Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

56%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 9 reviews

NutriSystem D

A new meal delivery plan from NutriSystem catering to the needs of a diabetic diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons

This newest innovation from NutriSystem caters exclusively to the unique dietary needs of diabetics. This population of Americans is continuing to grow, and as a leader in weight loss products, NutriSystem is creating a diabetic version one of its famous meal plans with NutriSystem D.

The program was undergoing clinical trials in late 2008 and became available in Spring 2009. The trial showed that users lost 16 times more weight with NutriSystem D than without, lowered their blood sugar level five times more, and lowered their A1c (glycated hemoglobin) by 0.9.

The NutriSystem D program functions very similarly to the other NutriSystem programs. It allows you to lose weight, control blood-sugar levels and manage your diabetes with its 28-day menu-delivery program that include diabetic-friendly, low-glycemic carbohydrates, free round-the-clock access to registered dietitians and an easy-to-follow meal plan.

NutriSystem announced in July 2012 that it added a team of certified diabetes educators that's part of the company's dietary and healthcare services department and is available by phone to Nutrisystem D customers seven days a week from 7 a.m. - 12 a.m. (EST). This service is free to Nutrisystem D customers and intended to be an additional support system and answer questions about anything from nutrition to personal care.

PRO
  • Created specifically to meet diabetic needs
  • Broad menu plan with 150 choices
  • Underwent clinical trial and received positive results
  • NutriSystem is a reputable weight loss brand
  • Meal delivery is convenient approach for weight loss
  • Named #4 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
  • Includes free counseling from Certified Diabetes Educators
CON
  • NutriSystem delivers shelf-stable foods, not fresh or frozen
  • Does not teach how to prepare your own healthy meals
DIET and NUTRITION

The NutriSystem D plan has created more than 150 restaurant-quality meals that meet the needs of a diabetic diet. The foods rank low on the Glycemic Index and provide foods with quality carbohydrates that won't send your blood sugar in a tailspin, satiating fiber, so that you'll feel fuller for longer, lean protein, and heart-healthy omega-3 fats.

On the NutriSystem D plan you will eat three meals, one snack and one dessert each day. Like all NutriSystem plans, you will have to supplement your packaged foods with low-fat dairy and fresh fruits and vegetables.

A typical day looks like this: NutriSystem scrambled eggs and cheese for breakfast, beef and vegetable soup with a green salad for lunch, NutriSystem pretzels for a snack, sliced beef steak with potato wedges and brocoli for dinner and low fat yogurt and mixed berries for dessert,

  • Cheesy Margherita Pizza
  • Golden Pancakes
  • Savory Lasagna
  • Decadent Fudge Brownie
EXERCISE

You are encouraged to exercise while following the NutriSystem D program. As part of your membership, you receive a free fitness DVD by Leslie Sansone which provides you sample workouts and guidelines for developing your own regular fitness routine.

CONCLUSION

NutriSystem D provides meals suited to help manage a diabetic diet. With broad menu choices and the NutriSystem name thousands have trusted for years, it's likely to be a positive ally for diabetics trying to manage their weight.

NutriSystem D is not the first meal delivery service to create diabetic meal plans. Competitors like Biggest Loser Meal Plan, DineWise Diabetic, Bistro MD and Jenny Direct all provide diabetic meals. See how they compare in our Meal Delivery Diet Comparison.

Common Misspellings

NutriSystem Diabetic, Nutri-System D, NutriSystem-D, NutraSystem D, NutriSystem Diabetes, NutriSystems D


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, DineWise Diabetic, eDiets Deliciously Yours, Jenny Direct, Nutrisystem, Diabetes Diet, Diabetic Living Diet, dLife Diabetes Diet, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 24 total comments)

JoAnn Armstrong

I want to place my next order. I can't seem to get on the correct page to do this.

posted Mar 27th, 2013 9:04 pm


JDiane

Hi Everyone! Just joined this website a few minutes ago. I'm 52, was diagnosed w/Type 2 diabetes 2 months ago. I've been on Nutrisystem off and on for about 20 years. ALWAYS lost weight on the program but when I went back to my old eating habits, gained all back. I rejoined Nutri in March and since then I've lost 20 pounds (EXTREMELY slow I know). I did not join as a diabetic but I'm not switching plans as I checked food for food on both plans and I'm ok; I'm not ordering anything that's NOT on the diabetic plan so I'm ok with the Woman's Plan. My opinion on Nutrisystem is this: The MAIN negative is the cost, it's friggin expensive ($300 a month w/out grocery food). That's been the main reason why I stopped the plan over the years, it got very expensive. Cost aside, I really like the food (buttered popcorn is to die for and yes it's on the diabetic plan also), there's enough of a variety for anyone. The great thing IMO about Nutrisystem is it teaches you the MAIN principle of ANY diet ------- portion control. I believe that once I loose all my weight (20 down, 15 to go), since I am now a diabetic I will be keeping the weight off and not go back to my old eating habits (crossing my fingers on this of course) when I go off Nutrisystem. So, bottom line - main con is Cost. Pros are: teaches portion control, food is really good, enough of a variety, frozen food is really good (orange popsicle, delicious).

