Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 30 reviews
Blood Type diet

Blood Type Diet Review: Does it Work?

Is your health tied to your blood type?

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Blood Type Diet is a weight loss diet that recommends eating certain kinds of foods depending on one’s blood type. It’s claimed to be a scientific way of eating that says your genetics have a preferred way of eating to support overall health.

Blood type also helps determine what kind of reaction the body will have with stress, disease, and food. The belief is that the reason why not all diets work for all people is because selecting a proper diet depends on your unique genetics. Our review experts have analyzed many diets and the most effective one for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It combined a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement. When combined they help maximize weight loss with only natural, stimulant free ingredients. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet by visiting the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Blood Type Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Depending on one’s own blood type, there is a specific diet plan outlined:

• Type A: Vegetarian diet that is rich in fruits, vegetables, legumes, whole grains, beans, and preferablyfresh and organic foods. This is because people with this blood type have an immune system that is susceptible to damage. Tai chi and yoga are advised as forms of exercise.

• Type B: There is no allowance for lentils, corn, wheat, buckwheat, lentils, sesame seeds and peanuts. It emphasizes eating eggs, green vegetables, dairy, and any kinds of meats other than chicken.

• Type O: This diet is rich in protein and offers all kinds of meats with a limit of dairy, grains, and beans. Supplements are also advised to help improve stomach issues that are caused by this blood type. Jogging, martial arts, contact sports, and biking are advised for an hour a day. Weight gain is caused by gluten and other foods which are limited.

• Type AB: This diet avoids alcohol, cured or smokedmeats and caffeine. It’s advised to eat dairy, tofu, seafood, and green vegetables. Those with this blood type have low stomach acids which make it harder to digest foods. It’s also claimed that people with this blood have a much higher risk of things like cancer.

Click on the link provided here to see which weight loss diets were rated as the best.

There are issues with this diet which Web MD has highlighted:

“a major review concluded that no evidence exists to support benefits of blood type diets”

“It’s likely that you would lose weight, though, because the diet can be very restrictive”

Depending on the blood type, there are some extreme restrictions. This can promote side effects and deficiencies if one is not careful. There is also no evidence that this diet is based in real science. A review by the Belgian Red Cross in Belgium found:

“Blood type dietslack supporting evidence”

Yet another clinical review by PLOS One found:

‘Blood-Type’ diets is associated with favorable effects on some cardio metabolic risk factors, but these associations were independent of an individual's ABO genotype, so the findings do not support the ‘Blood-Type’ diet hypothesis”

Due to the lack of proof behind this diet, it’s unlikely that one has to eat for optimal health according to their blood type. Overwhelming science adds how this diet is not necessary. To see which weight loss diets were rated as the best for weight loss, visit the link found here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Blood Type Diet Quality of Ingredients

One’s specific diet will be determined by their blood type. Certain people will be allowed only a strict vegetarian diet with no allowance for meats. Other diets have restrictions which only allowed a certain amount of foods with recommended supplementation.

However, no evidence has proven this to be an effective way to schedule one’s meals. The registered dietician Katherine Zeratatsky mentions:

“There’s no sound scientific evidence that the so-called blood type diet is any more effective or any more beneficial for weight loss than is any other diet”

There are potential restrictions on this diet which can have negative effects. Web MD has also stated that in terms of weight loss:

“any weight loss on this diet has not been linked to your blood type”

No information is provided by the creator of this diet to help show how specific food choices were selected per one’s blood type.

No proof is offered either by those who promote this diet. Click this link for a comprehensive listing of the highest rated weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Blood Type Diet

There are multiple books available but the one often cited sells for $12.21 on Amazon.com. Other pricing depends on the cost of whole foods one has to purchase depending on their specific diet plan. Web MD has also stated:

“The diet may quickly become expensive, too, since the author recommends you by organics as well as his own line of supplements”

As mentioned there are multiple reviews and clinical studies performed which have shown this diet to be not only unproven, but also potentially lacking in certain nutrients.

There is no link between blood type and what kinds of foods are optimal for health and weight loss. Blood type is not a determining factor on what one should be eating. Due to this lack of proof, it makes the Blood Type Diet a poor quality diet.

