Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 67 reviews

South Beach Diet

Dr. Agaston teaches you how you can get a South Beach body.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1995
  • Founder: Dr. Arthur Agatston
  • Headquarters: Miami Beach, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online, Books
  • Diet Type: High protein, Low carb
  • Gender: Male and Female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a diet plan that has grown wildly popular over the past few years, gives your eating habits a dramatic makeover, and shares the name of one of the world's favorite beaches, then the South Beach Diet is for you. Dr. Arthur Agatston, a cardiologist, created this friendly contrast to other prohibitive weight-loss plans and offers a chance to achieve success where you might have previously failed.

The South Beach Diet differs from its low-carb competitor Atkins, in that it restricts saturated fats, which are linked with health problems like heart disease and high cholesterol. It promises that cravings for sugars, sweets and other carbohydrates will disappear as you go along because the diet is supposed to keep blood sugar levels maintained.

The South Beach Diet has three separate phases in which you'll wean yourself away from certain foods and incorporate other South Beach Diet "friendly" foods. The diet promises that you'll lose 8-12 pounds in the first two weeks as long as you adhere to the guidelines.

PRO
  • The South Beach Diet supports a clean way of eating that is void of refined sugars and trans fats
  • Its emphasis on fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and heart-healthy fats is an eating plan that is full of vitamins, minerals and essential fatty acids
  • Support from the medical science community
  • Thousands of satisfied clients
  • Updated its research in the 2008 release"South Beach Diet: Supercharged"
  • Has a maintenance plan
  • Named #5 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • Research shows that unless you're diabetic, sugar levels actually remain stable even if you eat a sugary candy bar
  • Many South Beach Diet food products contain sugar-alcohols, which may hard to tolerate
  • Not very vegetarian friendly
  • Its elimination of sugars, certain fruits like bananas and other carbohydrates make it difficult to maintain
  • Science behind Dr. Agatston's assertions about certain foods and their ability to raise blood sugar levels or put on weight is inaccurate
  • Original plan doesn't offer much for exercise guidelines
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am eating really satisfying food, which is a real treat, and consistently losing weight. Most importantly, Phase 1 has largely eliminated my sugars cravings, and that is a great relief! It's an amazing, healthy food plan. - Arlayna 5/28/11

Unless you are severe obese you are not going to loose as much weigh as the diet promises. I lost 2 pounds in the first week. It is really hard with no carbs at all. The cravings DO NOT go away. It just gets worse. I didn't cheat at all. I have to loose 20 pounds. My cholesterol is high and the dctor suggested the diet. I literally dream with carbs and I think that I would have lost the same with a different diet not soooo restrictive. - Tiredofdiets 2/1/11

A real quick success story. A coworker and I started the plan in February, he 2 weeks before I. As of today I am down 120lbs. He has reached his goal and is down 135lbs. I did not introduce an exercise plan untill I reached my first 100. The first 2 weeks suck, but once you break the cravings, everything becomes routine. - William 10/21/10

This is the healthiest eating plan I've ever seen. Tons of vegetables even in Phase 1, many of which provide vitamin C. There is meat, veggies and fudgesicles from the beginning and the short 2 week elimination of grains and fruit is a challenge the first few days, BUT any change of habit is. - Bree 8/22/09

Leave your own review and rating.

SOUTH BEACH DIET VIDEOS

Other videos

South Beach YouTube Channel

South Beach Diet Meal Plan

South Beach Diet Workout

DIET and NUTRITION

The first phase lasts for two weeks and has you remove starches like bread, pasta and rice, potatoes, fruits, milk, yogurt, honey and baked goods. Sugars are completely eliminated. During the first phase of South Beach, you'll enjoy three balanced meals and some snacks that should include lean meats and fish, eggs, low-fat cheese, fresh vegetables, beans and nuts.

Phase two of the South Beach Diet will allow you to slowly re-introduce fruits, whole-grain breads and pastas. You'll choose just one carbohydrate and include that in one meal each day for one week. You are encouraged to wait a few days and if there are no noticeable effects, introduce one more healthy carbohydrate. Continue this until you're able to successfully have two or three healthy carbohydrates each day. Phase two will continue until you meet your goal weight.

