Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

41%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 81 reviews

Tone It Up Fat Burning System

Tone up your body with this program designed by personal trainers.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

ToneItUpDiet.com is a web site that offers weight loss through the Tone It Up Fat Burning System. The system involves a diet plan, measurement guide, grocery list, sample meal plan, slimming tips, fitness program and a core program. The diet plan is also available in vegetarian and vegan varieties. The Tone It Up Fat Burning System was developed by personal trainers and nutritionists Karena Dawn and Katrina Hodgson.

They share with you the secrets of having the body of a fitness model through this specialized program. This program helps clear up some popular myths that surround weight loss. The Tone It Up Fat Burning System is reasonably priced and has been successful for many people. One of the featured success stories was able to lose 45 pounds on this program. This plan will allow you to lose weight once and for and actually keep the weight off.

PRO
  • Program include everything you need
  • Includes a diet plan along with workout plans
  • Program is available in vegan and vegetarian varieties
  • Program created by two personal trainers and nutritionists
  • Web site features success stories
  • Program only asks for a 30 day commitment
  • Encourages frequent meals to keep you from being hungry
  • Don’t have to work out for hours each day to see results
  • Gives you everything you need for the cost of one training session with a personal trainer
CON
  • Seems to be more designed for those with small amounts of weight to lose
  • Very few details upfront about the details of the program
  • Program can be expensive when you consider that you have to pay for it before getting solid details
DIET and NUTRITION

The Tone It Up Fat Burning System includes a specific diet plan that doesn’t require that you go on a liquid fast or starve yourself. The program teaches you how to eat like an athlete to burn more fat. You eat meals frequently and also learn the correct food combinations for eating properly. There is a vegetarian and a vegan version of the program for those that prefer it. The program does come with a sample meal plan and a grocery list. The exact details of what you will eat are not available unless you pay for the program. After purchase, the entire program is revealed.

EXERCISE

The fitness plan that comes with the Tone It Up Fat Burning System is the Full Body Blast Fitness Program. This is the same fitness plan that Karena and Katrina give to their personal clients that come to them for training. They will also include the Core Program that will give you a toned core and slim down your waistline. The exact details of what exercises you will be doing are not available until the program has been purchased.

CONCLUSION

The Tone It Up Fat Burning System is one that has been tested and has seen success from several that have tried it. The program was designed and created by two personal trainers and nutritionists that have used the program themselves to get into their best shape. The program cost can be a hindrance to some when you consider that the details of what you eat and what workouts you do are not given until after purchase. There are several success stories and the option of a vegan or vegetarian food plans is available for those that prefer that style of eating. This program may be worth a try and surely has some positive aspects. It may be worth a try for those that don’t mind paying for the program before having absolutely all the details first.

Common Misspellings

toned it up fat burning system, tones it up fat burning system, tone up fat burning system, tone it ups fat burning system, tonie it up fat burning systems


Related Diets: Dietcare, DietsCentral.com, Real Living Nutrition, Strip That Fat


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 68 total comments)

MC

I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews. I researched this plan for months before purchasing. I wanted to lose 60lbs and this plan has helped me get on course. I wanted to eat healthy without being on a diet and without thinking about. This plan is great for that. So many of us get so caught up in the details, latest "weight lose news" and want to talk about that when we aren't even doing the basics.

Someone talked about wanting savory meals. If you want super savory meals...don't purchase TIU. Why, cause let's be honest, you aren't trying to lose weight or eat healthy anyway. I love savory meals like the next person but most are higher in fat, carbs, and other unhealthy things. Nothing wrong with it every now and then but not for daily eating.

As for the food, if I don't have the ingredients on hand for that particular day, I find a meal on a different day that has ingredients I do have on hand. It’s that simple. What I love is I am not hungry on this plan. I am also not stressed about what to eat or what exercise to do. It’s all laid out. In regards to the protein powder, if you don't want it don't purchase it and use something else. Not rocket science.

As for price, buying this plan was cheaper than what my friends are paying for Weight Watcher, Nutrisystem, Ideal Protein etc. Yes the join up fees are cheap but after buying their foods and so forth they have ALL spent more than $150. And the TIU plan is how you will eat for life. No counting points, crazy tacking or any of those other weird calculations. You learn to eat right by eating everyday foods.

My whole family is eating healthier AND my grocery bill has gone down because we are learning portion control. That is huge for us. The plan is very informative. The nutrition plan explains in detail everything you would want to know about nutrition. I had a nutritionist I was seeing every other week. She was a toped rank Nutritionist in the DC Metro area. She was wonderful and I would recommend her but it got expensive. TIU was great because a lot of their info mirrored what the Nutritionist had told me.

