Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

37%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 63 reviews

Tone It Up Fat Burning System

Tone up your body with this program designed by personal trainers.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

ToneItUpDiet.com is a web site that offers weight loss through the Tone It Up Fat Burning System. The system involves a diet plan, measurement guide, grocery list, sample meal plan, slimming tips, fitness program and a core program. The diet plan is also available in vegetarian and vegan varieties. The Tone It Up Fat Burning System was developed by personal trainers and nutritionists Karena Dawn and Katrina Hodgson.

They share with you the secrets of having the body of a fitness model through this specialized program. This program helps clear up some popular myths that surround weight loss. The Tone It Up Fat Burning System is reasonably priced and has been successful for many people. One of the featured success stories was able to lose 45 pounds on this program. This plan will allow you to lose weight once and for and actually keep the weight off.

PRO
  • Program include everything you need
  • Includes a diet plan along with workout plans
  • Program is available in vegan and vegetarian varieties
  • Program created by two personal trainers and nutritionists
  • Web site features success stories
  • Program only asks for a 30 day commitment
  • Encourages frequent meals to keep you from being hungry
  • Don’t have to work out for hours each day to see results
  • Gives you everything you need for the cost of one training session with a personal trainer
CON
  • Seems to be more designed for those with small amounts of weight to lose
  • Very few details upfront about the details of the program
  • Program can be expensive when you consider that you have to pay for it before getting solid details
DIET and NUTRITION

The Tone It Up Fat Burning System includes a specific diet plan that doesn’t require that you go on a liquid fast or starve yourself. The program teaches you how to eat like an athlete to burn more fat. You eat meals frequently and also learn the correct food combinations for eating properly. There is a vegetarian and a vegan version of the program for those that prefer it. The program does come with a sample meal plan and a grocery list. The exact details of what you will eat are not available unless you pay for the program. After purchase, the entire program is revealed.

EXERCISE

The fitness plan that comes with the Tone It Up Fat Burning System is the Full Body Blast Fitness Program. This is the same fitness plan that Karena and Katrina give to their personal clients that come to them for training. They will also include the Core Program that will give you a toned core and slim down your waistline. The exact details of what exercises you will be doing are not available until the program has been purchased.

CONCLUSION

The Tone It Up Fat Burning System is one that has been tested and has seen success from several that have tried it. The program was designed and created by two personal trainers and nutritionists that have used the program themselves to get into their best shape. The program cost can be a hindrance to some when you consider that the details of what you eat and what workouts you do are not given until after purchase. There are several success stories and the option of a vegan or vegetarian food plans is available for those that prefer that style of eating. This program may be worth a try and surely has some positive aspects. It may be worth a try for those that don’t mind paying for the program before having absolutely all the details first.

Common Misspellings

toned it up fat burning system, tones it up fat burning system, tone up fat burning system, tone it ups fat burning system, tonie it up fat burning systems


Related Diets: Dietcare, DietsCentral.com, Real Living Nutrition, Strip That Fat


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 45 total comments)

Abigail

I'm interested in purchasing the plan. Would someone email it to me as well? bowenal@mail.uc.edu . Thank you!

posted Apr 18th, 2015 8:06 pm


Amanda

Can someone email me the recipe PDF so I can look? Manda1881@hotmail.com

posted Apr 5th, 2015 1:19 am


Alyssa

This plan is so expensive and the diet is extremely strict. I bought the plan for $150 read half way through the book and realized it is so not for me and they not I threw that money in the garbage. Dont make the same mistake. Try to get the plan for free from a friend its just a PDF that you pay $150 for.

