Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 25 reviews

Body For Life

The Bill Phillips plan is an aggressive approach to fitness.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

If it's an aggressive fitness program you're looking for, then Bill Phillips' Body for Life program is your answer. Prepare to have this 12-week plan transform you mentally and physically. The Body for Life program has helped millions of people reclaim their bodies, going from fat to fab.

PRO
  • By the looks of the exercise regimen, you will surely tone and lose weight
  • Small meals help keep you from ever being hungry
CON
  • The exercise program is taxing. May be tough for many people to handle.
DIET and NUTRITION

Body for Life recommends eating six meals every few hours, each of which should contain a balanced mix of sensible portions of protein and carbs. No less than two meals a day should include vegetables and you should drink no less than 10 glasses of water. Also, you should try to include one tablespoon of unsaturated oil each day, or consume salmon three times a week.

You can also maintain ideal nutrition by complimenting this diet with nutrition shakes.

EXERCISE

The primary focus of Body for Life is exercise. You'll train for 12-weeks, each week switching from upper body to lower body. Your upper body includes biceps and triceps, back, chest and shoulders. You'll train this muscle group on Monday, Wednesday and Friday during sessions lasting no longer than 46 minutes. Your lower body includes calves, hamstrings and quadriceps. You'll train this muscle group on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday using aerobics for 20 minutes. Each week you'll alternate the order in which you work the upper and lower body. For instance week one you'll train upper body on Monday and Friday, and lower on Wednesday. The second week you'll train lower body on Monday and Friday with upper on Wednesday.

You're encouraged to train each muscle group with two activities during each exercise session. Body For Life does not provide specifications for number of sets, rest periods and amount of weight you should lift.

CONCLUSION

Bill Phillips' Body for Life program appears to be the real deal. But, it looks like you could be set back with some extra costs for dietary supplementation.

Common Misspellings

Body for Living, Body For Life Diet, Bill Phillips for Life, Bill Phillips Diet


Related Diets: Bill Phillips For Life Diet, Jillian Michaels: Making the Cut, Slim-Fast, Mens Health Personal Trainer


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 51 total comments)

shel6767

I am coming 9th week i have lost 22lbs and 4 in of abdomen area body for life works stick to it and you wont regret it but dont forget its body for life not body for a few months :)

posted Jul 25th, 2013 5:40 am



Irene Rivera Kjergaard

Tried this a few years ago. It really works if you're committed. Just reading the book and it's inspirational stories helps you stay committed.

posted May 6th, 2012 8:08 pm


MariaB

cool, good to read some feed back. sounds like a good plan. 12 weeks is a long time though so i am not sure yet if this is for me.

posted Oct 17th, 2011 5:39 pm


Jason H

Simply, this works. I did it in 2007 and lost 37 and went from 38 waist to 34. Now I'm back on because I got lazy and I'm down 11 lbs in three weeks. Does it make you really work out? Yes. But nothing comes without WORK. The key to it though is his cookbook. It's not all kinds of fancy and expensive things....it's simple and things you probably have anyway. Just remember that you MUST eat. A LOT. But the results come. And what's better than a cheat day being required??? It's amazing but true how when you get to that cheat day and you eat say, a Big Mac, all of a sudden it literally doesn't taste as good as you thought. This program treats food as fuel and not an indulgence. If you want to indulge on food, ok then, there's a cheat day for that. But I bet you won't cheat after 4 weeks when you see how far you've come.

posted Jun 17th, 2011 7:42 pm


Ginettte

In 2004 I went from 176 to 126 in 12 weeks. I gained 10 lbs back through the years b/c I started eating junk foods again too often. I had twins 3 months ago and still have 30 lbs to go to get back to 126 lbs but I'm starting BFL again on Monday and KNOW this works.

