Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 30 reviews

Blood Type diet

Is your health tied to your blood type?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For some, the key to managing their weight once and for all could have been right under their skin all along. Some researchers suggest that by following a diet compatible with ones own blood type, you could very well unlock the mystery to your personal struggle with losing weight.

Created by Dr. Peter D'Adamo, and also referred to as the "Eat Right 4 Your Type" diet, the Blood Type Diet introduces its scientific research as a plan to help you makeover your lifestyle and start living healthier.

Your blood type can have a lot to do with the way in which your body processes, digests and metabolizes food and nutrients. Adhering to the Blood Type Diet, you'll eat foods that are most complimentary to your body. You'll first need to identify your own blood type and then follow a plan as outlined below.

PRO
  • If research is true, you will not only achieve weight loss, but a natural defense to common illnesses like cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease
  • Author is authority on subject, respected in field
CON
  • The Blood Type diet can be quite restrictive
DIET and NUTRITION

Dietary guidance is determined by each individual's blood type.

  • Blood Type A Recommended to follow a diet rich in complex carbs and low fat. You should limit dairy, meat and animal fat.

  • Blood Type B Those most balanced of all the blood types, Type Bs should incorporate meat, dairy, fruits and vegetables into their meals daily. Chicken should be very limited.

  • Blood Type AB This is a vegetarian diet rich in fruits, vegetables and grains. Strictly limit fish, meat, chicken and dairy.

  • Blood Type O

EXERCISE

Just like your diet, there’s an exercise regimen that corresponds to your blood type.

CONCLUSION

To find out more about the Blood Type diet click the "Start Now" button above.

Common Misspellings

Bloodtype, Blood type deit, bloodtype diet, blood type


Related Diets: Dr. Kushners Personality Diet, Eat Right for Your Type, The Spectrum Diet, The Genotype Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 35 total comments)

Robin

WOW - I am an A negative non secreter while my family is A positive secreter - The food they gave me was crap and I paid for it with massive eczema. Now that I am older and in control of my food intake, I feel SO MUCH BETTER. I did the swami too, which was helpful but get more from just the 'nuts and bolts' of the BTD. If you haven't figured out if you were a secreter or non secreter, you should - it made a HUGE difference in everyday foods. I have not had eczema OR constipation since. I am a happy girl. Thank You Peter D'Adamo!

posted Apr 8th, 2014 11:02 am


Zoe

Amazing, life changing and empowering!

posted Aug 15th, 2013 3:42 am


T C

This review doesn't scratch the surface of the flawed science of the diet. It doesn't add any information that couldn't be determined from the cover of the book.

posted Jun 11th, 2012 12:56 pm


Meesee

Changed my life.

I'm an O negative and giving up grains and most dairy products really changed my life. I do a modified version of this at the moment, based more on a paleo/primal type of diet, as I'm trying to drop some pounds, but it's basically a narrower version of the blood type diet.

Not more headaches, tinnitus, bloating/gas/diarrhea, joint pain/fibromyalgia, only cure ever for my adult acne (I've tried it all). I even used to have seizures. I wouldn't so much call this a diet as I would "food as a drug" plan. Try it if you have any chronic health conditions. Seriously...you have absolutely nothing to lose!!!

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 9:25 am


Chris

I don't know if I believe the science, my only evidence is how I feel when I actually follow the recommendations. I have been on this diet three different times. Each time within four days my entire body feels different. I feel good, like my body is running on the proper fuel. Nagging issues like congestion are gone. Two relatives have also used the diet. Each one has felt better when they are on it. One has alleviated all of her digestive issues by going on the diet. So my advice is that even if you don't believe the science, most likely you will still feel better.

posted Dec 6th, 2011 5:36 pm


Roma

Just started this 3 days ago! Type O and cut mainly on wheat and more of meat! Didn't even notice anything until my husband told me I'm losing weight! Especially on the belly bulge! I'm sticking to it!

posted Apr 22nd, 2011 6:57 pm


Jessica

This diet has been amazing! I have been on it for nearly 5 years and lost baby weight 4 times! Since I do have four little ones, it is hard for me to stay on it very strictly but just simply by avoiding the foods on my "no no list" and trying to eat foods on my beneficial list I can tell a huge difference! I even started a blog to tell my friends and family called www.lovemybloodtype.com. Thanks for the review

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 6:33 pm


LizR

I love this diet. I've been on it for a few years and it has helped me to lose weight with no effort especially when I cut out the wheat completely. Many Blood Type O's are gluten intolerant and must cut out the wheat in order to lose weight and get rid of digestive problems. I no longer have any health problems after eliminating the most damaging foods for my type: wheat, corn, kidney beans, potatoes, and peanuts. This diet works; give it a try!

posted Sep 24th, 2010 8:43 pm


Christabell

@Brittany, I agree with you 100% that the blood type diet works and makes sense!!! I struggled with my weight for years and last year a friend introduce me to the whole concept of blood type dieting, I started in May of 2009 at 242lbs and by November 2009 I had lost 82lbs all from dieting according to my blood type. My success has now inspired me to help other people who are struggling to lose weight and thus created my own ebook on your blood type diet.

