Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 28 reviews

Suzanne Somers

Her Somersize program has helped thousand lose weight.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

If you're looking for Suzanne Somers Sexy Forever, click here to see our review.

With more than 13 published diet books, a line of self-branded food and beverages, kitchen appliances and the infamous Thighmaster, Suzanne Somers has come a long way since her days as loveable Chrissy on Three's Company.

Suzanne Somers has made quite an impression on the diet industry and continues to help people battle their weight with her Somersize program. The plan boasts seven books written by Somers, creating a blueprint for this carb-minded diet plan.

PRO
  • Gives good advice about cutting out refined carbs and processed foods.
CON
  • Has some controversial views, like the idea that certain foods shouldn't be eaten at the same time.
  • Very low-calorie.
  • Not an expert in health, fitness, nor nutrition.
DIET and NUTRITION

The Somersize program is a rigid two-phase plan averaging 1,200 calories/day. The first phase focuses on weight loss and strictly limits carbs, while the second phase focuses on maintenance. While following Somers' program you'll consume less carbs and more proteins. You can enjoy chicken, fish and steak, as well as butter and cream. You'll also incorporate low-starch veggies, fresh fruit and whole grain pasta.

The Somersize program mirrors other popular low-carb diets, like Atkins, but offers Suzanne's personal touch. You'll get to eat what you want, as long as you follow her "Super Seven Rules."

  1. Avoid sugar and foods that break down to become sugar.
  2. Do eat protein and vegetables together.
  3. Do consume carbs and vegetables together.
  4. Do not eat carbs with protein and fat.
  5. Do not skip meals.
  6. Only eat fresh fruit on an empty stomach by itself.
  7. Let three hours pass before changing combinations.
EXERCISE

Suzanne Somers is famous for her fitness gadgets. She does 30 minutes a day, three days a week.

CONCLUSION

Thousands of people have found weight loss success with the Somers plan.

Common Misspellings

Susan Sommers, Sussane, Suzanne Summers, Summers, Suzanne Somers, Susan Summers, Suesan Sommers, sexy forever, slim and sexy forever


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels, Sexy Forever, Food Combining, Low-Carb Diet, Sugar Busters!, Marilu Henner Total Health Makeover, Slim and Sexy Forever



Wikipedia

Suzanne Somers (born October 16, 1946) is an American actress, author, and businesswoman. Best known for her role as the ditzy blonde Chrissy Snow on the ABC sitcom ''Three's Company'', she also had a noted starring role on the sitcom ''Step by Step'' as Carol Foster Lambert. She later capitalized on her acting career by also establishing herself as an author of a series of self-help books. She has released two autobiographies, two self-help books, four diet books, and a book about hormone replacement therapy. She currently features items of her design on the Home Shopping Network.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 46 total comments)

KatieB

Eat great and still lose weight. At first it was hard to figure out what to eat when but once you understand why and understand the foods that you eat it all makes sense and the reward is lost weight and folks thinking you went to a retreat for freshening up. All that from eating properly... the Somersizing way! Definitely worth trying

posted Jul 5th, 2012 8:15 am


Donna Gaut

I!m so over weight I just don!t like myself any more.I have to do somthing. I!m 70 years old and feel 80.I!mwanting to feel good and loo I well do what I have to to get to my goal.k good for my age.I!m 5foot 5 in.And I feel 4footand3in.

posted May 27th, 2012 8:57 pm


sgt yok

This diet works, and is simple. you eat your fruits as much as you want in the morning, wait 3 hours and then eat your protein and veggies throughout the day. She says 1200 calories, but you will lose eating way more than that. I lost 26 lbs in 14 weeks, and the hardest part was ordering my triple cheese burger with no bun! Felt like i was getting ripped off without the bread. But there is no counting calories, or weighing or anything. learn the acceptable combos, and eat away. heres the tough part. no bread with your meat, no potatoes ever, or carrots for that matter. no white flour, but you can have pasta made with whole wheat, but no meat in it! and you are not supposed to have sauce with sugar, but you can if its a small amount, Ketchup also, (sugar in the sauce), I ate it and still lost my weight. give it a try you won't be disappointed.

posted Feb 7th, 2012 1:34 am


crosswind

I've eaten this way for 5 yrs and definitely helps my IBS. I first heard about food combining from Suzanne then, more details with fruit and raw food combining from Frederic Patenaude's book. I highly recommend if you have slow, abnormal digestion issues.

posted Jan 13th, 2012 5:39 pm


talouse

Has anyone tried Suzanne Somer's weightloss supplement? Suzanne Sommers weightloss pills

posted Aug 25th, 2011 1:19 pm


kate

LOVE LOVE LOVE this diet! I have been on it for 3 weeks and lost 7 lbs!

posted Mar 16th, 2011 11:59 am


jo

It's food combining , remember fit for life back in the 70's. it's pretty much the same it really works cause your body uses up your sugar reserve. the correct combination of foods keeps it from turning to sugar . Those having trouble understanding it will become as easy as knowing your own name. My children know it by heart.We all do great when we keep up with the combo's .

