Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 30 reviews

Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness

Weight loss program introduced on "Ruby" on Style Network.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

As of 2/10/11, Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness does not appear to be in business.

Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness is a program designed owned, and endorsed by physicians. This program is located in the Savannah, Georgia area and offers numerous options to its clients. The program focuses on educating clients on being healthy, teaching sound nutrition, aids the weight loss journey, offers fast, 30-minute circuit workouts, and packaged fresh, never-frozen, preservative-free meals.

Hourglass offers the INTERxVENTUSA Online Lifestyle Management Program. This is a web-based tool allowing members access to additional health and nutritional information via a complementary Internet interface. This program was designed by well-known Dr. Neil Gordon to provide a series of educational topics including exercise and meal plans, diaries, progress reports and more.

In 2008, Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness caught the nation's attention as Savanna resident Ruby Gettinger followed the program on her reality TV program "Ruby" on the Style Network. The show follows Ruby on her journey to shed 300 pounds from her 500 pound frame.

PRO
  • Plenty of options and variety in meals
  • Access to professionals opinions
  • Covers nutrition and exercise, important components of weight loss
  • Promotes health as a lifestyle
  • Social support
  • On-site gym
  • Fresh, preservative-free foods
  • Featured on Style Network's Ruby
CON
  • Gym locations only in Georgia area
  • Pre-packaged meals may not be a long-term solution
DIET and NUTRITION

The meal plan follows the guidelines set forth by the American Diabetes Association, the American Heart Association, and the American Cancer Society. The meals use healthy recipes developed by a registered dietitian, knowing that the key to weight loss success is to make eating healthy convenient, tasty, and affordable. Hourglass meals are less than $7 each.

You can choose a meal plan with your ideal caloric range- 1200, 1400, 1700 or 2100 (these options provide a complete breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the 1400 and 2100 meal plans include healthy snacks). Also, you have a few options when ordering, you can choose to purchase the 7 day plan (21 meals per week), 5 day plan (15 meals), individual meals as you like, or a 5 or 7 day dinner plan (providing a simple and healthy evening meal).

EXERCISE

The fitness component to Hourglass Weight Loss and Fitness utilizes a Hydraulic Fitness Circuit. This circuit training is a fun, fast, 30-minute workout (three times a week) that maximizes every minute of your exercise. There are 20-station circuit workout features with nine resistance settings and recovery stations to help you stay fresh and energized for your workout. Hourglass also offers, MyTrak, a computerized training system that automatically coaches you to push two percent harder than your last workout, to help you continually improve and increase your overall fitness each and every time. If that wasn’t enough, Hourglass offers the option of one-on-one attention from their certified personal trainers. There is also a variety of classes to mix it up and switch up your workout.

CONCLUSION

Hourglass offers a great deal of support and guidance in a convenient package. As fans of Ruby have watched on her Style Network program, she shows that Hourglass can be an essential part of reaching one's weight loss goals, no matter how much weight you have to lose. They teach balance, moderation and that achieving an overall healthy lifestyle is the key to lifelong weight management.

Common Misspellings

Hourglass, HWLF, Hourglass Diet, Ruby's Diet, Hourglass Meal Delivery Plan


Related Diets: Curves Complete, Spark People, The Biggest Loser At Home Program, Weight Watchers, Bistro MD, Jenny Craig, Nutrisystem, Curves


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 41 total comments)

kris7

I think Rudy is adorable! Her funky style and upbeat attitude is contagious.

Kris7
Working hard

posted Jan 14th, 2009 12:25 am


Kathi

Ruby has inspired me and my daughter to start a diet together. Keep going Ruby we are cheering you on from Warner Robins, Georgia right down the road from you!

posted Jan 7th, 2009 8:55 pm


anna

i am 302.5 lbs and im only 5ft2 ive never in my life been this big and Ruby has been such an inspiration for me to watch. i think the people that get on this site and have something negative to say should remember to JUDGE NOT BEFORE YOU JUDGE YOURSELF! Ruby I love you and God Bless!!! i know you can do it and now i know i can too!!!!

posted Jan 7th, 2009 12:03 pm


anna

i am 302.5 lbs and im only 5ft2 ive never in my life been this big and Ruby has been such an inspiration for me to watch. i think the people that get on this site and have something negative to say should remember to JUDGE NOT BEFORE YOU JUDGE YOURSELF! Ruby I love you and God Bless!!! i know you can do it and now i know i can too!!!!

posted Jan 7th, 2009 12:02 pm


Theresa

I think Ruby is a beautiful, strong, true southern woman, I love watching all the fun her & her friend's have together !!! God Bless you all !!!! Keep Smiling, Ruby !!!

posted Jan 6th, 2009 3:21 pm


Carol Evans

I too am overweight. I watched the program where Ruby had clothes designed for her by the fashion school students. I appreciate her input, as my son went to fashion design school and in one of his drawings he submitted beautiful clothing on a large women, he received a lower grade than usual, when he approached the instructor and advocated for himself and for the reality of making clothing for larger women, his grade was changed to an A.

There is much work to be done in the fashion world to let us big and beautiful women in.

While we are on this journey to weight reduction and good health, we need to look good!

