Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

49%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 61 reviews
Scarsdale Diet

Scarsdale Diet Review: Does it Work?

A world-reknowned program since the 1970s.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Scarsdale Diet is a weight loss plan offering a high protein, low carbohydrate and reduced fat approach. It’s estimated that one can lose up to a pound a day, for a total of 20 pounds.

The book that outlined the diet is still the highest selling diet book of all time. It’s advised to limit use up to 2 weeks at one time.The basic ideas of the diet have been used by other plans, though with some changes . When reviewing many different diet plans out experts concluded that the most overall effective one was the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement and diet pill made with all natural ingredients. The combined effect allows for fat burning and appetite suppression for increased weight loss. Discover more information about the 18Shake Diet plan via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

ScarsdaleDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The breakdown for macronutrients is 43% protein, 22.5 % fat, and 34.5% carbohydrates. It allows for the following main foods:

• Fresh fruit.

• Lean meats.

• Vegetables.

• 3 meals a day, no snacks are offered.

The high levels of protein are known to be satiating, since protein suppresses appetite better than fiber, fats, and carbohydrates. That’s why the diet often advises to eat generous amounts of proteins, as it’s harder to overindulge in protein than other macronutrients.

It’s also advised to:

         • Drink 4 glasses of water a day.

• Drinking coffee and tea are recommended for breakfast and dinner. This is to help raise metabolism and suppress appetite.

         • Walking 3 km a day.

• Eating as much as you’d like, but only to the point where you’re satisfied but not full.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans is made available here.

The meals suggested remain similar, with breakfast lunch and dinner being:

• Breakfast (The same for the entire 14 days): ½ grapefruit, one slice of protein bread with no spreadand a portion of seasonal fruit if no grapefruit is available.

Lunch: Day one is assorted cold cults and tomatoes. Day two allows for a lean hamburger and certain vegetables. Day three is grapefruit, melon, or seasonal fruit, tuna fish or salmon salad. Day four allows protein bread, select vegetables, low-fat cottage cheese and  2 eggs. Day five offers unlimited spinach, protein bread, and assorted cheese slices. Day six is a fruit salad. Day seven offers grapefruit or seasonal fruit, turkey or chicken, and select vegetables.

• Dinner: Day one allows grapefruit or seasonal fruit, slice of protein bread, combination salad, and fish or shellfish. Day two allows a fruit salad. Day three has roasted defatted lamb, and salad. Day four is chicken with fat removed and select vegetables. Day five has a slice of protein bread, salad, and fish or shellfish. Day six is roasted chicken or turkey, grapefruit or seasonal fruit, and salad. Day seven is brusell sprouts, salad, and lots of steak with the fat trimmed.

It’s unclear why all these specific food selections were advised. They also provide no portion sizes for all the foods advised. This can make it possible to overeat. For a comprehensive list of the top 10 diets, clickthe link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Scarsdale Diet Quality of Ingredients

All the foods one selects have to be from the specific diet plan. There are quality ingredients such as many greens, lean meats, healthy fruits, and no allowances for sugary drinks.

The major issue is that there is no mention as to why these specific foods were chosen. Also, the high amount of protein required can be difficult for some. There’s also a potential risk factor in this type of diet as the Mayo Clinic Explains:

“risk of using a high-protein diet with carbohydrate restricting for the long term are still being studied”

“Several health problems may result if a high-protein diet is followed”

There’s also the issue of temporary results. The diet suggests up to 20 pounds can be lost in just 14 days at a rate of a pound a day. This might be due to water weight, which the body holds unto when carbohydrates are eaten. It’s unclear whether or not this is a healthy and safe approach to weight loss. The comprehensive list of the top 10 ranking diets is featured in the link here.

When water weight is lost there is no actual fat loss. This is why when people continue to eat carbohydrates that all the water weight will be regained.

The Price and Quality of Scarsdale Diet

The diet does call for a lot of meats, but the overall price depends on whether one chooses top quality vegetables, fruits, and meats.

The overall quality of this diet is in question. Many of the foods suggested are heavy on the amount of protein they offer. There’s many vegetables offered, but it’s unknown if this diet was scientifically created for the kinds of foods allowed. There’s no evidence that the specific foods allowed are any better than others.

It’s also not a long term diet. It’s only advised to use it for a 14 day period. It’s unknown if this is for health reasons or not. They also suggest one can lose 20 pounds, though there’s no evidence provided to help show if this is true or not.

Without much more proof it’s impossible to determine whether or not this was created with legitimate science, or if it was created with whatever foods the creator thought sounded good.

