Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

73%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 26 reviews

The Gabriel Method

A diet-less program that uncovers your ideal weight.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The call to change your life comes in different voices, some quiet and subtle and some explosive and loud. For Jon Gabriel, author of The Gabriel Method, his call was 9/11. On the day of 9/11, Gabriel topped the scale at 400 pounds. He was scheduled to be on United Airlines flight 93 that was hijacked by terrorists, but fate stepped in and Gabriel, at the last minute, had to change his plans. And then he changed his life.

The Gabriel Method came out of this life-changing situation, which inspired Jon to take control over his health and life and lose 220 pounds.

The Gabriel Method is a diet-less program that taps into your body's own logic to determine how fat or thin you will be at any given time. The way to lose weight is not to struggle or to force yourself to lose weight, but to understand this internal logic and work with it so that your body wants to be thinner.

The Gabriel Method also incorporates Jon's extensive background in biochemistry into this 252-page book, which also comes with a guided imagery CD. It has been highlighted on the television show Entertainment Tonight and it is endorsed by the American Holistic Medicine Association.

PRO
  • Teaches a holisitic and healthy approach to weight loss
  • No calorie-counting or measuring food portions
  • Encourages you to overcome the emotional and mental barriers that get in the way of your health
  • Recognizes the differences in bodies and how our environments play a role in our health
  • Contains a program for long-term weight loss success
CON
  • Does not lay out a specific or detailed diet plan
  • Holistic approach to weight loss may not appeal to some
  • Weight loss is gradual
DIET and NUTRITION

The Gabriel Method is not a diet that will force you to count calories, measure how much protein you are eating or prohibit you from eating carbs. Rather, Gabriel makes the case that what pushes your body into a state of weight gain is eating food that is devoid of essential nutrients, not sleeping enough, allowing stress to overcome you and being overwhelmed by environmental toxins. All of this creates famine in our bodies. Famine articulates itself as weight gain rather weight loss. In an effort to protect itself, the body clings on to fat and forces you to crave and eat the foods that are void of nutritional value.

Therefore, in order to calibrate your body's metabolism and weight to its ideal set point, The Gabriel Method promotes a style of eating that balances leptin and insulin, two key hormones in weight loss. Eating foods that are whole, minimally processed and fresh are the mainstay of the Gabriel Method. In addition, as you go about your day, you are supposed to continually remind yourself to think of yourself as thin and visualize yourself in your ideal body.

EXERCISE

Exercise is gently promoted in the Gabriel Method. You are encouraged to be active and to engage in activities that you enjoy doing.

CONCLUSION

The Gabriel Method is a holistic approach to weight loss that was created by a man who once topped the scales at 400 pounds. Jon Gabriel uses his background in biochemistry and his own experience of years of being obese to create a guide that encourages you to in essence treat yourself with more respect from the foods you eat to the thoughts you entertain to how much sleep you receive each night.

The Gabriel Method may not melt off the pounds over night but it will encourage you to gradually and effectively change how you eat and how you live your life.

Common Mispellings

Gabreil Method, Gabrial Method, Gabrielle Method, Gabriel Diet


Related Diets: The Emotional Eating Solution, Eat More Weigh Less, Kim Lyons: Your Body, Your Life, The Beck Diet Solution, The Complete Beck Diet for Life, Enjoying Weight Loss Hypnosis Program


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 34 total comments)

Phyllis

I've been an on-again off-again follower of Jon Gabriel for years. Right now, I'm in an on-again stage, having just completed his guided detox. Jon is sincere in his desire to help people get and remain healthy and fit. If you have had issues receiving the book or program you purchased, contact them and they will figure it out and get the product(s) to you. I have only good things to say about Jon, his team and his program. I continue to lose weight slowly, and continue to add healthy live foods to my daily fare. I'm 66 years old, still overweight but losing pounds and inches consistently and feeling very good about the process. The mind is a powerful tool. Use it to better your life.

posted Dec 6th, 2013 9:11 pm



Gettnbusy

How did the program ACTUALLY work for you after one year or more? All of you who have reviewed this weight loss book/program: I WANT TO KNOW HOW YOU ARE DOING AS OF TODAY. Some of you posted on here years ago. How did the program change your life? Is it still working? What did not work? What was easy and hard? Did you give up and why? Please share your REAL STATUS, not your excited to be on this journey at the beginning status...everyone is excited in the beginning. I want to know about long term failure or success with this Jon guy's plan. Please please please help. Thanks!

posted May 28th, 2013 7:31 pm



Deborah Abelovsky

My Question is below Thank you. I have orderd on line and have not got it in the mail off of the side of facebook add. Really Up Set took my money and got nothing. What is Up with that???????? Deboprah Abelovsky Would like to know where it is, Please, Thank you...

