Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 20 reviews

Fat Flush Plan

Can you stand being on a calorie restricted diet with lots of diuretics?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Fat Flush Plan is a book written by Ann Louise Gittleman. This book outlines a weight loss system that melts fat from your hips, waist and thighs in just two weeks. The program also reshapes your body while detoxifying your system. Those following this plan should notice a sense of renewed energy and vibrancy. The Fat Flush Plan has a forward written by Dr. Barry Sears. The Fat Flush Plan starts by outlining five hidden weight gain factors including your liver, when fat is not fat, fear of eating fat, excess insulin and stress as a fat maker. There are three phases to the Fat Flush Plan.

This is a program designed to be maintained for the rest of your life instead of just briefly to lose weight. Each phase is covered in tremendous detail and there is also information on exercise, sleeping and keeping a journal. You will also receive information on how to shop while on The Fat Flush Plan and maintaining the program while you are away from home. There are recipes included in the book along with some tips on how to make your favorite recipe Fat-Flush friendly. The three phases of the program are outlined below:

  • Phase 1: The two-week fat flush
  • Phase 2: The ongoing fat flush
  • Phase 3: The lifestyle eating plan

This incredibly popular diet plan has been mentioned in the movies Last Holiday and Mean Girls. It has also been named one of the hottest diet contenders by O magazine. You will begin your Fat Flush Plan journey by taking a short quiz. This will enable you to figure out the cause of many of your unwanted pounds. From there you are able to move into the phases of the plan to make changes to your body.

PRO
  • A program designed for lifetime use
  • Covers five hidden weight gain factors
  • Includes recipes
  • Offers help for following the program while away from home
  • Outlines three different program phases
  • Encourages keeping a journal
  • Exercise and sleep information included
CON
  • First phase is very restrictive
  • Some may find it difficult to stick with the plan for a lifetime
DIET and NUTRITION

There are three different phases that make up The Fat Flush Plan. Each phase involves some different eating principles and the program is designed for you to stay on it for a lifetime. Each phase allows different foods with phase one being the most restrictive. Phase one is two weeks in length. Phase two focuses on a more ongoing time frame for weight loss. This phase will also allow a bit more variety but you will still be losing weight. Phase two will be maintained until you reach your desired weight. The last step to The Fat Flush Plan is going through phase three which is the lifestyle eating plan. This phase gives you the needed guidelines to maintain your new weight and increase your well being. Below are some of the foods you will eat in the first two phases of the program:

Phase 1

  • Right after waking: Long Life Cocktail
  • Before breakfast: 8 oz. hot water with lemon juice
  • Breakfast: Spinach-dill omelet made with 2 eggs, spinach, and fresh dill; 8 oz. glass cran-water
  • Midmorning snack: ½ grapefruit
  • 20 minutes before lunch: 8 oz. cran-water
  • Lunch: 4 oz. broiled buffalo burger or chicken cutlet with herbs; steamed broccoli, zucchini and okra with 1 Tbs. flaxseed oil; 8 oz. cran-water
  • Midafternoon: Two 8 oz. glasses cran-water
  • 4 p.m. snack: 1 apple
  • 20 minutes before dinner: 8 oz. cran-water
  • Dinner: 4 oz. grilled halibut brushed with broth, dill, garlic, and lemon; Egg Drop Soup; braised greens in broth; 1 Tbs. flaxseed oil
  • Midevening: Long Life Cocktail

Phase 2

  • Right after waking: Long Life Cocktail
  • Before breakfast: 8 oz. hot water with lemon juice
  • Breakfast: Vegetable juice cocktail and Weekend Turkey and Egg Bake
  • Midmorning snack: ½ cup melon cubes and ½ cup ricotta cheese
  • Lunch: Friendly Italian Wedding Soup; ½ cup brown rice; sweet onion and celery salad with 1 Tbs. sesame oil, apple cider vinegar, and ginger
  • Midafternoon snack: 1 apple and 1 oz. mozzarella
  • Dinner: 4 oz. broiled sea bass with lemon, ginger and cayenne; warm asparagus; 1 small sweet potato drizzled with 1 Tbs. flaxseed oil
EXERCISE

Exercise is definitely encouraged on The Fat Flush Plan, but the belief is less is more. The plan advises against doing strenuous exercise because it can endanger your health. With this program, you are encouraged to engage in moderate exercise rather than anything strenuous or high intensity. The exercises that are recommended can be done at home and fit easily into your schedule. You start with bouncing and brisk walking for phases one and two. Bouncing is a term used for jumping jacks. Resistance or weight training will not be added until you reach phase three. Below is the exercise plan that you would complete during phase one:

  • Warm-up and stretching: At least 5 minutes every session
  • Bouncing: 5 minutes, daily
  • Brisk walking: 20 minute, 5-7 times per week
  • Cool-Down: At least 5 minutes every session

The exercise plan for phase two is exactly the same for the warm-up, bouncing and cool-down. For the brisk walking, you bump the time from 20 minutes to 30 minutes still 5-7 times per week.

