Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

24%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 268 reviews
Contrave

Contrave Diet Pill Review: Does it Work?

A breakthrough diet pill that attacks cravings and appetite.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Contrave is a weight loss pill that claims it’s the #1 prescribed medication for weight loss. It’s made up of an antidepressant drug and an appetite reducing drug.

Diet and exercise are required, and the intended results are to help rewire brain chemistry to reduce eating. The company does admit it’s not sure how this brand can help with weight loss, but they state that it may help. Since it’s a prescription drug, it’s only offered if a doctor recommends it.  Contrave is only allowed for those with a BMI of 30 or higher, or those with a BMI of 27 or higher with an obesity related disease. You’ll learn in this review about what it can do for weight loss, how customers rate it, and other important facts. The top 10 list of diet pills are featured in this comprehensive list.  

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?


Contrave Ingredients and Side Effects

Naltrexone Hydrochloride

Bupropion Hydrochloride

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Hydroxypropryl Cellulose

Lactose Anhydrous

L-cysteine hydrochloride

Crospovidone

Magnesium Stearate

Hypromellose

Edetate Disodium

Lactose Monohydrate

Colloidal Silicon Dioxide

Opadry II Blue

FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake

 

 

Naltrexone Hydrochloride: This drug is usually used to help give relief to those addicted to opioids. It blocks the absorption of opioid drugs such as heroin, pain pills, and more.

It is also used alongside therapy and support for helping relieve addictions.  Possible side effects are many and they include:

  • Nausea, anxiety, and dizziness.
  • Insomnia, abdominal pain, and restlessness.
  • Muscle aches, joint and bone pain, and runny nose.
  • Hallucinations, confusion, and withdrawal symptoms.
  • Serious allergic reactions, swelling, and hives.

Drugs.com also adds:

“Patients should be warned of the risk of hepatic injury”

“Depression, suicide, attempted suicide and suicidal ideation have been reported”

It may also negatively interactions with other medications and supplements. It’s advised to seek the support of a medical doctor, and to be aware of a potential for serious allergic effects.

This takes awareness of one’s own experience with medication, and to be aware of any symptoms that aren’t normal.

Bupropion Hydrochloride: Drug used to treat depression. It changes chemicals in the brain and is used to produce a good feeling. There’s also use of it for helping treat addiction, and to lower the risk of anxiety.

It’s advised not to take this if one has a history of heart, kidney, liver, or brain problems.  Possible side effects can include:

  • Insomnia, restlessness, and sweating.
  • Nausea, vomiting, and dizziness.
  • Ringing in the ears, headache, and dry mouth.
  • Increased blood pressure, irregular heartbeat, and memory loss.
  • Anxiety, agitation, and unusual weight loss or weight gain.
  • Difficulty concentrating, confusion, and erratic behavior.

There are several other possible side effects, and it’s advised to seek medical attention for certain symptoms. In some people this may cause a serious allergic reaction. According to the Annals of Internal Medicine:

“bupropion… promote modest weight loss when given along with recommendations for diet”

This effect was not seen in all people, and there’s still the risk for serious potential side effects.

Due to this ingredients effects on mood, boxed of Contrave come with a warning that it may increase the likelihood of suicide. That’s why it’s highly advised to monitor any mood changes, and to seek the continued support of a certified physician.

Opadry II Blue:  A patented form of food coloring. It’s used to help coat pills and to make them easier to absorb.

It’s unknown what possible side effects it may have.

FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake: Artificial food dye often found in pill coatings. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to give the pills a blue color.

There’s a possibility for it causing allergic raections and hypearctiivy in certain people.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Contrave Quality of Ingredients

This brand is made with 2 active ingredients, a drug often used to block opioids and a drug that helps decrease appetite and reduce the risk of depression. There are several possible side effects to consider, and not everyone reacts to this combination the same.

There are also a lot of considerations asuch as avoiding high fat meals, starting with small amounts to start with then building up, and not mixing it alongside certan ingredints. It’s also recommended to avoid this if one has a history of certain illnesses, or if one is prone to seizure.

The ingredients added to this formula may produce a weight loss effect, but only certain peoole can even consider taking it. Still, a doctor needs to prescribe it and deem a person healthy , yet still obese enough to take it.

The manfacturers state this is only a short term solution, and that diet and exercise are necessary.  Due to all these issues, the quality of ingredients is very poor.  The list of top 10 diet pill supplements has the best weight loss solutions.


The Price and Quality of Contrave

Pricing can vary on Contrave, with estimates around $55 a month to $200 a month depending on location, dosing ,and whether or not insurance covers it.

