Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 17 reviews

Rice Diet

If you're a salt addict, you won't be after the rigorous detox of The Rice Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Created in 1939 in Durham, North Carolina, the Rice Diet is a program that can help you overcome weight-related diseases like obesity, heart disease, diabetes, hypertension and others. You can experience weight loss quickly when you reduce calories, sodium/salt and fat. The Rice Diet is a very low-calorie, low-fat plan

In addition to a complete Web program and several books in print, the Rice Diet has had a brick-and-mortar clinic located in Durham, North Carolina for almost 70 years. It's an outpatient clinic where patients suffering from many weight-related diseases are treated using diet and exercise, group therapy and stress management.

There are four steps to follow for the Rice Diet:

  1. The Diet - adhering to the food rules of the Rice Diet
  2. Mindful Eater - educate yourself about nutrition and make smart choices
  3. Resting - find time each day for yourself to meditate or exercise
  4. Support Network - include friends and family to keep you motivated
PRO
  • Meal plans and recipes
  • Treats weight-related illnesses
  • Quickly lose weight
  • Maintenance plan to keep weight off
CON
  • Caloric intake very low, about 1,000 calories/day
  • Seems complicated
  • A lot of rules
  • Strict portioning
  • No salt or sodium
  • Very little fruit
DIET and NUTRITION

Salt and sugar cause you to have an increased appetite. By eliminating these items you're more likely to lose weight, and with the Rice Diet, you'll accomplish that quickly. You'll consume very little calories, only about 1,000 each day. One way to reduce your calorie consumption is to limit processed and fatty foods.

There are three phases in the Rice Diet that dictate how and what you'll eat:

  1. The first week is all about detox. You'll have very little food and what you will have is quite limited. There is absolutely no salt or sodium. Each day you'll have starches like brown rice and quinoa. Six of the seven days you can have vegetables and some no-fat dairy. Fruit is permissible one time this week.

  2. This is the weight loss phase. Follow the same food plan as in phase one. However, vegetables and no-fat dairy are permissible only five days per week and on the seventh day you can have a serving of protein (ideally fish).

  3. This is the maintenance phase. Weight loss will slow down and allow you to manage a healthy weight. You'll also increase calories by adding fish or other lean protein two times each week. You can also incorporate tofu, cheese and nuts to the previous food plans.

The Rice Diet has an online store where you can buy a wide variety of low- or no-sodium foods. You'll find condiments, beverages, cereals, snacks, pasta, soups and more.

EXERCISE

You should incorporate as much exercise as possible while following the Rice Diet. Ideally, one hour a day would provide great benefits. However, if your schedule doesn't permit or you're new to exercise, then start out slow and work your way to a more consistent regimen. The Rice Diet recommends spiritual activity like yoga or tai chi, or individual activity like swimming or walking.

CONCLUSION

The benefits of the Rice Diet are clear- lose weight quickly and overcome many weight-related illnesses. It's a plan that will show you how to eat and live healthier. However, it's quite restrictive in that it provides little protein, healthy fat and fruit. The Rice Diet also has a low calorie consumption.

The Rice Diet is nearly 70 years old, with books on the New York Times Bestseller list and a reputable clinic in North Carolina. It's definitely not a fly-by-night plan. However, it might be too restrictive and not flexible enough for the harried schedules of most dieters.

Common Misspellings

Rice Deit, Riced Diet


Related Diets: Low-Fat Diet, Low-Sodium Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 30 total comments)

Jerod Matthews

This is my first day of doing the rice diet and i have a question. Are you allowed to have some salt. Can you put a little soy sauce in your white rice.

posted Jun 14th, 2012 2:40 pm


HappyXsmoker

I've been on the rice and bean diet for 26 days now and lost 11 pounds very easily.I eats tons of veggies and some fruit daily. I find Puerto rican rice made with brown rice tastes the best ! Brown rice is so much healthier then white rice! I feel great and plan on making this a way of life...adding in anything that is missing vitamin wise, which honestly isn't much! :)

posted May 28th, 2012 12:06 pm


Marie

The food plan works and has a lot of medical history supporting it. It is absolutely fabulous for those of us who retain water chronically from the effects of salt. It's easy to take with you to work and requires very little preparation. It has amazing results very quickly.

posted Mar 19th, 2012 6:59 pm


Rosetta Lee

I tried this diet and it is tried and true. I was skeptical but after losing weight, I am a believer. Great healthy diet.

posted Dec 10th, 2011 8:39 pm


jeffery

ove it

posted Mar 5th, 2011 6:15 pm


Lori V.