Business of Scarsdale Diet

The creator of the diet is Herman Tarnower, a now deceased former cardiologist. Since his focus was on diseases of the heart, it’s unclear how he came up with a weight loss diet. At the time thatthis was created ,it was seen as groundbreaking.

New information on the diet has shown it to be far too limiting. Live Strong.com adds:

“the weight loss isn’t necessarily achieved in a safe manner”

“most weight that’s lost is water weight, which is usually regained as soon as participantsreturn to their normal eating habits”

It’s clear from the kinds of foods suggested that the Scarsdale Diet is not a long term weight loss plan. For a list of the highest rated diet plans click the link available here.

There’s no official website offered, only  a book which outlines the specifics of the diet. There are a lot of websites available that explain the diet in detail.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Scarsdale Diet

Here are some direct quotes from online customers:

“A little too extreme for me”

“I was throwing up digestive acids and could not keep anything down for a week”

“I did not realize how it can damage your kidneys”

“meal plans are very unrealistic and don’t know how the could possibly satisfy the average person”

People often mentioned that while they have lost weight in the beginning, there was no weight loss in the middle or end portions of the diet. Many found it difficult to maintain, as it promoted side effects in some.

There was also a lot of disappointment from people who regained all the weight they lost when they resumed to eat normal foods. There were also complaints about the limits on foods, which some found far too restrictive and uncompromising for different choices.

Another main issue was that the information in the book is limited. People often had more questions they wanted answered, and there were issues with the very specific foods allowed. Click the link here for a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Scarsdale Diet  Work?

The Scarsdale Diet was once a revolutionary weight loss plan, as it emphasized a high amount of protein with limited fats and carbohydrates. Now that there has been more science available, it’s been shown that having little carbohydrates with high protein can potentially lead to side effects. Many users of this diet have also listed side effects and a lack of long  term weight loss.  This short term solution is not advised for longer than 14 days consecutively. Health sites have also shown that the weight loss is likely just water weight, which quickly returns and isn’t actual fat loss.

Our experts have found that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. This diet combines a natural meal replacement and a stimulant free diet pill. Both of these formulas offer a combination of appetite suppression for hours and increased fat burning. This is a potent weight loss solution as it can keep one from feeling hungry as the body’s metabolism is raised. Many customers have also left testimonials and positive reviews. People mention their appetite was suppressed for hours, and that the diet pill helped to burn calories for a combined weight loss effect.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. Both the meal replacement and diet pill can be returned risk free with no questions asked. More information is made available about the 18Shake Diet in the link here.

How Does Scarsdale Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Scarsdale Diet
  • 49 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 95 total comments)

Anna

?

Tips for not breaking at an all you can eat buffet event (Scarsdale Diet). Day 1 of the Scarsdale diet is tomorrow. I'm extremely nervous that I won't have the will to keep to it. I have an event 4 days from now that includes an all you can eat buffet... but decided that since I always have an event coming up, what better time to start than now? What were others thoughts on making it through social events? Any advice?

posted Feb 16th, 2016 2:03 am


Suzie

+

I'm on day 4 of this diet and have followed it to the letter. I am amazed I've gone from 91.4kg to 87.7kg. I'm drinking loads more water and feel lighter in my self. Love it

posted Feb 9th, 2016 7:29 pm


Liz

+

Today is day 1 for me. I've never done this diet before but a friend of mine did it many years ago and it worked for her..
I'm hoping it works for me.. I have a cruise in 3 weeks and really would love to lost if not 20 then 15lbs.

posted Jan 11th, 2016 3:18 pm


Mac

+

I went on this diet 20 years ago and lost 19 lbs in 6 weeks. That was perfect for me. I did have sugar in my morning coffee and diet jam on my toast. Generally I was never hungry and felt terrific. Now, post menopausal, I need to drop the pounds again and bought the paperback( a bargain at $11.95 Can) as I've lost the other one. We go south in the winter so this is a motivating factor for me. I've been on it a week and feel just fine. Lost 7 lbs so far.
As a nurse I've seen the incidence of obesity increase in mega portions. I'm very confident that I can reach my goal with little pain!

posted Jan 9th, 2016 3:01 pm


Sue Rickertsen

It works and if you add a small amount of oil (salad dressing mostly) a la Atkins, it is easy to stay on.