Go to a party and have fruit , with cheese and crackers and wine ........ and your off. start all over again. my problem is i just loose between 7-9 lbs and can't get further each time. i really need to loose 35.

posted Mar 4th, 2011 11:19 am


Ashley

How much does Suzanne Somers weigh?

posted Mar 1st, 2011 11:21 am


Michelle

I tried this diet for the first time about seven years ago and couldn't believe the results. I lost weight and was never hungry on this diet. There are so many recipies to choose from and they taste great. My energy-level sky-rocketed. My friend had started the Atkins diet around the same time I started the somersize diet, but she quickly lost interest in it and seemed to stop loosing weight. I suggested the somersize diet and sure enough, she started loosing weight again. This diet really works!

posted Feb 20th, 2011 1:59 pm


ashley

Hey i read Suzanne book and i am eager to start this program and eating healthy. However i am just a bit confused about the dairy products. i understand you can have regular cheese for a protein meal but can i have LOWFAT cheese as well or is that a no no. Also under the Funky Foods it says you cant have low fat milk or whole milk is that lowfat just regarding milk or all dairy products. if someone can please help me with this id greatly appreciate it. And great job to those that already lost weight. :-)

posted Aug 11th, 2010 4:57 pm


Jeri Gray-Reneberg

I need to get back on it! It worked for me like no other diet. About nine years ago, I lost 35 pounds and kept it off for quite a while (until I experienced health problems, had surgery, and abandoned the diet for a while). I'm ready to get back on it! I still remember how easy it is to eat in restaurants...

posted Aug 6th, 2010 5:47 pm


Nancy Wooten

I also would like for you to comment on taking Zocor
and Fosamax - my DR wants me to keep taking the
medicines and I stopped since I was having muscle
problems - please let me know what you thing of
these two medicines. Thank you,
Nancy

posted Jul 23rd, 2010 10:25 am


Gordon Bjorklund

Atm age 19 I waighted 163 pounds. I am now 79 years old and yesterday at the doctors scale I was 165 pounds The one thing that I do not do is drink during a meal. Suzannes Diet also recommends this and I believe that obesity in our young is a result of the fast food places promoting cola drinks as part of the meal.Our Govt should put a stop to this as it affects our health costs but this is what has happened while 440,000 lost their lives to smoking each year. Lets wake up to good health promoted by Suzanne.

posted Apr 14th, 2010 4:37 pm


M Coady

I have Somersized for years now. Both for weight loss, and for "maintaining". My doctor could not believe how low my "bad" cholesterol was and how good my "good" cholesterol was. She wished all her patients had such excellent reviews!

posted Mar 11th, 2010 8:10 am


Jenniferw

The description of this diet in the article above is incorrect. It is NOT a carb restricted diet or a low calorie diet at all. It is all about combining certain foods with each other for maximum digestion and utilization by the body.

The concept is weird, but this diet works. The rules are complex, so buy the book as most info online is incorrect. I found that I had to constantly refer to the book in the beginning because it is so different from any other diet I have tried. (I bought my books at Half-Price books). Make sure you follow the rules as small indiscretions torpedoed my efforts. Otherwise, the weight came off easily. Oh, I ate loads of great food, with fresh fruit, vegetables, rich cheese sauces, and even whole-grain pasta. I didn't feel deprived at all like on the protein-heavy diets like Atkins. Somers' diet made me healthier.

posted Dec 31st, 2009 12:00 pm


jenniferw

First, the summary of the diet in the article above is incorrect. You CAN have protein with vegetables, but not "carbos." The diet is very different from any other I have ever done and takes a while to figure out since Somers makes up her own categories like "carbos."

I thought this diet would never work. I still haven't figured out any physiological reason why food combining would aid weight loss. But it DOES WORK! I got back down to my teenage weight while eating a lot of food----I was never hungry.

The cons would be that it is complicated to figure out what goes together. I discovered that adding a small "carbo" to a protein/veggie meal would add weight. With me, small indiscretions really foiled weight loss, so I had to be exacting. Getting rid of all potatoes, corn, and sugar was HARD! So many things in our American diet contain these products from bread to salad dressing to condiments. Also, I found many of Suzanne's recipes to be too involved for my busy family. I had to create my own. With four kids and a hectic life, I didn't have time for a daily gourmet experience!

If you have patience and a clear understanding of the food you should combine, the weight will come off. And you will have tons of energy.

posted Dec 31st, 2009 11:44 am


shrly

my weight inched up day by day, even though I was eating very little. I bought SS"s books at a discount. Best dam bargain I've ever had. My weight is still on the descent without starving. Each time I weigh my self, I expect to see another pound added, instead, I see another pound gone! Just can't get used to the results! It doesn't take an expert, just the right information. Summers ought to start wt loss studios combined with the right kind of exercise and how to eat right. Thank you SS

posted Dec 5th, 2009 3:19 pm


Cindi

I love somersize. Her food is awesome, and I feel good when I eat this way.

posted Oct 13th, 2009 3:16 pm


Amy

Do this diet to the T. NO Sugar, NO caffeine , no alcohol, No WHite flour or rice and you will loose weight. I have done this twice in my life and each time in 2 weeks you notice the difference. ITs been 5 weeks now and no one can believe how much thinner I am. ANd I Eat way more than I use to. I sleep better and wake up better. I feel awesome. If only everyone had the willpower. Once you see the weight come off with no effort other than eating right, you will never want to cheat on this wonderful eating plan. Suzanne has changed my life. TWICE. Thanks, I love you! Next is the face muscle thinging.

posted Sep 22nd, 2009 10:00 pm


Christa S

I love this diet! I started off at 232 LBS January of 2008 by March 13 I was at 196! I was so happy with the results and the best part is you don't feel deprived or tired. It truly does work and the ounds literally melt off. I did little xercise, if anything I walked with my dog at night and still dropped the weight. I started excercising more and as of today I am 176. I have been off the plan for quite some time so I can say that even when you get back into bad habits the weight does not pile back on like most plans. I still eat healthy but I have my days :o) I would recommend this for anyone, my co-workers started this as well and it worked for all of them. I am excited to get back on it, it's the only thing that has worked so well for me! Good louck to you all!

posted Aug 24th, 2009 12:58 pm



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account