Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

82%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 11 reviews

Fat Loss 4 Idiots

It's the idiot's guide to fail-proof dieting.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

It's a wonder that marketing by way of insult works with people. There are no more famous examples than the "For Dummies" book series or the "Idiot's Guides." So, one shouldn't be surprised to find that there's an idiot-proof diet. Fat Loss 4 Idiots, also known as the Idiot Proof Diet, may offend on the surface, but it claims to offer a treasure trove of weight loss help. The general tone is common sense. Don't deprive yourself, healthy food is more important than a magic pill, etc.

PRO
  • Fat Loss 4 Idiots looks to use a common sense approach, generally speaking.
  • Includes meal plans
CON
  • There are no testimonials on Fat Loss 4 Idiots website
  • Weight loss claim of 9 pounds in 11 days is rather random and too general, since everyone will lose weight differently
  • Does not promote exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The online Diet Generator will create an 11-day menu.

EXERCISE

There's no mention of an exercise component on the Fat Loss 4 Idiots website. In fact, it seems to downplay exercise by stating, "You don't get fat because of a lack of exercising, that's a myth."

CONCLUSION

There isn't a whole lot to complain about with Fat Loss 4 Idiots, but there also isn't much to go on either. You get little information on who the people are behind the diet. And since it doesn't appear to have an online component, you may be better off going with a book from a more visible expert or a more trusted brand of diet and weight loss program.

Common Misspellings

idiot prof diet, idiot proof deit, ideot proof diet, idiot's diet, 11 day diet


Related Diets: Calorie Shifting, Fat March, Low-Fat Diet, Burn the Fat


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 33 total comments)

Tigran

I have tried it and I reviewed it. I liked some things and dint like some thing. I wrote a review be sure to read it...it can help you take a decision before you buy.

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am


Nancy

Wake up people!!!!!!! This is clear and simply the Atkins Diet with a different name!!! But if you just insist on trying this, this week's issue of Woman's World Magazine on sale now is about the fat loss 4 idiots diet and features the two women who thought it up. For $6.00 you can go to Walmart, buy the Atkin's Diet book, READ IT all the way through and FOLLOW IT ALL THE WAY THROUGH and you will lose!! I lost 58 lbs and have 45 more to go. Again, this is just a copy of Atkin's!!!

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm


Melanie Rodrigues

I have tried MANY diets, until finally I came acorss this one. Fat Loss 4 Idiots. I tried it for SEVEN months, all the while hoping for it to work, and instead of losing 9lbs a week, I was now gaining 1/2 a lb a week. I was soon overweight more than I had ever been, and after strict consultation with my doctor, decided to leave the diet. At this point I would also like to point out, I stuck thoroughly to the diet. Soon I was getting very ill, and gaining more weight than I should have, my family was worried and my doctor soon had me on medictaions and finally forced me to give up the diet. I have to say, I have lost more wieght than I could ever had thought, am now able to fit into younger clothes, and look AND feel so, so much better. My diet - Each day - 30 minutes excerise, not counting warming up or cooling down, 3 to 4 times a day, beans, lean meat, boiled chicken, boiled vegatables, wholemeat food, fat bunrning compatiable foods, mixed in with the occasional stirfry or bacon, or sugar. I also drank plenty of water each day. This will help you do wonders, depending on how you shift the calories or how much you eat of these foods per day. - Melanie

posted Jun 21st, 2008 7:55 am


Marge

So after the first day, i gained a little weight but i kept on going. the 2nd day with all the fruit made me feel very full is this suppose to happen the first couple days? im afraid im just going to gain more weight. Im active and i want to loose 10-15 lbs before going to college...am i on the right diet?

posted Jun 20th, 2008 8:11 am


Trish

This diet is the best. 11 days of eating the foods you have chosen in the order you choose- eggs or oatmeal for breakfast, baked beans chicken sausage fish salads vegetables fruit when ever your day allows. On the vegetable day I make soup from all the veg and add pinto beans for a delicious filling meal. If you don't like deli meat- don't tick it on the list. I even have a glass of wine with my evening meal. Don't be put off by whiners. If you want to lose weight you have to make sacrifices and then on your three days off enjoy your meals to the full. This is the key. If you had to stick to the diet for weeks on end it wouldn't work. I am 62 with an underactive thyroid and my doctor has tried me on all sorts of diets and I just couldn't lose weight. After four weeks I have lost 15 lbs -I have lost my IBS symptoms and my ankles no longer swell. I have more energy have got my confidence back and look and feel five years younger already. Ignore nutrition experts who say they don't know who planned the diet. The Island of Crete has one of the most healthy diets in the world and has done for thousands of years-who devised that diet- I would say the people eat what is available naturally and use common sense, which is what I am doing.

