Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

82%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 11 reviews

Fat Loss 4 Idiots

It's the idiot's guide to fail-proof dieting.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

It's a wonder that marketing by way of insult works with people. There are no more famous examples than the "For Dummies" book series or the "Idiot's Guides." So, one shouldn't be surprised to find that there's an idiot-proof diet. Fat Loss 4 Idiots, also known as the Idiot Proof Diet, may offend on the surface, but it claims to offer a treasure trove of weight loss help. The general tone is common sense. Don't deprive yourself, healthy food is more important than a magic pill, etc.

PRO
  • Fat Loss 4 Idiots looks to use a common sense approach, generally speaking.
  • Includes meal plans
CON
  • There are no testimonials on Fat Loss 4 Idiots website
  • Weight loss claim of 9 pounds in 11 days is rather random and too general, since everyone will lose weight differently
  • Does not promote exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The online Diet Generator will create an 11-day menu.

EXERCISE

There's no mention of an exercise component on the Fat Loss 4 Idiots website. In fact, it seems to downplay exercise by stating, "You don't get fat because of a lack of exercising, that's a myth."

CONCLUSION

There isn't a whole lot to complain about with Fat Loss 4 Idiots, but there also isn't much to go on either. You get little information on who the people are behind the diet. And since it doesn't appear to have an online component, you may be better off going with a book from a more visible expert or a more trusted brand of diet and weight loss program.

Common Misspellings

idiot prof diet, idiot proof deit, ideot proof diet, idiot's diet, 11 day diet


Related Diets: Calorie Shifting, Fat March, Low-Fat Diet, Burn the Fat


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 33 total comments)

Dishthe Poison

Mis-directs, manufactured testimonials, flooding internet and YouTube with false reviews (reviews with links), and FTC investigation are all characteristic of this product.

posted Nov 29th, 2011 6:22 am


Wan

I have had to work at my weight most of my life unlike my friends who seem to be able to eat anything I am just one of those people who only has to look at junk food and I can feel the weight creeping on so it is fair to say there aren't many diets I haven't tried. I used this diet 5 years ago and found it very simple to follow, no hunger or annoying headaches like I get with the shake diets. I easily lost about 18 kgs (39lbs) in just 10 weeks and kept it off for about two years. Unfortunately due to family problems and depression I started overeating and I am right back where I started and looking to lose the weight again now I am in a better place. I have tried several diets on and off the past few months and dont seem to be able to stick with anything for more than a day or two so I decided to go back to the only diet that has ever been really successful for me.

After so many years I had lost all my details however I contacted clickbank and provided them with the email address I had and approximately when I purchased and they were easily able to confirm my payment and set me up with a new username and password in just a few days. Better customer service than most places I know.

I am back on the diet and remembering how easy it was and how much better I feel. I have lost 9lbs and I am on day 9. I also try to workout for 1/2 hour a day doing whatever I feel like, some days I walk others I use the eliptical runner or the excercise bike and do light weights. I dont do hard workouts just exercise to get my body moving as I have a sit down job.

You only pick foods you like and can eat your meals for the day in any order you choose. It does give you strange combinations every now and then but you dont have to eat all of the foods at each meal you can make choices or you can treat it like a two course meal, eat one thing and leave room for the other 5 or 10 mins later. It works for me I feel fuller quicker and satisfied after each meal. I havent even thought about my cheat days until now - I was on here searching to see if you can skip them.

It recommends you do not skip them as it is part of the plan and I didn't skip them last time so I think I will stick to what I know works. On my cheat days I also made sure I didn't go silly I ate whatever I liked but was very conscious of my portion control which is a good habit to get into for when you get to your goal weight. Keeping my portions under control is how I kept the weight of for two years last time.

Like most diets it does recommend you only weight yourself at the end of the 11 days but I like to weight myself each day at the same time (about half an hour after I get up) and I have not had a day when I haven't lost something yet. I had two days where I didn't lose much but that just inspired me to make sure I drink all my water and exercise each night.

I highly recommend this diet plan. It probably wont work for everyone but I can say it works for me. Good Luck !!

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 2:14 am



Susan York

I was stuck on a plateau. I tried this and loved every moment. In the 11 days I lost 10 pounds. I gained back 1.5. But this is acceptable since I know that this is water.
It gave me the help I needed to get back in gear. I'm not on my plant protein diet and will probably return to the idiot diet for a change if I need it.

Thank you for the review of this diet and and comments. I am a happy customer!

posted Apr 19th, 2010 12:07 pm


happy

Great diet success!
Ok so I had tried (or attempted to try) every diet fad out there. Let me tell you Atkins or low carb left me miserable, moody, and my weight didn't really drop. In fact let me tell you I am 5'6 and around 130 lbs. I go to the gym every SINGLE day. Sometimes I would work out twice a day by doing spin classes and bootcamp style courses and fast intervals on the treadmill for 45 minutes! Of course this helped get me down to 124lbs but who has the time and energy to go do that EVERY DAY!?
I also went on a low carb during this time and I was miserable.

