Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

80%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 5 reviews

The 4-Hour Body

Learn the 4 Hour Body secrets to losing weight from Tim Ferriss

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman is a book written by Timothy Ferriss. This book covers a lot of different areas as the title suggests. Author Ferriss has previously written a New York Times Bestselling book The 4-Hour Workweek which has been published in 35 different languages. The 4-Hour Body offers the same four hour principle but for your body. This book shows you how to reach your genetic potential in six months, how to sleep two hours per day but perform better than if you slept for eight and how to lose more fat than a marathoner by binge eating. Readers will be happy to know that this book is not just a theory, but comes based on over a decade of the findings of medical doctors, professional athletes and Ferriss’ own personal experiments.

All of the results are published in this book and they are helpful for both men and women. The claim is that everything works and covers subjects from weight loss to sex. The changes you will make will be small, but Ferriss guarantees you big results. Over 50 different topics are included in this book. Some of the topics covered include how to prevent fat gain while bingeing, how to increase fat loss 300 percent with a few bags of ice, how to produce 15-minute female orgasms, how to lose that last five to ten or over 100 pounds with an odd combination of food and safe chemical cocktails and many more.

PRO
  • Covers over 50 different topics
  • Learn everything you need about the various topics in the book in less than 30 minutes each
  • Methods proven by author’s own experience
  • No need to read the full book; jump right to the topic you’re interested in
  • Some weight loss information included
  • Written by a bestselling author
  • Methods work for both men and women
CON
  • No new information
  • Some criticisms of the claims the book makes
  • Workout is best for those who are just starting out rather than those who might be advanced
DIET and NUTRITION

The 4-Hour Body is not a book that specifically deals with diet and weight loss. It actually deals with everything that pertains to the body. Some of the topics that are covered include increasing fat loss, sex, gaining muscle, reversing permanent injuries and sleep habits. There is a diet included in the book that basically follows similar rules of the Paleo diet. In this book it’s called the Slow-Carb Diet. In order to reduce fat, there are five tips given in the book. Those five tips include avoid white carbohydrates, eat the same few meals over and over again, don’t drink calories, don’t eat fruit and take one day off per week. You can eat as much as you like of the listed foods, provided you keep it simple. Something else that is important is that you eat several meals throughout the day. You must make sure you are eating enough calories on the program. You may be trading spinach for rice, but remember that spinach has a lot fewer calories so you will need more to be satisfied. The 4-Hour Body diet plan offers that you can lose 20 pounds in 30 days by eating correctly. Through the Slow-Carb Diet,you will mix and match your foods, eating one from the following three groups.

  • Proteins: egg whites with one whole egg; chicken breast or thigh; grass-fed organic beef; pork
  • Legumes: lentils; black beans; pinto beans
  • Vegetables: spinach; asparagus; peas; mixed vegetables
EXERCISE

Exercise is included in The 4-Hour Body. There are workout recommendations for those that want to gain muscle as well as those that want to lose fat. The book does claim that you can lose weight without doing exercise if you simply follow the Slow-Carb Diet. The exercise routine listed below is the one recommended for those that want to gain 34 pounds of muscle in 28 days. This workout is also combined with a 5,000 to 8,000 calorie diet.

  • Pullover and Yates’s Bent Row 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Shoulder-Width Leg Press 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Pec Deck and Weighted Dips 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Leg Curl 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Reverse Thick-Bar Curl 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Seated Calf Raise 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Manual Neck Resistance 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
  • Machine Crunch 1 set x 8-12 repetitions
CONCLUSION

Although The 4-Hour Body may not offer any new information, it does serve as a resource for several different topics. The book is not meant to be read in its entirety. Instead you can go to the chapters that interest you and read that information. There really is no way to tell if you will have the results that are promised, but there is some good information contained that can help you reach your goals.

