Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

37%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 18 reviews
Atkins Diet

Atkins Diet Review: Does it Work?

The classic low-carb diet, revamped with the Atkins 40 approach.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Atkins Diet is a low-carbohydrate approach to sustained weight loss. The idea behind the diet is to instead of using glucose as a fuel source; it’s meant to have the body rely on fat to provide energy.

The diet emphasizes eating foods rich in fat and protein. It’ssaid to be helpful for preventing food cravings and regulating blood sugar. Even though one will be eating richer foods the idea is that fat is more of an effective fuel source than glucose. Our experts have analyzed several diet plans and found the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective for weight loss. It offers a combination of a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement, both of which are free of stimulants, fillers, binders, or artificial ingredients. Discover more information about the 18Shake Diet when you click this link.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Atkins Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The kinds of foods emphasized include:

         • Cheese, oils, butter, and eggs.

         • Meat, poultry, and seafood.

The foods which are avoided are:

         • Pasta, bread, and potatoes.

         • Chips, candy, and cookies.

There’s 2 main plans offered:

• Atkins 20: This is the original Atkins Diet plan. It’s made for people looking to lose 40 pounds or more, or those with a waist over 35 if they’re women, or 40 or more for men. Intended for those who are either pre-diabetic or diabetic. Only 20 net carbohydrates are allowed. The first 2 weeks require for the major of carbohydrates to come only from low-carbohydrate vegetables.

Hard cheeses, sour cream, and cream are allowed. 3 servings of healthy fats are suggested, alongside 3 servings of 4 to 6 oz. of protein.

When you are close to your goal weight an additional 5 grams of net carbohydrates are incrementally allowed back in. This should come fromhealthy sources however, such as legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetable juice, and higher carbohydrate vegetables.

For a top 10 ranked diet plans list click the link provided here.

• Atkins 40: For people who want to lose less than 40 pounds and who want a larger variety of foods. Also made for breastfeeding and pregnant women. A total of 40 net carbohydrates are allowed.

3 servings of healthy fats are allowed, and about 1/3 of carbohydrates should be vegetable based, with the rest coming from nuts, whole grains, and fruits.

When you’re within 10 pounds of your goal weight you can add an additional 10 grams of net carbohydrates.

In order to keep weight from returning, it’s advised to keep a count of carbohydrates, introduce limited foods slowly back in your diet, keep most carbohydrates based from vegetables, and write down what foods you eat.  There are some sample meal plans and even Atkins Diet branded foods. The suggestedhome cooked meals and snacks include:

• Roast chicken stir fry, Mozzarella string cheese, cheese and spinach omelet with avocado and salsa, Atkins advantage vanilla shake, and an Atkins frozen chicken & broccoli alfredo alongside a salad.

One does not have to purchase the Atkins Diet brand foods however;one can make their own foods based off the principles of the diet. The link provided has a list of the highest rated diets for weight loss.

The Mayo Clinic has also outlined some possible side effects form this diet which includes:

         • Fatigue, weakness, and headache.

         • Constipation and dizziness.

They also mention the following potential concerns:

“some very low carb diets restrict carbohydrates so much that the result in nutritional deficiencies or insufficient fiber, which can cause such health problems as constipation, diarrhea, and nausea”

Due to the extreme restriction of carbohydrates, it can place the body in a state of ketosis, where it switches from glucose as primary fuel source to instead fat. This has not been studied long-term, but people often mention symptoms while in this state.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Atkins Diet Quality of Ingredients

If one does not purchase the brands prepackaged foods the foods one will eat are mostly high protein, moderate fat, and low carbohydrates that are mostly sourcedfromvegetables. Protein is known to help with appetitesuppression, but limiting oneself to either 20 net grams or 40 net grams of carbohydrates can be difficult.

