Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 30 reviews

Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness

Weight loss program introduced on "Ruby" on Style Network.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

As of 2/10/11, Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness does not appear to be in business.

Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness is a program designed owned, and endorsed by physicians. This program is located in the Savannah, Georgia area and offers numerous options to its clients. The program focuses on educating clients on being healthy, teaching sound nutrition, aids the weight loss journey, offers fast, 30-minute circuit workouts, and packaged fresh, never-frozen, preservative-free meals.

Hourglass offers the INTERxVENTUSA Online Lifestyle Management Program. This is a web-based tool allowing members access to additional health and nutritional information via a complementary Internet interface. This program was designed by well-known Dr. Neil Gordon to provide a series of educational topics including exercise and meal plans, diaries, progress reports and more.

In 2008, Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness caught the nation's attention as Savanna resident Ruby Gettinger followed the program on her reality TV program "Ruby" on the Style Network. The show follows Ruby on her journey to shed 300 pounds from her 500 pound frame.

PRO
  • Plenty of options and variety in meals
  • Access to professionals opinions
  • Covers nutrition and exercise, important components of weight loss
  • Promotes health as a lifestyle
  • Social support
  • On-site gym
  • Fresh, preservative-free foods
  • Featured on Style Network's Ruby
CON
  • Gym locations only in Georgia area
  • Pre-packaged meals may not be a long-term solution
DIET and NUTRITION

The meal plan follows the guidelines set forth by the American Diabetes Association, the American Heart Association, and the American Cancer Society. The meals use healthy recipes developed by a registered dietitian, knowing that the key to weight loss success is to make eating healthy convenient, tasty, and affordable. Hourglass meals are less than $7 each.

You can choose a meal plan with your ideal caloric range- 1200, 1400, 1700 or 2100 (these options provide a complete breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the 1400 and 2100 meal plans include healthy snacks). Also, you have a few options when ordering, you can choose to purchase the 7 day plan (21 meals per week), 5 day plan (15 meals), individual meals as you like, or a 5 or 7 day dinner plan (providing a simple and healthy evening meal).

EXERCISE

The fitness component to Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness utilizes a Hydraulic Fitness Circuit. This circuit training is a fun, fast, 30-minute workout (three times a week) that maximizes every minute of your exercise. There are 20-station circuit workout features with nine resistance settings and recovery stations to help you stay fresh and energized for your workout. Hourglass also offers, MyTrak, a computerized training system that automatically coaches you to push two percent harder than your last workout, to help you continually improve and increase your overall fitness each and every time. If that wasn’t enough, Hourglass offers the option of one-on-one attention from their certified personal trainers. There is also a variety of classes to mix it up and switch up your workout.

CONCLUSION

Hourglass offers a great deal of support and guidance in a convenient package. As fans of Ruby have watched on her Style Network program, she shows that Hourglass can be an essential part of reaching one's weight loss goals, no matter how much weight you have to lose. They teach balance, moderation and that achieving an overall healthy lifestyle is the key to lifelong weight management.

Common Misspellings

Hourglass, HWLF, Hourglass Diet, Ruby's Diet, Hourglass Meal Delivery Plan


Related Diets: Curves Complete, Spark People, The Biggest Loser At Home Program, Weight Watchers, Bistro MD, Jenny Craig, Nutrisystem, Curves


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 41 total comments)

Jina

I fully am not satisfied these! excuse me.

posted Nov 10th, 2011 9:48 pm



Yoga Jim

definitely into this

posted Jul 5th, 2011 9:09 am


jilllll89

looove it!

posted Jul 5th, 2011 9:08 am


SanDee

Is the show still on? Did Ruby lose all the weight?

posted Dec 4th, 2010 7:44 am


casey-jay

dear : wonderfull ruby

hi, my name is casey-jay! i am 13 years old and im over weight im not comfortable in my body!! i get teased at school because of my weight!! i really want your help!! you are my insupration!!
i way 106kg my best friend weights 50kg and is skinny!! i stand out at school!! i don't have a boy friend because no guy want to date a fat girl, im going to high schoool next year and i dont know if im going to cope!! i've gone to gym.but my mom work from 6am to 7pm and my dad doenst rally care about me!! the only person i can talk to is a person that doesnt know me!! i cant talk to my family because they dont care!! At school when i want to swim i wear a large top and i cant get any nice clothes because they never in my size!! ii love you ruby!!

posted Nov 22nd, 2010 5:23 pm


Glenda G.

Ruby, I think I met you on 13 Jun 2010 at Chicago O'Hara Airport when both of us were taking an early,early flight. We had a friendly chat just before your flight. As we were talking I kept thinking I have heard this lovely voice before. Later after I got home that day, I remember where I had heard that voice before. It was Ruby on TV. If it was not you, there is another person that sounds just like you. I enjoy your show .

posted Jun 25th, 2010 11:33 am


Immanuella

Ruby, you rooock. I started watching you on TSN here in Nigeria this year, 2010. You are truly an inspiration. I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU. I pray I get an opportunity to hug you in my lifetime and I'll be the happiest perrson alive. I am overweight and it is really hard to loose weight here as our staple food here is mostly carbohydrate. Be that as it may, I WILL loose the weight, i will reach my goal, thanks to you. LOVE YOU LOADS.

