Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

73%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 251 reviews

Contrave

A breakthrough diet pill that attacks cravings and appetite.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

While most diet pills are a dime a dozen, once in awhile a promising weight loss pill hits the market that causes even the most skeptical of medical professionals to stop and listen. Contrave is one such product.

Developed by Orexigen Therapeutics, Contrave is actually the combination of two different drugs: The antidepressant medication, buproprion, or Wellbutrin, and the drug naltrexone, which is used to treat alcohol and opiate addiction.

Rather than working to block fat or starches like many prescribed diet pills do, Contrave unleashes its power on the brain, where it works to quell cravings in the brain's highly complex behavior-reward center, and also to temper appetite.

In late-stage clinical trials, Contrave has fared much better than the FDA's standards for improving weight loss, exceeding by five percent. Rather, those who took Contrave while also following a diet and exercise program lost between nine and 15 percent of their body weight while those who did not lost just about five percent of their body weight.

Contrave has also shown few side effects and notably absent are mental health and uncomfortable physical side effects that often come from taking weight loss pills. In fact, those studied showed an improved quality of life while taking the pill.

Contrave is being slated as a chronic diet pill; if you take it and lose weight you will have to continue to take it in order to maintain lost weight. One of the downfalls with most of the diet pills on the market, whether or not they require a prescription, is that once you stop taking them, weight is easily regained. Since Contrave specifically acts on the centers of the brain that govern overeating behaviors and craving desires, there is hope that its ability to suppress these processes will lead to long-term weight loss.

As of July 2009, Orexigen Therapeutics is seeking FDA approval. When and if Contrave is approved for consumer use, it will require a prescription from a medical professional.

PRO
  • Shows promise in late-stage clinical trials
  • Exceeding FDA standards in trials
  • Cocktail-like therapy may be the benchmark for future diet pills
  • Few side effects
  • Weight loss is greater than placebo alone
  • If approved, requires a prescription
CON
  • May need to take diet pill chronically
  • Weight loss advantage is not that significant
  • Not a magic solution to healthy eating behaviors and to a healthy weight
  • Still awaiting FDA approval
INGREDIENTS

Contrave is a breakthrough weight loss drug because it contains both buproprion and naltrexone.

Buprupion is also known as the branded prescription drug Wellbutrin, a quality anti-depressant.

Naltrexone is a prescription drug used to treat addiction, in cases such as smoking, alcohol or even opiates.

ADMINISTRATION

Contrave will likely be taken daily. Since the drug is awaiting FDA approval, precise dosage instructions are not yet available.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet and regular exercise program is followed while taking Contrave. Since this drug does not act on the stomach, there are currently no specific foods that need to be avoided or a particular style of eating that needs to be followed while taking it.

CONCLUSION

Contrave is a new weight loss pill that shows promise for being able to act on the brain's pathways that control cravings and appetite. This new kind of drug, which combines two different kinds of psychopharmaceuticals, is predicted to be the wave of the future for diet pills.

Contrave is still awaiting FDA approval.

Common Misspellings

contrav, contreve, contrive, contrave diet, contrave diet pill, wellbutrin diet pill, crave diet pills, cuntrave, contreav


Related Diets: Alli, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 121 total comments)

Joyce Tanner

This pill by far is the best I 've ever taken for weight loss. I have been on contrave a little over a month and I am on my second bottle and have lost 17 lbs . Without changing my diet . I just don't want to eat as much . I intend to stay on this weight loss pill indefinitely .

posted Feb 8th, 2016 5:43 am


MatterNot

I've been taking contrave for 7 weeks and have lost 14.1 lbs. No serious side effects. I have more energy and really want to exercise. I drink plenty of water along with a low-fat low carb diet. I was told to drop the meat and fill up on veggies and would lose the weight faster. My goal is to lose 60 lbs, beginning weight was 218.

posted Jan 14th, 2016 9:25 pm


Angie

Just started only on day 2, bad migraines for 2 days now. This will be my last pill cant imagine feeling like this all the time. Very tired and foggy.

posted Jan 7th, 2016 7:21 pm


Kaelin Benavidez

I have been taking contrave for a week and just up'd my dose to 2:am 1:pm. Since day one I have had side effects. I feel out of it, not myself, in a cloud, nausea, extremely tired at night. 30 minutes after taking my pm pill I am out. I have lost 6lbs in this first week but I'm not sure the side effects are worth it. Reading what the ingredients are for this pill is basically an anti-depressant, I'm not depressed so maybe that's why I am having the side effects I am having and I don't like the feeling of not being myself.

posted Jan 6th, 2016 8:14 pm


Chell

terrible. made me so sick. my moods were awful. gained weight. used for a month will never use again.

posted Dec 28th, 2015 10:11 pm


CBB

Have taken for 9 days, lost 9 pounds. Severe nausea/vomiting and slight headache. My doctor prescribed anti-nausea medicine and I'm all good! It's exciting how much my perspective on food has changed. I don't see it as an emotional crutch anymore. This is life-changing - will keep you posted.