Eating whole natural foods is a good step to help with weight loss, but the ratio of macronutrients can be difficult to continue. Ne study performed by the University of Pennsylvania confirmed this issue:

“Adherence was poor and attrition was high”

They also rated it against a lower calorie diet and found:

“differences were not significant at one year”

Any weight loss benefits were minimal, and with continued use for a year it was shown to not be any better than a basic low calorie approach to weight loss.  Our experts have rated diet plans and ranked them in a comprehensive top 10 listfeatured here.

The Price and Quality of Atkins Diet

There are books available as well as pre-packaged foods which are optional. Thebasics of the diet can be learned about without having to make a purchase however. Most of the information on how to start and sustain the diet isfeatured on many free websites.

A study by Forbes magazine did show that the sample menu provided by the company made it one of the most expensive in terms of overall cost of ingredientshowever.

There have also been issues having to do with side effects. The AMA council on Foods and Nutrition found:

“Atkins’ food plan can increase the dieters risk if heart disease”

Another studyby the University of California found that most of the weight people lost was only water weight and not actual fat. Therefore, this means that because of the reduction of carbohydrates, any quick weight loss will return as soon as one reintroduces carbohydrates.

Business of Atkins Diet

The name of the company is Atkins Nutritional, Inc. They can be reached via the following:

Phone Number: (800)

Address: 1050 17th Street Suite 1500

                   Denver, Colorado 80265

The creator of the diet was a cardiologist named Robert Atkins. His field of medicine had to do with treating heart conditions, not for nutrition and weight loss. He actually sufferedfrom a heart attack, which are exactly what those who criticized the diet said were the issue with the Atkins Diet.

Studies have shown that a diet like this can be potentially dangerous to heart health.  The link cited here has a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Atkins Diet

Here are some select quotes from those who have tried the Atkins Diet:

“I feltlike crap for the whole 6 months I was on Atkins”

“I was so sick of meat and chicken that I actually would look at my plate and get sick”

“The Atkins Diet give you an overwhelming craving for cookies, cakes, fruits, and other sweet carbohydrates”

“The diet is so hard to keep up with”

The most common complaint was that maintaining the diet was difficult, and that people were unable to keep eating the same kinds of foods. Many had severe cravings for more carbohydrates.

There were some success stories with people losing weight, but this quickly returned as soon as carbohydrates were eaten. This is likely due to the added water weight from these kinds of foods.

Certainpeoplebecame nauseous and unable to continue using the diet. Some expressed concern that though they were not hungry, they also didn’t want to continue using the diet and that the cravings for carbohydrates can become extreme. The link provided here has a list of the top 10 diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Atkins DietWork?

The Atkins Diet emphasizes a strict carbohydrate reduction and instead allows for high amounts of protein and some healthy fats. This diet started the low carbohydrate fad diets, and studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. There are concerns by the American Heart Association due to the potential damaging effects on the heart. Users have also mentioned it’s difficult to sustain, and that any weight loss is lost as soon as one eats carbohydrates again. It can be extremely difficult to eat the same basic foods, and people add how it made them no longer want to eat due to nausea. Studies have shown that long-term use has a similar weight loss effect to a standard low calorie diet.

Our experts have rated many diets and they found the 18Shake Diet has the best all-around weight loss solution. It offers a meal replacement and diet pill made without stimulants or artificial ingredients. This meal replacement has well-rounded vitamins and minerals and it can help suppress appetite for hours. The diet pill has fat burning properties and it can help get rid of calories with the combined weight loss support from the meal replacement. Customers have left positive reviews on the official website showing how effective it is.

18Shake Diet is backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. All sales are backed with this no questions asked guarantee. For more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does Atkins Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Atkins Diet
  • 37 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 86 total comments)

Eleanor Whibley

I'm extremely disappointed with your Dr. Atkins snack bars and drinks. They contain sucralose and/or saccharine which are chemicals which the effects the liver. Why not use Stevia which is more natural. I'd pay more for the products just so that I wouldn't have to consume chemicals.

posted Dec 4th, 2015 5:43 pm


Sharon Kessner

i am so excitedto start this diet asap!!!

posted Jan 1st, 2013 2:58 am


Steph M

+

I really like this diet. The only problem is I have never treated it like a lifestyle change. When I got stuck losing weight and couldn't get past 160lbs, it got me to 146 in a month.