posted Mar 31st, 2015 11:32 pm


Maya

Disappointed- just purchased- wish I could get refund! I did the Fit Girl 30 day plan and got sick of the meals after doing them for months and was hoping this would be new motivation. HOLY MOLY WHO HAS THE TIME AND MONEY for the recipes in this booklet?! Also- I did not know half the recipes would include the protein powder they created and are hawking. Fit Girl gave really simple, inexpensive meals that a real person could follow and I was hoping for the same thing here. This is crazy. I can cook but not all of us sit at home all day making fitness our lives. Also- I haven't even heard of half of the ingredients these recipes call for. I live in San Francisco and would need to go to a specialty store for many of them. Can't imagine how someone in a small town not on a coast would be able to find half of these foods. The work outs also seem to assume you have expensive work out gear. Who has an exercise ball and a $200 bosu ball?! Just crazy and unrealistic.

posted Mar 16th, 2015 9:56 pm


Alison

while i don't follow this religiously i do love the attitude and feeling that karena and karina create and promote. like other have said - its not a 'diet' they're promoting (unless you want to do the 7 day slim down) its a lifestyle and they promote their community who definitely motivate each other.

posted Mar 7th, 2015 10:22 pm


GG

I strongly do not recommend Tone It Up. It is a waste of money. Once you pay you receive a pdf of their recipes which are not well thought out, not yummy at all and not anything special. You will feel like you are on a diet. The recipes were a huge disappointment. The workouts are nothing special either, and nothing that you can't find for free on line. Most of what you will pay for is lots and lots of vanity photos and videos of the two girls (Katrina and Karena) who run the business in the bikinis and lots of makeup. Please don't waste your money on this, there are so many better options out there.

posted Feb 25th, 2015 6:28 pm


Nicole

Don't waste your money. Not only is the $150 price tag way too much, the plan doesn't work. I followed it for months before i gave up. It is based on outdated science including portion control. What has finally worked for me is a low-carb high-fat diet. I am amazed with the results! Everything we learned about fat is wrong. It's all about insulin. Diabetes is a huge problem in the U.S. & many people are pre diabetic & don't know it. All i did was some google research on the concept (for free) & implemented it in my life. Awesome results!

posted Feb 19th, 2015 1:04 pm


Danya

I have mixed feelings about this plan. I love the TIU community (and yes, as previously stated in other reviews, it is FREE to be a member of the community and to do most of their workouts).
I agree that the girls could offer a more professional product for $150. Since they do offer so much for free, it's difficult to pay $150 for a nutrition plan that includes simple recipes we all know and have made before without the help of their plan, and is also filled with various typos. I also think for $150, they could at least print it and send it to you in book or pamphlet form as well as PDF. I use it on my iPad, but there are plenty of days that I'd like to bookmark a recipe and sifting through the PDF pages can be a little tricky.
That said, I do think these girls know women's bodies. They explain when to eat which food groups to help your body maximize your metabolism and they never make you feel deprived. You're always eating real food - not juicing (though they do give great juice recipes), not drinking lemonade, not eating prepackaged frozen meals.
My favorite part (and most valuable portion) of the plan is the 7 Day Slim Down guide. I ALWAYS see results when I follow the slim down to a "t". It's great for jumpstarting weight loss or just cleansing for a few days after a season of indulgence.
Whether you have 10lbs to lose or 100lbs to lose, I do believe it can be done on this plan. This is a lifestyle guide, not a quick weight loss plan. If you look at it from that perspective, I think you will be very pleased with purchasing this plan.

posted Feb 10th, 2015 12:18 am


Bri

Has Anyone Bought The Tone It Up Plan/Routine?? I would like to see the plan if someone would be willing to email it to me, that would be amazing because I almost bought it right now. I have saved up my money and with all these bad reviews I am scared to puchase. My email is adelebrittani@yahoo.com. Thank you in advance!

posted Jan 28th, 2015 6:15 pm


Lindsey

I lucked out and tried a coupon code that happened to work, so I got the plan for about $120 and I STILL don't think it was worth what I paid. (Code no longer works..) Obviously the plan works if you stick with it, so if you're in the throws of TIU obsession, maybe it's worth it to you. However following the workout plans and scaling back my portions without strictly following the meal plan has given me results too (because I went from never working out and over eating processed foods to working out an hour 5-6 days a week and keeping a clean diet). I would suggest joining the tone it up community to any friend, but I would not and have not let a friend buy the membership.

