Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Food and Diet Products Diet Navigation    
User Rating

81%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 31 reviews

FitDay

Here's a health and diet journal that you can use for free!

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Journaling is often touted as one of the activities that leads to successful weight loss. FitDay.com provides a journal free of charge. This online journal allows you to keep track of everything you've eaten in a day, your activities and exercises, and log your thoughts. It allows you to visualize what you've eaten, activities you've participated in, goals you’ve set, and anything else that goes into your day-to-day activities.

You're able to review charts and graphs every day or over a period of time like a week or month. You can view your progress toward a goal and see how many calories you burned while jogging, putting away groceries and working at your desk. You'll quickly be able to assess the areas where changes are most necessary.

PRO
  • It's free
  • Tracks 27 of the most important nutrition facts, including water
  • References the 'Dietary Guidelines for Americans'
  • Nutrition Values Database is extensive
  • Journaling is recommended by nutrition and diet experts
  • Tracks extensive list of activities and exercise
CON
  • Update daily for most accurate results
  • No specific diet instruction
  • No specific exercise instruction
DIET and NUTRITION

The FitDay.com journal will allow you to enter every food and beverage you've consumed in a day. It will then calculate calories, fat, protein, carbs and other vitamins and minerals. Colorful, easy to read graphs are presented giving you a clear picture of exactly what you're putting in your body.

Controlling calories, fat and carbs is an important step in losing weight. For many, the tallying is a time consuming and complicated task. FitDay.com's journal does it for you, and this allows you to better control what you're eating.

FitDay.com does not provide diet instruction. However, you can use any diet of your choosing and track the results with the free journal at FitDay.com.

EXERCISE

Your FitDay.com free journal will allow you to enter and track all of your activities, and then show the number of calories you're burning. It's quite an extensive list that includes:

  • Grocery shopping and putting away groceries
  • Jogging, running and walking
  • Sexual activity
  • Household chores like cooking, ironing and sweeping
  • Desk work or studying
  • Playing an instrument
  • Outdoor activities like canoeing, swimming, skiing and bicycling
CONCLUSION

Free, simple to use and packed full of valuable information, the online journal at FitDay.com is certainly an important tool for dieters. All you have to do is keep track of what you're eating and drinking, activities you engage in (as mundane as putting away groceries or as dedicated as running a few miles). Enter all of this information daily and FitDay.com will provide you with charts and graphs detailing your progress toward your selected goals.

Journaling is highly recommended for those trying to manage weight loss efforts. FitDay.com's journal makes this a simple task that can be done from anywhere you have an Internet connection. Use the diet program of your choice, and use FitDay as a tool to make those efforts more successful.

Common Misspellings

Fittday.com, FitDays.com, FiDay.com


Related Diets: Calorie Balance Diet, Calorie King, Diet Power, Sensei, Weight by Date


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 39 total comments)

Diane

It's wonderful. Best tracking tool I have ever used and it's free. I have lost 5 lbs. in the last four days. It makes you aware of the nutrtion you are receiving daily. It really makes a difference!!! Love this program!!!

posted Mar 27th, 2009 3:27 am


girl

The concept of this website is great.

I have just started using it. Most of what I eat is not on the food list though, so it is very time consuming. This wouldn't be a problem if the site wasn't soooooo sloooow. Sometimes it just doesn't work at all. This is not making me feel so secure and I could write out and calculate all my foods and be faster.

I am tempted to buy the software.

I was feeling like that was why it was so slow, but aparently I am the only one experiencing this.

posted Mar 10th, 2009 5:31 pm


Daniel

Great site, tracks goals and allow you to journal everything you can imagine! Best fitness site I've ever seen.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 10:19 am


Brooke

I have been using this site on and off for 3 years now (decided I didn't care what I ate for a few months, and then decided to care again) to keep track of the calories I take in and how it compares with the calories I'm burning. Between a full time student and working, I really don't have the time to memorize how many calories are in an apple and record them anywhere. But I definately have time for this system. Not more than 10 minutes a day and you have tracked your activities and what you have eaten.

Another thing I love about this program is that it encourages not just counting calories but eating healthy. You can see if you have met your daily requirement for nutrients such as Vitamin C or D or Calcium. It also encourages you to do more activities in your life because you can see so clearly how many more calories you burned.