You'll begin the maintenance, or third, phase of South Beach once you've met your goal weight. It's here that you'll put to practice all that you learned in phases one and two.

The book and website offer many South Beach-friendly recipes. There is also a complete line of South Beach Diet foods that can be purchased in your grocery store from cereals to frozen meals. But many of the nutrition bars and snack items contain artificial sweeteners, which have been known to induce gastrointestinal problems.

If you become a member of the South Beach Diet web site, you will have access to specific meal plans for each phase of the program. You will also have access to a daily menu that you can customize to meet your specific tastes. The meals are only suggestions, but help give you some ideas to keep things fresh. Due to the first phase of the program being only two weeks, many of the recipes you will find for the South Beach Diet are for phase two of the program, which you stay on until you reach your goal weight. Below is a sample day of eating on the South Beach Diet during the second phase of the program:

  • Breakfast – Greet the Sun Breakfast Pizza; coffee or tea with low-fat or nonfat milk and a sugar substitute; Vegetable juice cocktail
  • Snack – Spicy Nut Mix
  • Lunch – Crisp Green Salad; Whole-Wheat Pizza Margherita
  • Snack – Veggies with Cilantro Pesto Dip
  • Dinner – Grilled Salmon; Edamame Salad; Baked Tomatoes with Basil and Parmesan; Mixed Field Greens Salad
  • Dessert – Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies
EXERCISE

The South Beach Diet encourages you to incorporate a regular exercise routine as part of leading a healthy lifestyle. Exercise not only helps you lose weight faster, but it can also make you feel healthier, stronger and more energized.

Working out not only helps you get past weight-loss plateaus and lose weight faster; it can also make your heart stronger. Dr. Agatston recommends that that you do at least 20 minutes of interval walking every other day of the week.

The South Beach Diet website features numerous articles and tips on how to fit in fitness into your daily routine regardless of how busy you are.

The updated version of the South Beach Diet called South Beach Diet Supercharged offers a fairly detailed exercise plan. The fitness plan works on areas of the core, cardio and strength and flexibility. All of these areas are important to shape a fit and healthy body. Online members will automatically have access to the Fitness Club which includes:

  • A daily walking routine
  • Hundreds of Pilates-based core movements including pictures and step-by-step videos
  • Exercises for every level from beginner to advanced

Simply incorporating the fitness program along with the South Beach Diet will allow you to tone your abs, boost your energy and help you break through plateaus.

See the South Beach Diet Supercharged review

SOUTH BEACH DIET FAQ

Common questions asked about the South Beach Diet by our community. Click each to see the full answer

What is the cost of the South Beach Diet program? - Mary 7/5/11

What kinds of food can you eat on the South Beach Diet? - Yoga Jim 2/21/11

CONCLUSION

You must wonder if the South Beach Diet is just another marketing attempt to motivate folks who are desperate to lose weight? With its strong assertions and its complete line of food products hitting grocery store shelves everywhere, makes you question how much of its appeal is fact or fiction? The truth is that any diet that cuts calories will help you lose weight. The South Beach Diet is no different.

It's encouragement of eating vegetables, lean proteins, and healthy fats is admirable. Its elimination of white sugar and refined carbohydrates is equally laudable albeit challenging to follow. And many people have had a lot luck losing weigh following the South Beach Diet. But the South Beach Diet itself has some scientific flaws and many nutritionists would argue that its promise of losing 8-12 pounds in 14 days is a bit aggressive and may not be able to stand up against the test of time.

But if you've got a lot of willpower and don't mind knowing that you might be buying into another fad diet, then this might be just the diet for you.

See the Official South Beach Diet Website

SOUTH BEACH DIET SLIDESHOWS

View About South Beach Diet Slideshow

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

SOUTH BEACH DIET RESOURCES

About the South Beach Diet at WebMD

South Beach Diet Recipes

South Beach Diet at Wikipedi

South Beach Diet Review at Mayo Clinic

South Beach Diet Contact Information
Common Misspellings

south beech diet, Southbeach diet, Sobe, SBD, South Beach, South Beech Diet, South Beach Deit, southbeach diet, southbeachdiet.com


Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, South Beach Diet Supercharged, Low-Carb Diet, Sugar Busters!


