Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 28 reviews

Suzanne Somers

Her Somersize program has helped thousand lose weight.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

If you're looking for Suzanne Somers Sexy Forever, click here to see our review.

With more than 13 published diet books, a line of self-branded food and beverages, kitchen appliances and the infamous Thighmaster, Suzanne Somers has come a long way since her days as loveable Chrissy on Three's Company.

Suzanne Somers has made quite an impression on the diet industry and continues to help people battle their weight with her Somersize program. The plan boasts seven books written by Somers, creating a blueprint for this carb-minded diet plan.

Visit the Official Suzanne Somers Site

PRO
  • Gives good advice about cutting out refined carbs and processed foods.
CON
  • Has some controversial views, like the idea that certain foods shouldn't be eaten at the same time.
  • Very low-calorie.
  • Not an expert in health, fitness, nor nutrition.
DIET and NUTRITION

The Somersize program is a rigid two-phase plan averaging 1,200 calories/day. The first phase focuses on weight loss and strictly limits carbs, while the second phase focuses on maintenance. While following Somers' program you'll consume less carbs and more proteins. You can enjoy chicken, fish and steak, as well as butter and cream. You'll also incorporate low-starch veggies, fresh fruit and whole grain pasta.

The Somersize program mirrors other popular low-carb diets, like Atkins, but offers Suzanne's personal touch. You'll get to eat what you want, as long as you follow her "Super Seven Rules."

  1. Avoid sugar and foods that break down to become sugar.
  2. Do eat protein and vegetables together.
  3. Do consume carbs and vegetables together.
  4. Do not eat carbs with protein and fat.
  5. Do not skip meals.
  6. Only eat fresh fruit on an empty stomach by itself.
  7. Let three hours pass before changing combinations.
EXERCISE

Suzanne Somers is famous for her fitness gadgets. She does 30 minutes a day, three days a week.

CONCLUSION

Thousands of people have found weight loss success with the Somers plan.

Common Misspellings

Susan Sommers, Sussane, Suzanne Summers, Summers, Suzanne Somers, Susan Summers, Suesan Sommers, sexy forever, slim and sexy forever


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels, Sexy Forever, Food Combining, Low-Carb Diet, Sugar Busters!, Marilu Henner Total Health Makeover, Slim and Sexy Forever



Wikipedia

Suzanne Somers (born October 16, 1946) is an American actress, author, and businesswoman. Best known for her role as the ditzy blonde Chrissy Snow on the ABC sitcom ''Three's Company'', she also had a noted starring role on the sitcom ''Step by Step'' as Carol Foster Lambert. She later capitalized on her acting career by also establishing herself as an author of a series of self-help books. She has released two autobiographies, two self-help books, four diet books, and a book about hormone replacement therapy. She currently features items of her design on the Home Shopping Network.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 46 total comments)

Geri

Went on this diet a few years ago. I could not believe how easy it was to make healthy food with so much flavor. The pounds just melted away (20 lbs before I knew it). Amazing how much better I felt once sugar was out of my system....and I did not even miss it !!!

posted Aug 24th, 2009 11:11 am


marian swinson

I have been told that I am pre-diabetic
will your diet work for me-I have ll of your books-love love them
I am so scared-my mother has lost
eye sight in both eyes due to diabetes

I would appreciate any work of help

marian

posted Jun 19th, 2009 1:12 pm


dora Levinson-Kogan

i like to know about a cruise

posted Jun 9th, 2009 7:27 pm


Leslie

Very satisfying way of eating. Lost weight easily on this plan. I had trouble sticking to it long-term though.

posted Apr 20th, 2009 5:49 pm


JD

I started this diet in May of 2008. I lost 26lbs on it. For the first few weeks, it didn't work as well, but after that, the lbs came right off. I had always been an exercise nut, but my nutrition was poor. On this diet, I put the effort into my diet, and really put exercise as a lower priority. It worked. I'd exercise 3-4 days a week, and that helped, but it was the combination of foods that I paid most attention too. I have no idea why her diet works the way it does, but I still do my best not to mix carbs with proteins or fats. When I consume carbs, I give body an hour to digest them before I eat another meal.
Also, I did not cut out caffeine.

posted Mar 23rd, 2009 11:32 am


Lisa

Very enjoyable foods to eat. Lbs. melt off.
Even for a 53 yr old woman!

posted Feb 16th, 2009 6:13 pm


Daisy

I did not lose 1 single pound for 4 weeks. I suspect my metabolism was really jacked up. Then one fine day I weighed myself and I had lost a few. After that it just started melting away. I was discouraged at first but Ikept with it because she does say that sometimes it can take a while. For me it did but it was worth it. I lost 24 pounds and it was pretty easy - a little frustrating at first. I have kept most of the weight off for 3 years 5-7 lbs here and there.