Business of Blood Type Diet

The main version of the Blood Type Diet is featured in a book written by a Dr. Peter J. D’Adamo, a naturopathic physician. The main book which explains this diet is called “Eat Right for Your Blood Type”.

The field of medicine the creator practices is called naturopathy, and it’s an alternative medicine which often recommends herbs, acupuncture and other unproven techniques to promote health.

It’s considered pseudoscience and is not accepted in any true medical school. Though one can have a doctor title if one has a degree in this, it’s not truly an accepted profession in the medical community. These forms of alternative medicines have no proven science and that’s why it’s not allowed in true health based organizations.For a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, click on the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Blood Type Diet

Here are some select quotes taken from customer reviews:

“Another Dangerous and Poorly Substantiated Fad Diet”

“it looks like this diet isn’t really backed by any scientific proof”

“There is absolutely no scientific basis for the claim that blood type has any benefit whatsoever”

“I have come to realize I can’t follow it I have been sick for 2 ½ years now”

People often mentioned how it’s incredibly difficult it is to follow this diet, as certain blood types are more restricted in food choices than others. For some it was difficult to suddenly stop eating all kinds of meat. It leads to difficulty selecting what foods to eat, as there are many banned healthy foods.

There are also issues people had with the lack of science to back up the claims made. Many who researched found that there is no proof that this diet is both safe and effective. There were also problems with those who tried this diet and could not sustain it for long. Some experienced nutritional deficiencies and ill health with repeat use.

A few users who made sure to get their medicals done noticed how there were negative health markers.

A list of the top ranked weight loss diets is offered when you click the link here.

Conclusion - Does Blood Type Diet Work?

The Blood Type Diet has a very specific recommended diet depending on what one’s specific blood is. While this seems to be based in science, there is no available proof that shows this has any weight loss or health benefits. Many clinical studies and dietician reviews have shown it to be an unproven diet. There is no evidence that blood type has any effect on what kinds of foods one should select. Users have also mentioned how this diet is hard to maintain, and people were disappointed to find there were no health benefits. There’s simply no reason to ever use this diet as it was created by a doctor who specializes in an unproven form of alternative medicine.

Our review experts have found that the 18Shake Diet is the most effective overall for weight loss. It offers a meal replacement that can suppress appetite for hours alongside a fat burning diet pill. When combined they help to maximize weight loss without the use of artificial additives, stimulants, colors, preservatives, or any cheap and unwanted fillers. Customer reviews and testimonials also show how effective it is for weight loss. This diet helps provide well-rounded weight loss benefits such as increased metabolism, faster calorie burning, and improved overall health.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by an entire 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for returns with no questions asked withinthe full 30 days. To discover more information about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet, click the link found here.

How Does Blood Type diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Blood Type diet
  • 44 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 35 total comments)



WOW - I am an A negative non secreter while my family is A positive secreter - The food they gave me was crap and I paid for it with massive eczema. Now that I am older and in control of my food intake, I feel SO MUCH BETTER. I did the swami too, which was helpful but get more from just the 'nuts and bolts' of the BTD. If you haven't figured out if you were a secreter or non secreter, you should - it made a HUGE difference in everyday foods. I have not had eczema OR constipation since. I am a happy girl. Thank You Peter D'Adamo!

posted Apr 8th, 2014 11:02 am


Amazing, life changing and empowering!

posted Aug 15th, 2013 3:42 am



This review doesn't scratch the surface of the flawed science of the diet. It doesn't add any information that couldn't be determined from the cover of the book.

posted Jun 11th, 2012 12:56 pm



Changed my life.

I'm an O negative and giving up grains and most dairy products really changed my life. I do a modified version of this at the moment, based more on a paleo/primal type of diet, as I'm trying to drop some pounds, but it's basically a narrower version of the blood type diet.

Not more headaches, tinnitus, bloating/gas/diarrhea, joint pain/fibromyalgia, only cure ever for my adult acne (I've tried it all). I even used to have seizures. I wouldn't so much call this a diet as I would "food as a drug" plan. Try it if you have any chronic health conditions. Seriously...you have absolutely nothing to lose!!!