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 7, 133 total comments)

despointed

I started the South Beach diet 10 days ago. The first week I lost 2.5 pounds. It was really hard to stay away from carbs (I don't know who said the crave would go away after the first days. It isjust getting worse) and I am sure that I would have lost the same amount of weight if I had used any other low calories diet. I didn't cheat at all and I will stich to it for this one more week. Hope phase 2 is easier.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 3:05 pm


Anonymousbaby

I stopped eating "South beach style" awhile back when I was dating someone who ate really unhealthily...not to make an excuse but just to explain WHY i stopped. I was hovering at about 135-140. Now, I'm 151. The problem is that I'm 5'9 so 151 is not super overweight or anything...and as we all know, the last few pounds you want to take off are always the pounds that don't wanna go anywhere. lol. So, the diet, this time around, is going much slower. I've been on phase one for a week now and I've only lost 2 lbs...but that's what it's like when you're trying to lose only a small amount of weight and there's really not much there to lose. My BMI is only 18...

so i love this diet because it keeps me NOT HUNGRY and still losing or maintaining (at the very least) my weight...

any ideas on ways I could lose this 13lbs more quickly? My new years resolution is to get back down to 135 and back into my size 7 jeans! wb! good luck on your diet venture :)

posted Jan 6th, 2011 5:57 pm


suzyq1319

Hello, I recently injured my ankle and cannotough exercise at all , for now. Even though I was spinning for days a week etc... I counted calories and was always hungry. It has been 2 weeks since the injury and I was worried about gaining weight and felt depressed. I picked up my old Southbeach diet book and have lost 6lbs in a week! Wow! I feel great! I will incorporate my new way of eating with exercise!

posted Nov 20th, 2010 12:35 pm


paudorta

Hi everyone, i bought the book to start doing this diet, i have a friend who did it and she lost a lottttt of weight, so im looking forward to start. The only problem with me is that im feeling hungry ALL the time, and i think in the food 24 hours a day. I will like to know if there is any pill for this because it will help me a lot, also im looking for a partner to star this diet, just by e-mail, but looking for someone who i can share my activities during the day and how im feeling,etc. I think it would be better if we have a partner who can help us and in the same way to him. Message me if anyone would like to start with me :) . Paula

posted Nov 18th, 2010 3:17 am


userfile
nrg

This diet is brilliant if you have high blood pressure or high cholesterol

posted Nov 16th, 2010 2:17 pm


William

A real quick sucess story. A coworker and I started the plan in Febuary, he 2 weeks before I. As of today I am down 120lbs. He has reached his goal and is down 135lbs. I did not introduce an exercise plan untill I reached my first 100. The first 2 weeks suck, but once you break the cravings, everything becomes routine.

posted Oct 21st, 2010 12:36 am


Hopeful

I'm back to let everyone know that the South Beach Diet is wonderful!! I may be losing slower than most people, but I am so glad the scale is going in the other direction. My advise to you is, don't give up, this diet takes time and you can lose weight with out having those usual cravings that you can experience on other diets. I am now down 16 lbs from July 12th to October 19th and I am still losing. South Beach is a good way of eating, don't let anyone tell you that it is not healthy, they just don't know.

posted Oct 20th, 2010 1:30 am


sherry

For the one who said she didn't lose any weight the 1 or 2nd day and was excercising 2 &1/2 hours a day. No wonder, you're excercising so much, you're building more muscle than fat you're losing. Ease up, drink more water, and leave me wondering who has time to excercise so much.

posted Oct 18th, 2010 11:30 am


sherry

As far as those who say the recipes are expensive and therefore don't like the diet, I'm someone on the southbeach diet who hasn't done a single recipe fromt the book, I just modify my own recipes using phase 1 or 2 foods. So far I've lost 12 pounds in 6 weeks. Amazing, coming from someone 'unable' to lose weight before.
The diet is simple, just don't make it complicated. Modify your own recipes. My sister (who introduced me to the south beach diet) makes her family lasagne now using thin sliced zucchini instead of lasagne noodles, (all other ingredients the same). They love it!

