Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 538 reviews

Weight Watchers

For more than 50 years, Weight Watchers has been a trusted approach to weight loss for men and women.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Get started by saving with these Weight Watchers Coupons

  • Established: 1963

  • Founder: Jean Nidetch

  • Headquarters: New York City

  • Stock Symbol: WTW

  • Accessibility: Meetings, Online, Books, Apps

  • Diet Type: Low-Calorie, Low-Fat

  • Gender: Male and Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jessica Simpson

  • Corporate Site: WeightWatchers.com

BACKGROUND

It's been 50 years since Weight Watchers came on the scene and started helping people live healthier lives. Weight Watchers helps members create a foundation to introduce healthier choices and physical activity into their lives. Weight Watchers was made popular by the weekly meetings that are still a cornerstone of the program today.

Weight Watchers allows you to eat the foods you like without restriction. Simply stay within your daily range and you can still enjoy the foods you love balanced with nutritious choices like fruits, vegetables, lean proteins and whole grains. Unlike many diets, Weight Watchers also encourages an active lifestyle.

It all started in a living room, where women would gather to support one another while losing weight. Then it grew, and became one of the most recognized names in weight loss. They've remained an innovative brand, taking the plan online, and creating a program specifically for men.

Weight Watchers Meetings The original Weight Watchers plan invites members to weekly meetings where they help dieters form a network of support with people sharing similar experiences. Each person checks their weight privately. Meetings are conducted by a trained Meeting Leader who motivates and offers the group support through information about nutrition and fitness.

Weight Watchers at Work The Weight Watchers At Work program wants to make your workplace healthier by offering you and your company all of the success of the Weight Watchers program right from your own office.

Click to get started with this diet

DietsInReview.com is an advertising partner of Weight Watchers. This review is strictly our own opinion.

PRO
  • Programs to suit adult men and women
  • Choose counseling via meetings or privacy and convenience online
  • Online program is a comprehensive experience
  • Provides exercise guidance
  • Thousands of recipes and meals to choose from
  • Applebee's partnership for more healthful dining
  • Named #1 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
  • Reputable and effective for 50 years

CON
  • Online detracts from the traditional social aspect of meetings
  • Not a structured plan, which may be difficult for some to adhere to
  • Not a strong emphasis on fitness
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Most realistic program to maintain long term ... may take longer to lose the weight but it stays off! - Carmelle 8/16/11

I lost close to 40 pounds on Weight Watchers and have kept it off ever since starting almost 10 months ago. I plan to be on this program forever. I'm the healthiest I've ever been. (I'm 26 and am thinner and a smaller size than I was in high school, which I NEVER thought was possible!!) WW WORKS! I have never felt deprived, and I feel like the program is something I can live with. It's literally one of the best things I've EVER done for myself. - Marjie 7/8/11

I've been following the new Points Plus program since the beginning of the year. Today I hit the 10% weight loss goal. Only one week I did not loose weight - but I didn't gain either. Love that the fresh fruits are free so when I just want something - I now reach for fruit rather than chips or cookies. I am a 30 year lifetime member (obviously strayed at times) and find that this is the easiest weight loss for me (and I'm now 59.5 years old). HIGHLY recommend the new Points Plus. The key is still planning and journaling as far as I'm concerned. - Char 4/1/11

The old WW worked. The new one does not. I am one of many lifetime members who have become very disenchanted by this new program. - Elle 6/21/11

I highly suggest playing around with the tools. Eventually most "0 point" foods will develop a point value if you put in a high quantity...especially fruits and starchy veggies like green beans and broccoli. If you eat what the healthy check recommends, drink the water the healthy check recommends and eat your points in proteins and a small amount of carbs and fats then you should not gain weight. It's about eating in moderation. Not going crazy just because you think you can. - Shannon 3/6/11

Leave your own review and rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Weight Watchers emphasizes eating more wholesome food, while allowing you to splurge on cravings in moderation. You'll make balanced food choices that include whole grains, lean proteins, fruits and vegetables, eggs and dairy. No matter which plan you choose, you'll have access to all of the Weight Watchers recipes that are delicious, satisfying and good-for-you.