Now I do love the TIU community and I love Karena and Katrina. The way that they promote loving yourself, loving life, focusing on the positives, encouraging and fostering friendships and having fun really sets this program apart from others out there. The whole "obsessive" culture of tone it up and checking in on instagram is effective and motivating if you let yourself get wrapped up in it. They really seem to have good hearts but frankly, it angers me how much they promote the plan.

Like most negative reviews, I agree that the plan is very vague. The basics are good: Eat smaller meals spread throughout the day so that energy levels are sustained and your metabolism is kept in the fat burning zone. Balance protein and vegetables with less carbs... Great in theory but that information is not worth $150. When I purchased it, I thought the plan would lay out weekly menus and shopping lists, but it only lays out vague basics and gives you poorly edited recipes. The recipes have obviously never been proofread from an outside source. They include typos, leave off ingredients from the list so you never know the quantity required, and some don’t include enough liquid and the food ends up burning. The recipes include odd ingredients that are hard to find and expensive, and some are so time consuming, I’d never make them again despite the delicious end result. Who has 2 hours to spend making dinner!? The updates are mostly repeats of recipes from the main plan, and the “members only emails” are pretty worthless, so don't get caught up in that hype.

Be warned! Until they restructure their pricing to include a reasonable yearly membership and instead make the plan

posted Jan 12th, 2015 4:31 pm


merryhappy

It is a waste of money. You're paying for the illusion of exclusivity and the community. I am also convinced they do not do the workouts they prescribe. It is nothing new, it is nothing exclusive, they use the same recipes you see on Cassey Ho's blogilates (and she posts everything for FREE), save your money.

posted Dec 29th, 2014 9:53 pm


Valerie

I love this plan. I had been following the weekly schedule for about a month, and was losing weight. I wanted more, so I got the plan. I absolutely love the recipes, and in 3 months I've lost 15 pounds and gained a lot of muscle. They encourage cooking your own foods and eating lots of unprocessed stuff. Leafy greens. The best part of being a Tone it Up member is the online community. It really keeps me motivated and holds me accountable.

posted Dec 23rd, 2014 2:51 pm


Alice

As others have said, I would not waste your money on this plan. A friend of mine has it and I asked her if I could look through it as I was thinking about buying the plan but wanted to know what I was getting myself into first. The moment I saw a recipe for "Ants on a Log" and "Yogurt with Granola" I immediately became pissed off. These women are ripping people off with their "nutrition plan." Pinterest honestly has most of these recipes and googling "clean eating" will get you further than this plan. Yes they email you updates with new recipes a few times a year but even in the updates there are duplicates from the original plan, they just call it something else (their latest Frisky Fall edition had another recipe for celery sticks with peanut butter and raisins...REALLY?).

Others are saying that the community is the best part of the plan. I agree, I love the community. But guess what - THAT'S FREE. You don't have to waste $150 on the plan to follow and interact with others in the community. I have a fitness instagram account and 80% of the people I follow are TIU members. Stick with their free workouts (yep, those don't cost anything either) and the support from the free community, google clean eating and workout for at least 30 mins a day and you'll see results. Just sayin, this isn't rocket science.