My only complaint is having to print out all the info. I do think upon sign up they should at least ship you the print outs already hole punched and ready to go. It’s a bit overwhelming. Any new additions/series you can print out yourself. They are learning, changing and growing though. I am sure that will be part of their future plan.

posted Jan 18th, 2016 9:48 pm


MC

I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews. I researched this plan for months before purchasing. I wanted to lose 60lbs and this plan has helped me get on course. I wanted to eat healthy without being on a diet and without thinking about. This plan is great for that. So many of us get so caught up in the details, latest "weight lose news" and want to talk about that when we aren't even doing the basics.

Someone talked about wanting savory meals. If you want super savory meals...don't purchase TIU. Why, cause let's be honest, you aren't trying to lose weight or eat healthy anyway. I love savory meals like the next person but most are higher in fat, carbs, and other unhealthy things. Nothing wrong with it every now and then but not for daily eating.

As for the food, if I don't have the ingredients on hand for that particular day, I find a meal on a different day that has ingredients I do have on hand. It’s that simple. What I love is I am not hungry on this plan. I am also not stressed about what to eat or what exercise to do. It’s all laid out. In regards to the protein powder, if you don't want it don't purchase it and use something else. Not rocket science.

As for price, buying this plan was cheaper than what my friends are paying for Weight Watcher, Nutrisystem, Ideal Protein etc. Yes the join up fees are cheap but after buying their foods and so forth they have ALL spent more than $150. And the TIU plan is how you will eat for life. No counting points, crazy tacking or any of those other weird calculations. You learn to eat right by eating everyday foods.

My whole family is eating healthier AND my grocery bill has gone down because we are learning portion control. That is huge for us. The plan is very informative. The nutrition plan explains in detail everything you would want to know about nutrition. I had a nutritionist I was seeing every other week. She was a toped rank Nutritionist in the DC Metro area. She was wonderful and I would recommend her but it got expensive. TIU was great because a lot of their info mirrored what the Nutritionist had told me.

My only complaint is having to print out all the info. I do think upon sign up they should at least ship you the print outs already hole punched and ready to go. It’s a bit overwhelming. Any new additions/series you can print out yourself. They are learning, changing and growing though. I am sure that will be part of their future plan.

posted Jan 18th, 2016 9:47 pm


Fuchia

For those who have bought the nutrition plan and aren't using it can you send me the PDF. I'm doing the free Self magazine challenge which includes a free week but I'm getting tired of the eating the same thing every 7 days and would love some variety. My email is fuchiasky@yahoo.com

Aly, Your review had me laughing and I agree about how they are branded.

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:28 pm


Aly

Hi,
I first came across tone it up about 5-6 years ago before they had even invented their powder. I’ve watched them rocket to success and been there through the production of all the dvds, bikinis, powder, vitamins, clothes etc. In the original plan they used different protein because they hadn’t invented theirs yet so if you can’t afford theirs just sub another (they used to so it will be fine), though I think they would encourage you to use ‘cleaner’ organic type stuff, personally I don’t use protein powder at all, powder is just not food.

This is the story of my bad experience that kind of ruined it for me:

I first found their free workouts on Youtube and after being convinced to buy the plan I was very disappointed. Only buy this plan if you like to eat strange (not fluffy) pancakes, green veg and chicken because you will be doing that a lot. I did not like the pancakes and I find a lot of the recipes are sort of sunny californian sweet with savoury flavours. I live in a cold climate and prefer hearty savoury meals so out of the many recipes and the updates I have only ever found a handful I’m even tempted by. The food can be quite bland which is good if laziness wins over flavour for you because nothing is very hard to cook. I was so uninspired by their recipes but I wanted to eat cleaner so I bought a vegan cookbook because I thought the veg recipes would be clean and creative then I read the start and ended up deciding to be vegan. When I asked to change my plan from normal to vegan they charged me $30 TO CHANGE!!!!!!! So i had to pay $180, how is that fair????? I tried to argue that the vegan version could be considered as an update (you know how they go on about charging so much because you get lifetime updates) but whoever was emailing me back was not kind, compassionate or even polite and flat out refused to acknowledge my point or the unnecessary cost. It might have even been them to be honest because I know the company was not much more than them and the couple of guys back then. What was worse was that when I paid the $30 and got the vegan plan all they had done was written 'egg replacement powder’ anywhere they had previously had ‘egg' and ‘tofu' anywhere ‘chicken' or ‘fish' had been. GEE THANKS FOR CHARGING ME $30 TO CHANGE SOME WORDS But worse there were no new recipes and I hate tofu so the $180 plan became pretty useless. Some of the recipes like ants on a log are a bit insulting after paying that money. They also left pictures of actual chicken or fish in the vegan plan. Clearly they are still biased with the normal plan because I was emailed about the most recent version and they had released the normal but it said ‘Vegetarian and Vegan: Upcoming’. Ever since then I’ve never really liked Tone it up, I still think K and K seem nice and sort of charmingly silly but it was ruined for me a long time ago. Also having watched them this long, let me tell you, I think they are under the influence of management companies now. They used to market themselves as young, socal, boho, sandy feet, young spirited. Now their video montages show them as more glamorous, kind of vain looking, with cocktails by the pool and the most recent bunch have been dark, power, 50 shades of grey executive looking. All very well done videos but when you watch them, I think they are quite a silly pair of best friends and the new marketing seems a bit dissonant.