posted Sep 9th, 2011 2:32 pm


Joan

The glycemic index does not consider the glycemic load. Sure, carrots are high on the glycemic index, but you'd have to load 3 REALLY large raw carrots to get a slight increase in blood sugar. I find nutrisystem to be misleading. ANYone can prepare a diabetes friendly menu with some education and a trip to the store to get the good foods, for a lot less that NS. It's all in portion sizes, and you can cook the correct portions yourself for much less. There are NO "you can't have it" foods on a 'diabetic diet." There IS NO diabetic diet, darn it! Just healthy cooking the foods you like and stepping away from the table a little sooner. If you are presented with a fake cookie alongside a real cookie, I would wager many people would eat the 'diet cookie (has just as many carbs as a regular cookie, by the way) and then eat the REAL cookie too, because it's more satisfying. See your local diabetes educator for more details.

posted Jul 26th, 2011 7:43 pm


linda dermyer

are there any plans for nutrisystem plan for those with celiac disease???

posted Jul 11th, 2011 4:23 pm


Brad

I dont need to lose alot of weight but need to reduce sugars and retrain myself to eat right will this work

posted Jun 13th, 2011 1:08 pm


Dan Beard

I'm ready...what do I do?

posted Jun 4th, 2011 2:04 am


hugandkisses

I am a person who can eat anything. I have liked everything in my diet plan. I am fat because I can eat everything and what I get from Nutrisystem is consistency,eat this and this and this. I have lost 6 1/2 lbs in les than a week. This is my new medicine.

posted Mar 12th, 2011 12:23 pm


bob

About 10 months ago I weighed in at 498 pounds. Had been diagnosed with type-2 diabetes as well as hypertension. I'm a single dad with two boys counting on me to be there. I saw the nutri-system - D plan on television one day, but simply couldn't see myself ever being able to afford it on my income. Eventually, I came to the realization that I couldn't afford not to try it. While it hasn't been easy, it has been worth it. After 10 months I am 70 pounds lighter and still dropping. I know I'm a long ways from my goal of 250, but I know I will get there. I'm also able to be more active with my sons. It's like smoking. When you're ready to quit you will. As far as the price, it's really not that bad when you toss in the frequent discounts. It's easy to cut corners and or place a price on health until you don't have it anymore.

posted Oct 25th, 2010 6:09 pm


Ruth Durham

i am highly alergic to MSG..mono sodium glutemate...a flavor inhancer that is in a lot of soups and processed food....is there any in your products...also i would like to know the cost of shipping

posted May 2nd, 2010 2:26 pm


G. Fairris

The food makes you have so much gas that it makes you feel miserable. I lost no weight on this diet. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT!!!

posted Mar 18th, 2010 1:55 pm


Patricia Sullivan

I have a stepdaughter with very bad eating habits-potaoes,rice,&beans period--her dr. told her she is prediabetic and needs to eliminate those three foods from her diet for at least 6 mo. will you diabetic plan work for her

posted Mar 11th, 2010 2:07 pm


Bruce Mulligan

Plan less than I spent on groceries a month. Lost 85+ pounds and able to reduce meds w/ DR supervision because of weight loss. Saved my life.Changed my lifestyle. Must be committed to changing eating habits.

posted Mar 4th, 2010 2:57 pm


Deez

I'm single and spend more than $300 a month on groceries and eating out, so this will actually save me money. I'm also considering it because it will save me time. I've done the Zone and South Beach diets and it's time consuming. Would be nice be able to go to the gym after work, then come home and have a meal ready, rather than spend 30 mins or more preparing one. Just hope the food is really good.

posted Jan 28th, 2010 8:12 pm


marcia roberson

love the food - have lost 55 pounds in 4 months AC1 8.5 3 months ago when first went to dr. 3 months later AC1 is 5.7
dr. stated stay on NS very good diet
I love everything about NS
I am 61 years old

posted Jan 4th, 2010 8:37 am


Julie

Folks, it is 10 dollars a day. You spend that , I bet on food. Fast food is about that for one meal, unless you buy the dollar junk. It is a lot of money, but total your weekly shopping list first before you say you can not afford it. I do hope everyone out there better finances this coming year.

posted Jan 1st, 2010 12:04 pm


Leila

Food still costs money. Healthy food costs more. Everyone can do this diet at home. The Zone, or South Beach, or any change that includes the glycemic index will get you the same results. Change it up, and even cheat once in a while, will help in the long run. Live longer and enjoy life more. Instead of waiting to have someone hand you a fix-it pill, or ready made meals, make your own food. Costs so much less and helps your whole family eat healthier.

posted Dec 29th, 2009 5:27 pm


chris adams

not sure if will work for me.

posted Nov 29th, 2009 2:38 am


Curts

A1C is misleading! It's hemoglobin A1C witch is a special blood test that cost more money to run. Dr's usually order this test once a year. So if that is your key indicator you need check with your doctor. Also google "Hgb A1C".

posted Sep 21st, 2009 6:10 pm


brett thompkins

ARE YOUR PRICES FOR REAL? WHO CAN AFFORD THIS!!!

posted Sep 6th, 2009 9:47 pm


gina gonzalez

like to do it but i do not have that kine of money

posted Sep 3rd, 2009 6:43 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account