I would like to try this diet but don't know if you get sick of it after awhile with eating the same things.

posted Nov 5th, 2010 3:12 pm


Mellony

I have been on this for 4 day's now and am losing 2.5 pounds per day. It's been amazing. The food is great, I am satisfied and not craving any other foods. I add one tablespoon of Agave Nectar to my fruit and rice bowl it adds a sweetness without all the side effects. For dinner I have been making a stir fry and adding 1 tblspoon of sesame seed oil for flavor. Yummy, I can't wait to have it tonight for dinner. I love this and have my 10 year old on it with me, she has commited to doing it for 1 week which I think will be all she needs to get her body back to where it should be. And most of all I feel like for her she is eating healthy so its not really like putting her on a restrictive unhealthy diet plan at her age. This is very easy, I don't have a book or really any guidance other than what I read in my Womans magazine. So looking forward to reading more when my book arrives. But for now pretty happy with my options. Also I pre-make meals so I can grab on the go too at any moment. This way I am not tempted to stop and buy food when I am away from home. Good luck to you all.

posted Sep 16th, 2010 4:42 pm


Angela

I need and want to start this diet. I had been working out at the gym for 2 hours a day and then I had to have surgery and I can't go back to what I was doing for a year (other than walking) so that my insides may heal. Please send me all the information you can. I have started gaining wait and I need to be healthy. I'm getting married next year and I want to be healthier and smaller. Thank You

posted Sep 14th, 2010 10:52 am


c brungart

This is the one diet I have been able to stick with. I don't feel deprived in any way and it is simple to follow. Best of all I don't have any cravings. For me--the no salt or sugar has really made the difference.

posted Jul 12th, 2010 7:40 am


Bettina

I went on the rice diet for 3 months and lost 12 pounds with no exercise at all. I ate as much fruits and vegetables and rice as i wanted. I would binge on peanuts for a snack. Instead of sugar in my herbal tea.. i put a little honey. I stopped drinking coffee aswell. I did not feel like i was starving .. and i still had lots of energy. Great way to lose weight and detox at the same time.

posted Mar 30th, 2010 7:29 am


Andrea

I love this diet! It works well and I'm always full. This is not just any diet. It's a dieta and it's one that you can actually stick to!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 4:43 pm


Susie

The only program that has ever worked for me. I've used it for the past 23 years!

posted Feb 8th, 2009 5:00 pm


halfpintsmith

It does work and the pros and cons are incorrect. I think it is a really easy and effective diet. My husband and I are starting it together tomorrow. I have used it and had great success.

posted Jan 18th, 2009 8:02 pm


nessa

This rice dieta really works. You just have to want to do it like anything else in life. You're also not starving on it even though you eat way less calories and you feel so much better.

posted Jan 14th, 2009 8:15 pm


Kathy

I went on this diet many years ago and lost close to 50 pds. in about 4 months. This was the best plan and what no one really mentions is that once you are on it, you really dont have cravings anymore. All the sugary and salty foods dont even enter your thoughts..........do it, it works.

posted Dec 21st, 2008 10:46 pm


rainbow

I lost 23lbs in 3 weeks and kept it off for quite some time. This is not a quick fix, it is a change of lifestyle. You have to be committed to it. It is not easy. but it DOES work!

posted Dec 20th, 2008 5:02 pm


Crystal

Well fist of all the person that wrote the pros & cons of the diet has not purchased and read the book.. Little fruit? You eat 6 fruits a day during the first week and the following weeks incooperate lots and lots of veggies. This is a very healthy diet contrary to what people normally consume. Way more nutritious that a lot of diets I see. I loose about 1-1.5 lbs a day on this diet and feel great.

posted Dec 11th, 2008 8:34 am


mike v

I have used this program several times over the past 17 years. It has always worked as avertised. A lot of people will dismiss the diet because of the name. It may not be for everyone but has worked for many thousands of people for almost 70 years. Now how many diets/programes have that kind of track record? Remember rice and fruit are a small part of the overall picture. This is no fad diet,it realy works. Do some research and keep an open mind. I will write another review in a few weeks about my personal experence with this Dieta(way of life) Thanks B-)

posted Nov 19th, 2008 7:30 pm


patty

I lost 43 pounds in about 9 months. You must excersise as well to stay motivated.

posted Nov 18th, 2008 6:17 pm


cindy

I would like to receive your diet today. Someone I know is using it and has lost 17 pounds in a month. I am older and shorter and more obese. I would like to jumpstart my weight loss with this program.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 5:44 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account