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 9:25 am



I don't know if I believe the science, my only evidence is how I feel when I actually follow the recommendations. I have been on this diet three different times. Each time within four days my entire body feels different. I feel good, like my body is running on the proper fuel. Nagging issues like congestion are gone. Two relatives have also used the diet. Each one has felt better when they are on it. One has alleviated all of her digestive issues by going on the diet. So my advice is that even if you don't believe the science, most likely you will still feel better.

posted Dec 6th, 2011 5:36 pm



Just started this 3 days ago! Type O and cut mainly on wheat and more of meat! Didn't even notice anything until my husband told me I'm losing weight! Especially on the belly bulge! I'm sticking to it!

posted Apr 22nd, 2011 6:57 pm



This diet has been amazing! I have been on it for nearly 5 years and lost baby weight 4 times! Since I do have four little ones, it is hard for me to stay on it very strictly but just simply by avoiding the foods on my "no no list" and trying to eat foods on my beneficial list I can tell a huge difference! I even started a blog to tell my friends and family called www.lovemybloodtype.com. Thanks for the review

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 6:33 pm



I love this diet. I've been on it for a few years and it has helped me to lose weight with no effort especially when I cut out the wheat completely. Many Blood Type O's are gluten intolerant and must cut out the wheat in order to lose weight and get rid of digestive problems. I no longer have any health problems after eliminating the most damaging foods for my type: wheat, corn, kidney beans, potatoes, and peanuts. This diet works; give it a try!

posted Sep 24th, 2010 8:43 pm



@Brittany, I agree with you 100% that the blood type diet works and makes sense!!! I struggled with my weight for years and last year a friend introduce me to the whole concept of blood type dieting, I started in May of 2009 at 242lbs and by November 2009 I had lost 82lbs all from dieting according to my blood type. My success has now inspired me to help other people who are struggling to lose weight and thus created my own ebook on your blood type diet.


posted Jul 19th, 2010 8:10 am



For years I have had problems with high acid foods. Things like pickles, orange juice, and salsa would often make me vomit. The O blood type diet suggests i cut out high acid foods because O blood types have high stomach acid already. Interesting, huh? After reviewing the diet regimen, most all of the foods that I was supposed to be eating were foods I already favored to begin with, such as leafy vegetables, seafood, and darker fruits. Many of the foods not allowed were foods i didn't really care for anyways. How weird! These blood type diets are great and make perfect sense!

posted Feb 26th, 2010 12:46 am



Started the diet around 4 weeks ago not really thinking it would make that much of a difference but decided to give it a go after reading recently how different blood types are more susceptible to different cancers and I definitely feel better. I have stopped getting aches and the heartburn/indigestion that I have been feeling for a few years. I went off it for just one day a few days ago and ate most of the things on the avoid list ie. bacon sandwich on multigrain with tomato, tomato sauce/ avocado and pepper (that doesn't sound that bad to people who don't understand the diet) and I paid for it the next day with body aches and stomach upset. I am definitely staying on it!

posted Aug 17th, 2009 4:17 am



After 7 years of extreme fatigue and doctors all telling me my blood work is fine, there's nothing wrong with me. This book explained about food intolerance's (not allergies) work in the body. I've finally regained my life after sleeping for seven straight years. This diet is worth the extra effort... and yes, it does take effort and sacrifice, but well worth it!

posted Jul 1st, 2009 7:49 pm

Vance MacThamhais


I wouldn't consider the gtd or btd to be a fad diet for fat people that wish to try and lose weight. It is a specific diet / lifestyle that is tailored to fit our unique phenotypes and blood compositions. It's a revolutionary way of looking at health and well-being

posted Feb 28th, 2009 8:22 pm

BandGTD Aficionado


P.S. Uh oh. I apologize in advance if another very similar post to my one below appears later under the moniker "D'Adamo Fan". I tried to post yesterday as a non-member, using that moniker. However, the comment never showed up, so I assumed one has to be a member to post, thus I joined today, going by "BandGTD Aficionado", only to realize later that two other posts I did yesterday under "D'Adamo Fan" in the related review pages for "Eat Right for Your Type" and "The Genotype Diet" DID post, so if you all see similar posts to mine there, I apologize--those were from yesterday and I assumed they never posted, since the original one I attempted to post on this page never did. Sorry. Hope that made sense. Basically: I and "D'Adamo Fan" are one and the same. Sorry for any confusion.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 3:39 pm