posted Apr 9th, 2011 9:35 pm


Alice

Bill, after i saw the difference your book "Body for Life"
made in my son, I was convinced to try it for myself. my son has ankylosing spondylitis this a fatal form of arthritis. David was told when he was still in his late 20's that he had arthritis like a 60 year old man. Finally, David had done some weight lifting when he was younger and when he read your book he decided this was the answer. he had to get permission from his doctor before the gym would let him work out there. Within 6 months he was a different man. He cannot unfuse his spine, but thanks to these exercises, he has reversed much of the damage of the arthritis and he has brought the arthritis almost to a stop. he still has flareups, but for the most part he keeps on his routine and the disease has not progressed any further. He is very strong now and loves hunting, fishing, hiking etc. with his sons.
Now for the second part of my story. He finally convinced me to start. I have fibromyalgia. I used to be very strong and I loved doing aerobics. Due to the intense pain, I had to forget about working and exercise was out of the question, and I felt bruised all over. When I went to a therapist, the simple light exercises would cause a flare up for a week and then I would go back the therapist and then spend another week recovering. the doctor in charge of the clinic finally told me to forget about exercise because the repetition was just too hard on my body.I finally started reading your book. As far as diet, I have always tried to eat healthy and wrote the Stop the Yeast Syndrome Cookbook for Dr. Morton Walker about 20 years ago. I keep myself active in spite of the fibromyalgia and have been treating the pain with herbs etc, for the past 12 years. I liked what I read in your book about picking one exercise from each muscle group...this sounded just right for the fibromyalgia. One of the problems with other exercise routines was that if I did several positions and they all had the same muscle group in common, I would end up with a flare up. this way I could exercise all 9 muscle groups and by doing only 1 repetition of each muscle group very slowly I didn't have to worry about causing a flare up. I very gradually add more repetitions. I could see a difference in my strength and it does not cause flare ups. Ido not use weights because of the arthritis in my hands so the routine is almost like doing a stretching routine. I do the exercises very slowly. I am writing a book to encourage others who have fibromyalgia. can I mention that I found your book encouraging and helpful? Thank You, Alice

posted Feb 11th, 2011 2:14 am



Fat Len

Body for life really worked for me... then I stopped and it's all back again. I just noticed that Bill Phillips has released the follow up to Body For Life called Transformation Solutions. It's supposed to address the rebound issue that I encountered. Just wondering if anyone has tried it? Does it work better than Body for Life? Maybe there's a review out here already ?

I think his new product is out here

posted Feb 3rd, 2011 7:58 pm


Diana

Tola, if you are looking for a diet program that works, this Body for Life Diet may work for you. You need to plan your meals ahead of time so that you are not tempted to eat out at restaurants. This diet offers an exercise program as well. You eat 6 meals a day so you don't feel hungry. This has the right balance of diet, exercise and time off a diet to eat what you wish. This diet offers a 7th day of no diet food or exercise. Many people fail on their diets because they don' t have the opportunity to eat their favorite foods. I can personally tell you that this diet works whether it is to lose weight or build muscle. Your results will depend on the effort and time you put into it. The book and website show actual photos of people of all walks of life who have done it and the results are real. My cousin went from 220lbs to 160 lbs of all muscle. He's a fireman and needed to get in shape. It worked for him and the results were extraordinary. 3 months Tola is all you need. You will never eat the same way again after you are done with this diet. You will see how you feel when you eat right and when you don't. Your energy levels will skyrocket and I can't say enough about your confidence when you finally lose the weight. Try it. If you eat the wrong thing one day, don't be discouraged keep on trying until you get into a rhythm. Good luck.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:38 pm


Diana

My husband & I tried this diet before we had kids. He needed to lose 20 pounds and I needed to gain muscle weight. For people complaining about not seeing all this weight being lost you must know that muscle weighs more than fat. You can be 220 lbs but be all muscle or you can be 220 lbs with 22% body fat. My husband was frustrated at first because he didn't see the weight coming off every time he got on the scale. What happen is that you will lose some weight first and then plateau that is because your body is transforming fat into muscle. If you read Bill Phillips book he explains that to you. Again, muscle weighs more than fat. You can be 200 lbs now wanting to lose 40 pounds but you may end up weighing 180 lbs but have a six-pack ab and look and feel great. It is not the number on the scale but the transformation of your body. I promise you that you will lose the weight that needs to be lost. Your body is in shock at first. It doesn't know what is going on, but eventually you get into a rythm. I CURED MY ACID REFLUX DISEASE ON THIS DIET. I swear I never took another pill again. The 3pm exhaustion was gone and the sugar cravings were gone. My husband lost his 20 pounds & we made permanent changes to our diet. We no longer buy Corn oil, but use Canola oil and we don't eat white bread, only whole wheat or potato bread. You feel so good on this diet that on your "cheat" day you don't want to eat junk. If you want to transform your body and make permanent changes to your eating habits, this diet is for you. It takes 3 weeks to really get into the diet and exercise. It's slow moving at first but it will get easier. As for the supplements, it's good to take them because they help with muscle repair and building. Remember that you are cutting down your body fat to build muscle so the supplements help. If you are new to supplements try to buy the smallest portion or try to get a sample because you may not like the taste or it may not sit well with you. You have to do your homework on that one. I found that the EAS products were good but there are others out there that work equally as well. Find the one that works well with your body. The last thing you want to do is spend all this money on supplements you hate to take becuase they taste bad. Good luck. But this diet definitely works. Putting the time and energy will give you guaranteed results in 3 months.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:30 pm