CONCLUSION

The Fat Flush Plan seems to be a solid plan for losing weight. There are several foods that are off limits when you start the program. Phase one may be difficult because of the strictness of the eating plan, but it only lasts for two weeks. This program has become extremely popular and it seems to get results. The Fat Flush Plan can help you lose weight and detoxifying your body at the same time.

Common Misspellings

FatFlush, Fat Flush Paln, Fat Fulsh, Fat Flush Diet, Fat Flush Diet Plan, Fat Flush 3 Day Plan


Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, Lemonade Diet, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 35 total comments)

Stefania

Can you eat edameme beans on the Fat Flush Plan? I am curious as to whether you can eat edamame beans on the Fat Flush Plan. If so, in what phase? What quantity? And with how many meals or snacks. Thank you.

posted Jul 12th, 2012 3:54 pm


Daphne Belle

I'm sticking with this and i don't feel it is hard. I weighed 180 when i started and now weigh 162 after 4 weeks and still dropping. I did p90x for 7 weeks and did not lose a pound This works....
I have chose no dairy and no bread for life I seem to still lose weight having a glass of red wine a couple nights a week.

posted Aug 11th, 2011 7:15 pm


daphne

I weighed 180 when I started. I now weigh 162 and I am still losing 4 weeks in. It is not hard to follow this plan.
I am making all of my friends start this.

posted Aug 11th, 2011 6:57 pm


Clare

I did the Fat Flush 7 or 8 yrs ago when I was really heavy and it was a great thing. I've weight on again so this morning I've pulled out the book and am starting again tomorrow. It's brilliant & I'm looking forward to feeling good again. I'm tired of being sluggish, achy, painy and generally unwell.

posted Jun 7th, 2011 5:15 am


Kelly

Interesting to hear all of the reviews. I have done this diet a few times.... which says a few things :-) One being that it works well enough for me to do it again..... and two being that it is somewhat difficult to stay on! ;-) I have read all of the reviews to date on this site.... and I agree with most of them. It is time consuming and costly (if you don't have a trader joe's nearby!!! lol) I now actually crave the cran-water AND the turkey burgers with tons of spices. I USED to be on very HIGH doses of prednisone due to my chronic arthritis (I'm only 29 and I've had this for 10 years!!!). I've had surgeries as well as many other medications. I've done the fat flush when I've been on medicine as well as when my arthritis seemed to be "under control". The results were amazing. I usually gain a TON of weight due to the prednisone..... but over the last year I've only had to take it twice (which I give credit to the flaxseed oil!!). BOTH times I had to take it, I did this diet. I actually LOST weight instead of gaining!! I'm usually the biggest GRUMP (that's completely censored!!! lol) during the first couple of days.... but then around day 4 the birds start to sing, the clouds open up and I feel AMAZING!! I have more energy than ever before. I wan't to scream at the top of my lungs about how great I feel! My skin looks amazing... my knees actually look normal!!! (you have no IDEA what this means.... I normally have to get my knees drained every 3 months!) AND on top of all that... I LOSE weight.... lots of it :-) The biggest downfall that I see... is how hard this diet is to stay on. I tend to gain a few pounds back instantly due to eating sodium/salt again, but I think I come back to it again and again due to how it makes me feel! I've had MANY health issues besides my arthritis........... and I've consulted my Family Doctor, my general surgeon, Rheumatologist, Pharmacist AND Naturopathic doctor.... and they have ALL given me the thumbs up on this diet! That says a lot!!! I just hate the NO VINO! lol BUT.... when I actually STICK to it.... I feel amazing... and the pounds shed so quickly it's amazing!!!! Hope those that are on the fence take the time to try it.... I would love to hear what you think!!!