I love the beautiful scenery of Savannah and I love Ruby's great friends.

Carol

posted Jan 5th, 2009 8:31 pm


N Moore

I find the show interesting and Ruby very brave to be on TV with this very personal quest. Recently she does sound whiny and blaming others for her problems.

Not sure if this is scripted for her, or is really her personality. She sounded much more in control and responsible in the beginning of the series.

If she goes back to the positive attitude we saw in the beginning, I will continue to watch. However, I can do the whining and blaming others for myself!

posted Jan 5th, 2009 2:22 pm


miller

i love you rudy i hope to meet you one day i am over weight too you help me i don,t care if you broke the electrice cart you just keep on going because first GOD is with you and it so many people your size just not hopeful as me and you love you GOD BE WITH US see you one day love alway

posted Jan 4th, 2009 9:12 pm


ladybug

Who's to say that they didn't just go tell the rental place what happened?? How was she to return it. The rental company are prepared for these things, and they prefer that you just tell them and let them deal with getting it, than risk causing more damage to it. PLUS THE rental place always asks WHO AND WHY it is being rented to prevent kids from getting one and playing in the park. The rental place would have known if she was at "risk" to break it. The have insurance for these issues. AND like I said who really knows what happened--- they don't show everything in the show!!! Good luck Ruby, you are such a beautiful lady already, losing weight will only enhance your beauty.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 9:05 am


Shaun

I think if KAT had a camera crew following her around all the time like Ruby, people would be writing the same kind of remarks about her as she did about Ruby!! I guess KAT is the only perfect person in the world!!! Ruby keep your head up!! You are a true inspiration and a great person!! Thank you for taking us with you on your journey and best of luck!!

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 2:18 am


Tina

I love Ruby. She is a good person with a great heart. Those who are downing her for not returning the electric cart should be ashamed. Dont act as if you have never broke something and set it back. Whos to say the chair wasnt slready broke and that it was just Ruby's luck that while she was on it may have just been the iceing on the cake so to speak. I hope Ruby does well on this journey in life I wish her the best and hope she pays no attention to the haters. You cant win them all Ruby. Good luck

Sincerley a friend from far away.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 2:15 pm


Cheryl

My heart goes out to Ruby. Some of the reviews I have read well, I do not plan to respond to them. She is fighting an addiction worse than drugs. For any person who can'f understand that and see the torture she is enduring my thumb goes down to you. May I also add her personality is fantastic and when she cries I cry with her.

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:34 pm


Gina

Ruby, I am in the same situation that you are in right now. You have inspired me to start trying. I was just about to give up and forget it. People just donâ??t understand our world. I pray that you and I reach our goal. And that we both will find that person that will look beyond our size and look at the person we are inside as well as all our other hearts desire. My GOD be with you through your journey. I am very pround of you.

posted Dec 28th, 2008 6:38 pm


ilene

I too was dissappointed that she didn't take care of the chair she broke at the amusement park. Even when one of her friends said they should take it back to the rental place. She is kinda whiney, but I do like her and the show.

posted Dec 28th, 2008 12:59 am


Shauntale

I just want Ruby to know that she is beautiful woman and I admire her for coming out and having her weight lost seen on T.V because loosing weight is not an easy thing........So Ruby keep up the good work on your weght lost, you have truely inspired me to lose weight and keep my faith, I wish i could be there with you so we could be each others motivation!!!!! Keep it up Love u Ruby!!

posted Dec 27th, 2008 7:50 pm


Trisha

Ruby,
I will keep praying for your strenth to keep up the good work I ask God everyday to help me.You are such an inspiration to all of us that battle with our weight.Thank you love you...

posted Dec 27th, 2008 2:54 pm


KAT

I was hoping I would like the show more than I have. I do not like the fact she continues to complain and takes little responsiblity for her actions. I am watching the amusement park episode again and she broke the electric cart. Rather than paying for it to be fixed and dealing with it as an ADULT she abandons it in the park and just WALKS AWAY. I am ashamed of her and so should STYLE. i EXPECTED MORE OUT OF RUBY. Unless she goes back to take care of this and stops her complaining that others need to change their behavior so she will feel better I am done with this show. I expected more from this show. I hope "Ruby" can turn it around.

posted Dec 27th, 2008 12:33 am


Gailia Ann Johnson

LOVE RUBY! She is so truthful, so real. Sure would like to come and partner up with her, I need someone to throw me a life line.
Though I need to lose only 75 lbs compared to the task set in front of Ruby I still feel overwhelmed with the decisions of eating, etc.
So great to listen to Ruby as she overcomes what has kept her bound and frees herself with the help of all who love and support her in prayer and strong shoulders.
God Bless you Ruby, we are all praying for you and believing for you to be totally free.

posted Dec 26th, 2008 9:05 pm


Rhonda

I love Ruby! She speaks for so many of us that are overweight and how we feel and live everyday!

posted Dec 24th, 2008 9:06 am


Shirelaine

Ruby is a true breath of fresh air. She has motivated me to loose weight and lead a healthier lifestyle.

I am very proud of her!!!!

posted Dec 22nd, 2008 9:19 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 






Related Videos
Ruby Getting Help

Ruby Getting Help

Rubyisms

Rubyisms