| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 18 reviews

Atkins Diet

The classic low-carb diet, revamped with the Atkins 40 approach.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

More than 40 years ago, Dr. Robert Atkins introduced his low-carb diet, now popularly known as the Atkins Diet. The Atkins Diet is credited with starting the low-carb revolution. Although the buzz about low-carb diets has fizzled some, and mostly replaced by the increasingly popular Paleo Diet, the Atkins Diet is still around and there is a legion of people who still follow it.

The Atkins Diet has recently received a much needed update, releasing in early 2015 as Atkins 40. The updated Atkins program is a research-supported eating plan that still features the low-carb, high-protein principles of the original Atkins Diet, but with more leniency, simplicity, and variety. It seems very similar to The New Atkins for a New You launch a few years ago, but is targeted to promote sustainability and prevent participants from falling off the bandwagon due to excessive restriction.

Atkins 40 is marketed as more sustainable and more empowering, and ideal for those with 40 or fewer pounds to lose. The goal is to eat delicious and healthy food, like a variety of lean protein, leafy greens and other vegetables, nuts, fruits, and whole grains. In addition, tips and suggestions are perfect for those with busy lifestyles ensuring you that you can stick with Atkins at work, at home, on vacation, or when you're eating out.

Atkins 40 no longer includes the four basic Atkins phases: Induction, Ongoing Weight Loss, Pre-maintenance, and Lifetime Maintenance. Previously, many traditional Atkins participants wouldn’t go past Induction or Ongoing Weight Loss which caused them to fall off track due to excessive restriction. Atkins 40 targets more of a lifestyle shift creating a plan that someone could eat and follow for their whole life: no stages, no excessive restriction.

  • Encourages eating a proper combination of foods
  • Large weight loss the first couple of weeks
  • Program is thoroughly covered on the web site
  • More sustainable format than previous Atkins programs
  • Encourages eating more vegetables
  • Allows frequent eating to reduce hunger
  • You decide when to start your fitness program
  • Carb counting tools
  • Program updates focus as much on maintenance as weight loss
  • New plan offers more leniency than previous Atkins plan
  • Atkins Community web site available for free
  • Many find it extremely difficult to cut out breads and grains
  • Promotes excessive consumption of dairy, processed sweeteners, and packaged snacks
  • High caloric restriction, high need for tracking and counting
  • May overeat or include too much of the wrong type of protein
  • Can be high in cholesterol and saturated fat
  • Still may be too restrictive to create true lifestyle change
  • Difficult for vegetarians or vegans to follow their principles

Unlike previous Atkins programs, there are no longer four phases to follow. This means there is only one “plan” and lifestyle to build and maintain through Atkins 40. Principles remain the same with a focus on high-protein, low-carb food choices.

Through the Atkins Community online, you can customize your own meal plan, with Atkins 40 allowing you to use the 40-net grams of carbs however you like. Based on your choices, Atkins will share a one-week meal plan that includes breakfast, lunch, dinner and two snacks each day.

You don’t have to count any calories or carbs because all of that work is done for you. For exact measurements and recipes, simply click on the meal and you will be taken to the recipe for that meal.

You also have the chance to print out a grocery list for the week for your convenience. The total carb count for the day is shown at the bottom of each day’s meals. Below is an example meal plan:

  • Breakfast: Red Bell Pepper Rings Filled with Eggs and Mozzarella
  • Snack: Mushrooms Stuffed with Sausage and Mozzarella
  • Lunch: Spicy Meat Rolls
  • Snack: Atkins Day Break Creamy Chocolate Shake
  • Dinner: Grilled Salmon with Mixed Greens

Exercise is not a huge focus for the Atkins Diet. It is mentioned on the web site as a great way to maximize your chances of success. Exercise is a great complement for your nutrition plan and will help boost your energy. If you are not currently exercising, it is recommended that you wait a couple of weeks before starting an exercise regimen. Some of the exercises that are mentioned with the Atkins Diet include:

  • Brisk walking
  • Swimming
  • Water aerobics

Traditionally, Atkins was created for pre-diabetics or diabetics with over 40 pounds to lose, where it may have been impossible for them to start exercising right away. Atkins believes that diet and exercise go hand-in-hand, but that diet must come first and gentle exercise can be added later as a supplementary tool to build muscle and boost metabolism.


