Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

49%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 61 reviews
Scarsdale Diet

Scarsdale Diet Review: Does it Work?

A world-reknowned program since the 1970s.

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

The Scarsdale Diet is a weight loss plan offering a high protein, low carbohydrate and reduced fat approach. It’s estimated that one can lose up to a pound a day, for a total of 20 pounds.

The book that outlined the diet is still the highest selling diet book of all time. It’s advised to limit use up to 2 weeks at one time.The basic ideas of the diet have been used by other plans, though with some changes . When reviewing many different diet plans out experts concluded that the most overall effective one was the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement and diet pill made with all natural ingredients. The combined effect allows for fat burning and appetite suppression for increased weight loss. Discover more information about the 18Shake Diet plan via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

ScarsdaleDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The breakdown for macronutrients is 43% protein, 22.5 % fat, and 34.5% carbohydrates. It allows for the following main foods:

• Fresh fruit.

• Lean meats.

• Vegetables.

• 3 meals a day, no snacks are offered.

The high levels of protein are known to be satiating, since protein suppresses appetite better than fiber, fats, and carbohydrates. That’s why the diet often advises to eat generous amounts of proteins, as it’s harder to overindulge in protein than other macronutrients.

It’s also advised to:

         • Drink 4 glasses of water a day.

• Drinking coffee and tea are recommended for breakfast and dinner. This is to help raise metabolism and suppress appetite.

         • Walking 3 km a day.

• Eating as much as you’d like, but only to the point where you’re satisfied but not full.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans is made available here.

The meals suggested remain similar, with breakfast lunch and dinner being:

• Breakfast (The same for the entire 14 days): ½ grapefruit, one slice of protein bread with no spreadand a portion of seasonal fruit if no grapefruit is available.

Lunch: Day one is assorted cold cults and tomatoes. Day two allows for a lean hamburger and certain vegetables. Day three is grapefruit, melon, or seasonal fruit, tuna fish or salmon salad. Day four allows protein bread, select vegetables, low-fat cottage cheese and  2 eggs. Day five offers unlimited spinach, protein bread, and assorted cheese slices. Day six is a fruit salad. Day seven offers grapefruit or seasonal fruit, turkey or chicken, and select vegetables.

• Dinner: Day one allows grapefruit or seasonal fruit, slice of protein bread, combination salad, and fish or shellfish. Day two allows a fruit salad. Day three has roasted defatted lamb, and salad. Day four is chicken with fat removed and select vegetables. Day five has a slice of protein bread, salad, and fish or shellfish. Day six is roasted chicken or turkey, grapefruit or seasonal fruit, and salad. Day seven is brusell sprouts, salad, and lots of steak with the fat trimmed.

It’s unclear why all these specific food selections were advised. They also provide no portion sizes for all the foods advised. This can make it possible to overeat. For a comprehensive list of the top 10 diets, clickthe link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Scarsdale Diet Quality of Ingredients

All the foods one selects have to be from the specific diet plan. There are quality ingredients such as many greens, lean meats, healthy fruits, and no allowances for sugary drinks.

The major issue is that there is no mention as to why these specific foods were chosen. Also, the high amount of protein required can be difficult for some. There’s also a potential risk factor in this type of diet as the Mayo Clinic Explains:

“risk of using a high-protein diet with carbohydrate restricting for the long term are still being studied”

“Several health problems may result if a high-protein diet is followed”

There’s also the issue of temporary results. The diet suggests up to 20 pounds can be lost in just 14 days at a rate of a pound a day. This might be due to water weight, which the body holds unto when carbohydrates are eaten. It’s unclear whether or not this is a healthy and safe approach to weight loss. The comprehensive list of the top 10 ranking diets is featured in the link here.

When water weight is lost there is no actual fat loss. This is why when people continue to eat carbohydrates that all the water weight will be regained.

The Price and Quality of Scarsdale Diet

The diet does call for a lot of meats, but the overall price depends on whether one chooses top quality vegetables, fruits, and meats.

The overall quality of this diet is in question. Many of the foods suggested are heavy on the amount of protein they offer. There’s many vegetables offered, but it’s unknown if this diet was scientifically created for the kinds of foods allowed. There’s no evidence that the specific foods allowed are any better than others.

It’s also not a long term diet. It’s only advised to use it for a 14 day period. It’s unknown if this is for health reasons or not. They also suggest one can lose 20 pounds, though there’s no evidence provided to help show if this is true or not.

Without much more proof it’s impossible to determine whether or not this was created with legitimate science, or if it was created with whatever foods the creator thought sounded good.