Weight Watchers members can enjoy chili, muffins, brownies, burgers, pizza, pasta and so much more - especially when you follow their healthy tips for lightening the recipes.

You're encouraged to make more nutrient-dense food choices, which not only helps you lose weight but also helps keep you feeling satisfied.

The Weight Watchers website features thousands of recipes for all occasions. Weight Watchers Meetings Members can also use the A-Z food list found in the Pocket Guide, or purchase the Complete Food Companion and the Dining Out Companion to help them plan for their night out.

Whether you do the program online or attend meetings, there are several ideas for snacks and meals along with a list of power foods like fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and lean protein. The program is designed to teach you how to make smarter food choices so that you eat more filling and nutritious meals.

For example, Weight Watchers features two side by side meals that both have a points value of 11. The two meals are reflected below:

  • Meal 1 – Peanut butter and jelly sandwich made on reduced-calorie white bread; chips
  • Meal 2 – Black bean soup; Whole grain wheat pasta with grape tomatoes, small black olives, crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese, shredded basil leaves, olive oil and red wine vinegar; grapes

Just glancing at these two meals it would be hard to think they have the same value because meal two offers more food. Illustrations like this make it easy to see the importance of making healthier choices so that you can eat more while getting good nutrition throughout the day.

EXERCISE

Weight Watchers does promote living an active lifestyle, although exercise is not a requirement of the program.

To calculate the intensity of your workout, you can use your heart beats per minute or some simple physical cues. If you choose to follow the heart beats per minute, the classifications are as follows:

  • Low intensity: 68 to 92 beats per minute
  • Moderate intensity: 93 to 118 beats per minute
  • High intensity: more than 119 beats per minute

Using the physical cues for your activity level follows the rating of perceived exertion or RPE. This is what Weight Watchers uses. This method is easier than monitoring your heart rate while working out. The below chart can be used to help you gauge the intensity of your workout:

  • Light intensity – Fairly easy exercise that does not induce sweating unless it’s a hot, humid day. There is no noticeable change in breathing patterns.
  • Moderate intensity – Somewhat hard exercise that will break a sweat after performing the activity for about 10 minutes. Breathing becomes deeper and more frequent. You can carry on a conversation but not sing.
  • High intensity – Hard exercise that will cause you to break a sweat after three to five minutes. Breathing is deep and rapid. You can only talk in short phrases.

Keep in mind that those who are just starting to exercise, or those that have been inactive for a long period of time tend to overestimate their intensity levels. If you are just starting out it may be more accurate to gauge your intensity through your heart beats until you get an accurate understanding of actual intensity levels. With Weight Watchers you can choose to do any form of exercise that meets your needs. Some recommended forms of exercise available are:

  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Walking
  • Jogging
  • Aerobics
  • Swimming
  • Hiking
  • Bike riding
  • Kickboxing
WEIGHT WATCHERS FAQ

Common questions asked about the Weight Watchers program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Can I do Weight Watchers without exercising? - Calcia 8/16/11

How much does Weight Watchers cost? - 7/20/11

Is Weight Watchers safe for kids? - Yoli 8/8/11

Is Weight Watchers good for diabetics? - Jackie 5/12/11

What do you get from weekly meetings? Hongquan 5/23/11

Are Weight Watchers Points confusing to anyone else? - 2/19/11

CONCLUSION

Weight Watchers is a tried and true veteran of the weight loss industry. With a variety of methods to choose from for both men and women, you're almost certain to find the right path for your weight loss journey. Weight Watchers provides guidance from every aspect of weight loss. Food is one of the primary concerns of any dieter and Weight Watchers goes above and beyond most other weight loss programs with thousands of recipes that anyone, dieting or not, will find tempting and delicious. If their style appeals to you, go for it.

