Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

72%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 25 reviews

Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating

Meal-Delivery weight loss program with diabetics in mind.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating program is a meal-delivery program that was started not in Seattle, Washington but in Marseilles, Illinois by Seattle Sutton, a registered nurse who has made it her mission to improve the way people eat.

Created in part to avoid the pitfalls of grabbing a greasy pizza after work or running through the fast-food drive through after a late meeting, Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating meals are convenient, taste-tested, calorie-controlled and low fat.

You can choose between a 1,200 or 2,000 calorie-a-day meal program. The program is intended for people who want to lose weight, are diabetic, have heart disease, are unable to drive or cook for themselves or prefer to not shop and cook meals for themselves or their family.

PRO
  • Seattle Sutton’s Healthy Eating program was created by medical professional
  • It is a convenient way to eat healthy meals
  • Ideal for diabetics
  • Ideal for those with heart disease
  • Low-calorie and low-fat meals help you to lose weight
  • Fresh-prepared, refrigerated meals
  • Encourages exercise
CON
  • Expensive
  • Does not teach you how to eat or prepare your own meals
  • May not be realistic to always eat delivered meals
  • Not vegetarian friendly
  • No customization of menu
  • Does not take into account the emotional component of eating
DIET and NUTRITION

The Seattle Sutton Healthy Eating meals are delivered to you two times each week, or if you live near a Seattle Sutton's center, you can pick them up. Each shipment contains 21 meals: 7 breakfasts, 7 lunches and 7 dinners. The meals require refrigeration. There are five weeks of meal plans that you will receive alternately.

Unfortunately, special requests like vegetarian options cannot be accommodated. Each of the two meal plans, either the 1,200 or the 2,000 calories, sticks to foods that are low on the glycemic index in order to stabilize blood sugar levels and prevent any surges in hunger.

Sample menu items include apple-cinnamon muffins, peirogies, spinach calzones, salmon fillet and southwestern bean and pasta salad.

On the plan, you are allowed to drink fat-free milk, have an occasional alcoholic drink and go out to dinner. If you go out to dinner, you are encouraged to eat salads with dressing on the side, lean protein and vegetables with no added butter. It is then recommended that you freeze your Seattle Sutton dinner for another meal.

EXERCISE

The Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating program does not require that you exercise as part of your diet, but they do encourage you to exercise if you want to lose weight. According to the company, successful weight loss requires that you take in fewer calories than you use. Eating a healthy, balanced diet combined with moderate exercise is the most effective way to lose weight.

CONCLUSION

Like other meal-delivery programs, the Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating program is designed to help you lose weight without having to count calories or prepare your own meals. If you don't mind spending the money to have someone cook for you, then this program might be a wise choice. Just keep in mind that the diet does not instill any knowledge in you on how to prepare your own meals. Once you leave the program, it then becomes your responsibility to teach yourself how to shop and cook for yourself while maintaining your new weight loss.

Common Misspellings

Seattle Sutten's, Seatle Sutton’s, Seattle Suton’s, Seattel Sutton’s Seattle Sottun’s,


Related Diets: Bistro MD, eDiets Deliciously Yours, Nutrisystem, Diabetic Living Diet, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 37 total comments)

holly

I LOVE this diet!! I was on the 1,200 cal about 4 years ago and lost about 35 lbs. I quit smoking 1 1/2 yrs ago and have gained. I've tried every diet in the book and although this is expensive I don't mind paying because I know it works, it's easy and I love the food. I look forward to the food arriving every week because I know there's nothing that will disappoint. The other "big" thing for me is you can still lose weight and not exercise. I am walking but I don't "have to" to lose. At night I love my "glass of milk" and with Seattle Sutton you get 200 calories a day extra for a snack or in my case that nightly glass of milk or chocolate milk! LOVE LOVE LOVE This diet!

posted Oct 8th, 2014 1:10 am


Jan Nolan

Convenient easy and delicious! Would be better if switched up the menus for long term customers!