Business of Scarsdale Diet

The creator of the diet is Herman Tarnower, a now deceased former cardiologist. Since his focus was on diseases of the heart, it’s unclear how he came up with a weight loss diet. At the time thatthis was created ,it was seen as groundbreaking.

New information on the diet has shown it to be far too limiting. Live Strong.com adds:

“the weight loss isn’t necessarily achieved in a safe manner”

“most weight that’s lost is water weight, which is usually regained as soon as participantsreturn to their normal eating habits”

It’s clear from the kinds of foods suggested that the Scarsdale Diet is not a long term weight loss plan. For a list of the highest rated diet plans click the link available here.

There’s no official website offered, only  a book which outlines the specifics of the diet. There are a lot of websites available that explain the diet in detail.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Scarsdale Diet

Here are some direct quotes from online customers:

“A little too extreme for me”

“I was throwing up digestive acids and could not keep anything down for a week”

“I did not realize how it can damage your kidneys”

“meal plans are very unrealistic and don’t know how the could possibly satisfy the average person”

People often mentioned that while they have lost weight in the beginning, there was no weight loss in the middle or end portions of the diet. Many found it difficult to maintain, as it promoted side effects in some.

There was also a lot of disappointment from people who regained all the weight they lost when they resumed to eat normal foods. There were also complaints about the limits on foods, which some found far too restrictive and uncompromising for different choices.

Another main issue was that the information in the book is limited. People often had more questions they wanted answered, and there were issues with the very specific foods allowed. Click the link here for a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Scarsdale Diet  Work?

The Scarsdale Diet was once a revolutionary weight loss plan, as it emphasized a high amount of protein with limited fats and carbohydrates. Now that there has been more science available, it’s been shown that having little carbohydrates with high protein can potentially lead to side effects. Many users of this diet have also listed side effects and a lack of long  term weight loss.  This short term solution is not advised for longer than 14 days consecutively. Health sites have also shown that the weight loss is likely just water weight, which quickly returns and isn’t actual fat loss.

Our experts have found that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. This diet combines a natural meal replacement and a stimulant free diet pill. Both of these formulas offer a combination of appetite suppression for hours and increased fat burning. This is a potent weight loss solution as it can keep one from feeling hungry as the body’s metabolism is raised. Many customers have also left testimonials and positive reviews. People mention their appetite was suppressed for hours, and that the diet pill helped to burn calories for a combined weight loss effect.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. Both the meal replacement and diet pill can be returned risk free with no questions asked. More information is made available about the 18Shake Diet in the link here.

How Does Scarsdale Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Scarsdale Diet
  • 49 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 6, 107 total comments)

gaby

+

i gonna give it a try to this diet, i haved tried them all already and anything seens to work for me!!!!!!!This is my last chance. Wish mi good luck!

posted Dec 10th, 2009 9:26 am


Sarah

Dunno if this works as yet, as this is my first day on the diet. Am really excited after reading all of the comments from you guys. will post ya all another note in two weeks and post the results mwa keep it up guys

posted Dec 7th, 2009 1:55 pm


Susie

+

I have used this diet successfully after the birth of each of three children. It is easy to follow - not much measuring or counting. There is a lot of pancreatic problems in my family but this diet actually helped me with my problems with sugars and starches. You can make small substitutes like that but be careful. I eat an apple instead of grapefruit. Also it works so well that it is tempting to keep going after 2 weeks instead of switching to the Keep Trim part of the plan - but you should really follow the Keep Trim program- it's very very important for keeping the weight off with better lifetime habits.

posted Nov 15th, 2009 5:57 pm


laurita gonzalez

+

THIS DIETS ROCKS IT IS VERY CLOSE TO HAVING GOOD EATING HABITS,MY SISTER IN LAW WENT ON THE SMD ON 1/2005AND STAYED ON IT TILL3/2006
SHE LOST A TOTAL OF 130 POUNDS.TODAY 2009 SHE HAS MANAGED TO KEEP THE WIGHT OFF..BE CONSISITANT THAT IS ALL IT TAKES..

posted Oct 26th, 2009 7:12 pm


Maria

I tried this diet but could only do it for 3 days! I am a very active person and was looking to not only lose wieght but to tone my body. The limited calories did not allow me to work out as vigorously as I am use to and I love to do. For me, this is just another fad diet, and anyone who tries this is looking for a miracle & are just yo-yo dieting. My respects to all who do like this diet. But in my opinion, this is not a lifestyle, how can you live the rest of your life with this diet? What about any parties, family gatherings... just life itself? Either way, I applaude all of you who had results & have kept off the weight. Personally, I have had excellent results with a lifestyle change ... I have followed the "Eat Clean Diet" by Tosca Reno. To me, it makes more sense, and it is not sooo restricted. I am a food lover and this lifestyle allows me to enjoy food to its fullest, I have reached my goal weght & dont feel deprived in any way! Plus, I have all the energy to work out hard and still have energy left over to be a mom of two, wife and a full time worker.



