Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 268 reviews
Contrave

Contrave Diet Pill Review: Does it Work?

A breakthrough diet pill that attacks cravings and appetite.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2017
What is it?

Contrave is a weight loss pill that claims it’s the #1 prescribed medication for weight loss. It’s made up of an antidepressant drug and an appetite reducing drug.

Diet and exercise are required, and the intended results are to help rewire brain chemistry to reduce eating. The company does admit it’s not sure how this brand can help with weight loss, but they state that it may help. Since it’s a prescription drug, it’s only offered if a doctor recommends it.  Contrave is only allowed for those with a BMI of 30 or higher, or those with a BMI of 27 or higher with an obesity related disease. You’ll learn in this review about what it can do for weight loss, how customers rate it, and other important facts.

In reviewing many weight loss diet pills, our review experts have found Sletrokor to be the most effective. It offers natural plant based extracts that are free of stimulants and made to help promote well rounded weight loss. For more information on Sletrokor click on the link cited here.  

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2017?


Contrave Ingredients and Side Effects

Naltrexone Hydrochloride

Bupropion Hydrochloride

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Hydroxypropryl Cellulose

Lactose Anhydrous

L-cysteine hydrochloride

Crospovidone

Magnesium Stearate

Hypromellose

Edetate Disodium

Lactose Monohydrate

Colloidal Silicon Dioxide

Opadry II Blue

FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake

 

 

Naltrexone Hydrochloride: This drug is usually used to help give relief to those addicted to opioids. It blocks the absorption of opioid drugs such as heroin, pain pills, and more.

It is also used alongside therapy and support for helping relieve addictions.  Possible side effects are many and they include:

  • Nausea, anxiety, and dizziness.
  • Insomnia, abdominal pain, and restlessness.
  • Muscle aches, joint and bone pain, and runny nose.
  • Hallucinations, confusion, and withdrawal symptoms.
  • Serious allergic reactions, swelling, and hives.

Drugs.com also adds:

“Patients should be warned of the risk of hepatic injury”

“Depression, suicide, attempted suicide and suicidal ideation have been reported”

It may also negatively interactions with other medications and supplements. It’s advised to seek the support of a medical doctor, and to be aware of a potential for serious allergic effects.

This takes awareness of one’s own experience with medication, and to be aware of any symptoms that aren’t normal. Click on the link here for a list of the top ranked weight loss diet pills.

Bupropion Hydrochloride: Drug used to treat depression. It changes chemicals in the brain and is used to produce a good feeling. There’s also use of it for helping treat addiction, and to lower the risk of anxiety.

It’s advised not to take this if one has a history of heart, kidney, liver, or brain problems.  Possible side effects can include:

  • Insomnia, restlessness, and sweating.
  • Nausea, vomiting, and dizziness.
  • Ringing in the ears, headache, and dry mouth.
  • Increased blood pressure, irregular heartbeat, and memory loss.
  • Anxiety, agitation, and unusual weight loss or weight gain.
  • Difficulty concentrating, confusion, and erratic behavior.

There are several other possible side effects, and it’s advised to seek medical attention for certain symptoms. In some people this may cause a serious allergic reaction. According to the Annals of Internal Medicine:

“bupropion… promote modest weight loss when given along with recommendations for diet”

This effect was not seen in all people, and there’s still the risk for serious potential side effects.

Due to this ingredients effects on mood, boxed of Contrave come with a warning that it may increase the likelihood of suicide. That’s why it’s highly advised to monitor any mood changes, and to seek the continued support of a certified physician.

Opadry II Blue:  A patented form of food coloring. It’s used to help coat pills and to make them easier to absorb.

It’s unknown what possible side effects it may have.

FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake: Artificial food dye often found in pill coatings. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to give the pills a blue color.

There’s a possibility for it causing allergic raections and hypearctiivy in certain people.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Contrave Quality of Ingredients

This brand is made with 2 active ingredients, a drug often used to block opioids and a drug that helps decrease appetite and reduce the risk of depression. There are several possible side effects to consider, and not everyone reacts to this combination the same.

There are also a lot of considerations asuch as avoiding high fat meals, starting with small amounts to start with then building up, and not mixing it alongside certan ingredints. It’s also recommended to avoid this if one has a history of certain illnesses, or if one is prone to seizure.

The ingredients added to this formula may produce a weight loss effect, but only certain peoole can even consider taking it. Still, a doctor needs to prescribe it and deem a person healthy , yet still obese enough to take it.

The manfacturers state this is only a short term solution, and that diet and exercise are necessary.  Due to all these issues, the quality of ingredients is very poor.  The list of top 10 diet pill supplements has the best weight loss solutions.


The Price and Quality of Contrave

Pricing can vary on Contrave, with estimates around $55 a month to $200 a month depending on location, dosing ,and whether or not insurance covers it.