They have everything preprogrammed from walking to dancing and any sport you can think of. They also have the food preprogrammed in, so it is fairly accurate. You can edit those if you find that whatever brand of the food you are eating is slightly different than the information entered. You can also make completely new foods for your favorites that they might not have right on. Sometimes it is hard to get the nutritional information for recipes, so you will have to calculate that by looking up the ingredients, but I find I eat the same things over and over so I have everything entered that I really eat.

And of course, the best thing about this program is that it is FREE! I was suprised to see it so updated when I came back to it after a few months and it still be free. I would be willing to pay money for it now that I have seen all it can do. It makes me think twice before picking up that snickers bar. :-)

posted Jan 4th, 2009 5:42 pm


Steve Smith

The best diet journal tool. Period.

This has been the dominant player in the space for many years. Excellent customer service.

New redesign. More powerful than ever before.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 8:33 pm


mezz

I liked the site at first, using it every day over a 6 month period. But, after not using it for about a month, they totally wiped out ALL my information. All the saved custom foods, all the weight loss and exercise I was tracking, everything but acknowledging my email address. I emailed them several times asking why they did that, and never got a response. I don't care if the site is free, but have an FAQ and make clear what your activitiy/inactivity policies are.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 4:16 pm


Alan

Successful weight loss starts at knowing where you stand from the moment you decide to lose weight. Fitday isn't a 'how-to' site or a diet plan, but it is an easy to use journal that allows one to track what one eats, how many calories one burns, and how much one weighs (among other things). I have lost 50 lbs in <4 months. I did not diet. I merely tracked what I ate on Fitday and made the appropriate adjustments. I still eat ice cream, peanut butter, and those other foods that I used to eat in my heavier days. The difference today is Fitday. The awareness of my caloric intake has allowed me to significantly turn my life around.

posted Dec 22nd, 2008 6:46 pm


Zach

Great site, recently updated and upgraded, if you tried it before and didn't like it you should try it again. Tons of information and food stats at your fingertips. Very easy to create custom foods quickly also. Contains not just cals and fats, but all nutrition and vitamin info. Great site, best part is it's free!

posted Dec 16th, 2008 10:41 pm


Sandy

I love it. ANd yes it is free

posted Nov 23rd, 2008 2:57 pm


Donavon Guyot

Fitday certainly pioneered a lot of the cool functions for a web based nutrition log.

posted Nov 2nd, 2008 8:07 pm


Kevin K

This website is great, and only getting better with time. It assisted me in loosing 25lbs a couple of years ago, and I will be using it to take off some more lbs before the holidays. The food log is invaluable in seeing what you are eating and how much throughout the day. Add to that the exercise log, and it is exactly what I needed to build a healthier lifestyle. I can not recommend this product enough to people trying to make fitness/eating lifestyle changes.

posted Oct 27th, 2008 5:01 pm


rhea

great site. gives you control of your own life. i lost 15 pounds in 3 weeks just by watching what i was eating. Ate more meals a day but with less calories overall. never felt hungry! Fitday helped me keep track. I havent even started exercising yet!

posted Oct 25th, 2008 12:39 am


tony

Fit Day's journal tools are very handy but they are only as good as what you put into them...

posted Oct 22nd, 2008 9:54 am


SueB

Fit Day has a great tool set that is free. The look of fitday.com is a little dated but the tools are great.

posted Oct 22nd, 2008 7:48 am


nicco_45

To be an all encompassed diet there should be information regarding both diet and fitness and there is no fitness direction, which may lead some to feel that you don't need to be active, which is a huge miscommunication to the average consumer

posted Oct 4th, 2008 11:35 pm


Brandywine

By keeping a log of what I eat I am finally being held accoutantable for everything I am putting into my mouth and that in itself has helped my identify areas i need to work on. To top it off, the service is free!!!

posted Oct 4th, 2008 11:28 pm


Anonymous

is it still free? I logged on and the website asked me for 29 dollars


Anonymous

love love love fitday.com if you keep up your entries, it's incredibly easy


Tiffany P

Journaling is a great way to wrap your arms around what you're actually eating



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account