When you look at the Atkins Diet, there are some benefits as well as some drawbacks. It does help you lose weight quickly and it is important to notice that there are intense caloric restrictions involved, in addition to dramatic food choice changes. By reducing the amount of carbs you eat, you will be reducing blood sugar levels but you must also be careful that you don’t take in too much cholesterol or saturated fat, or an overabundance of processed snacks, dairy, sugar substitutes, and animal protein. Eliminating an entire food group such as carbohydrates may not work for everyone, but the diet does offer some benefits for those that can stick with it.

The online Atkins community may help to provide support when the guidelines seem too hard to maintain, and the addition of more on-the-go snack options may make it easier for those with a busy lifestyle looking to follow all Atkins principles. Hopefully the newer more lenient carbohydrate allowances will prevent excessive restriction and promote balance and sustainability for its followers.

Common Misspellings

Atkin Diet, AtkinsDiet, Aktins, Atkns, Atkins Deit, Akins Diet, Adkins Diet, Atkins Low Carb Diet, Dr. Atkins Diet, The Atkins Diet, Adkins Advantage, Atkins40, Atkins Forty

Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, South Beach Diet, South Beach Diet Supercharged, Low-Carb Diet, The Paleo Diet, The New Atkins for a New You, The Ketogenic Diet

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 5, 85 total comments)



posted Mar 22nd, 2009 2:11 pm


This diet is very nice. It works and still lets yo eat a good amount of food. I wanted to lose weight for school and i did! But i gained it all back and more because i didn't stick with it long. But in 2 weeks i lost 20pounds and it flt good!!! Some may say their starving and not getting enough food but its not entirely true. 1. it could be that your not used to eating a healthy amount of food and 2. you brain is making you more likely to want something you know you can't have. I also recommend going on this diet with family or friends, its easier to stick with if you have others encouraging you.

posted Mar 6th, 2009 12:04 pm


one more thing to say.... well a couple... you must have no life if you are sitting here critizing how people lose weight... atleast they are losing it... and there are such things as multivitamins..that can be taken.. and besides... in the begining atkins does limit alot of things.. but people are more likly to exercise once they lose the weight...also all these people that need to lose weight probly were not getting what they needed to begin with.... so whats the difference in the current life style and the life style just minus cakes and candy... i dont get the bashing.... most americans fat or skinny do not get the reccomended amounts of anything..

posted Feb 4th, 2009 12:06 pm


Over 2 years ago I lost 50 lbs on the Atkins diet, it look me 5 months, with in those 5 months i had nights where i overindulged in alchol, had a girls night and ate pizza...went on vacation...haha enough said. But anyways this diet just like any other if you stick to it it works... in fact about 35 of it was in the first 3 months. Everyone hits plateus... so be prepared, just work though them. Some other good tips are to not get on the scale everyday.. in fact what im doing now is once a month.. it really has lots of perks for example ( you dont know when you plateau, it keeps you going pushing toward the end of the month, you see weight come off in bigger amounts, and WE ALL CHEAT...and sometimes it causes us to put on a lb or two and when u weight a month to weigh you dont notice these things as much...not to mention water weight fluctuates... also sometimes its helpful to take measure ments... because lets face it...who cares about numbers when your clothes are getting looser by the day... so did i loose the weight and keep it off after 5 months of hard work? did i exercise? NOPE.... i put it all back on plus 20... exercise? for like the first 2 weeks... so do you need exercise to see the numbers fall? no so much... but I promise you... you will be much happier with the results as fal as you look... there is a big difference in the body of a fit 170 person and a flabby one.... we all know that size 4 or 6 that is very flabby and looks fat.... and we know that same size 4 or 6 that is fit and looks like a model..... just think about this.. and if you try to over do it... i.e 1 hour 5-7 days a week you will get burnt out and quit... so take it easy... work up to it...nothing worse than doing something you hate.. and if you hate it your not going to keep it up for your entire life..... now speaking of your entire life the overall goal to atkins is to make a life time change, and to keep off the weight... now here was my problem... i lost 50 i was happy with myself i felt better .... did i ever find out the big scret of how many carbs i can consume a day and maintain? nope... sure didnt... and now i look back...was this realistic? nope, maybe for you not for me... i know myself and i know im not going to go the rest of my life watching my carbs... this is why i dont think this was the best diet for me... did it work? better than anything i have ever tried... was it great to drop weight fast? of yes... did it feel good to go from 16/18 to a 10 and if i was lucky maybe an 8 there at the end? oh yes..... would I do this again? nope... im not advising anyone against this...but make sure its something you can keep up for entire life because other wise the weight comes I am currently back losing weight...but not on atkins.. if anyone wants to know more about my experience email me.. i can share with you the things i ate.. and how it effected me..positive and negative..