After having my daughter and gaining a lot of weight during pregnancy, the weight is even harder to get off. But I did manage to lose 23 lbs on Atkins again before taking a break. Now I need to commit for life, I shouldn't be eating gluten anyways and gluten free products are expensive. Eating gluten free without the extra products is pretty much the Atkins lifestyle with a few changes.

I've back on it and have lost 4 more lbs this week :) 32 and a half more to go to get back to my happy weight.

posted Nov 20th, 2012 12:39 am



Jessica Logan

I personally like the 90 day challenge, feel free to add me as a friend if you want more info

posted Jul 14th, 2012 4:09 am


cc

+

Been doing Low carb (atkins) over 2 years now and never considered going back to my old eating habits.
I feel much more energetic eating low carb, I never get ill anymore and where i used to be hungry all the time i am now satisfied after a meal.
Being 22 year old sometimes it is a challenge staying low carb since all my friends eat loads of fast food, carbs etc and also going out a lot and on holidays it can be difficult to maintain my diet.
I do notice that I hit a stall once in a while because your body gets used to the lack of carbs. This is when I allow myself a cheat day and eat every carb/sugar that comes my way.

posted May 1st, 2012 1:55 pm


pelmeni1

+

It's a lifestyle change and completely changes the way you approach food. it also confronts many misconceptions about weight loss out there - exercise is not necessary for weight loss. I lost 30kg without doing more than going for a 30 min walk 3 times a week.

posted Sep 24th, 2011 1:23 am


Yulia

+

The best and the healthiest way of eating. This is not a diet, this is a lifestyle.

posted Jul 25th, 2011 8:59 pm


Yulia

+

The best nutritional approach to eating.

You want to be healthy? Go Atkins!

posted Jul 25th, 2011 8:58 pm


Helena

I love this diet because you never deprive yourself of food. I do miss the fruit, but over all I love it. I have a long journey ahead so i will stay in induction for a while. One good thing is I already cut out the bad carbs before I started this diet so it wasn't hard to continue on this diet. I think weight loss is first, a mindset. Once you are determined to change, everything else will follow.

posted May 4th, 2011 12:16 pm



Shaddyanne

lost 40 pounds and kept it off for 2 years. Then I got pregnant and gained 80lbs.

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:58 pm


Lisa

Has any WOMAN done Atkins for the second time and succeeded? I did Atkins years ago, and I lost 30 pounds. Maintained it for 2 years, and then fell off the wagon. I tried doing the diet again and for the Induction stage, I LOST NOTHING. I have found that there are a lot of women in the same boat as me.

posted Jul 6th, 2010 3:51 pm


Ollie

+

I've been following Atkins for 8 months now and lost 75 lbs. I eat a lot of fresh veggies, protein that is not high in saturated fats, as well as dairy, nuts, fish. My husband has lost 50 lbs so far as well. I feel healthier and more energetic than I have in years and I'm very satisfied with my progress. It is a misunderstood diet, mostly since the reviewers of the diet don't actually read the plan.

posted Jun 24th, 2010 11:36 pm


Barbie

+

I have lost over 100 pounds on the Atkins diet and followed it for many, many years to maintain my weight.

I have blood work every year and my cholosterol is fine as well as all the rest. I am a dietbetic and it helps keep my blood sugars in control also.

I am 64 years old, feel great and eat healthy high fiber carbs at every meal. I got tired of red meat and rarely eat it anymore. Mostly fish and chicken. I eat berries and greens and all my servings of veggies a day.

