Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

74%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

Contrave

A breakthrough diet pill that attacks cravings and appetite.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

While most diet pills are a dime a dozen, once in awhile a promising weight loss pill hits the market that causes even the most skeptical of medical professionals to stop and listen. Contrave is one such product.

Developed by Orexigen Therapeutics, Contrave is actually the combination of two different drugs: The antidepressant medication, buproprion, or Wellbutrin, and the drug naltrexone, which is used to treat alcohol and opiate addiction.

Rather than working to block fat or starches like many prescribed diet pills do, Contrave unleashes its power on the brain, where it works to quell cravings in the brain's highly complex behavior-reward center, and also to temper appetite.

In late-stage clinical trials, Contrave has fared much better than the FDA's standards for improving weight loss, exceeding by five percent. Rather, those who took Contrave while also following a diet and exercise program lost between nine and 15 percent of their body weight while those who did not lost just about five percent of their body weight.

Contrave has also shown few side effects and notably absent are mental health and uncomfortable physical side effects that often come from taking weight loss pills. In fact, those studied showed an improved quality of life while taking the pill.

Contrave is being slated as a chronic diet pill; if you take it and lose weight you will have to continue to take it in order to maintain lost weight. One of the downfalls with most of the diet pills on the market, whether or not they require a prescription, is that once you stop taking them, weight is easily regained. Since Contrave specifically acts on the centers of the brain that govern overeating behaviors and craving desires, there is hope that its ability to suppress these processes will lead to long-term weight loss.

As of July 2009, Orexigen Therapeutics is seeking FDA approval. When and if Contrave is approved for consumer use, it will require a prescription from a medical professional.

PRO
  • Shows promise in late-stage clinical trials
  • Exceeding FDA standards in trials
  • Cocktail-like therapy may be the benchmark for future diet pills
  • Few side effects
  • Weight loss is greater than placebo alone
  • If approved, requires a prescription
CON
  • May need to take diet pill chronically
  • Weight loss advantage is not that significant
  • Not a magic solution to healthy eating behaviors and to a healthy weight
  • Still awaiting FDA approval
INGREDIENTS

Contrave is a breakthrough weight loss drug because it contains both buproprion and naltrexone.

Buprupion is also known as the branded prescription drug Wellbutrin, a quality anti-depressant.

Naltrexone is a prescription drug used to treat addiction, in cases such as smoking, alcohol or even opiates.

ADMINISTRATION

Contrave will likely be taken daily. Since the drug is awaiting FDA approval, precise dosage instructions are not yet available.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet and regular exercise program is followed while taking Contrave. Since this drug does not act on the stomach, there are currently no specific foods that need to be avoided or a particular style of eating that needs to be followed while taking it.

CONCLUSION

Contrave is a new weight loss pill that shows promise for being able to act on the brain's pathways that control cravings and appetite. This new kind of drug, which combines two different kinds of psychopharmaceuticals, is predicted to be the wave of the future for diet pills.

Contrave is still awaiting FDA approval.

Common Misspellings

contrav, contreve, contrive, contrave diet, contrave diet pill, wellbutrin diet pill, crave diet pills, cuntrave, contreav


Related Diets: Alli, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 68 total comments)


Ellie Markum

I've been on the starting dose of one pill a day for the past week and have lost 7 lbs so far. The first few days were rough to get used to the way it made me feel (dizzy, foggy), but I feel much better now. I'm getting such good results so far (no cravings, eating smaller portions, etc.) that I'm going to try to stick with the one pill a day rather than increasing the dosage to the next step. The full dose is four pills a day. I can always increase it later if I need to, but for now the low dose is working for me. If cravings are your main issue with difficulty losing weight, Contrave may be a good fit for you. It took my ridiculous cravings for chocolate down to nothing. Now when I see chocolate, I'm indifferent -- like, it's nice but I don't care about it any more than a tuna sandwich. It feels good to have more control over what I eat.

posted May 5th, 2015 1:03 pm


tryinghard

Been on it for 6 weeks and have dropped 18 pounds. I work out at Crossfit about 3 times a week. I have no urges to eat, and usually do so only when I feel dizzy. I also used to drink about 4 beers a night. I have no urges to this either.

posted Apr 28th, 2015 2:50 am


Allie

I started March 4th and in 6 weeks I've lost 32 lbs on this but I follow a 1200 calorie diet and exercise cardio 3 times a week. However side affects are starting to kick in and I feel like I'm constipated and my urine output greatly decreased when I'm drinking a ton of water so the last couple days I've actually gained back a pound and not sure why as I'm still dieting and exercising... this medicine does cause liver damage so I think I'm go off of it now that my body is used to the diet and I don't crave food so I feel like it Def jump started my determination but now I can do this on my own.

posted Apr 24th, 2015 1:50 pm


Jane

I have been on Contrave for over two months, I'm sick everyday. I can't eat anything. Yes I lost weight but hate being sick. I'm going back on Belvic. I want to puke all day long.

posted Apr 24th, 2015 12:35 pm


Gypsy

I took it yesterday and I fet horrible.
I had the worst migrane and felt nausiated al day. at night I slet maybe 2 hours was restless all night and the next day I felt the same way,
its not worth the side effects.