posted May 12th, 2014 5:48 pm


Robyn Rice

a few years back it was pretty good, although not enough food on 1200 cal. and too much on 2000.
I decided to try it again. I was shocked at the quality of the food. Either no taste or old food, on the verge of going bad. Brown lettuce, sour veges and really bad fish. I had to throw away 3 meals and believe me I am not a picky eater, I can eat anything that's why Im overweight. I was really disappointed that they thought so little of customers that they would pawn off that stuff as editable food. If you have diverticulitis forget it cause a lot of the food has seeds everywhere. The price at 120 a week was not worth it.

posted Feb 10th, 2014 4:34 pm


Michele Hebert

What beverages are okay to drink on Seattle Sutton?

posted Apr 9th, 2013 7:07 pm


Donald Piscitello

I was amazed at how delicious & tasty the meals were. I'm dumbfounded to read negative posts but do realize that most people usually only post when they want to complain. The 1200 calorie plan was an eye for me as i realized my portion control on my own were much larger . i supplemented between meals the first week with fruit or a yogurt until I adjusted to smaller meals . With daily exercise I had drastic weigh loss. Seattle Sutton rocks !

posted Apr 6th, 2013 7:24 pm


Jill

I just started this diet three weeks ago and I LOVE IT. I have been on every diet you can think of and this is my favorite (Nutrasystem, Jenny Craig, WWatchers, South Beach, etc.)! First of all, I work a lot of hours during the week and this has taken the guesswork and preparation time out of "what am I going to eat tomorrow." The food is delivered to my door for $5 per week, twice per week. It is fresh, thoughtful and I feel like my mom is cooking for me again. Nice selection of foods...I pretty much eat anything so I have no issues with any of the food. If you are a very picky eater, this may not be the diet for you (I would suggest trying it for 1 week to see how you like it). The carb count does seem a little high, but this diet is not advertised as "low carb" and I am losing weight on this nonetheless. During the first week, I had to supplement the 1200 calorie diet with fresh fruit or almonds between meals because I got hungry, but after that week I am fine on the 1200 calories (and I am doing cardio 4 times a week). On the days I lift weights, I have to increase my overall intake to 1500 calories (again supplementing healthy foods between meals) as my body needs it on these days. SS I think you should have a 1500 calorie (non vegetarian) plan....the spread between 1200 and 2000 is quite large. Kudos to you for adding the 1500 vegetarian plan....you now need to do a gluten free diet plan. In any event, overall I am very pleased with this diet....and I highly recommend it....

posted Mar 31st, 2013 5:53 pm


Kristine

My daughter is off to college and my husband travels often. I don't like to shop, plan, or cook meals. We both wanted to live a healthier lifestyle, so I looked Seattle Sutton Healthy eating up on-line. When I realized I can easily pick the meals up in my own town and spend close to the same amount we spend at the grocery store, for unhealthy food choices, I decided to give it a try. Tomorrow will be the 6th time I've picked up the meals (which requires me to walk thru a door, have a bag of meals placed in my hand by a friendly, smiling distributor, then walking out). So far...
I LOVE IT! It's a great meal plan for me and my husband. At first I was reluctant to share, for fear I would be hungry, but I've not been hungry at all and if I didn't share some food would go to waste because the 2000 cal diet is to much for me. My husband enjoys the meals and sometimes puts them in a cooler when he has to be out of town overnight. We pick and choose which we want and sometimes we open a couple and exchange this or that with each other or split one. We may not be getting a perfectly balanced diet this way, but it's a big improvement, it's a good start, and we enjoy them. The fresh fruit and vegetables have been very fresh, ripe and flavorful.
The negative would be the packaging...if the lables came off easily the containers could be so useful for so many things!! And brussel sprouts...we ate them with laughter...be we wouldn't eat if they weren't provided! :D
The negative comments I read here...in one ear, and out the other...some people will always be complaining and negative. Try it with a grateful, positive attitude and you'll enjoy them. I feel loved and cared for when I eat them and have a positive emotional experience. :)

posted Jan 23rd, 2013 10:13 pm


Paula Heaton

Dear Alton:

I'm sorry your grandparents did not care for your thoughtful gift of healthy eating you and your mother purchased for them. We do aim to please our clients and in an attempt sometimes miss the mark with a few. Often it is that clients are not used to eating healthy, balanced meals and need to give it some time in order for them to develop a taste for it.