Stick with what they provide for free is my advice, the workouts on youtube and the community (who are very friendly though can be a bit distant if you don’t live in the U.S). Although I would say I wasn’t into the community that much because obviously many of them love the plan. So really for me the best thing is the free workout videos.

Also, I agree that it’s a product that seems geared towards smaller people but it is called Tone it up, not Loose a ton or something, the idea is to build a bit of muscle which sits and burns your limited intake of food off. I would say that it feels like a diet, is boring in terms of meals and the trainers seem to advocate drinking a lot which is not great when you are trying to loose weight…rose all day? Thanks for suggesting it’s fun to consume empty calories that are bad for you (what happened to clean). Small point but there you have it.

Hope this helps someone get a feel for the plan and the company behind it. Ultimately, it could work for you but I personally would not recommend it.

posted Jan 6th, 2016 11:00 am


Sarah

I love the recipes in the plan. My favourite is the blueberry organic protein powders.
You pay a one off price and of course they will want you to buy their DVDs (you can switch out workouts for online ones anyway) and of course they want you to buy their protein powder (tried others in there recipes and they don't taste good) because that is their way of growing their business. If you sold you're nutrition plan and gave updates to everyone for no extra cost then you need a way of generating profit.

Plus to all those people trying to get people to send you a copy... most people have paid for it, why should you get it for free? It's a federal crime to send it to anyone so you are asking people to break the law for you! I don't think so. If you are too tight or broke to buy the plan then you are too tight and broke to buy the protein powder, DVDs and the ingredients for the recipes.

posted Dec 15th, 2015 2:28 pm


Martha

If you all get together and buy the meal plan insted of asking for the PDF you would probable buy a $20 each, would help which other,and you all can review the plan and let people like myself know if it's worth.

posted Oct 23rd, 2015 3:07 am


Lindsay

I would absolutely LOVE for someone who is willing to share their plan to email me the pdf files? My email is greenpaisley@gmail.com

Thanks!!

posted Oct 6th, 2015 2:03 am


Niamh Kelly

tone it up Hi, Has Anyone Bought The Tone It Up Plan/Routine?? I would like to see the plan if someone would be willing to email it on to me, that would be amazing as I was willing to purchase the plan however from reading all the bad reviews I am scared to puchase. My email is 2008niamhkelly@rossescommunityschool.ie Thank you in advance! Read more at http://www.dietsinreview.com/diets/tone-it-up-fat-burning-system/#cT3u3bTUWHMOZRsU.99

posted Sep 1st, 2015 12:03 pm


Kelsey

TIU is basically a cult following. It encourages women to workout an unhealthy amount, not necessarily that the trainers do, but the "community" all tried to out do one another with how many hours of cardio they can accomplish. Then these women work out like mad people and still don't look good. Their nutrition plan is HORRIBLY written, ie. they have a recipe where Bok Choi is in the title...yep not listed as an ingredient in the recipe! Do they know what an editor is! Most of all...the food is nasty!

posted Aug 23rd, 2015 4:39 pm


kirsten

I am researching different diet plans for women at the moment and if anyone generous out there would be able to send me their TIU programme I would be so incredibly grateful, as I don't have the funds to purchase it myself. My email address is ksc_7691@hotmail.com. Thank you so much! x

posted Aug 23rd, 2015 9:56 am


kirsten

I am researching different diet plans for women at the moment and if anyone generous out there would be able to send me their TIU programme I would be so incredibly grateful, as I don't have the funds to purchase it myself. My email address is ksc_7691@hotmail.com. Thank you so much! x

posted Aug 23rd, 2015 9:55 am


Rachel

I bought the plan and here my thoughts are...
Pros:
-Lifetime membership. so you get all of the updates for free

-get to be apart of the tone it up community

Cons:
-Almost all of the recipes require you to using "their" protein powder. (their protein powder is a simple brown rice protein. can buy it at health foods stores for a fraction of the cost)

-Tone it Up Community is just another "facebook". Nothing special. And frankly don't have time for both.