Since only 2 of the ingredients are actually active, the majority are added to either stabilize the capsules, or to give them a unique color.  These inactive ingredients have no weight loss effect at all.

No long term study has been performed to show what kinds of cardiovascular effects it may have. So it’s unknown what the potential rate of heart damage might be.

This brand is particularly expensive, and the manufacturers admit they’re not certain how it works. There are other options for weight loss such as the top 10 diet pills featured when you click here.

Before being able to use this brand one has to consider several possivle inteactions.  There is also nio guarantee of safety or effecitvneess.  Still, evne with a doctors prescription, it’s unknown how this drug may affect you. You’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Contrave” section that many failed to experience any results, and that side effects were a major issue.

Business of Contrave

The owners go by the name of Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc. They can be reached via the following:

Phone Number: (877) 825-3327

Address:  One Takeda Parkway

                   Deerfield, Illinois 60015

Since it’s a prescription drug, no returns are allowed on Contrave.

The company has had major lawsuits for creating harmful drugs. A $2.37 billion settlement was givne to 9,000 people who suffered from bladder cancer.

A $37 million dollar fine was also imposed for them hidng the risk of cancer in one of their drugs.  The company was going to conduct a long-term study on cardiovascular effects of Contrave, but they cut it short and did not release any of the findings.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Contrave

Many reviews are avialble online, here’s what a few users had to say:

“I could not take this pill, I was physically drained”

“Garbage. I didn’t lose a pound”

“I’m rapidly gaining weight. I gained 8lbs in 30 days”

“I took it for 4 months and didn’t lose any weight”

Though some did lose weight, there were often common complaints that include anxiety, restlessness, extreme fatigue, headaches, and loss of sex drive, mood swings, and many other issues.

The most often listed side effect was fatigue. Many were unable to continue doing their regular routine, as they were often bedridden.

Drugs.com compiled a list of the ratings, and the average rating for weight loss was 5.9 out of 10. Many thought it was an unfavorable drug. Oddly enough, some people actually gained weight.

Nor everyone reacts to this drug the same, the major problem was a lack of consistency. Unlike supplements, this drug works deep within the brain to change how chemicals are sent. When dealing with drugs like this, it’s impossible for anyone to determine what a likely affect might be. Though as mentioned, no returns are offered.


Conclusion - Does Contrave Work?

When analyzing Contrave it’s important to look at the customer reviews, what considerations need to be made, and how the manufacturers operate. Not only are there several serious potential side effects, but the makers have no idea exactly how this drug works. Diet and exercise are required, and it’s not guaranteed for weight loss as no money back policy is offered. The manufacturers have also lost lawsuits for making drugs that caused cancer and organ damage. Contrave requires a lot of considerations, and may people failed to see any weight loss.

The 2016 best supplement of the year award was won by Sletrokor. It contains only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and it’s available without a prescription. This diet pill has helped people lose weight, and you can read real testimonials from satisfied customers on their website. Sletrokor has plant extracts which have been clinically studied. The benefits are numerous and they include improved mood, suppressed appetite, increased metabolism, regulated blood sugar levels, increased energy, and much more.

Sletrokor is also offered risk free; it’s backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed with no questions asked. To learn more about Sletrokor, click here.

How Does Contrave Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Contrave
  • 24 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 140 total comments)

Diane

+

I have been on Contrave for six months and have lost 40 pounds. The only side effect I have noticed is constipation, but that seems to be subsiding and it really hasn't been that bad. I have had no other side effects. I would definitely recommend this weight loss medication for people that qualify.

posted May 7th, 2016 2:04 pm


Susan

+

LOVE this medication! I have been on it for 6 months and have lost 35 pounds. I still eat whatever I want just in smaller quantities. I am never hungry and have had no side affects.

posted May 6th, 2016 2:53 pm


Erica

When I started to take Contrave, the first 3 days I felt a little jittery but nothing I couldn't handle. I felt I had tons of energy and my appetite was supressed right away. But on day 4, I was so sick that I couldn't get out of bed. If I stood up, the room would spin and I was vomiting all day long that day. I couldn't stop vomiting for at least 30 minutes. Needless to say, I never took it again. So I paid $70 for this bottle for nothing. I only took 4 pills because I was only taking the morning dose.

posted May 5th, 2016 11:17 pm


Brenda

?

