Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 28 reviews

Curves Smart

This women's gym just made workouts even more personalized.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Curves Smart is a personal coaching exercise system that provides constant feedback as you workout. Many Curves gyms are already equipped with these small computer-like devices that are attached to all of the studio’s machines. After you complete a personalized profile with the assistance of a Curves coach, you are issued a Curves Smart ID Tag with your fitness profile on it. When you approach a machine, you swipe the tag by the monitor and it automatically retrieves your profile to determine the specifications for your workout.

While you workout, it monitors your heart rate, whether you are achieving your goal intensity level, the number of repetitions performed and the range of motion for each repetition. At the end of your workout, you receive a progress report that tells you how many calories you burned and which muscles you worked.

PRO
  • Customized exercise system that matches your fitness goals
  • Curves Smart monitors your workout progress
  • Keeps you motivated
  • Easy and convenient to use
CON
  • Must be a Curves member to use
  • Not available at all Curves locations
  • Computer software program may not be accurate
DIET and NUTRITION

The Curves Smart device does not contain any diet or nutrition information but it does tell you how many calories you burned in each workout.

As a member of Curves, you'll have access to their Six Week Solution program, which allows you to eat five times each day and restricts consumption of processed packaged foods.

Curves Complete is the brand's online weight loss plan and there you'll receive daily meal plans for three meals and two snacks, as well as guidance on eating a diet rich in fiber and water.

EXERCISE

The Curves Smart ID Tag allows you to keep track of your fitness goals and monitor the intensity of your exercise sessions. After completing your personalized profile, a Curves staff member will help to develop a workout program that is designed for your body type, endurance and exercise goals.

The Curves Smart technology helps you to stay motivated while you workout and monitors your progress during your sessions. For instance, if you’re not within your target heart range, you will receive a yellow signal, alerting you to work harder. If you’re working within your target intensity range, you’ll see a green light on the display screen encouraging you to continue working out at the same pace.

At the end of your session, you will receive a complete workout analysis.

CONCLUSION

Curves Smart is a new form of exercise technology that helps to keep you motivated and displays your progress as you workout. Even though it is convenient to use and it is customized to your own body type and fitness goals, the Curves Smart computerized program is not yet available in all Curves gyms.

Common Misspellings

CurvesSmart, Curve Smart, CurveSmart, Smart Curves, Curves for Women


Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, The Curves Diet Book, Curves, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts, BodyBugg


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 35 total comments)

Johnita

We do not have the curves smart yet at my curves but I'm really hoping we will get it. To the person who says you can't loose 18 pounds in 2 months that's crazy. Since I started eating healthy and exercising on April 12th to date I have lost 61 pounds so it can easily be done. I started my weigh in at Curves in May and I have lost at least 10 pounds every month, most of the time losing more like 12 or 13 so it's very possible if you are eating healthy and exercising to easily loose 18 pounds in 2 months.

posted Sep 5th, 2009 1:01 pm


Jane Comerford

I started Curves 2 1/2 weeks ago and asked to start Curves Smart after a week. In short I love it. I have to say I am hooked. In fact so hooked that I go everyday apart from Sunday which is the day that our local Curves is closed. I can't wait to get the measure up. I don't think I have lost any weight and I do need to but I can't believe how much better I feel. I have a real spring in my step and feel so much stronger. I LOVE the way that Curves Smart tells you how many calories you have used in the 1/2 hour as well as how well you worked. It's really exciting.

posted Jul 29th, 2009 8:14 pm


alex

I have never been into team oriented activities, and the thought of joining a gym scared me because of my busy schedule. I have never been so happy about a decision, I started curves when the avon study started up and since then I have joined curves smart. I agree with the lady up above that the curves schedule could be better; however, I love it so much that I just make an effort to ensure I get there at least five times a week. Since I have started I have lost 10 pounds off my 5feet 9.5 inch tall frame. I now weight 137 pounds and have about 7 pounds left to go. Curves updates give you the drive and determination to keep up your fitness regime, its no longer the pounds that matter to me its the inches and the activities that I can partake in. I have just started rowing and running, and I truly don't think I would have had the confidence to do this if it were not for curves!

posted Jul 26th, 2009 3:11 pm


Joan

Tried every diet. Tried every exercise. I attend the only Curves Smart in South Florida. I have lost 8 pounds and 10 inches. Nothing has worked like this. I am 57 and getting in great shape. Wouldn't trade it for the world!!