posted Apr 21st, 2015 4:52 pm


KB

The RX said to take it twice a day but I had read to take it only once in the AM for the first week so I did that. Thank god. This stuff is powerful. It took only minutes for me to feel foggy and "out of it" ... then the headaches started, then the fatigue. ( I had read these are side effects) One day I was nauseous for a while but mostly it was extreme fatigue and bad headache. One day I actually had to pull over when driving to take a 45 minute break. (I was driving from Brunswick)
After about 5 days I took only half of a tablet. That helped some. This last Sat I did not take anything and finally the headache broke. I decided since it causes me so much fatigue I would take it at night. The last two nights I have taken 1/2 tab at bedtime and that has helped a lot with the symptoms. I may try one tablet at bedtime another night this week. There is NO way I could tolerate two tablets in one day as is indicated for the second week.
This medication absolutely kicks you if you have any alcohol at all- even the smallest amount. I don't even dare or have any desire at this point. It has completely regulated my portion control. I can hardly eat two eggs for breakfast. I have been eating several very small meals a day and going to the gym. I have lost about 6.5 pounds so far. I am happy with the results but one has to want to put up with the side effects to get there.

posted Apr 20th, 2015 8:59 pm


Sonja

Second day of taking only one pill. First day, fine...Second day made me seriously ill. Nauseous,twilight zone, dizzy and suicidal thoughts. NEVER will I take this again!!!!

posted Apr 20th, 2015 1:27 am


Robbie

Is Contrave FDA approved now? I thought the FDA approved Septmeber 2014, but later took it off the market? So is this approved now by the FDA? I am confused. I thought it was approved September 2014 but later the FDA took it off the market and requested further study. My Doctor says has not been released yet?

posted Apr 18th, 2015 2:11 pm


michael rohan jr

started Contrave on Feb 18 under Doctors care as of today with a change of diet and a regular work out routine I have lost 28 lbs,fell great, no side effects from the pill,the only problem that I have occurred was that I hit a weight lose plateau,

posted Apr 3rd, 2015 8:45 am


BeachGirlNC

I have been ramping up the dose from 1/day to 4/day over the last 4 weeks. I have been nauseous with a headache for at least 5 days following each added pill. I want to stop nearly every day but have hopes that now that I am on the full dose that my body will adjust and I will feel better. As I read these reviews I want to know how many people started with the full dose and who ramped up like me. I have not lost any weight nor have I had any added energy. My only appetite suppression is due to my nausea. I feel positive in seeing other reviews and hope the next week brings some improvements.

posted Apr 2nd, 2015 11:17 pm


Dana

Started on 03/20 - been going to the gym 3-4x's a week and tracking food on W.W. Saw no progress week 1. THEN my scale arrived, I put down the scotch bottle, picked up the water bottle and GOT SERIOUS. With only 2 months before my daughter's wedding, NOW IS THE TIME. Began my weigh in with Scale Down Program on 03/28, since then I am down 5+ pounds. IN JUST SIX DAYS!!! Taking two pills a day until Friday, when I will begin 3. Progress is good but I'm awaiting even better results as I increase exercise and continue to track. Returning to W.W. meetings this Saturday since I left on a low, coming back on a high.

I only experienced headaches and GAS as side effects. Still hungry, but eating sensibly. YES thirsty, but that's a good thing and only helps with my struggle to consume water.

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE.

posted Apr 2nd, 2015 6:12 pm


Nicole

I started Contrave on March 14th. It really takes all cravings away for me. I have lost 11 pounds so far with daily exercise. I am on the 1:1 dose because when I increased to the 2:1 I had an allergic reaction. Hoping I can stay on the 1:1 because it's working for me!

posted Apr 1st, 2015 12:50 pm


jq

i have been on Contrave for 4 weeks and have gained 7 lbs. Always sick to stomach and dizzy. i don't know its worth it.

posted Mar 28th, 2015 8:46 pm


wisenwitty

I have been taking Contrave since March 9th and I'm down 12 pounds. Right now I take two in the morning and one in the late afternoon. The cravings have stopped so I do not eat in between meals at all. I haven't had any side effects except for a slight headache every so often.

posted Mar 24th, 2015 4:59 pm



BenjaminB

Check out www.buy-contrave.com to find out all the information about buying Contrave.

posted Mar 24th, 2015 2:54 pm


Gaga

Day 3 no side effects . I have not weighed, (only weighing weekly). Will have to say helping hunger sensation.

posted Mar 23rd, 2015 2:56 am


Dawn

I started 5 days ago. I have some headaches, sweats, and sometimes I feel dizzy. It seems like its getting a little better as my body is getting use to taking it. The GOOD thing I feel myself getting Smaller (losing inches) I'm not weighing myself yet as I'm looking to lose inches not concerned about the lbs that will come as a result of getting toned. I'm looking forward to the weeks, months ahead especially if I'm seeing results this soon!!! I'll keep you posted!! :))

posted Mar 21st, 2015 5:21 pm


Judy

I wanted to read all info on this pill as my dr recommended that I try it.

posted Mar 19th, 2015 8:33 pm


Donna A Alexander

This is my third week taking it. I only 1 pound and I feel hungry all the time. I'm constantly looking for something to eat. Not Good. Did better before taking this. I also feel tired beyond words, nausea everyday all day. Asking my doctor to try me on something good. Also since I started this my legs ache.

posted Mar 19th, 2015 2:15 pm


TOM BLANCHARD

Started on Contrave this morning. Have the first month regimen. What happens in month two, three etc? does dos

posted Mar 18th, 2015 7:18 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account