Since I went on this diet and did not die from whatever they say will kill you if you eat it I highly swear by it. Much safer than bypass Just follow the phases correctly and by the end you will be eating, in moderation, most of the carbs you eat on many diets and remain at a healthy weight for life.

posted Apr 2nd, 2010 11:26 am



Natalie Embry

+

Sometimes it can be hard to follow, and other times its easier than other diets. But one things it excels at is fast weightloss. It's the only diet I've stuck with for longer than 2wks lately and I lost 3x more than other diets.

posted Mar 18th, 2010 8:57 pm


syima

ATKINS DIET DOESNT LINK TO CANCER OR HEART DESEASE!!! HAVE THE OWNER OF THIS BLOG MET THE DIETERS OR READ OR GOES ON THIS DIET?!

posted Oct 28th, 2009 3:59 am


beeebop

+

tthis is great!!!

posted Sep 21st, 2009 3:17 pm


a.shirazi

+

is the best of the best

posted Sep 20th, 2009 5:17 am


Kit

+

I've been on Atkins since Jan 3rd 09, and have lost 52 lbs. I'm 55 yrs old so I have my age against me. I have arthritis in both knees and 1 ankle, had 1 hip replaced in 07!
I LOVE this way of eating. I can lose weight, have plenty of energy and feel good. I have to watch my water intake in the cold weather. I tend to only want "hot" to warm me up. But I don't miss the sugar. It's hard to get used to what to have for snacks. I' ve never been a fruit person.. always the carbs. My whole grocery cart could be filled with junk food and I'd be happy.
So, the first few weeks were terrible for me just trying to figure out what to eat.
I'm sold on this way of eating. I've got a ways to go before I find out if I can maintian. Another 40 lbs!

posted Jun 2nd, 2009 11:37 am


geneturnelle

can you use the atkins bars and shakes, products on the induction phase

posted Apr 14th, 2009 4:13 pm


catherine

+

Lost alot of weight fast. 4 kgs (8 pounds) in the first week. The next time I did it - about 5 years later the weight wouldnt budge. I was on it for 4 weeks and lost 5 kgs. Turned out I wasnt drinking enough water and I was also on a different pill which stopped the weight loss.

posted Apr 6th, 2009 5:48 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

More than 40 years ago, Dr. Robert Atkins introduced his low-carb diet, now popularly known as the Atkins Diet. The Atkins Diet is credited with starting the low-carb revolution. Although the buzz about low-carb diets has fizzled some, and mostly replaced by the increasingly popular Paleo Diet, the Atkins Diet is still around and there is a legion of people who still follow it.

The Atkins Diet has recently received a much needed update, releasing in early 2015 as Atkins 40. The updated Atkins program is a research-supported eating plan that still features the low-carb, high-protein principles of the original Atkins Diet, but with more leniency, simplicity, and variety. It seems very similar to The New Atkins for a New You launch a few years ago, but is targeted to promote sustainability and prevent participants from falling off the bandwagon due to excessive restriction.

Atkins 40 is marketed as more sustainable and more empowering, and ideal for those with 40 or fewer pounds to lose. The goal is to eat delicious and healthy food, like a variety of lean protein, leafy greens and other vegetables, nuts, fruits, and whole grains. In addition, tips and suggestions are perfect for those with busy lifestyles ensuring you that you can stick with Atkins at work, at home, on vacation, or when you're eating out.