ph

Wow, I'm surprised that someone actually took the time, only to post a spelling correction. Amazing! Oh well, just trying to help I guess. I think we all knew what was trying to be conveyed though.
Anyway, this program worked very well for me. 240 lbs to 208. Body fat % cut in half and felt great. But I would recommend reading the book. There are many things I found helpful in the book that are not just the diet and the exercise. An example is the theory of "reciprocity". Bill gives an example of this as encouraging other people you may see working out in the gym, even strangers. Why? It goes to one of life's oldest paradoxes. If you give it away, you get it back in spades. I didn't really think I would do this but one day in the gym, I saw a man approximately 70 years old working really hard. So I said to him, "Good job, you look great!" This sparked a conversation and we ended up being gym friends. I felt better. I'm sure he felt better and the gym became a place where i go to work out around friends. Not necessarily people I will end up socializing with, but people that know me and will say hello. It really encourages the "exercise" behavior that I am trying to make part of my daily life. So the book is more than just the diet and exercise program. It provides subtle suggestions that can simply make your dieting/exercise experience and your life just a little better which ultimately encourages our behavior to change. Good luck! If possible, Please forgive any spelling/grammar errors. Thx.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 6:42 pm


Simone Chechim

Awesome regimented and easy to follow diet and exercise program! LOVE IT!

posted Oct 19th, 2010 9:07 am


Lori

I'm on my 4th week. I know it will kick in eventually but I've only lost 3 lbs. I do feel stronger and I intend to keep it up! Just a little frustrating the weight isn't falling off.

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 10:42 pm


Ramfis Monzon

One of the best book in the market.

posted Aug 11th, 2010 9:25 am


TX

Works! You'll get out what you put in and more. I like that it addresses the mental aspects or planning to succeed in addition to better eating and tough workouts.

posted Jun 26th, 2010 3:01 pm


Shelly

I just started my second week today, I feel great and I've already lost 3 pounds and I've already seen abit of a differance in my body. Good luck everyone.

posted Jan 25th, 2010 3:17 pm


Leah Love

I think the diet was amazingly intense and really hit the spot, it helps form good habits by giving such an intense work out. You guys should really try it and follow it all the way through it is a great plan, for life!

posted Dec 21st, 2009 9:18 pm


Vin

Both P90X and Body For Life are GREAT!!! I have had success with BOTH!

If you have not tried eith one, go for BFL. Buy the book and follow the workouts and nutrition plan. They push lots of supplements (some are essential, a few not so much), its what you do not what you take. BFL is slightly easier then P90x (easier is the wrong word actually). If you train hard and eat smart, you will LOSE weight and your clothes will be LOOSE.

posted Nov 24th, 2009 6:28 pm


adam

its lose not loose. loose is the opposite of tight.. lose is the opposite of gain..

posted Nov 21st, 2009 10:25 am


Ben

I bought the book and journal and after reading all of the positive reviews on this site, I'm thankful I followed the tip I received about this program. The program is intimidating, but am excited for the challenge and look forward to seeing how far it will take me!

posted Nov 21st, 2009 1:04 am


Robert

By far the best program I have tried. Stuck with the program and lost 60 lbs in 3 months!

posted Jul 15th, 2009 5:24 pm



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account