posted Feb 4th, 2009 11:50 am


i did the diet for 2 months straight and i lost 60 lbs. i followed it to a T and got the best results.

posted Nov 11th, 2008 4:15 pm


loved it, lost 33 lbs and have kept it off for 6mo.s so far. I have had sinful birthday week-ends and gained 4 lbs and gone right back on phase one for 5 days and got it off immediatelly. Easy to live by, I eat apples, bread, some potatoes and even chocolate just in small amounts. Gor me it is for life and I feel greate knowing I never have to be fat again!

posted Oct 25th, 2008 11:52 am


Doing atkins as a vegan - I did atkins with exercise and lost 50lbs in 6 mos. Not bad. Then I fell "off the wagon" and gained half of it back (it's 5 years later). This isn't for everyone. Not everyone's body will respond to low carb diets (this among others). You need to know what will work for you. I also did Jenny Craig many years ago. It's just like Nutrisystem where you're going to have problems once you start eating "real food" again.

posted Sep 26th, 2008 4:40 am


I really want to try the atkins diet but Im a vegetarian and every version Ive seen for veggies have been very heavily relied on beans which eww. If anyone knows a good site that has a ton of recipies for vegetarians, I will be sooo happy ^_^

posted Sep 24th, 2008 8:45 am


Carbs are not a necessity in the human diet. Humans are carnivorous beings in nature. 0 carbs is actually the healthier way to eat. Fiber WILL kill you slowly. I know a lot of people do not believe it as the media is loaded with brainwashing the population into believing that fruits, veggies and grains are healthy food choices. They actually do the opposite of what everyone thinks. Those who do eat them and stay healthy are those who eat ENOUGH protein and fat. Fruits are loaded with sugar and sorry but all sugar is the same. Seasonal foods are just that-seasonal and should only be eaten in moderation when fresh and ripe-in season-not frozen and eaten all year round. To think that eating carbs provides more nutrition is just false. Why does everyone forget about the nutrition in meat and only think you can get nutrients form carbs. Todays foods do not contain anywhere near what is needed for optimum health. The RDA is not what you should be following for health. Usually much more is needed hence the need for additional support from a good supplement program. Food alone IS NOT ENOUGH. Believing in the common media and/or government ideas about health and nutrition is to be brainwashed and controlled. Those who refuse to believe carbs are unhealthy are addicted to them and won't give them up.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


I did atkins 2 years ago and lost 17 lbs. I was an athlete all my life and work out all the time. As i have gotten older, it doesnt matter how much i go to the gym and how much i run, I just wasnt losing any weight and my self confidence slid. I decided to go back on Atkins 2.5 weeks ago, at first I wanted to kill myself but all it was was my addiction to food ( as i am sure most people have ). After 1.5 weeks, I was at ease, I ate sashima with no carb soy sauce, ate a lot fo salads with great tasting 1 gram of carb dressings. I am down 15 lbs again. I am 38 and back to my college playing weight. The whole time i was on it I worked out and took protein shakes ( 2 grams of carbs per serving ). It is the only diet that has ever worked. Now there are down falls, I do feel light headed from time to time and my sex drive has gone down a little but after 3 weeks I am just going to add carbs again but correct carbs during the week and on the weekend i will splurge a bit. I take plenty of supplements and feel great. Just learn to fit the diet into your life style, make sure you are hard core for 3 weeks though, stick with induction for 3 weeks then try some things.