At what time daily do most of you take the second dose/pill

posted Apr 20th, 2016 5:50 pm


alex

I am already on Wellbutrin so the doc added Naltrexone 50mg. First week I took half a pill and now I'm taking the entire 50mg. He said it's the same thing as contrave. So far no side effects and it does reduce my appetite a bit. I will keep everyone posted as I do read reviews and I hate it when people start something and don't keep us posted as to the results. For what I have been reading it's not a loose weight quick pill. So being consistent is key and watching what you eat. What I am paying attention to is the cravings.. is it reducing the cravings? so far no!!

will keep you posted in a month.

posted Apr 15th, 2016 7:07 pm


Pinky

I started it 5 days ago I felt calm no side affects but it did not curb my appetite at all day 4 I feel felt super hungry I will stay on it for at Least 30 days to see what happens .

posted Apr 10th, 2016 10:20 pm


Margaret Kahl

+

Knowing how medicine affects me when I take it on an empty stomach, I eat breakfast before I take the medicine. So far I have had no side affects (only day 3) but I feel better and my desire and overwhelming need for food consumption which never satisfies is gone for now. Will see and hope it lasts. I feel so much better.

posted Apr 9th, 2016 3:54 pm


Punkin

Remember- stopping carbs or severely decreasing carbs can cause migraines and mood swings.....be sure it's ContraveComplete and not the withdrawal symptoms from decreased carbs everyone

posted Mar 31st, 2016 3:02 am


Laura Thompson

+

I took for 7 months before it stopped having any effect. I lost 37 lbs but in the three months since i stopped taking it I have gained 10 lbs. I still exercise regularly. I have tried to restart but it doesn not effect me at all now. My friend has lost 40+ in 8 months and it is recently stopped working for her as well.

posted Mar 28th, 2016 10:47 pm


Roberta

I just started my second week on Contrave. I am hungry all the time. I wasn't this hungry before taking the medication. I also feel a little wonky. I am hoping that feeling will pass...but what's the point of being on this stuff if my appetite has increased? Has anyone else experienced this? I am looking for the medication to kick in.

posted Mar 28th, 2016 8:40 pm


Linda danield

I am 1 month into Contave and have lost 18 lbs. I've had no serious side effects ,just slight headaches that don't last very long. Hope to continue til I lose 30 more lbs. So far I love it.

posted Mar 25th, 2016 1:05 am


Teresa

+

I have been on Contrave for 9 months and have lost 45 lbs. The only side effect that I have had is constipation. I read the reviews before starting it and nausea seemed to be the biggest complaint so I started taking it right off with food and there was no problem. I have Hashimoto's thyroiditis, secondary Sjögren's, endometriosis and high blood pressure. Like others, I have struggled with weight loss because of my hypothyroidism. I got up to 207 lbs. That's about 10 lbs more then what I weighed when I was 9 months pregnant with my son who is now 12 years old. I also had to have a complete hysterectomy in June 2014 because of uterine prolapse. After that the Dr. put me on a oral bio identical hormones. Since I have been on the Contrave and lost the weight and continue to lose, I have had my blood pressure meds cut in half and have been able to quit taken my Meloxicam that I was taking for the secondary Sjögren's. My GYN has had to increase my hormone meds several times because of ALL the weight that I have lost because estrogen is stored in fat cells so the less fat, the less estrogen so I have had to put up with some hot flashes/night sweats. But I have been able to live with that!! LOL My quality of life has improved 110%!! I feel better, I am able to do more with my family and my sex life is what it was 17 years ago when me and my husband was first married. I also joined the ScaleDown program that was offered when starting Contrave and it has been a BIG help!! You get a text everyday when you weigh on the scale that they send you. It makes you more accountable and plus they send you a tip along with your weight loss/gain. When I lose 2 MORE lbs., I will have lost 20% of my body fat since I have started CONTRAVE!! Think that my Dr. and I have FINALLY found something that works for me!! :-)

posted Mar 24th, 2016 3:32 pm


Teresa

+

I have been on Contrave for 9 months and have lost 45 lbs. The only side effect that I have had is constipation.

posted Mar 24th, 2016 2:52 pm


Deborah Mills

+

Have lost 25 pounds in 3 months. Dry mouth only side effect noted.

posted Mar 17th, 2016 3:09 pm


Annie

?