It was too much so I slowed down a bit and now, even though I have muscles, I am still a bit flabby in some areas! Which sucks because I put a lot of effort into working out and I thought I'd get major results that would last right?

WRONG.

So I research a lot online and it seems that the diet is really the NUMBER 1 factor in weight loss. Another thing is that I was eating sensibly before (or so i thought) for example-oatmeal, low carb yogurt, spinach egg whites, very little fruits, low sugar jam and toast, energy bars, almonds. etc... I thought this would help me lose weight, yet I would eat a lot more because all of those crazy workouts made me hungry! I NEVER felt full. Of course I would stop eating, but I was unsatisfied and ate larger portions. I also ate huge meals 3 times a day with snacking in between (healty but a lot of it)

So far I am on day 3...I know it is soon to speak, but I FEEL FULL! This is insane for me because I have not felt full in a long time.

Day one was great I followed the steps religiously and I genuinely felt FULL after eating WAY smaller portions then before. I finished day 2 which was the fruits and for meal #1 I had half an apple and a handfull of grapes with water and I've been drinking a ton of green tea to get me through each day which helps with hunger and cravins. I actually felt full after this meal.

Another thing is exercise! I went to the gym the second day of the diet and I did a steep hill walk on the treadmill with different height intervals ranging in between 3-9.5...It got me a bit perspired but not drenched like my workouts before. Afterwards I had an apple and some strawberries and I felt GREAT! No hunger no light headedness. LIke some sort of transformation from the girl who used to never feel satisfied with food.

So for the 4 meals a day I set a timer on my phone starting with the first meal I eat and when and then I go from there up to meal four. It's easy and It keeps me on track so I remember to eat every 4 hours.

I was scared that I would overeat since they didnt count out the portion size, but I feel like i'm doing well so far because I am beginning to sense when my body has had it's fill of food. Instead of stuffing myself, I stop at a reasonable moment. Right when I feel like I could eat a few more bites, I stop.

So I will keep everyone updated because announcing this has made me more motivated to keep going. ALso my belly feels much flatter and no situps required. I just feel more toned and it sticks out so much less, it's actually pretty tight and I have energy! So far so good


until next time!! hope everyone is doing well!

I really hope it works...also DOES ANYONE KNOW THE LIMIT ON COFFEE? IT SAYS LESS THAN 10 CAL'S PER CUP BUT HOW MANY CUPS CAN YOU HAVE?

posted Mar 5th, 2010 1:46 am


Joe

I went on the fat loss 4 idiots diet hoping to loose 22 pounds. I choose about 16 foods and fruits that I liked, then printed out the meal plan. THe meal plan was very repetitive and bland, grapefruit every morning, skinless chicken every night, etc. I had to keep eating the same foods over and over. By my second completed rotation, I was done with he diet. I continued to work out on the diet, and followed the diet pretty strictly, but only lost 5 pounds. After I completed the diet I gained 12 pounds, and now need to loose 12 pounds. I got a refund on this diet, but I am extremely dissatisfied. if anyone else needs a refund visit: http://www.clickbank.com/orderDetail.htm?clear=true

posted Feb 12th, 2010 1:03 am


enas

hii...how can i order the book cause the website is not secure ....

posted Feb 1st, 2010 3:31 pm


Nanette

To Dar,
They actually have a vegetarian version of the diet. I have never tried it, so cannot vouch for its effectiveness. But if that doesn't work, the diet allows you to choose "up to" 15 foods form each proteins and "up to" 15 from carbs. This does not mean you HAVE to pick 15. You can just pick and choose from the non-meat items to your liking. Hope it helps.

posted Jan 10th, 2010 10:39 am


Nanette

I have done this diet 3 times, and while it was the most effective the first time, in which I lost 11 pounds, the second time I lost 9, and the third, 7. I believe the reason for the difference is that I was not as strict the 2nd and 3rd time and had a couple glasses of wine and shaved a day or two off.

I believe one of the best things one can take from this diet is portion control. You are supposed to eat 4 meals a day, as much as you want, but the key is to stop before you feel full.