BandGTD Aficionado


I absolutely LOVE the Blood Type Diet, and Dr. D'Adamo's newer diet system, the GenoType Diet. I was on the BTD for years and relatively recently transitioned to the GTD. I cannot describe how profoundly this very customized, deeply nourishing, balancing, pure, whole-foods-emphasizing diet has benefited my health and general well being. I have learned so much in-depth, intricate knowledge about which foods, specifically, are excellent for me, and which are not my friends. This is not only a diet to help you acheive a healthy weight, it is a diet to help you acheive and sustain vibrant health, and that is what it is all about. I am never hungry on this diet, it helped me eliminate and understand (not in that order *lol*)cravings, it is a joy to eat this way, and I highly recommend it to everyone.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 2:52 pm



I sailed through a painless menopause at 47, finally resolved my adult acne, eliminated my chronic hip pain that woke me repeatedly all night, and went from a size 12 to a size 8 ! I have been Eating Right for My Type for 5 years and do not feel restricted in my eating choices, and have not yo-yo'd in my weight, I am still a size 8. I highly recommend this way of eating, what a healthy lifestyle. The Blood Type forums are a great place to connect with others who choose to eat well, and they are a warm, smart, welcoming group. Go for it!

posted Feb 18th, 2009 8:35 am



"A fool knows little and says much....

A wise man knows much and says little..."

I have had my share of health and weight problems, my health and weight is the best its been for many, many years.... and I expect to be around many more years...

I owe my health (which is GOOD... NOW) to the BTD/GTD. As long as I have control of my eatings habits, I will follow the works of Dr. Peter J D'Adamo. thank you!

posted Feb 17th, 2009 9:20 pm



"A fool knows little and says much....
A wise man knows much and says little..."

I have had my share of health and weight problems, my health and weight is the best its been for many, many years.... and I expect to be around many more years...

I owe my health (which is GOOD... NOW) to the BTD/GTD. As long as I have control of my eatings habits, I will follow the works of Dr. Peter J D'Adamo. thank you!

posted Feb 17th, 2009 9:16 pm



It is not a onetime lose some weight style diet. It is a healthy lifestyle change diet. I started with ‚??Eat right for Your Type‚?Ě, then learned my non-secretor status during the ‚??Live right for Your Type‚?Ě phase then graduated to the Genotype Diet, and recently had my personalized SWAMI done. I never looked back and am so grateful I found this lifestyle.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 8:48 pm



The Blood Type Diet is a great way to stay healthy and very easy to follow, it is not restrictive once you get used to it because you won't want to eat the "avoids" any more. I have dropped a pants size without even trying and do not have to work hard to maintain my health.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 8:31 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For some, the key to managing their weight once and for all could have been right under their skin all along. Some researchers suggest that by following a diet compatible with ones own blood type, you could very well unlock the mystery to your personal struggle with losing weight.

Created by Dr. Peter D'Adamo, and also referred to as the "Eat Right 4 Your Type" diet, the Blood Type Diet introduces its scientific research as a plan to help you makeover your lifestyle and start living healthier.

Your blood type can have a lot to do with the way in which your body processes, digests and metabolizes food and nutrients. Adhering to the Blood Type Diet, you'll eat foods that are most complimentary to your body. You'll first need to identify your own blood type and then follow a plan as outlined below.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • If research is true, you will not only achieve weight loss, but a natural defense to common illnesses like cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease
  • Author is authority on subject, respected in field
  • The Blood Type diet can be quite restrictive

Dietary guidance is determined by each individual's blood type.

  • Blood Type A Recommended to follow a diet rich in complex carbs and low fat. You should limit dairy, meat and animal fat.

  • Blood Type B Those most balanced of all the blood types, Type Bs should incorporate meat, dairy, fruits and vegetables into their meals daily. Chicken should be very limited.

  • Blood Type AB This is a vegetarian diet rich in fruits, vegetables and grains. Strictly limit fish, meat, chicken and dairy.

  • Blood Type O


Just like your diet, there’s an exercise regimen that corresponds to your blood type.


To find out more about the Blood Type diet click the "Start Now" button above.

Common Misspellings

Bloodtype, Blood type deit, bloodtype diet, blood type

Related Diets: Dr. Kushners Personality Diet, Eat Right for Your Type, The Spectrum Diet, The Genotype Diet

Whats better than
Blood Type diet?