posted Mar 18th, 2013 1:54 pm


Crystal

I found this book to be the best answer to changing your body. I have, like many of you out there, been on every diet out there since I was 11 years old. (I am now 32) After years of natural medicine and research, this system seems to be the most effective, not just physically, but mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Our physical bodies work in unisan with the mental, spiritual and emotional aspects of our body. I read the book, started the CD a few nights ago and I can already tell a change within me. :)

posted Jan 20th, 2013 11:55 pm


Mike

Impossible to access online data after paying for it, just another rip off.

posted Apr 1st, 2012 10:27 pm


bothworldsdoc

I have recommended this book with the accompanying guided meditation to many people. It is not "think yourself thin", but rather, "change how you think." I recognize information from many notable sources and am impressed with how accessible he's made it. Specific diet advice to take home: Each time you eat a meal or a snack, include a protein source, some live food, and some Omega 3's. That, alone, could change many people's lives (and bodies). But really, that's not the most life changing part.

posted Feb 7th, 2012 9:07 pm


Loraine van Vuuren

Can anyone please give me a sample of a typical day's eating? Like what do you have for brekkie, lunch and dinner and snacks?
Many thanks

posted Jan 28th, 2012 6:54 am


Malibu

I LOVE the Gabriel Method. Marie is right... it does work. It's healthy, it's sensible and it makes you feel good almost right away. You start to WANT to eat better, more healthy foods, and this increases over time. It's also a very helpful path towards finding the very things in your life that trigger your body into being fat. I have lost 5 lbs in 6 weeks... not much you say? Well I did it without being on a diet for the first time in my life. I'm liking that because when I get to my proper body weight I've got nothing to come off... because it's not dieting.

Marie I would be very interested in the tapes from nevereverdiet that you listen to, if you're still willing to share. gm4ever@rogers.com

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 8:07 am


Hal

Just watch 'Shallow Hal' movie. You do not have to read the book. imagine you are thin and be happy. haha wichcraft!

posted Dec 27th, 2010 12:00 pm


Surfhunter

I am just about quarter of the way through reading the book, and even now, this makes a lot of sense. It gives you an excellent framework about the reasoning behind why your body harbours extra weight, and why it will let it go. Already, I am very aware about what I put into my body, and I only started reading 2 days ago!

This approach can only work as much as you want it to, as it is a belief and lifestyle change. Only you can change the way you live. If you do not believe that this will work, then it won't.

Regardless of if you have weight problems or not, this book is a must read for everyone. It works with your core values and principles, and will only ever serve to enhance your life.

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:22 pm


Liz

Am over half way through the book. I like what he has to say. I have already broken most of my junkfood The Big Breakfast Diet over the past week. I think The Gabriel Method will work for me because I am already over the junkfood hump and will be able to start on the proper foods and visualizations right away! I believe this will speed the weight loss since my body is already asking for healthy foods!

posted Sep 14th, 2010 6:14 pm


Belinda

I have to laugh at one of the apparent Cons of the Gabriel Method: "Does not lay out a specific or detailed diet plan"

Um, that would be because THERE IS NO SPECIFIC OR DETAILED DIET PLAN. That's the whole point!! It's an anti-dieting plan designed to help you lose weight by changing your attitude to food permanently.

posted May 8th, 2010 5:29 pm


naomi

this hasn't worked for me. it's sort of hard to just say "think yourself thin."

posted Mar 9th, 2010 10:53 pm


Lou

The research behind this aproach is solid. I have followed up with my own research when something did not quite make sense and found the ideas to be sound. Ironically it is a lot like the Furey Fat Loss system with a lot more science to back up how it works. If you study the priciples, it is not too difficult to engineer your own hard, fast diet and exercise regime based on what you learn from the Gabriel Method.

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 3:18 pm


Helen

Having just read the book, I am lokking forward to being thinner. I haven't yet got the suplements and am wondering about the cost of same and if the method will work without them?

posted Feb 20th, 2010 11:27 pm


Flowerpot

Hey its a great programme. I was a huge junk food eater, my partner too he had diabetes. We are working with the Gabriel Method now and our cravings for junk food, GONE. We ate junk 3x a day every day. Mc D's, KFC, pies, coke, sweets etc.. Our bodies were in famine..not anymore...GO GET THE BOOK!

posted Jan 19th, 2010 7:43 pm


emily

I have just finished reading the jon gabriel website and am considering buying the book and giving it a shot. I've been overweight most of my life, tried all sorts of ways to shed the weight and nothing really worked. Kjc, you mention supplements. What are these? How much do they cost? Are they an essential component of the programme? Do they work? I thought the only parts of this weight loss programme were the book and (complimentary) CD. I hope there aren't lots of extra gimmicks you need to buy, otherwise it's just like all the other money making diets online.

posted Jan 15th, 2010 5:03 pm


Hoe does it work, i've just started reading it, and how do you lose weight, i don't get it

posted Dec 14th, 2009 2:18 am


Jessica

How does it work, i don't get it.

posted Dec 14th, 2009 2:14 am


Doreen

I have read all the reviews and I just ordered the book, I think he thought process will only be good for you.

More to follow.

posted Dec 2nd, 2009 4:37 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account