WEIGHT WATCHERS SLIDESHOWS

[The Most Popular Diets of 2012[1]

Biggest Celeb Weight Losses of 2010

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

WEIGHT WATCHERS RESOURCES

Weight Watchers Testimonial at Prevention Magazine

Weight Watchers Food and Recipes

Weight Watchers at Wikipedia

About the Weight Watchers Lifetime Member Program

Weight Watchers Contact Information
Common Misspellings

weightwatchers, wieght watchers, weight watcher, weight watches, watcher weight, weigth watchers, weightwatchers.com, weight wathcers, weightwatchers.com, weight watchers pointsplus, weight watchers points plus, pointsplus program, pointsplus system, points plus

Author

by


Related Diets: Jillian Michaels, Retrofit, Weight Watchers At Work, Weight Watchers Meetings, Weight Watchers Meetings Monthly Pass, Jenny Craig, Nutrisystem, Weight Watchers She Loses, He Loses


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 37, 731 total comments)

sockii

I liked the old Flex Points program, which worked very well for me when I had a lot of weight to lose. But after regaining about 15 pounds in the years since I've tried repeatedly to get back on the system with little success. WW seems a lot easier to do with a lot to lose than a little - but I don't want to wait until I have 50+ pounds to lose again!

I also found the new PointsPlus system did not work at all for me. With changing the points one did not really have more points to use (as in, more calories to eat in a day) and some of the way the new points were structured is strange. Again, there seems to be a problem with the numbers for people at the "low" end of the scale (with 29 daily points) as explained in the article linked here {LINK REMOVED}

posted May 24th, 2011 3:25 pm


EKerrigan

Why doesn't the Weight Watchers web site WORK?? I just signed up for Weight Watchers, and would LOVE to be able to use the Online Tools/Tracker ... but unfortunately the web site is so hideously slow that it's worthless :-( On the rare occasion that I CAN get to the Tracker tool and enter a food, it just spins and spins and spins .... and eventually I get a "timed out" message. Unless/until they upgrade their web site this is completely WORTHLESS! The online access was free with my membership, but I'd be royally peeved if I had actually paid for this!

posted May 22nd, 2011 8:57 am


Laurie Johnson

I have lost 40 lbs in 4 1/2 months on Points Plus. This is a excellent program, not a diet but a life style chnage

posted May 21st, 2011 3:22 pm


Cortney

If you stick to is there is no way you won't lose weight. It is nice to be able to eat whatever you want, just watch your portions.

posted May 21st, 2011 11:23 am


Dash

Thanks for sharing

posted May 19th, 2011 3:14 am


Kim

I have been on WW for 15 months. I have lost 105 pounds and my BF has lost 126. He has been in maintainence for 8 weeks. We attend weekly meetings and use the online services. It is a livable program that promotes a healthy lifestyle. I feel better than I have in years. I ? WW

posted May 18th, 2011 7:31 pm


Kim

I have been on WW for 15 months and have lost 105 pounds. My BF has lost 126 and been in maintainence for 8 weeks. We attend weekly meetings and use online. I ? WW!

posted May 18th, 2011 7:27 pm


Joni

I personally could not track all of my food all of the time. When I was tracking my food I lost about 4 lbs in 4 weeks and I was hungry all of the time and I had to completely cut out too many foods I like to eat in order to have enough points to get through the day. Each night I felt like I barely made it through the day and I dreaded trying to figure out the next day.
I didn't use activity points because if I did I wouldn't lose any weight for the week. The meetings never felt supportive and just more like being lectured to. I got to the point where I dreaded going there so I stopped and they continued to charge me despite clearly being able to tell that I had stopped going for weeks. No call, no email, nothing.
This was just a terrible experience for me.

posted May 17th, 2011 2:46 pm


Michelle

I've lost 152 pounds with WW and kept it off. Becoming a Lifetime Member is a HUGE advantage to this program. You weigh in for FREE if you're at goal. If not, keep your butt at the meetings until you get there. This is a LIFETIME of hard work and dedication. Nothing is easy. If weight loss were easy, Oprah would have it. JUST DO IT! It is the BEST weight loss program out there.

posted May 10th, 2011 12:49 pm


Linda

Best weight loss program in the world, it's not a quick fix but a way of life. It works.
it took 130# off for me.

posted May 8th, 2011 6:58 pm


Anita

I have been doing Weight Watchers online and have seen very good weight loss (13lbs. in 13 weeks). I feel so empowered and unrestricted in my choices of foods that I enjoy eating.