posted Aug 27th, 2008 10:44 am


I dido Mukta. I went on Akins and got back to my ideal weight...but then I became over confident and ate horrible things because "I was small now." I have always struggled with my weight and Akins was the first and only diet that I tried and saw amazing results. I have been even more encouraged to join this LIFESTYLE once more...and live it forever.

posted Jul 25th, 2008 10:49 am


I am re-energized by your comments here. I was on Atkins and lost 25 pounds but slipped and got 15 of them back. Reading your reviews have encouraged me to start back on my plan. I love it because it WORKS WONDERFULLY. Thank you all for putting me back on track. Love you!!!

posted Jul 16th, 2008 2:24 pm


Atkins- or low carb has put in fantastic shape. I feel better than when I ran 11 miles a day & worked at the gym for 3 hours. I could not keep that pace, just to maintain my weight. When my knee gave out I gained 25 pounds. With low carb I have lost 35 pounds in 4 months. Little did I know that pasta, chips, bread, torrtillas were making me physically ill. My stomach is flatter that when I was an exercise freak. Processed carbs make be bloated, my blood sugar rides a roller coaster that takes my mood go up and down. I was sleepy every day at 4:00. I have not feld deprived or suffered in any way on this diet. Due to my job, I eat at Chili's, Bj's, Black Angus, etc almost 3 x per week. I have broccoli almost every day, celery, salad and non starchy carbs everyday-instead of my daily bag of chips and chocolate bar. Why must I eat processed carbs to please people who think Atkins is just steak and cheese. I have a new lease on life. Before this way of life, my eyes twitched and I felt my vision was going when I was over exercising and eating white flour or corn products. Sugar free is my new way of life. I do not think pasta, bread, corn or corn syrup makes other ways of eating superior to Atkins. This plan saved my life!

posted Jul 12th, 2008 2:36 pm


first of all i havent eaten sugar in a long time when ever i did cheat and i did eat sugar my body let me know i had messed up...i was sluggish and felt like crap..

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm


first of all Dr Atkins wasn't that young he was in his 72 for hell sakes and this is for the guy that said he had head aches the first day ,,,your body is adjusting to having little to no sugar ,which we do not need .you have to stay with it ..

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm


I am just started induction phase and looking forward to it. weightwatchers and lowfat diets have failed me miserably.

posted Jul 1st, 2008 7:54 am


Just started Atkins 5 days ago, already down 6 pounds. I PRAY Induction phase shows me at least a 10-12 pound loss. It is VERY difficult to find no carb things and variety. Im reeady to add back in some carbs! Guess we'll see.

posted Jun 21st, 2008 7:55 am


I have tried this diet. It does make you feel full. It does take some weight off. But there is a severe disadvantage. The Atkins Diet gives you an overwhelming craving for cookies, cakes, fruits, and other sweet carbohydrates! Where as many other diets drive you insane with hunger because of portion control, the Atkins Diet torments you with a tremendous craving for sweet carbohydrates you never had before going on it!

posted Jun 19th, 2008 9:38 am


I have read the book and I have lost the weight soooo easily. I understand now, my consciouness has been raised...FAT METABOLISM ROCKS! A diet of sugar and flour will undoubtedly shorten your life as will a low calorie/high exercise diet. If you can't get the ketosis happening then check your carbs are no more than 10 grams and eat a bit more fat/protein. This should kickstart fat mobilisation as recommended by Dr Atkins, may he rest in peace. If the good doctor can restrict 10 obese individuals to a high fat diet over a six week period which caused every one of them to LOSE weight, then you can to. DO IT.

posted Jun 5th, 2008 10:25 am


I did Atkins about 6 years ago and dropped 30 lbs right away. I'm on my 5th day of induction and haven't lost any weight. I went into ketosis within a couple of days. A bit this time I'm exercising. What is going on?

posted Jun 4th, 2008 9:01 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account