posted May 29th, 2008 8:40 am


Liz

I am starting day 6 of this diet. So far I really enjoy it. I agree that the deli meats do get tedious but I avoid them when I can and eat boiled chicken instead. I'm just one of those people that needs an intense amount of structure in order to get anything done. Having the meal-generator for me is like having a friend there that keeps me accountable for what I eat and helps me stay away from the much loved pasta and cheese products.

posted Apr 19th, 2008 10:08 am


Kim

I was excited about this diet and after picking out all the foods I love and looking over the menu, I thought it would be a breeze. Unfortunately I hated it from day 1. I felt like I was starving all the time because even though you eat 4 times a day and you only have to wait 2 1/2 hours between meals, If I timed my meals like that starting at 7:00 am then my last meal would be a 3:00 p.m. I ended up spreading out my meals about 4 hours apart and with the limited selection of foods at every meal, I almost felt nautious trying to fill up on deli meats, eggs, or nuts. I was starving for vegetables which seemed to come in short order on this diet. I did all 11 days and lost 7 lbs. But I felt miserable and did NOT want to have to repeat the diet every time I finished. I'm going back to my old diet even though I lost weight slower on it. I wish I had my money back.

posted Apr 17th, 2008 8:48 pm


Jennifer

I am on my 7th day of the diet - i have not weighed myself yet but feel slimmer and my rings are getting loose. I swap the meals about and save peanuts or walnuts for evening snacks - mostly eggs or fruit for breakfast - I WILL KEEP YOU INFORMED.

posted Apr 7th, 2008 12:38 pm


Chris

I completed my first 11 days and shed 3 kilos.They promise 4 but it doesnt matter,maybe my portions were slightly bigger than they should have been.I didnt work out at all.During the 3day off period I couldnt eat much because I had gotten used to eating small portions.They ask you to eat till the point you're not totally full, therefore limiting calories.The idiot proof idea seems to be that you dont have to 'drown' in numbers and calory count but eating and stopping before you're full will do the job for your body.The 2 days of really low calories are the worst, but the remaining 9 are decent. I'll stick to it because its easy to do. For the food generator there's no option for foods containing sugar, bread potatoes or pasta so i guess most people will lose weight just by eliminating these foods. My question is whether their premise is right, the idea that shifting calories keeps the metabolism active and you lose weight more effectively. I will stick to it because, scientifically sound or not, it helped me quit my nasty eating habits and start losing weight by following a plan. They also offer a vegetarian option.

posted Apr 5th, 2008 3:58 pm


sam

As Melissa states read the diet rules. You can eat any meal in any order. Also, it DOES PROMOTE EXERCISE. It recommends 30 minutes of exercise twice a day. That's a lot of exercise. You don't have to do that much for weight loss but to accelerate it recommends that much. This information on this website is bogus.

posted Mar 27th, 2008 6:42 pm


Melissa

You really need to read the diet rules. The generator asks that you choosed your foods and you can eat the meals IN ANY ORDER. The sandwich does not have to be for breakfast. I have cycled this diet 6 times for a total loss of 40 pounds. Works for me! Also, I eat this way. I don't ask my family to participate.

posted Mar 17th, 2008 11:31 am


Catherine

I have to say, it looked like a scam to me when I saw it and now that I see Jennifer's comments, I am even more convinced!

posted Mar 4th, 2008 12:07 pm


jennifer

okay so I am thinking I am an idiot for spending money on this the menu generator is fine until you realize bacon strips walnuts and strawberries are supposed to be a meal how about chicken and hard boiled eggs? one day you have a sandwich in the Morning?!! and then nothing but fruit for the rest of your meals. There is not enough variety or flexibility on this diet to satisfy anyone ready...one meal is lowfat milk and cheese slices or how about cashews and turkey slices mind you they wnat u to eat deli style slices ...healthy I wonder how much meat vs. preservatives and talk about sodium heres another yummy option a bowl of oeat meal and a green salad...mind you you dont't have to eat all the menu items for a meal so...maybe just cashews i have tried to stick to this and will be starting day 4 i think it will find me calling jenny or signing up for weight watchers i am certain my family will be greatful we are not having plain shrimp and a bowl of pinto beans for dinner. i think what really works here is nothing tastes good or goes together so you may as well not eat.



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account