www.yourbloodtypediet.com

posted Jul 19th, 2010 8:10 am


Brittany

For years I have had problems with high acid foods. Things like pickles, orange juice, and salsa would often make me vomit. The O blood type diet suggests i cut out high acid foods because O blood types have high stomach acid already. Interesting, huh? After reviewing the diet regimen, most all of the foods that I was supposed to be eating were foods I already favored to begin with, such as leafy vegetables, seafood, and darker fruits. Many of the foods not allowed were foods i didn't really care for anyways. How weird! These blood type diets are great and make perfect sense!

posted Feb 26th, 2010 12:46 am


Sherry

Started the diet around 4 weeks ago not really thinking it would make that much of a difference but decided to give it a go after reading recently how different blood types are more susceptible to different cancers and I definitely feel better. I have stopped getting aches and the heartburn/indigestion that I have been feeling for a few years. I went off it for just one day a few days ago and ate most of the things on the avoid list ie. bacon sandwich on multigrain with tomato, tomato sauce/ avocado and pepper (that doesn't sound that bad to people who don't understand the diet) and I paid for it the next day with body aches and stomach upset. I am definitely staying on it!

posted Aug 17th, 2009 4:17 am


Michele

After 7 years of extreme fatigue and doctors all telling me my blood work is fine, there's nothing wrong with me. This book explained about food intolerance's (not allergies) work in the body. I've finally regained my life after sleeping for seven straight years. This diet is worth the extra effort... and yes, it does take effort and sacrifice, but well worth it!

posted Jul 1st, 2009 7:49 pm


Vance MacThamhais

I wouldn't consider the gtd or btd to be a fad diet for fat people that wish to try and lose weight. It is a specific diet / lifestyle that is tailored to fit our unique phenotypes and blood compositions. It's a revolutionary way of looking at health and well-being

posted Feb 28th, 2009 8:22 pm



BandGTD Aficionado

P.S. Uh oh. I apologize in advance if another very similar post to my one below appears later under the moniker "D'Adamo Fan". I tried to post yesterday as a non-member, using that moniker. However, the comment never showed up, so I assumed one has to be a member to post, thus I joined today, going by "BandGTD Aficionado", only to realize later that two other posts I did yesterday under "D'Adamo Fan" in the related review pages for "Eat Right for Your Type" and "The Genotype Diet" DID post, so if you all see similar posts to mine there, I apologize--those were from yesterday and I assumed they never posted, since the original one I attempted to post on this page never did. Sorry. Hope that made sense. Basically: I and "D'Adamo Fan" are one and the same. Sorry for any confusion.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 3:39 pm



BandGTD Aficionado

I absolutely LOVE the Blood Type Diet, and Dr. D'Adamo's newer diet system, the GenoType Diet. I was on the BTD for years and relatively recently transitioned to the GTD. I cannot describe how profoundly this very customized, deeply nourishing, balancing, pure, whole-foods-emphasizing diet has benefited my health and general well being. I have learned so much in-depth, intricate knowledge about which foods, specifically, are excellent for me, and which are not my friends. This is not only a diet to help you acheive a healthy weight, it is a diet to help you acheive and sustain vibrant health, and that is what it is all about. I am never hungry on this diet, it helped me eliminate and understand (not in that order *lol*)cravings, it is a joy to eat this way, and I highly recommend it to everyone.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 2:52 pm


Nan

I sailed through a painless menopause at 47, finally resolved my adult acne, eliminated my chronic hip pain that woke me repeatedly all night, and went from a size 12 to a size 8 ! I have been Eating Right for My Type for 5 years and do not feel restricted in my eating choices, and have not yo-yo'd in my weight, I am still a size 8. I highly recommend this way of eating, what a healthy lifestyle. The Blood Type forums are a great place to connect with others who choose to eat well, and they are a warm, smart, welcoming group. Go for it!

posted Feb 18th, 2009 8:35 am


pennycash

"A fool knows little and says much....

A wise man knows much and says little..."



I have had my share of health and weight problems, my health and weight is the best its been for many, many years.... and I expect to be around many more years...



I owe my health (which is GOOD... NOW) to the BTD/GTD. As long as I have control of my eatings habits, I will follow the works of Dr. Peter J D'Adamo. thank you!

posted Feb 17th, 2009 9:20 pm


pennycash

"A fool knows little and says much....
A wise man knows much and says little..."

I have had my share of health and weight problems, my health and weight is the best its been for many, many years.... and I expect to be around many more years...

I owe my health (which is GOOD... NOW) to the BTD/GTD. As long as I have control of my eatings habits, I will follow the works of Dr. Peter J D'Adamo. thank you!

posted Feb 17th, 2009 9:16 pm


Arlene

It is not a onetime lose some weight style diet. It is a healthy lifestyle change diet. I started with ‚??Eat right for Your Type‚?Ě, then learned my non-secretor status during the ‚??Live right for Your Type‚?Ě phase then graduated to the Genotype Diet, and recently had my personalized SWAMI done. I never looked back and am so grateful I found this lifestyle.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 8:48 pm


Margie

The Blood Type Diet is a great way to stay healthy and very easy to follow, it is not restrictive once you get used to it because you won't want to eat the "avoids" any more. I have dropped a pants size without even trying and do not have to work hard to maintain my health.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 8:31 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account