And btw, one of the cons on this site says this diet does not promote exercise. This is actually false. It does promote walking every day for at least a half an hour.

posted Jan 10th, 2010 10:34 am


bharr33

This diet is the GREAT! I have never lost weight so fast in my life. I have tried so many diets and exercise plans and it gets discouraging when you don't see the scale moving quick enough for all of the effort that you are putting into it. I have been on this diet for 8 days and have lost a lb a day and I have not incorporated an exercise plan yet!!!! It is so encouraging to see the scale going down daily. It makes you want to continue through the monotony of the meals daily. After a while you get tired of eating.

posted Oct 5th, 2009 9:43 am


Kristen Murphy

I use this diet anytime I want to lose weight because I need a very structured regimen that tells me exactly what to eat. I love it because you get fast results and you dont have to excercise, I just dont like to and dont have the time. I did the idiot diet after my first son was born and lost 32 pounds in 3 1/2 months. It works great but you have to very committed and willing to give up sweets and greasy foods, and regular soda. It is definitley not something you can do long term. After going off the diet I did weight watchers to maintain my weight. I plan on doing it again for losing weight from my second pregnancy.

posted Sep 19th, 2009 11:14 pm


nikki

What works for one person may not work for another. You have to find what works for your body. That has been a very difficult journey for me and I've tried almost everything from working out crazily and incorporating a really healthy diet to weight watchers etc. and none of it made me lose weight. So, out of frustration I tried this. 1st go round lost 12.4 lbs but on my 8th day of my 2nd go round barely lost 2. But, at least I'm losing. I will try it again and see what happens. if anything, I'm learning to eat a lot less because my body doesn't need it. So, great for learning when to stop and I'm exercising as well which I've always done. I'm eating foods I like and the only day I hate is the all veggies day. So, haters....go find something that works for you. This is creating a lifestyle change for me because I eat a lot less then I did before and don't feel deprived.

posted Sep 7th, 2009 7:13 pm


Mark Davis, M.D.

Many of the diets you list are celebrity driven and some are dangerous. Others are antiquated and being pushed by media gurus such as Oprah. You left off your list The Millenium Diet, The Practical Guide For Rapid Weight Loss, Mark Davis, M.D. This new program supplants the older ones you have listed with cutting edge science, ease of use and economically affordable for everyone. Many of the programs you have listed are untested, decades old or unscientific and dangerous. Please review and add The Millenium Diet to your website. I have been interviewed on dozens radion stations with many more to come and millions have been exposed to this program. It can be purchased on hundreds of websites or ordered through any bookstore. Do your readers a favor and let them know alternate programs actually work exist. Thanks!

posted Jul 5th, 2009 11:41 pm


Taylor Joy

Actually this diet is nothing like atkins (i've done both), because you can eat fruit, and a little bread! I'm only on day 7 and i've gone from 130 to 126lbs! I'd recommend it!

posted Dec 14th, 2008 12:41 pm


Dar

I'm wondering about the vegies? The diet has days with vegies? I though we lost weight with vegies and that they were good for us? I'm not that big of a meat lover so this has been a very hard diet so far for me. Can I tweek it and add some more vegies?

posted Dec 13th, 2008 8:53 pm


Anna

This diet is good. I come across this diet in the internet last month and i was curious so I tried it. Amazingly I loss weight. it just that you have to follow everything it says in the Handbook. i was then 135 lbs heavy. By the way I loss 17 lbs, I am now 118 lbs lighter than before. It's great and my husband and my freinds notices it. they too wanted to try my diet. I feel good about myself now. thanks for this wonderful diet. Guys you just have to follow rules in order for you to succeed. I am a living proof about this diet. if you have any doubt you can contact me in my email: annamj2004@yahoo.com

posted Nov 25th, 2008 10:36 pm


Pat

First of all I have read diet books and tried different ways of losing weigh but I am the type of person that needs to have a menu in front of me to follow. Reading a book telling how to eat right isn't enough. This program gives you choices of what you want to eat and then generates a menu for you for 11 days. I am on my going on my 3rd week and have gone from 250lbs to 234lbs. which surprised me plus I feel great. I need to have a menu to follow or i'll go stray. It works but you need to stick to it!!!
Thanks

posted Nov 7th, 2008 6:54 pm


Erica

I LOVE IT. I had a baby 2 years ago and i tried everything to get the weight off working out diet after diet nothing worked i would loose a few pounds here a few pounds there and gain it back or more. I tried this 11days ago and lost 10 pounds. i feel and look great. people at work wont stop complementing me.. THIS WORKS!!!! just follow the rules i cant wait to start my second week..

posted Sep 20th, 2008 8:32 am


Wes

I agree with Nancy. From what I've read about this diet, it sounds just like the Atkins diet. Except the Atkins diet is a bit easier to do. Just eat less than 20 carbs a day for months and you'll lose A LOT OF WEIGHT.

posted Sep 18th, 2008 2:49 pm


Lisa

I would encourage any person wanting to lose weight and keep it off to try the Michael Thurmond Six Week Body Makeover. You eat fresh, delicious meals 5-6 times a day. You eat from every food group. It is not a diet per se, it is a lifestyle change. Exercise is strongly encouraged, but just eating according to your body type will start the weight loss. Results are immediate! The more weight you have to lose, the quicker your results. It's worth googling....

posted Sep 8th, 2008 7:25 am


Curtis

I wish the FDA would actually hurt these scam artists in public floggings.

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account