pm


fanny

did u guys have to use heat to get results? or without heat

posted Jul 7th, 2010 9:02 am


Moriah

David- as a fitness "guru" as you claim to be- why have I tried treadmills, running, weights, cardio, yoga, dancing, walking, and everything in between, yet after doing TA mat workout for a mere three weeks (not her diet- infact, no dieting) did I see results for the first time that quickly from working out? If her method does not work, how come countless women on this site can attest to the fact that her method works? Why when I worked out for three months straight doing everything under the sun did I only lose 5 pounds and barely any inches, yet after only three weeks - I have lost 2 inches on my waist - my arms are firmer and I lost 2 inches on my hips?? Can you explain those results? Why don't you not KNOCK it until you try it. I love that the only people that have been knocking her method are those that have read stories in the media or just merely watched her moves, etc....without trying them or actually doing her workouts for at least a month. those that are on the fence- get her mat workout. Do at for at least a month, I promise it works - you will see changes-

posted Jun 25th, 2010 5:43 pm


Sam

I have quite an athletic build and bulk up very easily which I personally don't like... Since doing Tracy's Mat Workout DVD in conjunction with various cardio routines I have really noticed a difference. I feel more toned and much more elegant and feminine. I don't know Tracy Anderson personally.. I don't really care what she's like, whether she stole some of her ideas from somewhere, whether or not she has all the qualifications under the sun! Surely, the point is.. you try something and if it works for you that's great! If not you try something else! Each to their own.. that's what I say.. and If you don't like it.. don't do it yourself but respect there are those out there who do!

posted Jun 18th, 2010 9:25 am


ELLA

Love your method and love everything about you Tracy! It 's really works for me! And I'm not on a diet at all!

posted May 8th, 2010 4:23 pm


Zooey

I looooove this method. Personally I do not care what kind of person Tracey Anderson is. You can tell me a million horrible things about her and I will still buy her product because it works. My main goal is to get in shape. It is not my job to check up on what kind of person she is. I love her. I love her method . And say what you want. Qualifications mean nothing. She gets results so who cares!

posted Apr 27th, 2010 6:21 pm


Mo

I have been doing here workout for a month- and I love it. To the Mr. Trialthalon- some women don't want to have to run 50 miles or lift weights on end to get the body that we are looking for. I have never seen this kind of change in my body so fast from a workout. Don't like the diet- don't do it, but her workouts work!! I am toning and changing shape in so little time I can't believe it. I am wearing clothes that fit better now but the scale says I am 4 -5 pounds heavier than the last time I wore those same clothes. Her method works. If you want to be muscular, do something else. If you want that tone long lean body, do her workout. I have done workouts where I run, do yoga, treadmill, walk on an incline, lift weights- you name it. Two months later, nothing - no weight lose, very minimal loss of inches very little results. I see the negative responses- but if you give her a month- I guarantee you will see the difference.

posted Mar 8th, 2010 6:53 pm


Ann

I've been doing the mat method for 3 weeks and my thighs and butt look fantastic...my arms are taking shape but my stomach requires more alot more work....course I'm 5'4 and 147 so I'm far from skinny....I'm just starting my own diet and hope to loose slowly....but so far I am impressed!!

posted Mar 6th, 2010 8:21 pm



Michele Mackinac Zaremba

It's not that I don't like the 'workout' portion of Tracy Anderson's DVD (which still confuses me as to why it's called the "mat" workout since 80% of it is standing), I'm not that enthused about Tracy Anderson as a trainer.

First of all, during the warm-up, here we are bent over stretching our hamstrings, with our head down staring at the floor and you're just stretching for a while and then you happen to look up at the screen and Tracy Anderson is on a completely DIFFERENT move. She RARELY tells you when to switch and before you know it, she's several moves ahead of you. Not only during the warm-up, when you can't see the TV, but also during the abs, when you're staring at the ceiling. Several times throughout the workout as well. C'mon Tracy...help us out here!!!

Second, she NEVER counts. Let's face it...knowing how many reps we're doing gives us a light at the end of the tunnel and keeps us motivated to contune until the end.

Third, she stares at the floor a LOT which is very distracting.

And lastly, while doing the standing leg portion of it, she should keep her arms out of it. It's silly, not to mention LOOKS silly when she's doing it. It looks like she's trying to fill some sort of void and it really doesn't do anything for you. Focus on the muscle you're targeting. You'll get much better results.

Being a fitness trainer myself, I often purchase DVDs to give me ideas for my clients. None of my clients are the same and none of them have the same goals. I train males and females alike. Although I'm sure this workout will do some good for some people, I think I'll stick to what I've been doing.

Stay tuned for my review of the "dance" workout.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 6:53 pm


sarah

is fantastic

posted Jan 18th, 2010 7:23 am


Rikki

Regardless if Tracy developed this technique I don't really care b/c it works. Yea it's hard and you have to stick with it but I love it.

posted Jan 2nd, 2010 11:56 pm


Denyne Banks

I like Tracy's matt workout. It works. I love it, I love her method.

posted Dec 9th, 2009 4:32 pm


Kellja

Really if it works for one person, then it's a positive thing. I tried it because I was looking for something DIFFERENT, and guess what? it works FOR ME. Either you like her or you don't, who cares if she isn't "qualified" I've seen some so called "qualified" trainers and really I'm fitter than them, so it ain't all about the "certificate".

There are billions of individuals out there and no one training system works for everyone, so if you find something that works for you, DO IT! and least you are doing something.

The mat DVD is working for me, I do it daily, without struggle to get motivated. She dosen't jump around like a hyped up cheerleader to bad tinny music, to get you moving.

In fact her minimal instruction is great.
I can the put my own music on and workout. The arm section is fantastic, I've been doing it regularly for 4 weeks now and it's still touhg but I'm seeing results and to me that is all that matters.

So all you jealous people go away and let us who enjoy the DVD's do our thing and get the results WE want.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 1:44 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account