As a rule of thumb, we always encourage new clients and those who are ordering for gifts (especially for the elderly) to only order one week of meals at a time for that very reason. We noted this in our conversation with your mother when she placed her order for your grandparents on December 20, 2012 and was instructed this, however she insisted on ordering multiple weeks instead. We even suggested that she start them with a half-week order, to share a half-week order either 12 or 9 meals, but she insisted that she wanted them to have multiple weeks of meals. Because we do want to please our clients, we agreed, but only after explaining that this is out of the norm and goes against our recommendation.

When someone places an order for our meals, they may or may not understand our meals and how we can provide such fresh meals to our clients from coast-to-coast. The meals are freshly prepared, including fresh fruit and vegetables, and are made especially for them. We do not mass produce meals and sell meals as the orders come in. We place our food order based on the orders we receive each week and the meals are then prepared, packaged and sent to the client (or picked up at a local distributor location in certain areas). Freshness, quality and dedication to health is our number one goal.

Since we do have a no refund policy on our meals, because of the fresh produce and ingredients that make up our meals we do have to stick to it regardless of personal tastes. We realize occasionally we won't be a hit with every single person. We prepare the meals you should be eating, not want to be eating. Once you try our meals, most people do want to be eating them though.

Our sincerest apologies for any misunderstanding and for letting you and your mother down. We realize how difficult it can be to help seniors eat right and we have served many meals to them so they can age in place without the need to plan, shop and cook for themselves. It has been a lifesaver to many families searching for a solution. We're sorry your grandparents did not find them helpful and did not appreciate your thoughtful gesture.

In good health,

Paula Heaton, RN, BSN
Director, National Home Delivery
Seattle Sutton's Healthy Eating

posted Jan 21st, 2013 6:15 pm


Alton Halvorsen

My mother and I purchased the 2000 Calorie Plan for my grandparents as a gift. We set them up for a month with home delivery to let them try it out. After the first week they really did not like the food and did not wish to receive anymore shipments. I called into the corporate office and spoke with Paula who said there was nothing she could do to stop the meals from coming twice a week for the next 3 weeks (63+ more meals) My grandparents are elderly and have a tough enough time as it is, which was the reason we thought we would try this. Now they are all stressed out about all these meals that are showing up at their home and Seattle Sutton’s is telling us there is no way to cancel the orders and that they will continue to keep showing up. My mother is also a current member so we suggested that Seattle Suttons just credit these meals to her plan. This request was also shot down by Paula. Paula stated that my mom and grandparents should have read the fine print where it said that the order could not be canceled. I really do not understand having to continue to pay for a service that is not wanted. I really have never seen such disregard for customer service. Needless to say my mom will be canceling her weekly orders and we would not recommend using Seattle Sutton’s.

posted Jan 11th, 2013 7:14 pm


Lee

No consistency in plan. Morning egg dishes are horrible. In an attempt to add flavor to meals they push green pepper, which i detest. If I could pick my meals I could do the diet, but I am abandoning it after three weeks and will go it alone.

posted Dec 16th, 2012 7:54 pm


Sue

I tried it a few years ago and it was really good. This time around not so much. The first meals I tried were last night's dinner - a tasteless frozen piece of corn on the cob and a few tablespoons of some rice dish that allegedly contained chicken with a little container of applesauce.
Today's lunch was tasteless chicken with pineapple and some bad tasting broccoli. I am not impressed!
I am considering not even bothering to pick up the second half of the week's food.
I do much better with Lean Cuisine!!!!

posted Apr 3rd, 2012 5:49 pm


Nita

I am beginning my second week on the plan and I am so excited. Most of the food is good. I loved the Salmon and coucous. There is a lot of breads included, but I believe this is what makes you feel full. The 1200 cal. plan is perfect for me. The first two days I ate fruit and popcorn in betweem meals. But shortly after I only ate the meals. I do need to incorporate skim milk though.