New side effects weeks into taking it I've been on Contrave for about 6 weeks now. At first I felt loopy and foggy but as I took with food and spread out the dosage during the day it eased up. But for the last couple of days I've been extremely nauseous, which I wasn't experiencing before. Anyone else getting new side effects after a few weeks?

posted Feb 25th, 2016 4:08 pm


terryobx

+

I've been taking Contrave for 9 months. I've lost 33 lbs. After the first couple of weeks of morning nausea the only other side effect I have is mild constipation. My co-workers have commented numerous times how I'm more even tempered which I believe is from the Wellbutrin. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to lose weight. It's worth getting through the first few weeks.

posted Feb 20th, 2016 11:37 pm


MARY DAVIS

+

I started my 4th week of Contrave this week. The side effect I've had has been nausea. The nausea comes and goes. I've found that the nausea comes about 2 hours after I've taken my dose. Usually I eat a small amount around the nausea happens and this seems to make me feel better. I keep holding on to hope that the nausea will eventually subside.

posted Feb 20th, 2016 4:32 am


H Payne

-

The first 2 days of taking this medication I was sick as a dog and had the worst migraine. The 3rd day was okay, no issues. But the 4th day was awful!!!! I have extremely high anxiety and panic attacks, battled them for years, but I was told by my doctor that this medication could help me with that and also help me lose weight. WRONG!!!! I had one of the worst panic attacks I've ever had in my life. Think very hard before you take this drug.

posted Feb 19th, 2016 3:42 pm


H Payne

-

The first 2 days of taking this medication I was sick as a dog and had the worst migraine. The 3rd day was okay, no issues. But the 4th day was awful!!!! I have extremely high anxiety and panic attacks, battled them for years, but I was told by my doctor that this medication could help me with that and also help me lose weight. WRONG!!!! I had one of the worst panic attacks I've ever had in my life. Think very hard before you take this drug.

posted Feb 19th, 2016 3:41 pm


Joyce Tanner

+

This pill by far is the best I 've ever taken for weight loss. I have been on contrave a little over a month and I am on my second bottle and have lost 17 lbs . Without changing my diet . I just don't want to eat as much . I intend to stay on this weight loss pill indefinitely .

posted Feb 8th, 2016 5:43 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

While most diet pills are a dime a dozen, once in awhile a promising weight loss pill hits the market that causes even the most skeptical of medical professionals to stop and listen. Contrave is one such product.

Developed by Orexigen Therapeutics, Contrave is actually the combination of two different drugs: The antidepressant medication, buproprion, or Wellbutrin, and the drug naltrexone, which is used to treat alcohol and opiate addiction.

Rather than working to block fat or starches like many prescribed diet pills do, Contrave unleashes its power on the brain, where it works to quell cravings in the brain's highly complex behavior-reward center, and also to temper appetite.

In late-stage clinical trials, Contrave has fared much better than the FDA's standards for improving weight loss, exceeding by five percent. Rather, those who took Contrave while also following a diet and exercise program lost between nine and 15 percent of their body weight while those who did not lost just about five percent of their body weight.

Contrave has also shown few side effects and notably absent are mental health and uncomfortable physical side effects that often come from taking weight loss pills. In fact, those studied showed an improved quality of life while taking the pill.

Contrave is being slated as a chronic diet pill; if you take it and lose weight you will have to continue to take it in order to maintain lost weight. One of the downfalls with most of the diet pills on the market, whether or not they require a prescription, is that once you stop taking them, weight is easily regained. Since Contrave specifically acts on the centers of the brain that govern overeating behaviors and craving desires, there is hope that its ability to suppress these processes will lead to long-term weight loss.

As of July 2009, Orexigen Therapeutics is seeking FDA approval. When and if Contrave is approved for consumer use, it will require a prescription from a medical professional.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Shows promise in late-stage clinical trials
  • Exceeding FDA standards in trials
  • Cocktail-like therapy may be the benchmark for future diet pills
  • Few side effects
  • Weight loss is greater than placebo alone
  • If approved, requires a prescription
CON
  • May need to take diet pill chronically
  • Weight loss advantage is not that significant
  • Not a magic solution to healthy eating behaviors and to a healthy weight
  • Still awaiting FDA approval
INGREDIENTS

Contrave is a breakthrough weight loss drug because it contains both buproprion and naltrexone.

Buprupion is also known as the branded prescription drug Wellbutrin, a quality anti-depressant.

Naltrexone is a prescription drug used to treat addiction, in cases such as smoking, alcohol or even opiates.

ADMINISTRATION

Contrave will likely be taken daily. Since the drug is awaiting FDA approval, precise dosage instructions are not yet available.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet and regular exercise program is followed while taking Contrave. Since this drug does not act on the stomach, there are currently no specific foods that need to be avoided or a particular style of eating that needs to be followed while taking it.

CONCLUSION

Contrave is a new weight loss pill that shows promise for being able to act on the brain's pathways that control cravings and appetite. This new kind of drug, which combines two different kinds of psychopharmaceuticals, is predicted to be the wave of the future for diet pills.

Contrave is still awaiting FDA approval.

Common Misspellings

contrav, contreve, contrive, contrave diet, contrave diet pill, wellbutrin diet pill, crave diet pills, cuntrave, contreav

Related Diets: Alli, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Contrave?