Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 70 reviews

Contrave

A breakthrough diet pill that attacks cravings and appetite.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

While most diet pills are a dime a dozen, once in awhile a promising weight loss pill hits the market that causes even the most skeptical of medical professionals to stop and listen. Contrave is one such product.

Developed by Orexigen Therapeutics, Contrave is actually the combination of two different drugs: The antidepressant medication, buproprion, or Wellbutrin, and the drug naltrexone, which is used to treat alcohol and opiate addiction.

Rather than working to block fat or starches like many prescribed diet pills do, Contrave unleashes its power on the brain, where it works to quell cravings in the brain's highly complex behavior-reward center, and also to temper appetite.

In late-stage clinical trials, Contrave has fared much better than the FDA's standards for improving weight loss, exceeding by five percent. Rather, those who took Contrave while also following a diet and exercise program lost between nine and 15 percent of their body weight while those who did not lost just about five percent of their body weight.

Contrave has also shown few side effects and notably absent are mental health and uncomfortable physical side effects that often come from taking weight loss pills. In fact, those studied showed an improved quality of life while taking the pill.

Contrave is being slated as a chronic diet pill; if you take it and lose weight you will have to continue to take it in order to maintain lost weight. One of the downfalls with most of the diet pills on the market, whether or not they require a prescription, is that once you stop taking them, weight is easily regained. Since Contrave specifically acts on the centers of the brain that govern overeating behaviors and craving desires, there is hope that its ability to suppress these processes will lead to long-term weight loss.

As of July 2009, Orexigen Therapeutics is seeking FDA approval. When and if Contrave is approved for consumer use, it will require a prescription from a medical professional.

PRO
  • Shows promise in late-stage clinical trials
  • Exceeding FDA standards in trials
  • Cocktail-like therapy may be the benchmark for future diet pills
  • Few side effects
  • Weight loss is greater than placebo alone
  • If approved, requires a prescription
CON
  • May need to take diet pill chronically
  • Weight loss advantage is not that significant
  • Not a magic solution to healthy eating behaviors and to a healthy weight
  • Still awaiting FDA approval
INGREDIENTS

Contrave is a breakthrough weight loss drug because it contains both buproprion and naltrexone.

Buprupion is also known as the branded prescription drug Wellbutrin, a quality anti-depressant.

Naltrexone is a prescription drug used to treat addiction, in cases such as smoking, alcohol or even opiates.

ADMINISTRATION

Contrave will likely be taken daily. Since the drug is awaiting FDA approval, precise dosage instructions are not yet available.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet and regular exercise program is followed while taking Contrave. Since this drug does not act on the stomach, there are currently no specific foods that need to be avoided or a particular style of eating that needs to be followed while taking it.

CONCLUSION

Contrave is a new weight loss pill that shows promise for being able to act on the brain's pathways that control cravings and appetite. This new kind of drug, which combines two different kinds of psychopharmaceuticals, is predicted to be the wave of the future for diet pills.

Contrave is still awaiting FDA approval.

Common Misspellings

contrav, contreve, contrive, contrave diet, contrave diet pill, wellbutrin diet pill, crave diet pills, cuntrave, contreav


Related Diets: Alli, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 24 total comments)


BenjaminB

Check out www.buy-contrave.com to find out all the information about buying Contrave.

posted Mar 24th, 2015 2:54 pm


Starsway

On third week starting full dose. Down about 4 pounds to 246. Side effects - little dizzy, spacy, slight tremor in fingers makes eating soup hard. Tremor goes away in afternoon. Insomnia - I sleep but wake up suddenly after vivid dreams. Hunger greatly Curbed. I have to remember to eat. Sugars down to normal range, first time in 10 years.

posted Mar 15th, 2015 5:17 pm


prettyinpink

I started this pill under my Drs care March 9 and as of today I'm down 9 pounds. That's with no specific exercise just portion control. No special diet. I can't wait to see what the end results will be in one month when I go back to the Dr.

posted Mar 13th, 2015 8:38 am


Helenh1220

4th day and all seems well except yesterday I felt very hungry. Monday I will be taking 2 pills so hoping my desire for food will diminish. Will get you posted. So far I have lost 3 lbs since 9th FEB.

posted Feb 13th, 2015 12:36 pm


Helenh1220

I have been on the pill for 3 days. I feel extremely tire but losing weight with exercising and dueting.