-Once you buy the plan and try to follow it, you have to buy more stuff. You can't do half of the workouts without having to buy the DVDs. Frustrating.

-Don't buy if you have more than 5 or 7 pounds to lose.

--Very restrictive. Too hard to do with a family. husband not crazy about it.

-Too expensive! If you know anything about nutrition (even if it's just middle school level) then it's just a waste of money.

-Lastly, the recipes are for one person servings. So forget about feeding a family on it. You'll have to cook two dinners.

I'd buy Tosca Reno's Clean, Lean, and Green Diet books. It's the same thing and much easier to follow. (and family friendly!) I've done both nutrition plans and Tosca Reno got me in the best shape of my life! Size 10 to a size 2! Can't even remember the last time I was a 2!

posted Aug 13th, 2015 9:59 pm


Rach

Considering buying- could someone please send the PDF before I make the purchase? Much appreciated =) rachel.levin6@gmail.com

posted Aug 10th, 2015 12:21 am


YO

For $150, this plan offers a complete package that includes a great variety of exercise programs, healthy recipes, meal plans, and tips on staying healthy and looking great. You can do all the moves without ever going to the gym or buying expensive equipment, and they work fast.

posted Jul 29th, 2015 10:46 pm


Rosemary

Don't wast your money. It's a lot of money for 192 page PDF. Strict timing of meals, what you can eat and when. Who can live life like that? Way overpriced and there is NO REFUND if you find out that the plan is not for you!! I spent $200 - could put that money to much better use.

posted Jul 20th, 2015 6:59 pm


Sarah

Huge waste of money! Don't support this company.

#1. There are tons of typos in the main plan & every edition. For example a recipe will say you need 1 tbsp of cayenne instead of 1 tsp, or it will say to bake it but not for how long. Or a weekly shopping list will be missing things you need for the meals they tell you to make that week. Things like that are all over the place. For $150 they can't hire a proof reader? This is a multi million dollar company and they have embarrassing, and LAZY typos everywhere.

#2. The 7 Day Slim Down is unhealthy. They say it gives you energy but you will actually be tired, hungry, and some people get headaches. I saw one person say they fainted. If you comment about this to ask for help on their Instagram posts they delete your comments. Here is the 7SDS: for breakfast have either an egg white scramble or a protein pancake with their nasty protein powder. Snack 1 have a grapefruit, snack 2 is hummus and veggies. Lunch & dinner have 4-6 oz protein and 2 cups greens. Exercise twice a day. No carbs after 3 pm whether you are doing the 7DSD or not.

#3. Many recipes are boring or just nasty because it calls for their protein. Also the servings can be really tiny. There is nothing in here that isn't on Pinterest for free.

#4. Like others have said they use outdated research, or make claims that are untrue or dangerous. They push drinking apple cider vinegar everyday, but drinking too much can give you stomach ulcers. One girl did get them & their reply was "oh yeah, that can happen." They don't care about their customers, they just want your money to pay for their beachfront homes and expensive vacations every month. If they put real effort into their products that would be fine but they half ass everything.

Save your money.

posted Jul 16th, 2015 4:27 pm


Dea

I am a single mother of a 7 year old boy and I have been wanting to purchase the Tone it up nutrition plan for months now but I just can never save enough money after I pay my bills. Can anyone please email me the nutrition plan? deabassetti@aol.com You don't know what an amazing thing you would be doing for someone else. Thanks

posted Jun 21st, 2015 3:30 pm


Madelynn

I really interested buying this plan but agter seeing all the bad reviews here makes me think again.. Beside i live in asia, no easy way to get their products. I want to see whether the plan can be followed in herr or not.. Pls send me the plan to i_kaware@hotmail.com.. If one of you are willing to get the money back, im okhay by paying the 30% back of ur money..

posted Jun 15th, 2015 4:14 pm


Chrissy

I have been a TIU girl for years, I love this plan since its a general lifestyle plan. Karena and Katrina give so much information for free, that 150$ didn't seem like a big deal to me. I will admit some recipes take a long time to make or are hard to find all the ingredients, however there are also many simple recipes too. The new 8 week Bikini guide is an awesome resource! Highly recommend!

posted May 24th, 2015 5:24 am


safaa

I am very curious about this plan but I cannot spend $150 on it ( too expensive ), can anyone send me the pdf or the plan to see how it is. Please

posted May 12th, 2015 8:53 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account