posted May 8th, 2011 4:19 am


Christine

RIP OFF!!!!!! DO NOT USE!!!!! THEY USE YOUR CC INFO TO CHARGE YOU FOR SERVICES NOT USED!!!! DONT GIVE THESE PPL YOUR CC NUMBER FOR ANY REASON!!!!

posted Apr 29th, 2011 11:56 am


Esther Thornton

where can i get a copy of the old 1994-1995 weight watcher program, it was so good I will pay for it I am looking for a weight watcher program back in 1995, i lost over 40 lbs, i cannot find it, I have not tried the newest program, but I could not lose the weight on the points program, like I did with the old program of 1995. If anyone has the 1995 program let me know. I do not like the Points program. It just does not work for me. I also exercise 4-6 times a week, I walk, zumba, kick box and body pump. i am almost 80 lbs overweight. please give me feedback on my email

posted Apr 26th, 2011 3:10 pm


Patricia Dean

This is an excellent program!

posted Apr 26th, 2011 11:06 am


Diana

What is the monthly food cost of Weight Watchers in addition to the $17.95?

posted Apr 25th, 2011 4:02 pm


Deborah

I lost 30lbs on the old ww program and have been able to keep it off, the old program was so easy. I started the new program in Jan 2011 and had so many problems trying to add the points for the day it was to much work for my busy schedule.Please bring the old program back it works. Jennifer Hudson lost weight on the old program . At least let the members decide what program they would like to choose.

posted Apr 25th, 2011 10:14 am


kate

I am a lifetime member and know the old system worked. Why in the world did they make it more complex and introduce Points Plus? Why did they change the formula? I gave this a very good try for 6 weeks and have very little to show for it. What a mess.

posted Apr 20th, 2011 1:43 am


Disappointed

After being very succesful in every other WeightWatchers Programs (other than keeping the weight off, which is my own failure, of course, I signed up for the Points Plus Program and attended meetings. My first week, I lost 2.8 pounds and felt good, however by the end of three months of this new system, I lost only a mere 10 pounds, having actually gained on 4 of the 12 weeks. I followed this diet to the letter, and was exercising four to six times a week. When I found myself crying out of frustration, I dug out my old WW gear, and started on the old program called "FlexPoints". In one week, I have lost more than I did in my final months with the new program. When I cancelled WW (since I was wasting my money), I found that WW had been charging me for a two extra weeks that I did not attend, then refused to give me a refund stating that I was paid up for another month. Now, why would I want another month of a program which COMPLETELY did not work for me. Additionally, they completely ignored my complaints with the program and request for a refund for the month I did not use. I used to be a big fan of WW, but no more. They have proven that they care about money more than people's successes. I recommend the Flex Points system to anyone looking to lose a decent amount of weight in a decent amount of time. But I would not spend my money on the Points Plus program. After going to meetings, I know I'm not the only one with this complaint.

posted Apr 19th, 2011 10:12 am


Dawnelle

Here is my comment...I don't think anyone should eat limitless bananas, neither does WW. They tell you that in the first books you get when you sign up. Eat your recommended servings of fruits and veggies and they don't count towards your daily points. That is how that goes.
When you see people going to OTHER sites such as this one complaining that a diet isn't working, you have to understand that they are the ones looking for other websites to complain to. The people having success on WW are busy tracking their points and publishing on the WW boards or FB page, or exercising or cooking healthy meals.....the successful WW consumers IMHO are to happy to be going to other websites 'looking for the next miracle'. I'm on WW, have been since Dec. I'm not the best tracker, I can't exercise, and I have still lost 30#. Imagine what I could do if I really put my heart into it. Of course you are going to find the unhappy consumers here, do you usually find the happy ones at the better business bureau?

posted Apr 11th, 2011 12:36 pm


Westyloose

WW PP is a nice system. But remember people, diets are guidelines. I figure an average of 40 calories per point w/ this plan, which is a heck of alot lower then I was consuming before I started. Bottom line, if you're steadily gaining, you're eating to much! There is no magic here, you have to eat right and put the work in to drop lbs. Good luck....

posted Apr 10th, 2011 1:42 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account