posted Feb 12th, 2015 5:39 pm


momoffive419

Day 1 Starting at 193lbs. I took two pills this afternoon. I was already on buproprian so I did not feel like I had to start out slow increasing dosage over weeks time. I have had some cravings this evening and felt slightly hungry but didn't over eat. However, I felt (feel) very bloated and gassy??? Weird cause it is noticeable and I am a tad jumpy (bite your head off) kinda mood?? Again, I am going to give it time since today is the first day. I'll keep everyone posted with my experience and any success I have. Thanks! Good Luck!

posted Jan 15th, 2015 2:05 am


JESSIE ALLEN

Slow but steady weight loss, some side effects. Takes time to adjust to healthy eating habits but does take a lot of cravings away.

posted Jan 6th, 2015 2:23 pm


misty

I love it been on it 4 weeks lost 10lbs. No cravings or side effects. My clothes are getting so lose fitting its great! I feel wonderful.

posted Jan 4th, 2015 3:42 am


Tea.Iz.Me

Lauralew. You're 4 weeks ahead of me. Post often on progress pls. Congrats on 18!
I'm happy with it so far. I notice that if I have chocolate, etc, it does nothing for me. I'm just at 2 pills/day. Hardly any appetite and cravings aren't there.


posted Jan 3rd, 2015 4:03 am


Too close

I took it 3 days and thougt it was ok til the 3rd day. I started feeling strange and my left side of my head felt funny as if I might was haviing a stroke. It also might me very constipated and bloated. I will not be taking anymore not worth the risk didn't lose an ounce.

posted Dec 14th, 2014 1:18 am


JayM

I've tried all the new prescription diet meds. I was previously on Qsymia which worked and I loved. After the sign up process online to get a reduced price, which by the way took 3 weeks before they sent me my Prescription of Contrave. I really wanted this to work. It did nothing for my cravings, only left me feeling constantly ill with headaches and diziness that made me afraid to take it even. I took it for three weeks until I just couldn't take it anymore. It actually did nothing for my cravings and made me gain weight while on it. Also it has a black label warning for suicide. So if you're depressed stay away.

posted Dec 13th, 2014 5:25 pm


Walter

This has changed everything in the diet world as we know it. I feel like I've got my life back in 3 weeks. Im finally leveled off mentally, The mood swings have stopped, I can eat less and not dwell on wanting food,the cigarettes taste awful now so I had to quit that. My family can't believe the calmness I have and a more positive outlook than ever before. THIS IS A GAME CHANGER

posted Dec 10th, 2014 8:30 pm


mary

Made me sick with in the frist hour of taking I haven't be able to eat all day

posted Dec 9th, 2014 12:11 am


Katie

Day one, three hours later feel no change , feeling hungry. Telling myself to get busy ,still feeling tired . In my mind I keep tell myself I'm not going to eat yet . I want to go at least four hours before I eat . I want to lose the weight that makes me feel not worthy .

posted Dec 6th, 2014 3:34 pm


Melissa

Just started Thanksgiving Day with one pill in the morning. No bad side effects. I was on Qsymia prior to this and could not deal with the fuzzy head side effects at the higher dose. Once off Qsymia, I gained the weight back. I feel good so far on Contrave. Lost over a pound in a week. Have noticed that I stop eating when full. I did not do this in the past.

posted Dec 6th, 2014 12:53 am


Amy

Belviq is really expensive. Contrave has a patient assistance program for people that have no insurance or their insurance does not cover it

posted Dec 3rd, 2014 1:56 am


Carlotta

I was part of the original test studies. They told me that I would either get a placebo or the real medicine. After 3 months, I went down 2 dress sizes. I was told after the tests were over, that it was combination of buproprion and naltrexone but it wasn't out in the market yet. Finally it's here! I can't wait to get this again.

posted Nov 26th, 2014 1:05 pm


jc carvill

i would like to try. maybe better than the other one , Q and B.

posted Oct 30th, 2014 7:40 am


Ashlee

Sounds awesome! So it can be taken for life?

posted Sep 19th, 2014 3:37 am


Beth walters

Lowering carb and increasing protein intake is essential for maintaining healthy weight loss. Why wasn't that included in the advertisement?

posted Sep 13th, 2014 12:23 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account