posted Dec 19th, 2014 5:33 pm


Nicole

I am going to say no to the plan because I have just bought it and had some regrets about it. They are very vague and don't want you to know anything about it until you buy it. The girls do a lot of promoting. I actually do have tons of weight to lose and don't believe the plan will work for me. Their site also features skinny girls who don't have much to lose. If you're a big girl, be prepared to see lots of skinny young girls. They even included themselves in a success story about her own mom and said "I have lost some weight too." She had barely anything to lose. As for recipes I am also very picky so I understand when you get the "book" (pdf file) that you pretty much have to figure out what recipes work for you. I don't have many recipes I can try. I also do not like the way they are pricing this stuff. They say it's not fair for others who have paid the 150 if they price it down. I think it's a big rip off. They just want your money. use their free workouts and recipes if you like them. I will continue to use Google :) and oh yeah. you can't even get a refund. I wish they would price it down to at least 30. The only thing I see worth the 150 is all of the additions you get along with it. Other than that, I don't see what the big deal is. I asked someone on the community (pretty much Facebook without the games) why do they not have nutrition articles? The book is really just their nutrition articles you have to pay for. Their site is really just expensive recipes with their protein they only sell online. And lots of workouts I have yet to do.
my advice is to just save your money and buy things you can and will use. Not a pdf file that doesn't really give you any original or new tips. So disappointed. :(

posted Nov 30th, 2014 11:09 pm


Emily

The bad reviews are all correct.
The plan is vague, messy, and not worth even $30. Their advice is actually bad at times. I am hoping to get my money back. What a waste.

If you know nothing about nutrition, this is great for you. If you know how to add and have access to recipes using protein powder, DONT BUY THIS

posted Nov 15th, 2014 2:42 am


Charlotte

I think it is worth every penny! $150 is a lifetime membership which gives you everything you need and continued support for no extra cost. It gives you a detailed plan, with regular updates emailed out. Every week there is a different workout schedule to follow! It's like having a personal lifestyle coach and trainer at your disposal for a one off cost. The community is also very supportive and the enthusiasm that radiates off everyone is very supportive to achieve your long term goals!

The real difference about this is that it is about a lifestyle change and not a crash diet. It contains real information and you are able to incorporate this into daily life. Yes,you may have access to similar information through google (as stated in another review- but that's obvious, its just nutritional knowledge!) but what most people struggle with is putting it into action. That is the key to the success of this programme, it gives you the tools to put your knowledge into action. (Which obviously that knowledge on 'google' didn't provide you with as you are still looking for a 'miracle' program)

posted Sep 30th, 2014 12:42 pm


Bailey

Honestly, it's a rip-off. I wasted 150 dollars on recipes, a measurements guide, and a workout.... I don't recommend buying it. I have only really looked at it once because I already knew the majority of the stuff in it form researching on my own (plus, I didn't have to pay to use google). Furthermore, it doesn't include heavy weightlifting, which is the key to truly changing your body.

posted Aug 13th, 2014 6:27 pm


Lydia

Anyone willing to email me the tone it up regular nutrition plan pdf? I'd like to take a look at their recipes to see if its for me. Lydia.ann.04@hotmail.com

posted May 23rd, 2014 2:56 pm


Ellie

I love what they have done. THIS WILL NOT STARVE YOU!!! You are doing healthy protein, leafy greens, fruits, veggies, and everything junk food isn't there they have a page on exceptions such as dark chocolate but don't over indulge. You have to WANT to make this work if you don't want it to work you will be lazy not wake up early to do what you need to and you don't need anything but the meal plan and the fitness workouts other than that you are set it is what you make of it if you don't like water they give you awesome ideas on sprucing it up to where you can drink it :D I hated water because it was so bland and yeah lemon water was okay but they tell you what else to try and it is great. They are offering a lifestyle change in shopping, beauty, health, fitness, and give you updates on the plans. :D If you aren't already aware bravo now has a new show called toned up that aired last night and that was awesome as well. please don't listen to the people steering you away :D be stronger than they were and eat get fit and live happily.

posted Feb 3rd, 2014 2:25 pm


sam

Don't waste your money! These girls don't update their plan to current research. They encourage foods like agave! All curen research on agave is that it's mostly fructose and not good for you. The customer service is also really poor. They are too busy promoting themselves to take care of their curren, paying customes. You've been warned!

posted Jan 31st, 2014 4:13 pm



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account