posted Mar 27th, 2012 1:47 am


ahgirl

My husband and I started Seattle Sutton last week because we just kept putting on a few pounds every year and didn't like the way our clothes were looking or how we felt. We choose the 2000 calorie plan to start with because we thought we'd starve on the 1200 calorie plan. We were surprised how much food was in the 2000 calorie plan and plan to switch next week to the 1200. So far this week we've lost a couple pounds each - even with the larger plan. I'm looking forward to see the results from the 1200 plan. I have not felt hunger at all....yes, it is the larger plan but I haven't been eating all of the food - there's just too much. And one of the reviewers mentioned that the meals are developed to lessen appetite, and I find that to be very true. I also like just about all of the meals - or at least a portion of them. And with my husband and i both working full time, the conveniece of having a fresh meal in the refrigerator that we just have to heat, I'm feeling liberated from the nightly dinner. All in all, we are pleasantly surprised at the quality, taste, and variety in the meals. I would recommend the plan to a friend.

posted Mar 17th, 2012 6:09 am


Steve Stanley

This is the worst wood that I have ever eaten. In addition the cost is high. They make up the calories with cheap bread, muffins and other carbs. NEVER AGAIN!!!

posted Mar 9th, 2012 7:48 pm


LP

This diet is not geared towards diebetics as it claims. ALL of the meals are extremely high in carbohydrates. If you purchase the 1200 calorie meal plan it can help you lose weight.

posted Jan 10th, 2012 8:52 pm


Ann Lawrence

I think this is, overall, a great diet. Of course, there are some meals that I am not fond of, but I found that over the time I have been on the diet (over a year now), I have come to like some of those dishes more with time. I think that I was unaccustomed (for example) to whole grain pasta and ground turkey and it took me awhile to adapt my tastes. I read some of the other reviews and was surprised at one of the negative ones that I read, although maybe that person gets the meal from a place where he or she can not get it fresh. I live in the midwest at a location where I am able to pick up my meals, and it means a lot to be able to get meals with fresh salads and fresh fruit. There are other diet plans out there that I would love to try (especially because they offer a little more flexibility and choice than Seattle Sutton), but the bottom line is I think you should go with whatever diet plan is available to you that allows you to get fresh food. I am also surprised at the complaints about cost. Seattle Sutton is less expensive (or equivalent) for a 7 day, 3 meal a day food plan than almost any other diet plan out there. I have been researching them carefully. I lost 30 pounds on the SSHE diet, and felt great. I have never been on a diet before where I lost weight so easily and felt so well fed, so full, and so satisfied. If you read over the nutritional information on the SSHE website, you will find that it is a very balanced diet -- carbs are well within reason, high in protein, low in fat, low in sodium, all nutritional needs are taken into account. It could only be better if it were organic -- but look for those plans and you'll pay 3 or 4 times as much!

posted Nov 23rd, 2011 8:09 pm


Erin

Great so far! I like most of the food, some I don't care for which is normal for most diets. I add an additional 400 calories to my meals as 1200 is not enough and 2000 is too much. I recommend starting with this for a few weeks and you learn about portion sizes and variety of foods, then still head back to Weight Watchers.

posted Nov 14th, 2011 8:28 pm


Debbi

My husband needed to lose weight per doctor's orders. My daughter and I needed to lose also. I suggested this plan to my husband because I knew he would succeed with meals already made. I reproduced the meals for my daughther and me as close to SSHE as possible. All 3 of us have lost significant weight in 5 months. SSHE helped my husband with portion size and trying new foods. I'm proud of him for the change he has made and the will power to keep at it. SSHE is the best lifestyle change anyone can do. So what if it is expensive - unhealthy lifestyles are more expensive to your overall health: clothes buying, eating out, medications, and missed school and work all add up when you are overweight.

posted Oct 7th, 2011 3:40 pm


Diane Kamis

Love it! Been on the diet over 10 years - that should speak for itself!

posted Sep 19th, 2011 3:24 pm


Bernie Smith

Besides being expensive, Seattle Sutton did not deliver the goods.
I found most items I would not care to eat. All the meat items were from a frozen Mfg. precooked you can buy in any freezer case.
The Veg mix is from some froozen Veggies.
Way to many Carbo's Taste of most items not very appealing. No Salad in my 7 day plan. I tried one week of the 1200 calorie diet.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 11:05 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account