My main issue with this diet was that I had headaches all day, it made me irritable, I was starving beyond belief and the carrot snacks were just not cutting it, I also had no energy. I just couldnt see my entire life that way,,,, in a dark cloud.



I know that many will not agree with me but this is only my opinion. I respect the opinions of others. Good luck to all.

posted Oct 16th, 2009 1:46 am


jordan

+

ive been on the diet 8days now and have lost 10pounds, i have really seen a change in my body and love the results. I would recommend trying it whats their to lose Nothing

posted Oct 4th, 2009 2:18 am


Marquitta

I'm going to try this...
Hope it Does Goo = )

posted Sep 30th, 2009 11:46 am


Margret

+

I Love This Solution This Really Changed me. I Recomand This soultion To any trying to find a Quick, Fast way to lose Wait!
Thank You Scarsdale

posted Sep 30th, 2009 11:44 am


joy

+

to kelly the firrst comment -= try having soem ginger - its supposed to really help with the moion sickness and also 1 cup of popcorn - is that before or after its made? cos if its enough i would gladly have that as a subsitute meal - i love popcorn!

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 4:35 pm


Kelly

+

Usually if you are able to follow the diet strictly, it is indeed a successful one. When my mom was 40 she began the diet and stuck to it religiously. In the first month she lost 22lbs (with the doctor watching her carefully, of course.) She spent the entire summer swimming for her exercise, and at the end lost a total of 76lbs.

Keep in mind, you must also take into account your metabolism. I fully agree that it is a successful diet, but unfortunately I personally haven't been able to stick to it. If I commute on an empty stomach I become violently ill, and the lack of fiber tends to cause terrible constipation within two days. I was able to do it about 8 years ago, but with some minor adjustments (which sometimes boost the weight loss.) The following tweaks are the ones I found the most helpful:

2 slices bread, no spread, OR 1 slice with spread.

Grapefruit juice instead of an actual grapefruit (particularly helpful in getting more into you. The citric acid is a major fat burner, and you can drink it throughout the day.)

1 cup of popcorn a week (I did this, and the day I ate it was always the day I lost the most weight that week.)

I am going to give the diet another shot starting tomorrow, but adding a couple more tweaks to deal with the car sickness. Hopefully they will help without impacting the results drastically.

In the mean time, I strongly recommend this diet. It is without a doubt difficult at first, but it is well worth it.

NOTE!!!!! You should consult a doctor before starting, ESPECIALLY if you are diabetic or have any other health issues that are affected directly by diet.

posted Mar 28th, 2009 8:03 pm


shelly

to those who it has worked for.......do you use protein bread or whole wheat? do you keep it to one slice for bkft or 2? and do you allow yourself a whole grapefruit instead of 1/2? I'm starting the diet today...last time I was on it was abour 18 years ago......it used to wiork, but I'm a lot heavier now after 2 kids, age 44, etc. But I'm hoping it will be a good kick start....pls give me encouragement..Thanks!

posted Mar 12th, 2009 8:08 am


rachel o9

ive been thinking of doing this diet but im worried that ill notbe able to stick to it as ive got 4 small kids to look after any advice would be great

posted Mar 10th, 2009 7:04 am


Anna

+

I've used this diet since I was 18 and it always worked: I usually loose 5-6Kg. regaining my usual 57kg perfect weight. I sometimes regain weight just because I'm very greedy but it only happened 3 times in my life. Now I'm 50 and I'm on this diet again after Christmas holidays: I'm 5kg over and I really hope to loose them all again as usually.
Great diet, easy to follow and most of all IT WORKS!!!!!!

posted Jan 9th, 2009 3:11 pm


shamrock

+

..i'm 5ft 2'' and weigh nearly eleven stone-im well aware that i need to lose weight and fast-would quick results from this diet take long because i'm not extremely over-weight/obese?

posted Dec 30th, 2008 6:22 pm


Wanda

+

I lost 50 lbs...10 years ago on the scaresdale diet. I did put my weit back. But that was because of depresion.I recently went back on it and lost 25 lbs. already.And I did use sugar in my coffee WITH CREAM And used olive oil in my cooking plus oil & vinegar in my Salads.and butter on my toast.YOU STILL CAN LOSE 1 LB. A DAY! wITH SELFCONTROL AND NO DIET PILLS!DRINK PLENTY OF WATER AND YOU CAN AND WILL SEE FOR YOURSELF.