posted Jan 11th, 2011 8:59 am


Gail

I lost 50 pounds doing Fat Flush. I lost mainly inches on Phase 1 and ten pounds. Phase 2 I lost another ten pounds. Phase 3 I did low carb (I enjoy the P3 carbs best and followed the exercise plan as outlined in the book to lose the remaining weight. Those who say the Fat Flush Plan doesn't allow dairy must not have been doing Phase 3. Phase 3 allows two servings of dairy a day, including cheese, cottage cheese and yogurt. As well, there are many calcium rich foods allowed in Phase 1 and Phase 2.

posted Dec 29th, 2010 5:17 am


rebecca

For those of you who experience tiredness on this diet it could be from losing all the water weight, and you may need some electrolytes. try electrolyte enhanced water or a bit of gatorade (get the low carb G2). I experience that tired feeling when Im in a climate where I sweat a lot (same thing, losing fluids and electrolytes).

posted Nov 7th, 2010 1:16 am


thori

eager as a beaver n CANT WAIT TO BEGIN!!!:)

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 10:43 am


Angela Davis

Feel great, lost weight, love the food!

posted Jan 29th, 2010 6:44 am


Tari Bussard

I have tried this 3 or 4 times and have lost weight every time.
I am looking forward to reading the Fat Flush for Life. I loved the diet but had a hard time staying on it for long term, got a little bored with the food and found it a little difficult carrying around the drinks (which made me have to go to the bathroom constantly)all the time.

posted Jan 2nd, 2010 1:56 am


kklj

I love the diet It worked great for me when I did it last year but I did make the mistake of going back to my "old habits" once I realized I was thin "now and can eat whatever I want." I forgot how great my skin looked and how great and healthy I felt. I started the program again with one exception. I altered the diet slightly from day one, like eating once slice of double fiber bread once a week, or using part vinegrette, one part low fat caeser salad dressing and one part flaxseed oil on my salad or eating a slice of flaxseed french toast for breakfast on the weekend. That way I will not start off my new eating habit as a diet but a change my entire lifestyle forever with the fat flush plan. I figure the weight will not drop in three weeks as it did before but since I am not going to Mcdonalds for breakfast for my usual pancakes and sausage or eating double cheese Hamburger helper for dinner every night, and drinking my cranberrry water ( you'll eventually crave it!) instead of diet soda, then I will be able to eat this way for ever. I will lose the wieght slower but permanately. I've only been doing it this way for four days but my skin aready feels great! i guess my new way of living would be considered a healthy, low fat, organic Zone with a FAT FLUSH TWIST

posted Sep 30th, 2009 4:04 pm


PT

Been on it for three weeks, love it. My stomach is getting flatter. I have been mixing the flax seed ground with the cranberry juice.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 4:54 pm


barbara

helps the body take control

posted Mar 20th, 2009 3:42 pm


JennyK

I call this my January diet. I do it for two weeks every year to get rid of the winter weight. It is hard, but it really does work better than any diet around. It also presses the reset button and gets you back on track for healthy eating.

posted Mar 4th, 2009 1:41 pm


Joan

Great - The detox is really good and the life long plan is not as extreme as you may think. This is not really an extreme diet - the first phase is a detox so it is a little more idfficult but as you change your eating habits for life (which includes more healthy fats and carbs it is not so hard. Stick with it - it works

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 12:32 am


McKenney

I do this once a year after the holidays (for the past 3 years). It reminds me how great it feels like to eat & live a healthy lifestyle. I do the first 2 weeks and slowly add back in recommended carbs and realistic foods after the two weeks. I always loose about 7-10 pounds & inches around my hips and waist in the first 14 days. Because this changes my lifestyle I usually keep off the weight or loose more, well into the year. It is expensive & time consuming but well worth it!!!

posted Jan 27th, 2009 2:41 pm


kathy

worked extremely well for me in the past. Am going to try it again tommarow.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 9:46 am


Dawn Walker

i loved the diet. I lost 25 pounds in 3 weeks i mixed it with 45 min on the treadmill 5 days a week and 45 min on the cycle and then pilates 7 days a week for 45 min and the first week i didnt lose anything..the second week i only lost 7 pounds but by the end of the third week i had lost a total of 25 pounds. it was like the weight just melted off overnight!!!

posted Jan 6th, 2009 7:42 pm


katie

I just did this for a wedding...it works but not something I could do long term

posted Oct 5th, 2008 11:04 am


Carol0223

I just got back from my honeymoon and I looked awesome on my wedding day in photos thanks to the fat flush plan - if you are getting married this is a great diet to get rid of those last pounds!

posted Oct 4th, 2008 4:32 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account