Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

76%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 33 reviews

Calorie King

You won't find a better free resource for nutrition facts.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

One of the major challenges in eating healthy is knowing your true caloric intake. In the Internet age there's plenty of information at your disposal. The most comprehensive source for tracking your food intake just may be Calorie King. At Calorie King there is a treasure trove of nutritional information. Being organized can be the difference between success and failure. And, there's no shortage of health organizational tools at Calorie King.

PRO
  • The Calorie King website is very comprehensive. You get a lot of information for free.
  • Membership and software are very reasonably priced
  • Free and easy access to a wealth of nutrition information
  • Recipe of the day
CON
  • None to speak of at this time
DIET and NUTRITION

If ever there were a dietary site that had a comprehensive food component, it's Calorie King. They profess to have the largest food database one the Web, complete with the invaluable nutritional information. Extremely interactive, there's a tool called "Create a Meal" where you can graphically drag and drop foods on a plate and the total calorie count is estimated. It's still in production, so there are only a few options at the time of this writing.

Here are just a few of the recipes that are available on their website:

  • Low-Fat Creamy Chicken and Veggies
  • Vegetarian Lasagna
  • Grilled Hawaiian Beef Kabobs
  • Cajun Spiced Sweet Potato Wedges
EXERCISE

The Calorie King website has what they call the Active Living Center where there are a collection of fitness articles. You can also get their Nutrition and Exercise Manager software to keep track of your activity and results.

CONCLUSION

We would be hard pressed to find another web-based diet resource that is as reasonably priced and effective in conveying nutritional knowledge as Calorie King.

Common Misspellings

Calore King, Calorie Kings, Cal King, Calorie-King, Caloric King, CalorieKing.com


Related Diets: Calorie Count, Calorie Shifting, Diet Power, FitDay, Sensei


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 38 total comments)

cathy

My daughter and I have been using Calorie King for 8 months now. She has lost 60 lbs and I have reached my goal weight after losing 45 lbs. Best diet site I have ever used!

posted Aug 23rd, 2009 4:50 pm


Cindy

I've only been using the site for a couple of days, but absolutely LOVE IT! I've tried several other online dieting tools and even a personal and online subscription to WW. CK is far superior, in my opinion, and at only $9.00/month is way less than weekly WW meetings. I especially like the ease with which you can customize your own foods. Fabulous!!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 12:01 pm


Christina

I downloaded the Calorie King software 1 week ago and I LOVE it. I just input the food I'm eating and it tracks what I've eaten and how much more I have to eat for the rest of the day. This works for me - after 1 week following this I am down 4.5 lbs. I am eating every 3 hours and staying within my calories for the day. LOVE IT !!!

posted May 19th, 2009 10:11 am


Joyful01

I have ben using CK for the past 2 weeks and have been consistently loosing about 2.5 lbs a week. I have lost 5 lbs in 2 weeks. I feel great and don't feel like I'm starving myself. Love this program.

posted May 14th, 2009 4:07 pm


Heather

Love it! I have used both CK and sparkspeople and found that CK has a much better food database -accuracy wise as well as food choice selection. I think it's worth the $45. I'm wondering about the membership which is purchased separately from the software. I haven't purchased that yet ($75/yr.) Is it worth the money?

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 9:19 pm


hoolahay

Don't like the database set up, to busy on the eyes

posted Mar 9th, 2009 12:25 am


Jennifer

It's great! Works for me... terrific tracking tools, and a wealth of nutritional info.

posted Feb 16th, 2009 4:42 pm


sr

this is a great tool- far superior to the free websites. you also get a great nutrition /calorie counting review and the support of a community. worth the money a hundred times over, anyone that sticks to this plan will lose weight.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 11:32 am


Karen

I swear by calorie king. The best thing that it is so easy to keep track of every thing that goes into my mouth ,,,restaurant food ,,,homemade,,, packaged,,every thing,,,I love it...even though I am now at my target weight I am keeping calorie king to mantain my lose...once again I love it!!!!

posted Oct 28th, 2008 8:38 am


jillyO baby 543

nahhh; this dont work at all ;;soryy! dont believe TV

posted Oct 21st, 2008 9:41 am


nmottiar

Just about every meal and foods are in this food database....I find this one of the easiest to use quick look up calorie tools and it is free!

posted Oct 5th, 2008 10:12 am


johnny67

There are so many other services out there similar to calore king I can't justify paying $50

posted Oct 4th, 2008 4:03 pm


Emma78

I haven't had the success that some I have spoken to but calorie king has great tools that help keep you on track

posted Oct 4th, 2008 4:02 pm


lucysmom

Considering other programs out there with their monthly fees, I was happy to see that calorie king was only $50!

posted Oct 4th, 2008 4:01 pm


Jeff

I found SparkPeople.com to be comparible... for FREE.

posted Jul 20th, 2008 3:05 pm


Don

I've been using CalorieKing now for 60 days and I've lost almost 35 pounds. What I love about it, is that its membership prices are cheap and has a great community to go with it.

posted Jun 12th, 2008 11:16 am


MJ

Love it! For only $50 per year I can learn how to eat the right foods while tracking my progress with no pressure from some counselor, and on my own schedule. I have combined CK with my regular Curves workout and am finally seeing measurable (as in my clothes are fitting looser) results. If you are a motivated self-starter, CK will work for you.

posted May 15th, 2008 4:46 pm


suzy

dietking is not bad for $50 a year. So many other online websites charge monthly for the same thing.

posted Mar 5th, 2008 8:07 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account