Since only 2 of the ingredients are actually active, the majority are added to either stabilize the capsules, or to give them a unique color.  These inactive ingredients have no weight loss effect at all.

No long term study has been performed to show what kinds of cardiovascular effects it may have. So it’s unknown what the potential rate of heart damage might be.

This brand is particularly expensive, and the manufacturers admit they’re not certain how it works. There are other options for weight loss such as the top 10 diet pills featured when you click here.

Before being able to use this brand one has to consider several possivle inteactions.  There is also nio guarantee of safety or effecitvneess.  Still, evne with a doctors prescription, it’s unknown how this drug may affect you. You’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Contrave” section that many failed to experience any results, and that side effects were a major issue.

Business of Contrave

The owners go by the name of Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc. They can be reached via the following:

Phone Number: (877) 825-3327

Address:  One Takeda Parkway

                   Deerfield, Illinois 60015

Since it’s a prescription drug, no returns are allowed on Contrave.

The company has had major lawsuits for creating harmful drugs. A $2.37 billion settlement was givne to 9,000 people who suffered from bladder cancer.

A $37 million dollar fine was also imposed for them hidng the risk of cancer in one of their drugs.  The company was going to conduct a long-term study on cardiovascular effects of Contrave, but they cut it short and did not release any of the findings.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Contrave

Many reviews are avialble online, here’s what a few users had to say:

“I could not take this pill, I was physically drained”

“Garbage. I didn’t lose a pound”

“I’m rapidly gaining weight. I gained 8lbs in 30 days”

“I took it for 4 months and didn’t lose any weight”

Though some did lose weight, there were often common complaints that include anxiety, restlessness, extreme fatigue, headaches, and loss of sex drive, mood swings, and many other issues.

The most often listed side effect was fatigue. Many were unable to continue doing their regular routine, as they were often bedridden.

Drugs.com compiled a list of the ratings, and the average rating for weight loss was 5.9 out of 10. Many thought it was an unfavorable drug. Oddly enough, some people actually gained weight.

Nor everyone reacts to this drug the same, the major problem was a lack of consistency. Unlike supplements, this drug works deep within the brain to change how chemicals are sent. When dealing with drugs like this, it’s impossible for anyone to determine what a likely affect might be. Though as mentioned, no returns are offered.


Conclusion - Does Contrave Work?

When analyzing Contrave it’s important to look at the customer reviews, what considerations need to be made, and how the manufacturers operate. Not only are there several serious potential side effects, but the makers have no idea exactly how this drug works. Diet and exercise are required, and it’s not guaranteed for weight loss as no money back policy is offered. The manufacturers have also lost lawsuits for making drugs that caused cancer and organ damage. Contrave requires a lot of considerations, and may people failed to see any weight loss.

The 2017 best supplement of the year award was won by Sletrokor. It contains only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and it’s available without a prescription. This diet pill has helped people lose weight, and you can read real testimonials from satisfied customers on their website. Sletrokor has plant extracts which have been clinically studied. The benefits are numerous and they include improved mood, suppressed appetite, increased metabolism, regulated blood sugar levels, increased energy, and much more.

Sletrokor is also offered risk free; it’s backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed with no questions asked. To learn more about Sletrokor, click here.

How Does Contrave Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 9, 164 total comments)

Cee

I am just starting will check back iin about 3 weeks. So far so good.

posted Aug 26th, 2017 7:34 am


Gloria

I been on Contrave for 2 weeks so far no major side affect , also no carving for sweets, so far so good.

posted Aug 16th, 2017 9:43 am


Nancy L

I have been on it for 1 week now, only side effect so far is not being able to fall asleep, I do feel more calmer, have quit smoking, and also as someone mentioned in another post I have also lost my taste for coffee. I have lost 3 #s and am hoping to see it keep coming off in the future.

posted Aug 10th, 2017 10:07 am


deby

I liked it the first 3-4 months I took it. Didn't really have to many side effects besides a little jittery. I lost 25 pounds and I've been taking it another 4 months and have maintained but not lost any more. I'm going to quit it and see if I still maintain. I need to loose at least 30 more.

posted Jul 16th, 2017 11:37 am


Madi

I am only on the Contrave a week. The symptom I am having is the Nausea which comes and goes. I am down 10 lbs already though from when I went to the doctor which was 2 weeks ago.

posted Jul 13th, 2017 11:22 am


Sher

I just started Contrave today. So far okay. I am only taking one pill a day so I was pretty hungry this evening. I did okay watching my food intake until dinner time What I want to know is if I can have a glass of wine at dinner time with my husband and fit it into my diet plan: Weight Watchers lets you count points, I'm counting points with the Contrave. I'm so scared I'll get violently ill from all the reviews. Does anybody have one or two 5 ounce glasses of wine while on Contrave? I understand excessive drinking is prohibited but a glass of wine is not excessive, What do I do? Will drinking a couple glasses of wine with food make me sick ???? How much damage will I do to myself if I try a glass of wine. So scary. Doctor did not mention no alcohol ever!!