posted Dec 20th, 2008 4:26 pm


donna

+

very easy to use and you certainly lose the weight. I lost up to 7 lbs per week with very little effort.

posted Dec 12th, 2008 6:17 pm


Slim (girl)

+

This diet is fantastic! I used it to lose 20kg (44lbs) about 5 years ago (which I have mostly kept off), and recently went back on it to lose 3 kg (6.5lbs) before Xmas. I usually lose around 10 lbs over 2 weeks. It never fails to work and is very easy to follow.

posted Dec 11th, 2008 12:20 am


emily

-

i love this diet except now that i know what it is i dont like it.
ilovemoses

posted Dec 4th, 2008 11:46 am


Sam

+

My entire family used this diet several years ago. We all lost weight and felt great. I personally lost 55 lbs over a period of time.

posted Nov 6th, 2008 4:46 pm


Female 20

+

Love it! Lost 14 pounds in 2 weeks! Stuck to the diet most of the time, while substituting some of the dinner menus with things that I like a little better that was in other dinner meals. Loved it.. really worked... the only one thats worked... tried 4 different other diet plans.

posted Oct 20th, 2008 9:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Created in the 1970s by Dr. Herman Tarnower, the Scarsdale Diet is named for the town in New York in which Dr. Tarnower conducted his thriving medical practice, before meeting his untimely death by the hands of his long-time lover, Jean Harris. As a medical doctor specializing in treating obesity, Dr. Tarnower combined the medical phenomenon of ketosis, and its ability to generate weight loss, with an MD-designed food program that causes ketosis in otherwise healthy individuals.

Ketosis, or the production of excess Ketones, is described as producing the residual "ashes" or "embers" of fat-burning. Ketosis is generally a bad thing, causing both Alcoholics and Diabetics to lose fat rapidly as an unwanted side-effect of the disease. One can check if the body is engaged in Ketosis by measuring Ketones in the urine, though it should be noted that the Ketosis generated by the Scarsdale diet is generally at lower levels than those with illness-induced Ketosis.

The Scarsdale Diet is reknowned the world over for its rapid weight loss results, generally 1 pound per day. Some users boast a loss of 20 pounds in 14 days, though they readily admit that a significant part of that is water loss and readily returns once the diet is discontinued.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

PROPRO
  • The Scarsdale Diet has a long-running history of success all over the world
  • The high protein component of the program resonates strongly with those who have had success with off-shoot programs such as Atkins
  • Menu plan is very specific, making it easy for the user to follow
  • Rapid weight loss is ideal for someone preparing for a vacation, wedding, or other special event in which appearance is important
  • Easy to dine out
CONCON
  • The calorie level of 700 to 1000 calories is too low for even a moderately active individual
  • Many users complain of fatigue and extreme hunger
  • The restrictive nature of The Scarsdale Diet could be too excessive for many, and leaves little room for error or variation
  • No maintenance plan means the weight can quickly return when you abandon the diet
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

A sample day on The Scarsdale Diet looks like this:

Breakfast

  • 1/2 grapefruit
  • slice of wholemeal toast (no spreads or butter)
  • coffee (no sugar or milk)

Lunch

  • canned tuna
  • salad with oil-free dressing
  • coffee

Dinner

  • roast lamb (with all visible fat removed)
  • salad with lemon and vinegar dressing
  • coffee

Drinks

  • Water
  • Diet drinks
  • Tea
  • Soda water

The program's devotees have created a number of support websites, which include some fun, easy recipes that the whole family will enjoy. In addition, the unlimited nature of lean meat and plain vegetables, especially at dinner, makes it easy to dine out while still staying true to program.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

Never discussed, though that is a good thing, as the low-calorie nature of the program lends itself ideally to the individual that engages in little to no activity, other than some light gardening or housekeeping. Think "ladies who lunch" rather than "soccer mom who actually plays soccer."

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

The Scarsdale Diet, and its companion program the "Keep-Trim" Diet, is one that will never lose its style or place in dieting history. While Ketosis is best when medically supervised, it is not uncommon to find a container of Ketostix in the medicine chest of most American households.

In addition, high protein menu programs provide energy and satisfaction, from a sensory perspective, as well as making us feel full. Potential digestive disturbances aside, The Scarsdale Diet, doesn't feel like a restrictive diet at all, but rather permission to be diligent about food intake.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

scarsdale diet, TSD, scarsdial diet, keep trim diet, scaresdale diet, scarsdale deit

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, High Protein Diet, Atkins Advantage, Low-Carb Diet

Whats better than
Scarsdale Diet?