Atkins 40 no longer includes the four basic Atkins phases: Induction, Ongoing Weight Loss, Pre-maintenance, and Lifetime Maintenance. Previously, many traditional Atkins participants wouldn’t go past Induction or Ongoing Weight Loss which caused them to fall off track due to excessive restriction. Atkins 40 targets more of a lifestyle shift creating a plan that someone could eat and follow for their whole life: no stages, no excessive restriction.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Encourages eating a proper combination of foods
  • Large weight loss the first couple of weeks
  • Program is thoroughly covered on the web site
  • More sustainable format than previous Atkins programs
  • Encourages eating more vegetables
  • Allows frequent eating to reduce hunger
  • You decide when to start your fitness program
  • Carb counting tools
  • Program updates focus as much on maintenance as weight loss
  • New plan offers more leniency than previous Atkins plan
  • Atkins Community web site available for free
CON
  • Many find it extremely difficult to cut out breads and grains
  • Promotes excessive consumption of dairy, processed sweeteners, and packaged snacks
  • High caloric restriction, high need for tracking and counting
  • May overeat or include too much of the wrong type of protein
  • Can be high in cholesterol and saturated fat
  • Still may be too restrictive to create true lifestyle change
  • Difficult for vegetarians or vegans to follow their principles
DIET and NUTRITION

Unlike previous Atkins programs, there are no longer four phases to follow. This means there is only one “plan” and lifestyle to build and maintain through Atkins 40. Principles remain the same with a focus on high-protein, low-carb food choices.

Through the Atkins Community online, you can customize your own meal plan, with Atkins 40 allowing you to use the 40-net grams of carbs however you like. Based on your choices, Atkins will share a one-week meal plan that includes breakfast, lunch, dinner and two snacks each day.

You don’t have to count any calories or carbs because all of that work is done for you. For exact measurements and recipes, simply click on the meal and you will be taken to the recipe for that meal.

You also have the chance to print out a grocery list for the week for your convenience. The total carb count for the day is shown at the bottom of each day’s meals. Below is an example meal plan:

  • Breakfast: Red Bell Pepper Rings Filled with Eggs and Mozzarella
  • Snack: Mushrooms Stuffed with Sausage and Mozzarella
  • Lunch: Spicy Meat Rolls
  • Snack: Atkins Day Break Creamy Chocolate Shake
  • Dinner: Grilled Salmon with Mixed Greens
EXERCISE

Exercise is not a huge focus for the Atkins Diet. It is mentioned on the web site as a great way to maximize your chances of success. Exercise is a great complement for your nutrition plan and will help boost your energy. If you are not currently exercising, it is recommended that you wait a couple of weeks before starting an exercise regimen. Some of the exercises that are mentioned with the Atkins Diet include:

  • Brisk walking
  • Swimming
  • Water aerobics

Traditionally, Atkins was created for pre-diabetics or diabetics with over 40 pounds to lose, where it may have been impossible for them to start exercising right away. Atkins believes that diet and exercise go hand-in-hand, but that diet must come first and gentle exercise can be added later as a supplementary tool to build muscle and boost metabolism.

CONCLUSION

When you look at the Atkins Diet, there are some benefits as well as some drawbacks. It does help you lose weight quickly and it is important to notice that there are intense caloric restrictions involved, in addition to dramatic food choice changes. By reducing the amount of carbs you eat, you will be reducing blood sugar levels but you must also be careful that you don’t take in too much cholesterol or saturated fat, or an overabundance of processed snacks, dairy, sugar substitutes, and animal protein. Eliminating an entire food group such as carbohydrates may not work for everyone, but the diet does offer some benefits for those that can stick with it.

The online Atkins community may help to provide support when the guidelines seem too hard to maintain, and the addition of more on-the-go snack options may make it easier for those with a busy lifestyle looking to follow all Atkins principles. Hopefully the newer more lenient carbohydrate allowances will prevent excessive restriction and promote balance and sustainability for its followers.

Common Misspellings

Atkin Diet, AtkinsDiet, Aktins, Atkns, Atkins Deit, Akins Diet, Adkins Diet, Atkins Low Carb Diet, Dr. Atkins Diet, The Atkins Diet, Adkins Advantage, Atkins40, Atkins Forty

Related Diets: South Beach Diet, The Ketogenic Diet, The Paleo Diet, Atkins Advantage, South Beach Diet Supercharged, Low-Carb Diet, The New Atkins for a New You

Whats better than
Atkins Diet?