posted Jun 23rd, 2017 10:24 pm


Alisha W

I have been on Contrave for the last three days. I have only experienced being sleepy if I am sitting around. I feel like I could nap any time I am not up and moving. I can pass up larger meals until around 4 pm and then I am more hungry again. I might just need to wait to up my dose, but I don't feel too much of a change other then being sleepy.

posted Jun 20th, 2017 10:40 am


Elizabeth

I am going on trip. What effect will have if I drink alcohol.

posted Jun 16th, 2017 2:12 pm


Renae

Within a year's time, I have lost 85 pounds!! Taking Contrave, along with daily attendance to the gym (at 3:40am) and eating a low carb diet, has given me a new body, higher energy, and many compliments from people. I only wish I would have done this years ago when my six children were small!!

posted Jun 8th, 2017 8:40 am


Faye

Did anyone experince any emotional issues? Felling anxious or get sad very easily? No thoughts of hurting myself or anything like that just I find when I first take the pills in the morning I feel very anxious. Good Note is that I have been on it for 3 weeks and have lost 7 pounds so far. #looking for some answers

posted May 31st, 2017 1:11 pm


Lola

βœ¨πŸŽ€ I take 2 pills everyday, one and the Morning and one and the afternoon...
βœ¨πŸŽ€ I always take my pill every time I eat
This way I don't feel sick 🀒...
βœ¨πŸŽ€ I run πŸƒ... 45 minutes and the morning and another 45 minutes and the afternoon, ✨ My gol is Burn 2,300 calorías everyday.!!
βœ¨πŸŽ€ So far I went from 189 pounds to 162 pounds and one month....

βœ¨πŸŽ€ Drink water πŸ’¦ water water and more water πŸ’¦
🚫 No sodas 🚫No bread 🚫No rice 🚫Nothing oily.!!

βœ¨πŸŽ€ Eat watermelon πŸ‰ this makes me feel full..
and a lot of Vegetables πŸ₯’ πŸ₯‘πŸŒ½πŸ₯•πŸ†πŸ…πŸŒΆπŸ₯œπŸˆπŸ‹πŸ‡πŸŽπŸ‰πŸŒπŸπŸπŸ‡πŸŠπŸ³πŸ₯—
βœ¨πŸŽ€πŸ‘‘

posted May 22nd, 2017 12:27 pm


Monica Ladd Kimbrough

I've lost 62 lbs. I tried everything including surgeries. I'm now st my normal weight and happy

posted May 12th, 2017 1:41 pm


Fran

'At first felt sick but that got better after a few weeks. I do get some anxiety when I ride with someone in a car and they drive fast. I lost between 5 and 10 lbs. It goes up and down. But I don't crave food all the time especially sweets. I have been using it for about 6 weeks and plan on continuing to use it for awhile longer and not eating so much bread and that probably will help me to loss more weight.

posted May 8th, 2017 8:11 pm


Debra

I have been taking Contrave for about 4 days and I have already lost 5 pounds and I find that amazing. The only problem that I have is I am very thirsty all I want to drink is water and I hate drinking water. I have been reading and the side effects about, headaches​, insomnia, and dry mouth; I had already been having those problems for years, so that really doesn't bother me. I will continue to take Contrave and I will provide more feedback.

posted May 4th, 2017 11:26 am


Rebecca

I'm just beginning week 4 (2 in the morning and 2 in the evening). I have purposely avoided the scales because I knew if I wasn't losing like I hope to I would give up. Well this morning I stepped on the scales and I could cry. I have gained 12 pounds in 3 weeks!!!! Plus, these pills make me feel drained - nice at bedtime but not so good when you have a fast-paced job and are trying to keep up. In the beginning I was nauseous constantly. I've noticed no change in my 'brain chemistry' as it said and I realize now that the terrible ringing in my ears is a side-effect of this medicine. I'm very disappointed because I cut my meals down, have tried to make better choices and was hoping fervently that this medication would help me lose this weight ... now I need to lose 100 pounds!!!

posted Mar 18th, 2017 8:31 am


Melissa

I have been on contrave for 3 weeks now and I love it. I was 85 lbs over weight. I've lost 12 lbs so far. I have high bp maintained by medication, and I check it every day and it hasn't risen. I feel normal. I don't feel like I have tons of energy or tired. I am sleeping well and have no problems with constipation like some people. I changed how I eat a year ago and couldn't lose weight. I eat healthy, no pop or junk food. Veggies, fruit, chicken. My big problem before was I was always very hungry at night. Now I have diner and am able to stop eating. Before it was like I couldn't stop. I felt so hungry late at night. Now I am able to listen to my body and say, I've had enough. Like when I was younger. Before having kids. I just hope this continues to work for me and I don't gain weight back when I'm done. I also suffer from SAD and my mood has been better since taking this as well.