posted Apr 28th, 2010 4:55 pm


Hanna

Love Ourlife Fresh more than I can say! It doesn't feel like being on a diet. The food is really flavorful and I feel satisfied. I have lost 22 pounds after about 2 months. I am determined to stick with this until I lose another 28.

posted Feb 10th, 2010 12:36 pm


Tania Swart

Dear Ruby,

By now you are a Darling in millions of people's hearts because of your character, devotion, will power and determination. You've inspired me to take a second look at myself and I have decided to also start taking care of myself, to deal with my food issues and to make lifestyle changes in order to feel and look better. I need to loose about 50 pounds and because of you I am convinced I can do it. I wish you and your loved ones a year ~ 2010 ~ filled with love, laughter, joy, magical moments and many blessings. God Bless you Sweet Ruby, you are such an amazing and beautiful woman. Your dreams will come true. Love and hugs from sunny South Africa!!

posted Dec 29th, 2009 4:04 am


Wendy Shaw

Ruby my husband is a diebetic and is very much over weight he is getting angery due to the fact that the doctors are telling him he needs to have the beractic surgery. When he has any type surgery there are always problems and we are concerned about this do you know any way that we can get ahold of the hour glass program that we see on your show we live in Indianapolis Indiana and would love any help that you can offer us . We are also limited on our funds due to the fact that he is disabled and has a lot of other medical problems he has medicade insurance PLEASE HELP US WE ARE AT OUR WITS END YOU CAN WRITE ME AT MY E-MAIL ADDRESS ANY TIME

posted Nov 20th, 2009 1:58 pm


Rosemary


Hey Ruby I watch you a lot in your struggle. I have one of my own. You are truly an inspiration with your keep on keepin on spirirt. I. Wish you all of Gods best

posted Aug 24th, 2009 8:34 am


Teresa

Ruby - you are such a breath of fresh air! It is so fantastic to see someone on a reality show who is not living in a mansion, spending outrageous amounts of money on themselves, and trying to pass themselves off as "normal". Ruby, you are true and real - and I look forward to watching you for many more seasons. Thank you!

posted Aug 6th, 2009 5:40 pm


cassandra

ruby i am so happy for you.you have bless me in so many ways to do something for my self,not for every one else. i am 45 years old and i am 352 pounds overweight .i have so many things happen to me when i was young sexual abuse a couple of time marry have alot of problems there.but you show me how to fight again and hold my head up high.god bless you we will over come it all. cassandra ,-h- town.

posted Jul 24th, 2009 9:58 pm


theresa

GIrl you are so awsome!! You are beautiful, wonderful personality.. and so outgoing... I am so excited for you, and yo have really been a positive influence for me. Started walking and I love it, just trying to do something different for me. It's about me....!!!! YEAH!! I love ya Girl, YOU GO GIRL!!!!! two thumbs up!!!! YOu look fabulous!!!!

posted Jul 16th, 2009 4:42 pm


Jackie

I so enjoy watching Ruby. Every time it is on I am anxious to see how much she has lost and what she is doing to further her journey. Way to go Ruby! I wish you the greatest success.

posted Jul 6th, 2009 9:57 pm


Helen

Love you Ruby your in my prayers

posted May 29th, 2009 6:11 pm


pam

Ruby,
You are doing a GREAT thing. FINALLY a leader for the morbid obese. Someone who reveals to the world what it is like to have this disease...these problems. You are encouraging!!

posted Mar 29th, 2009 3:55 pm


Susan

Ruby,
I have been blessed by your show. I've been inspired by your journey. The chair comments??? Pleeeeeaaase, I'm sure the park knows who to contact, if Ruby didn't handle the situation----duh! I don't think you are expected to be perfect. Whining? Apparently these folks aren't from the South. Be proud of your southern accent! I am! We are who we are, just trying to be better one day at a time. I am working on weight loss as well and will be 53 this week. Better late than never, huh? It really is about health. Take care and keep believing. Don't forget that we can do all things through Christ!

Susan

posted Mar 10th, 2009 5:26 pm


pamelasue_from_cape girardeau_mo

Rubbbbbbby you ROCK! I checked into the place where you get your food. It is so expensive. I wish I could afford it. It looks really good and really good for you. I wish a good samartian would pay for my food. anyway I am proud of you darlin' I am 42, lonely, 40 lbs overweight, I have already lost 50, but It wont go any lower...anyway I Love you Ruby, be yourself, be kind, and it takes alot of guts and pride to air yourself on tv, I am proud of you and I think you are real. And for the scooter at the park it was probably old as the park, I am sure the producers said just leave it. anyway...keep up the good work, if anyone wants to pay for my food at hourglass fitness contact me I would just need it for a few months.....please help thanks ya'll

posted Feb 22nd, 2009 3:52 pm


linda

Ruby, That Southern charm goes along way! I love it ! and You really are such a beautiful women inside and out... I wonder why your demens are so bad that you got to this point in your life, however I too am overweight and know how hard it is to take it off especially with the fact that I am diabetic and \ 55 but you have inspired me, I am now swimming and working in a excersize room...God Bless you and keep up the great work I know it must be very hard with all the world watching...and I understand the whinning, when everyone tells you a different thing...everyone is an expert !!!

posted Jan 15th, 2009 10:41 am



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account