Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

76%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 33 reviews

Calorie King

You won't find a better free resource for nutrition facts.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

One of the major challenges in eating healthy is knowing your true caloric intake. In the Internet age there's plenty of information at your disposal. The most comprehensive source for tracking your food intake just may be Calorie King. At Calorie King there is a treasure trove of nutritional information. Being organized can be the difference between success and failure. And, there's no shortage of health organizational tools at Calorie King.

PRO
  • The Calorie King website is very comprehensive. You get a lot of information for free.
  • Membership and software are very reasonably priced
  • Free and easy access to a wealth of nutrition information
  • Recipe of the day
CON
  • None to speak of at this time
DIET and NUTRITION

If ever there were a dietary site that had a comprehensive food component, it's Calorie King. They profess to have the largest food database one the Web, complete with the invaluable nutritional information. Extremely interactive, there's a tool called "Create a Meal" where you can graphically drag and drop foods on a plate and the total calorie count is estimated. It's still in production, so there are only a few options at the time of this writing.

Here are just a few of the recipes that are available on their website:

  • Low-Fat Creamy Chicken and Veggies
  • Vegetarian Lasagna
  • Grilled Hawaiian Beef Kabobs
  • Cajun Spiced Sweet Potato Wedges
EXERCISE

The Calorie King website has what they call the Active Living Center where there are a collection of fitness articles. You can also get their Nutrition and Exercise Manager software to keep track of your activity and results.

CONCLUSION

We would be hard pressed to find another web-based diet resource that is as reasonably priced and effective in conveying nutritional knowledge as Calorie King.

Common Misspellings

Calore King, Calorie Kings, Cal King, Calorie-King, Caloric King, CalorieKing.com


Related Diets: Calorie Count, Calorie Shifting, Diet Power, FitDay, Sensei


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 38 total comments)

Vick

The website is comprehensive and complicated. Once you signed up they will take your money, regardless of the amount of times you would use it. I personally feel this was a scam. Not worth the 50 bucks.

posted Aug 1st, 2014 5:23 am


Sue

CON: Does not have a working phone app!!

PRO: The program works, if you stick with it and slowly replace your unhealthy habits with healthy ones.

posted Apr 6th, 2013 4:53 pm


Sue

This is NOT a diet. It encourages a slow life-style change to eating healthy and exercising. The program will slowly adjust your recommended calorie intake to the level appropriate for your goals. (lose weight, maintain current weight, or gain weight)
I went from a loose size 18 jeans to a snug size 8 jeans in 8 months. I have maintained my good habits for over 4 months now.

posted Apr 6th, 2013 4:36 pm


MCMIII

They make it hard to find how to cancel. Poor transperancy. Even worse public service. In my opinion, don't trust this website.

posted Jun 4th, 2012 6:51 pm


Clare

The Australian version is free and I love it! I've lost 20kg, just making better choices and slowly changing my bad habits. Your calories are gradually reduced so it isn't a dramatic change, and easier to stick to.

posted Dec 23rd, 2011 10:12 am


mary kay

They are debiting my credit card and I cannot find a contact in order to get out of it. This must be illegal and it is very frustrating.
If any one has any info let me know.

posted Oct 28th, 2011 12:26 am


mary

I never signed up for Calorie King - Just their free trial - Now I see they are charging me $12.00 a month and there is no number or address to cancel.







What a scam -

posted Oct 28th, 2011 12:23 am


eycastny

The program is Ok, but they automatically debited my account for an account renew, I was not aware they could do this. When I signed up I was under the impresion that I was going to pay for one year and that was it. If you are planning to join be carefull, because once they take your money is almost impossible to contact someone in the company for administrative questions. Also be carefull with your credit/debit/bank account information. I am very dissapointed and feel like I was robbed. :(

posted Sep 21st, 2011 12:03 pm


Carolina

I love it!! you get support from members, you can create you're own foods if they are not listed and you can also create exercises..
It really works as long as you log everything you eat and exercise.

posted Jul 18th, 2011 5:01 pm


Teri S.

Calorie King is a terrific, healthy way to lose weight!!! It is geared towards low and steady loss, so if you want a quick (unhealthy & unmaintainable) approach CK is not for you.

I started using CK seriously two years ago & lost 37 pounds (from 167 to 130) I had lost weight in the past by logging my food on paper, but CK makes logging much easier & factors in the calories that you use in exercise.

You work through a lesson plan as you lose weight and the lessons are very practical. I don't use the community forums much, but I know that others find them very helpful & motivating.

The price is reasonable, much less expensive than Weight Watchers, which I didn't like nearly as well.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 11:05 am


Debbie

The compoany took my money and I NEVER joined the program

posted Mar 15th, 2011 8:43 pm


NoJiggle.com

I never liked food logging until I started using the DotFit website. DotFit's Food Logging is powered by Calorie King and I love it!! I've experienced the power of adding accountability to your eating. We have to budget our calories just like we do our finances. My article on "Body Budgeting" shares some of my tips on "saving up" your calories to eat whatever you want! Thanks for this post!

posted Nov 27th, 2010 8:53 am


Clorinda

I joined Calorie King back in April 2010. I absolutely love it. For me I needed the discipline of logging everything I ate and counting calories. I use the web site version which is $50.00 per year. If you have the internet, and use the web based version, you do not have to buy software, or any calorie counters. All of that is included on-line with membership. I tried Weight Watchers on-line as well, and the reason I like Calorie King better is because it is more user friendly. Weight Watchers on line is so busy, with pop ups and a screen for everything, and the food data base is atrocious. I like the clean simplicity of Calorie King. They do have a free trial, so anyone can try it before they buy it. At first it took me a long time to log my food for the day, but once I got the hang of it, I can do it in 5 minutes or less. Calorie King is a calorie counting program, but the data base counts the calories and nutrition for you, so all you need to figure out is what you are going to eat.

posted Oct 7th, 2010 5:54 pm


Jen

CalorieKing is working for me! No gimmicks, no "loose a ton of weight quick". This is real, sustainable, weight loss. This teaches you how to eat right and exercise AND most importantly, how to do this for the rest of your life. Sorry, there is no magic pill. But CalorieKing works, and you will adjust to your new life and love it!

posted Sep 17th, 2010 2:28 pm


Richard Ramirez

I was 270 lbs. before I started using the calorie king resources. I went down to 220 lbs. Counting calories and excercise is the best way to loose weight and feel better. It took around 1 year for me to do this. Everything else I tried failed for me.

posted Aug 25th, 2010 9:30 am


shazza

i like it it's good comprehensive motivating just what i need a 24/h virtual walking buddy.

posted Jun 19th, 2010 12:32 am


Wanda

It is changing to a Pay site in July of 2010. Great site but I sure won't be able to afford it.

posted May 11th, 2010 6:42 am


mark richardson

Down 11 pounds in 3 weeks just by using the calorie counting function and tracking what i eat each day. Easy and doesnt feel like a diet!

posted Feb 11th, 2010 3:28 pm


caroline moser

TO COMPLICATER FOR PEOPLE NOT KNOWLEDGABLE IN COMPUTER

posted Jan 20th, 2010 7:03 pm


Rebecca

I have tried it twice..and both times I only logged on a few times.The time I wasted logging on and chatting I could of been on my feet doing something.Its just as easy for me to log my food intake on a notebook.I lost my own weight just by getting off my butt and eating right.

posted Jan 8th, 2010 10:15 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account