posted Oct 18th, 2010 11:15 am


Virginia

Day 11 of the diet. Lost 9 pounds, but better than that, I feel more energetic and am not craving foods. I used to eat a meal, and feel the desire to eat again in a very short time. Not so now. I need to get healthy, and that means for me to be eating healthy. This is it.

posted Oct 17th, 2010 4:17 am


Larry

I'd say if you like being constipated you should go on this diet. If not, find another diet.

posted Oct 13th, 2010 2:01 pm


Blair

IM STARTING THIS DIET ON MONDAY...HOPING TO LOSE 25 POUNDS BY DECEMBER!..IM 145lbs and 5'3.

posted Oct 8th, 2010 3:41 am


Hopeful

I'm back to give everyone an update of my weightloss. So far since 7/12/10, I have lost 14lbs, averaging 3lbs per month. I know this a little slow, but I am still losing. I'm glad that I did not give up on the South Beach Diet! Please don't give up. This diet really works! Please don't get discouraged. The weight will come off, everyone loses at their own pace, some quicker than others.

posted Oct 5th, 2010 9:08 pm


Marcie

This is the best diet I have ever tried. I'm never hungry. I can eat almost all the foods that I like. I don't need to pay any fees. I can eat normal fresh food. My weightloss has been pretty slow, but I am still losing, three lbs per month. So far I am encouraged and not discouraged. Thank you South Beach Diet!

posted Oct 5th, 2010 8:56 pm


Stephen Carr

I have been trying for two days to get online or get help and NOTHING seems to be possible usining Internet explorer or Mozilla

posted Oct 1st, 2010 3:19 pm


Hopeful

I'm returning back to let everyone know that I have lost 11 lbs in 9 weeks and that I am glad that I did not give up on the South Beach Diet. I find that this diet is pretty easy, I have no cravings for baked goods and I can eat normal food. After my third week on South Beach, I added Apples and Ezekiel Bread. I feel so much better now after 9 weeks, I have more energy and I know I can stay on this diet for what ever time it takes to lose 59 more lbs. Please don't give up, I know some people lose alot quicker than others. I'll check back on October 1st.

posted Sep 14th, 2010 12:08 am


SM

I started this diet last week and absolutely love it. I use to be at the appropriate weight for my height, but then during the summer I didn't keep up with the calories/fat/carbs and took vacations and ate out a whole lot more than I normally would. So, I gained about 15 pounds. I got the cookbook and started the diet and so far lost 3 pounds, which is really encouraging for the first week. I also started back at going to the gym (something else I slacked off on this summer) I have about 12 pounds to go. I know I got it with this diet. =)

posted Aug 21st, 2010 5:16 pm


LaToya

I've always been up and down with my weight. Family Reunion came around this year and I had to follow a diet plan I knew would shed the pounds. South Beach. I've followed this plan three years ago when I lost 50lbs. I must agree with everyone that the foods are expensive...but the weight feels good coming off. However, I started off weighing 198lbs before the reunion. In a month time I dropped down to 175lbs. It feels great. *Another twenty-five more pounds to go. Thank you South Beach Diet,!.

posted Aug 13th, 2010 1:07 pm


Annie

So i started the SBD and today is day 3!!! its actually really hard not to eat the bad food that i love especially when im at work. Everyone at my work loves to go out for lunch and eat pasta, pizza and so on. But there has not been any change in my weight yet.... hopefully i will see a change by day 7. I am doing this because i am getting married in 2 months and im giving it one last go!. Cross your fingers for me people!!! any advice?!?!?

posted Aug 13th, 2010 12:13 pm


Hopeful

I've tried the South Beach diet in the past and lost 30 lbs over a three month period. I almost have given up on losing weight, but I decided to try the South Beach diet again. I started the South Beach on July 12th and have only lost 5 lbs. I know carbs are not good for women over 50, they seem to trigger appetite and somehow I retain water. I'm going to stick with the South Beach diet and not give up, even though it promises that you will lose 8-13 pounds in the first two weeks. I know that promise came through when I was younger. The 5 lbs weight loss vs 13 lbs weight loss, shows me what I am up against. I am grateful to even lose 5 lbs and not gain 5 lbs. I will check back in two weeks to give an update.

posted Jul 22nd, 2010 10:43 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account