posted Jun 9th, 2009 7:05 pm


Monie

I'm 5'7" and started Curves in April at 180.2lbs and I'm down to 171.2lbs as of May 13, 2009. I do the Smart Curves 3 days per week, walk 7miles per week and do a low-calorie diet. It does work if you are in the mind set. My Curves is great with the employees being great motivators. They also provide weekly meetings to help motivate and teach you eating tips.

posted May 13th, 2009 11:26 am


lc

First off I am not marketing for Curves only stating my results. I am 51 years old and sit at a desk all day. In 3 months going 5 days a week during my lunch hour, combined with a 1300 calorie or 20 grams of fat diet (1800 calorie 25 grams on weekends) I have lost 35 lbs out of the 55 I would like to shed. I did the 30 day free membership and lost 11 lbs in the first 5 weeks. Curves was not at all like I had envisioned, I go in do my workout, and am out the door in 35 minutes. Before starting I was in such poor shape I could not bend over to step into clothing without sitting down, all that is behind me now and I am back to how I felt before turning 50 years old!

posted Apr 30th, 2009 10:44 am


Becky

I just started working at curves smart club and i love it ! I have worked out 1 1/2 hours a day atleast for 29 years and did ther circuit today i was very impressed and love it

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 11:00 pm


cindee snow

lost 30 lbs in 8 months and have kept it off the curves smart..its a hard workout that keeps you motivited everyday.

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 7:02 pm


Kelli

Curvessmart is one of the best programs around. You really should check into a Curves and see how it works for you. You get so much encouragement and support. Curvessmart is like having your own personal trainer. You will see results if you try along with a good diet.

posted Apr 21st, 2009 5:19 pm


pusserl

One of the reviewers (trdyro) says she lost 18lbs in two months. I find this hard to believe unless there was something she was doing as well as curves smart. Becuase of this exaggeration, I wonder if many of the comments above are being submitted by curves franchisees. I live in Australia and my franchise is about to commence this program. I was really looking or serious comments rather than marketing.

posted Apr 16th, 2009 8:45 pm


Kikkij

The hours at my Curves are not for the average person. They open at 8:00, close for lunch at 12:00 to 3:00 and close at 7:00pm They close Saturdays at 12:00 noon and do not open on Sundays. The owner and several of the staff share to much personal information. I would advise you to think twice before you join and check out the hours and what lies in the future for hours. The workout gets boring after awhile because of the inability to change up. Not for anyone who is already fit.

posted Apr 6th, 2009 5:17 pm


Salina

I have been a curves member for about 10 months now.And when introduced to the curves smart i lost more weight with that extra lil push.i have lost 23lbs in my last 5 months their when i started the curves smart it really works and gives u that kick we all need.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 9:44 pm


Terri Hyland

I've been a member of Curves for years, and while I liked it, I wasn't losing much weight. After starting the CurvesSmart program, I've lost 32 lbs! I didn't realize until I started getting the computerized feedback easy I was taking it while I was chatting with my friends on the circuit. CurvesSmart kicks my behind! Clearly, I needed that. :)

posted Mar 13th, 2009 1:18 pm


TRDYRO

I HAVE BEEN WORKING OUT AT CURVES FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS NOW BEEN ON CURVES SMART FOR 2 MONTHS I HAVE TO SAY I LOVE IT!! U GET IN N OUT IN LESS THAN 40 MIN AND I HAVE LOST 18 LBS SINCE I STARTED ANYONE WHO SAYS IT DOESN'T WORK IS NOT PUTTING FORTH THE EFFORT.

posted Mar 6th, 2009 7:12 pm


parah

I have been a member of Curves for 6 years. Although I love the program my results have been very slow. But since they installed Smart about 9 months ago, I can't believe the difference. The weight is falling off of me. Everyone is saying the same thing, we are all amazed. Most of us thought we were doing our best before Smart, but we were so wrong! It's amazing what a little green light can do for you! The Smart screen tells me if I am working at the correct speed and range for ME! And after my workout the computer tells me how many calories I burned (Usually around 480 for me), what muscles I used and where I can use improvement. This new system really keeps me motivated. As I said before I have been going to Curves for 6 years so I have made a lot of friends there and we all feel the same way. We love to yell at the machines when we get a yellow light instead of green. A bunch of us decided to join Curves Complete after taking the new weight managment class, and now the pounds are truely melting off! 57 ponds and counting!!!Don't get me wrong, we work really hard - but it is sooo worth it! I hope this helps you decide. You will not be disappointed!

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 8:55 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account