posted Dec 3rd, 2015 10:06 pm


Machoy

+

About 4 years ago I lost 12 kg. I had plenty of energy and swam 2 km a week 500 m per day more or less. No calorie shortage when the diet says " plenty of lamb or chicken or whatever" I ate just that... Only issue was alcohol

posted Sep 20th, 2015 11:27 am


Gina

+

I did this diet 3 years ago before I had my daughter ,lost 10lb in 14 days ,love this diet it really works ,I find drinking more helps to curb the hunger pangs ! I'm getting back on it as want to lose 2 1/2 stone good luck everyone 👍

posted Jun 18th, 2015 10:11 pm


Karen

+

I followed this diet years ago and lost 10 pounds and it lets u lose the last bit of weight that is so difficult to lose! the four pounds being your mark! it u gain four it's time to behave and lose it !! there is also a keep trim plan to keep the wieght off!!
AS for 700 to 10000 calories well just eat more of what u can have if it's not enough food for you! I am going on this diet again !! and I love it!!

posted Apr 4th, 2015 12:11 pm


Isabel

+

I started that diet 12 days ago and, I only lost 4 pounds. I don't understand how one person can loose all that weight in 2 days and for me, 12 days. I respect everything that they say to do. I dont add anything and even sometime I dont finish my plate. Why is that diet not working as well for me? Does somebody know ? Thank's

posted Mar 7th, 2014 9:21 pm


Maggie

+

I am starting this program today. I used it many years ago with great success. Now in my 50s, dealing with menopause, diabetes and weight gain associated with that. The article states that there is no maintenance. That is inaccurate. The second two weeks is the same diet with some things added in to up the calorie intake and to make it, in my opinion, a great way to eat for the rest of your life. All food groups are represented in a balanced way. However, I would not recommend this plan to someone who is very active, runners, athletes. The calorie count is too low.

posted Jan 8th, 2014 10:10 am


Leigh-anne Smith

I did this diet before I got married and just loved it, that was 22 years ago. I lost the diet in the move and have just found it again. Myself and a friend are starting it again tomorrow and im alittle excited about it. Last time I lost 20 kilos.

posted Jan 4th, 2014 11:11 pm


jaye

+

I started this diet three days ago out of curiosity, and so far I have lost 3 pounds. I have tried so many different diets that I thought what do I have to loose. So far it is bearable, and I do have moments of hunger
but I have used coffee blended with freshly ground mint and it helps a great deal. I am determined to see this to the 14 days .

posted Aug 29th, 2013 7:36 pm


Ciara

+

I started this diet yesterday and I hope to lose 40lbs altogether. I did with my mum which is great and the first day I was starving but today my stomach has adjusted! I have been trying to lose weight for the last two years and after reading all these posts I feel truly inspired! I am so excited about this!! Is there any blogs where people on the scarsdale diet post receipes?

posted Aug 21st, 2013 8:26 pm


Peny

Great diet !

posted Jul 12th, 2013 2:55 pm


EatWeighLove

+

I started this diet 9 days ago, and Im not going to lie, in the beginning it was hard, and I did feel hungry, but stick to it guys! I have documented my whole journey on my blog: eat-weigh-love.blogspot.com, which I initially started for a varsity project, but have had such fantastic results, I want to share it and hopefully inspire people!
I have lost almost 3kg already :D which is very exciting!

Good luck guys!

posted Apr 24th, 2013 6:12 am


Rachel

+

I started the diet yesterday, weighing 161 at 5ft. I've lost 3 pounds so far. Going to keep at it! Will report back at the end of 2 weeks.

posted Feb 25th, 2013 12:09 pm


Fran

Hi - Just started yesterday - Have done this diet a long time ago and was very successful lost 68 pounds. I have packed a few pounds on in the past 10 years and just thought I would go back to it. I need to loose 40 pounds - real easy to let it accumulate over the years should have kept it up but thought like most of us that its just 3 pounds it will work its self off not true lol lol - I am down 3 pounds today - starting day 2. Will keep you updated. This is great to be able to post and get it out here. Talk to you later.

posted Jan 22nd, 2013 8:40 pm


Ada Milanovici

+

Excellent Diet!

posted Nov 18th, 2012 12:05 pm


Kira

+

Hi, I am on day 8 of the Scarsdale Diet and lost 7 lbs! This is really the only diet that makes sense to me and is easy to do, I especially like that breakfast is the same every day. No sugar is a blessing for me anyway, I feel so much more energetic and my belly is FLAT FLAT finally :-) Sometime in the 2nd week I usually lose all my sweet/sugar cravings and it can last for months. This time I plan to alternate 2weeks diet with 2 weeks of Keep Trim 3 times so that I am in good shape in the end of August. I do not feel deprived at all, since it says "eat all you want". This time I am more flexible, so I add 2% milk to my morning coffee every other day, and if I get fed up with celery and baby carrots - I make myself another big salad as a snack I also add a teaspoon of olive oil to my salads once in a while. Maybe it slows down my weight loss a bit, but sometimes I am in this TOTALLY DEVOTED DIETING MOOD and this time I lack some of the required 100% of determination, so I do bend some rules. I am losing weight regardless. Better to do something than nothing. Any progress is good. Greetings to all other Scarsdale dieters! We can do it!

posted Jun 7th, 2012 3:27 am


Nicole

+

This diet is great! I lost 25 pounds on this diet in total. It teaches good dietary habits that stick! The food is great and you can doll anything up with awesome spices!