posted Dec 18th, 2015 3:29 pm


allen

Be Careful! If you have high blood pressure stay away from Contrave. My blood pressure went way up just after having taken this diet pill for only four days

posted Dec 15th, 2015 1:11 am


Amanda

I started taking contrive one month ago because my was getting out of control. I have a thyroid condition that has not only made it impossible for me to lose weight but it also helped cause a large weight gain of 80 lbs within 2 years. Since I started taking contrive, after getting my thyroid under control, I have lost 10 lbs this last 4 weeks. I have had some light dizziness and mild constipation but I have to say it is worth it. My mom died recently at the age of 54 with severe obesity. She was afraid to have weight loss surgery because of the risk. I think that if we had known about contrave sooner, that could have been changed.

posted Dec 11th, 2015 1:21 pm


ray ban aviators gold 58mm

soup) and Oursins (sea urchins). St Rmy's is a charming town and is well known as a home for artists, painters and musicians. For a time it was the home of Vincent Van Gogh and was the place where he created Starry Night. Because of its rich tradition, St Rmy's Muse de Alpilles, its art museum, is a marvelous place to spend a couple of hours. St Rmy's de Provence is equally well known for its local delicacies and parfumiers check out Le Cave aux .
ray ban aviators gold 58mm

posted Dec 2nd, 2015 1:48 am


Crystal

Started taking Contrave a week ago...i have lost 2 pounds...with no exercise...just haven't really wanted to eat...the first couple of days i had really bad headaches but i haven't had any other side effects(thank goodness)...today i start taking 1:1 so hopefully i don't feel so hungry in the afternoon....so far i have been happy...usually i would have a monster a day to keep me goin...i dont need to drink them anymore taking contrave i have more energy now...have a harder time winding down at night but i don't have bad dreams...all in all not too bad i would recommend contrave....every med has side effects these days you have to try it to know for sure...

posted Nov 19th, 2015 5:19 pm


Tracey

Has anyone that lost a lot of weight stopped taking Contrave and have kept of the weight lost?

posted Nov 11th, 2015 2:31 pm


Jenny

I have been on Contrave for 5 weeks. The first week was really bad with wanting to throw up and I could not concentrate at work. I felt like I was high on drugs. I found that I have to eat while taking the pills and I have to eat something throughout the day, even if its a couple grapes or some nuts. But I am eating less and I feel better now. I have lost 10 lbs so far. I only walk right now but plan to increase my exercise. I hope to lose 30 lbs and I have already lost 50 in the past year with diet and exercise and without medication (I just hit a plateau!).

posted Nov 5th, 2015 3:26 pm


J Win

I have been taking Contrave for about 3 months. During the 1st month, I lost 10 lbs. Over the last 2 months I have lost another 15 lbs. I have had very minimal side effects and it was a mild case of constipation. Taking a small serving of yogart really helped solve that. I am very happy with the results and am hoping to loose 10 more lbs over the next 2 months, to be at the weight I was 25 years ago. The best way to take it is early morning and the second dose around 4-5 in the afternoon. It really helps curve your appetite and make you feel less hungry with smaller portions.

posted Oct 30th, 2015 9:28 pm


Maria

I have been taking the full dosage two in the am and two in the pm and once I started this dosage I have had horrible nausea and dizziness. Yes it did help with my cravings and I did eat very little but the side effects were not worth the wight loss. It was effective for the 7 weeks I had been taking the pills I lost 20 lbs but always feeling sick was so not worth it.

posted Oct 28th, 2015 9:45 pm


Cathy

I have been taking for two months and I haven't lost a pound. Does make me not too interested in food and don't eat a lot but no result.

posted Oct 25th, 2015 12:45 am


Heidi

I was on contrave for 3 weeks. During the 3 weeks I lost 10lbs. I had to stop taking it because I started getting ringing and vibrating in my ears. Once that went away I was told to just try 1 pill a day and see how it works for me, so thats what I am doing now. Love my results so far!

posted Oct 19th, 2015 3:41 pm


Cindy

I have been on this since December 28, 2014 and have lost 45 lbs. It definitely helps me control what I eat. I used to be hungry all the time. Now I eat regular and healthy and I added 1/2 hr exercise a day.

posted Oct 12th, 2015 1:03 pm


Bonnie

After taking for a week I lost 4 lbs. The following week gained 5 lbs back with no change in diet or food intake from the first week. Have taken it for a month and haven't lose anything. It does make me have bad dreams at night and made me very constipated.

posted Oct 9th, 2015 2:46 pm


Katherine

I began taking Contrave over a week ago. The first few days I noticed the effects immediately in that I did not want to eat nor finish my meal. However, the side effects began to come on after the third day. Headaches. Dizziness. Constipation. Rash. Irritability etc. I tried to go to the 2nd stage...and realized that the side effects are not worth it. There really is no magic pill. And it's clear that my doctor thought my desire to lose weight overroad my vertigo, my blood pressure and constipation. Thanks but no thanks. I know some people really want this. And if I had a better tolerance I would sing a different tone, but frankly, if the short term is this rough, I can only imagine what the long term damage is going to be to my body. Remember Phen-Phen wasn't connected to PPH until people started dying.

posted Sep 27th, 2015 2:27 pm


Denise

Has anyone had itchy painful hands after taking the 2:2 dose? Contravw

posted Sep 25th, 2015 10:51 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account