posted Mar 4th, 2017 8:03 pm


KellyAnn

I've been taking it for several months and have lost 55 pounds. More importantly, I have kept it off. I've always been a yo-yo dieter and this is the first time I've lost weight and sustained it for any length of time.
It's not a magic pill and you still have to follow a healthy diet and exercise regularly. You can't continue to eat junk and expect to lose weight because of a pill.
The main side effect for me is incredibly active dreams which wake me several times per night. In the beginning, there were some issues with constipation but that seems to get better by adding more veggies and water to my diet.

posted Feb 26th, 2017 12:12 pm


Alicia Green

Amazing

posted Jan 18th, 2017 10:47 pm


Karen

I have had no side affects as yet. Still my first week. BUT in the first three days I lost 3 lbs! I have less cravings and eat smaller portions. Since one pill a day is working for me so far, I may try this dose longer than a week. I am encouraged by the results thus far!

posted Jan 14th, 2017 7:26 pm


heather

why is it people think that if they take a pill they don't have to make any efforts to lose the weight? I am interested very much in this but my Doctor just refuses, he states its due to diet coke. I don't believe that. I have read a lot of postings and things were great but they never mentioned about any exercising being done to increase the weight loss. That is what I want to know, does the weight fall off better with a exercise program. I REALLY want this pill, I am tired of yo-yo dieting.

posted Jan 12th, 2017 6:24 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

While most diet pills are a dime a dozen, once in awhile a promising weight loss pill hits the market that causes even the most skeptical of medical professionals to stop and listen. Contrave is one such product.

Developed by Orexigen Therapeutics, Contrave is actually the combination of two different drugs: The antidepressant medication, buproprion, or Wellbutrin, and the drug naltrexone, which is used to treat alcohol and opiate addiction.

Rather than working to block fat or starches like many prescribed diet pills do, Contrave unleashes its power on the brain, where it works to quell cravings in the brain's highly complex behavior-reward center, and also to temper appetite.

In late-stage clinical trials, Contrave has fared much better than the FDA's standards for improving weight loss, exceeding by five percent. Rather, those who took Contrave while also following a diet and exercise program lost between nine and 15 percent of their body weight while those who did not lost just about five percent of their body weight.

Contrave has also shown few side effects and notably absent are mental health and uncomfortable physical side effects that often come from taking weight loss pills. In fact, those studied showed an improved quality of life while taking the pill.

Contrave is being slated as a chronic diet pill; if you take it and lose weight you will have to continue to take it in order to maintain lost weight. One of the downfalls with most of the diet pills on the market, whether or not they require a prescription, is that once you stop taking them, weight is easily regained. Since Contrave specifically acts on the centers of the brain that govern overeating behaviors and craving desires, there is hope that its ability to suppress these processes will lead to long-term weight loss.

As of July 2009, Orexigen Therapeutics is seeking FDA approval. When and if Contrave is approved for consumer use, it will require a prescription from a medical professional.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

PROPRO
  • Shows promise in late-stage clinical trials
  • Exceeding FDA standards in trials
  • Cocktail-like therapy may be the benchmark for future diet pills
  • Few side effects
  • Weight loss is greater than placebo alone
  • If approved, requires a prescription
CONCON
  • May need to take diet pill chronically
  • Weight loss advantage is not that significant
  • Not a magic solution to healthy eating behaviors and to a healthy weight
  • Still awaiting FDA approval
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

Contrave is a breakthrough weight loss drug because it contains both buproprion and naltrexone.

Buprupion is also known as the branded prescription drug Wellbutrin, a quality anti-depressant.

Naltrexone is a prescription drug used to treat addiction, in cases such as smoking, alcohol or even opiates.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

Contrave will likely be taken daily. Since the drug is awaiting FDA approval, precise dosage instructions are not yet available.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet and regular exercise program is followed while taking Contrave. Since this drug does not act on the stomach, there are currently no specific foods that need to be avoided or a particular style of eating that needs to be followed while taking it.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Contrave is a new weight loss pill that shows promise for being able to act on the brain's pathways that control cravings and appetite. This new kind of drug, which combines two different kinds of psychopharmaceuticals, is predicted to be the wave of the future for diet pills.

Contrave is still awaiting FDA approval.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

contrav, contreve, contrive, contrave diet, contrave diet pill, wellbutrin diet pill, crave diet pills, cuntrave, contreav

Related Diets: Alli, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Contrave?