posted Feb 14th, 2009 11:10 am


simone

have been doing this diet for 3 months and haven't lost one pound. I am not overweight but wanted test it

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 1:07 am


Ann

I have went on this diet several times and every timeit has worked for me I have a problem with staying on one eating plan I get cought up with the diets that are on the covers of magazines I get cought up in them and go off of suzannes diet and I am sorry that I did so I have to go back on her plan and it is not hard but I guess it is my down fall to try every diet I see I am 37 years old and I have fought my weight all of my life and I only found this diet out a few years ago so I am still in the mind frame that you have to shop around for a new diet every few months but that is not true I am going back on suzannes plan on monday maybe this time I will have learned my lesson and I will stay with it fpr the rest of my life, pray for me to smarten up, lol, thanks for the diet suzanne

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 10:12 pm


Barbara

Januray 12, 2008, I picked up to read Suzanne's book Fast & Easy, it clicked, I lost 20 lbs in 3 weeks, I now have lost a total of 70 lbs and I'm hoping for more, it is easy for me, I hate counting calories or points, I can see myself being on the diet the rest of my life. I have cheated a couple of times and gained a couple of pounds to lose them in a week or two. I have almost lost what I gained Christmas, I know I will gain a couple of pounds for New Years, but it will be off in no time. THANKS SUZANNE!!!

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:07 am


Monae Richards

I tried this diet 4 years ago and lost an amazing 35 lbs in just under 3 months. It was difficult the first week, but after that, it became a life style. Just be careful once you lose the weight not to reintroduce bad habits!

posted Dec 20th, 2008 11:51 pm


kim

I read a clip in a magazine one morning. Decided to try it just for that day.... it was so easy and the food was so good i kept doing it. I lost 8 lbs my first week... I continue losing just about daily. It's been almost 4 mos and I've lost 37 lbs with no counting calories, I eat whenever I am hungry and oh, it is soooo easy for me. I love it.

posted Nov 7th, 2008 8:03 am


Robin Harter

I tried this diet after I had my second child. It was amazing how quickly the inches came off. I had more energy than I'd ever had before. I recommend this diet to everyone!

posted Nov 6th, 2008 9:28 pm


Jesse Chappell

WOW! I have tried EVERYTHING! Atkins, Slim Fast, 5 small meals a day, low fat, no fat, calorie counting, diet tea's, diet pills, running 30 miles a week even... THIS IS THE ONLY THING THAT HAS EVER WORKED! I have lost 12 pounds in 3 months and I am now back to eating the things I love occasionally and havent gained at all...I am going to go back to phase 1 to lose another 10 but then I am done. THIS WORKS!!!!!

posted Oct 13th, 2008 7:32 pm


CAROL

I HAVE LOST 40 POUNDS I FEEL GREAT AND THIS IS FAR FROM A DIET ITS TRUE IT WORKS AND ALL IT IS, IS COMMON SENSE AND WATCH HOW YOU MIX YOUR FOOD....YOU ARE AWESOME SUSAN SOMMERS

posted Jun 30th, 2008 4:44 pm


Maggi

I believe you only give up coffee for the first 2 weeks. It is so worth it. The diet is fun, the books are fantastic and I am truly grateful for Suzanne.

posted May 6th, 2008 8:54 am


suzanne's #1 fan

The part about calorie counting couldn't be farther from the truth. This is the only program I have ever heard of where you don't count calories or points or anything else for that matter. It's all about food combining. That's it!! It is so easy. I lost 6 lbs in 2 weeks and for me that is a huge compliment. I love Suzanne and think that she is a godsent for sending us this fabulous program.

posted Apr 14th, 2008 11:30 am


Suzanne

Suzanne Somers is such and ageless-diva ! somersizing is the only thing that has worked for me! I have lost 30 and kept it off.

posted Mar 26th, 2008 9:39 am


Mona

This is the best diet, easy to understand and you don't ave to think anymore. I lost 18 pds. in 2.5 weeks, also exercised, but had the energy for the first in my life, to actually exercise. Because its based on eating extremely healthily. She is a genius, I swear. I love this diet. She also has a website that people go to and write in recipe's and chat.

posted Mar 18th, 2008 3:04 pm


Somersizer

Rules number 2 is NOT true; it is not part of the Somersize recommendations. This diet is great! Eating carbs and drinking diet sodas (and real ones) will make you crave more carbs. Once you get away from the sugar you don't crave it anymore.



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account