It's been about a year since I lost all the weight and I've only gained 5 pounds back. I still stick to what I've learned - but let myself have treats (you have to allow for some food fun or else you will go crazy)

As long as you stick to a work out routine, be mindful of the Keep Trim plan and drink lots of water ... you should be able to maintain your initial weight loss after you take a good chunk of the weight off. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

It's also best to do it with a buddy. My mom and I did it together. Hope this helps! :)

posted Mar 1st, 2012 9:35 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Created in the 1970s by Dr. Herman Tarnower, the Scarsdale Diet is named for the town in New York in which Dr. Tarnower conducted his thriving medical practice, before meeting his untimely death by the hands of his long-time lover, Jean Harris. As a medical doctor specializing in treating obesity, Dr. Tarnower combined the medical phenomenon of ketosis, and its ability to generate weight loss, with an MD-designed food program that causes ketosis in otherwise healthy individuals.

Ketosis, or the production of excess Ketones, is described as producing the residual "ashes" or "embers" of fat-burning. Ketosis is generally a bad thing, causing both Alcoholics and Diabetics to lose fat rapidly as an unwanted side-effect of the disease. One can check if the body is engaged in Ketosis by measuring Ketones in the urine, though it should be noted that the Ketosis generated by the Scarsdale diet is generally at lower levels than those with illness-induced Ketosis.

The Scarsdale Diet is reknowned the world over for its rapid weight loss results, generally 1 pound per day. Some users boast a loss of 20 pounds in 14 days, though they readily admit that a significant part of that is water loss and readily returns once the diet is discontinued.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • The Scarsdale Diet has a long-running history of success all over the world
  • The high protein component of the program resonates strongly with those who have had success with off-shoot programs such as Atkins
  • Menu plan is very specific, making it easy for the user to follow
  • Rapid weight loss is ideal for someone preparing for a vacation, wedding, or other special event in which appearance is important
  • Easy to dine out
CON
  • The calorie level of 700 to 1000 calories is too low for even a moderately active individual
  • Many users complain of fatigue and extreme hunger
  • The restrictive nature of The Scarsdale Diet could be too excessive for many, and leaves little room for error or variation
  • No maintenance plan means the weight can quickly return when you abandon the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

A sample day on The Scarsdale Diet looks like this:

Breakfast

  • 1/2 grapefruit
  • slice of wholemeal toast (no spreads or butter)
  • coffee (no sugar or milk)

Lunch

  • canned tuna
  • salad with oil-free dressing
  • coffee

Dinner

  • roast lamb (with all visible fat removed)
  • salad with lemon and vinegar dressing
  • coffee

Drinks

  • Water
  • Diet drinks
  • Tea
  • Soda water

The program's devotees have created a number of support websites, which include some fun, easy recipes that the whole family will enjoy. In addition, the unlimited nature of lean meat and plain vegetables, especially at dinner, makes it easy to dine out while still staying true to program.

EXERCISE

Never discussed, though that is a good thing, as the low-calorie nature of the program lends itself ideally to the individual that engages in little to no activity, other than some light gardening or housekeeping. Think "ladies who lunch" rather than "soccer mom who actually plays soccer."

CONCLUSION

The Scarsdale Diet, and its companion program the "Keep-Trim" Diet, is one that will never lose its style or place in dieting history. While Ketosis is best when medically supervised, it is not uncommon to find a container of Ketostix in the medicine chest of most American households.

In addition, high protein menu programs provide energy and satisfaction, from a sensory perspective, as well as making us feel full. Potential digestive disturbances aside, The Scarsdale Diet, doesn't feel like a restrictive diet at all, but rather permission to be diligent about food intake.

Common Misspellings

scarsdale diet, TSD, scarsdial diet, keep trim diet, scaresdale diet, scarsdale deit

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, High Protein Diet, Atkins Advantage, Low-Carb Diet

Whats better than
Scarsdale Diet?