Common Misspellings

The four hours body, the 4-hours body, the for hour body, the four our body, the four houred body, four hour bodies


Related Diets: Dr. Colbert's I Can Do This Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 17 total comments)

Jay

sounds like a tumor. stupid. sucks. move on people.

posted Mar 29th, 2012 8:44 am


Pam Mayers

Can I use Shitaki noodles as a vegeble as it is made from vegables. It is a japenese vegeble and only 10 calories per cup.I miss my noodles and their good.

posted Mar 13th, 2012 4:36 am


jack

Tim ferris often over simplifies complex and rather challenging situations like weight loss which more times than not is a psychological fight.

posted Feb 14th, 2012 11:11 am


robert

The Tim Ferris diet book is great. I read 4 hour work week and found some really valuable tips and life hacks. The 4 hour body is the same... not all is realistic but lots of good tricks.

posted Feb 14th, 2012 10:56 am


Kristin

This way of eating works really well with my metabolism. Breakfast consists of three eggs with sauteed onions and bell peppers, two pieces of bacon and some refried black beans. I usually eat between 5:30-6:00 am. By 9:30 I have to force myself to eat a small lunch. By 1:30, the same thing. I am not hungry at all and I have consistant energy all day. The cheat day gives me something to look forward to and helps me not to feel deprived. My first cheat day was Saturday and I actually felt like crap eating sugar and carby stuff like bread and pasta. By Sunday, I was happy to be back on track! This is something I can stick with. This is going into my second week and I have lost a pound already and my clothes are looser. The food is pretty simple and inexpensive as well.

posted Feb 13th, 2012 5:44 pm


Sierra myles

I loved this diet!
I did it during the summer time and lost like 23 pounds in the first month.
It's been 5 months since then and I've only gained 7 pounds but I've been under stress an I would have o say that's pretty good!!
I'm 15 yrs old.
And I am going to go on this diet agian soon cuz I would like to lose 50 LBs
Before summer <3
Wish me
Luck!!!!!!!

P.s. YOU MUST TRY IS AMAZING DIET!

posted Jan 28th, 2012 4:19 am


BTrue

Help! I have done EVERYTHING right on this diet and just can't lose the weight I want. I started this diet Jan. 1st and to date have lost 7 lbs (which was pretty much the first week) Any sugestions?

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 6:35 am


PattyC

The book should come with the "results not typical" in big bold letters. One week of beans & egg whites and I'm down a whopping 1.5 lbs. I know what you're thinking. I must not have followed it to the letter. I promise, I DID. And it wasn't easy. Fitting in all of the suppliments and mini exercize sessions before meals, and must follow rules is difficult if you're not a single male with nothing else going on! I've been cooking for a family and then eating beans & eggs. This is not a life plan and will not drop significant weight quickly enough to stomache another plate of kidney beans.

posted Mar 1st, 2011 1:42 pm


mike

Would like phone # for ordering ur products. Do u have a phone ordering line?

posted Feb 9th, 2011 7:03 am


Holly

Love this diet and how I look, feel, & sleep after 1 month. I can still have all the stuff I love, including a nightly glass or 2 of dry red wine. This is the most compliant I have been on a diet. I have less fat than before my 3 kids now & none of my pant, even my skinny pants way back in the closet are way too big!

posted Feb 1st, 2011 4:14 am


Bill smith

I lost 20 pounds in less than a month because I read this book.

posted Jan 28th, 2011 1:54 am


marsha green

How can I get this book I would like to try it out this will be good for me an my daughter

posted Jan 27th, 2011 6:54 pm


RubyJane

I just started this plan two weeks ago and have never felt as good as I do today. I have made sure I have beans or lentils with every meal, including breakfast and lots of veggies and some white meat chicken. I have lost 9 lbs in two weeks and also inches. I think this is fairly easy to stick with given that you have that great cheat day once a week without any guilt associated with it. I'm hoping to lose more but am willing to give it some time

posted Jan 18th, 2011 7:45 pm


Jonathan B

I thought the 4-Hour Body book was great; in fact, I lost 9 pounds in just my first week trying it out.

And my wife and I are eating an omelette like this for breakfast:

- 4 eggs
- ½ cup mushrooms, sliced
- ¼ cup bell pepper (preferably mix of green and red), chopped
- 2 tablespoons onion, chopped
- 1 tablespoon macadamia oil
- 1 cup spinach, loosely chopped
- 1 clove garlic, minced
- 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
- ¼ teaspoon salt
- ¼ teaspoon pepper

Can't go wrong with that.

blog:4HourRecipes dot com

posted Jan 15th, 2011 10:33 am


Cinn Fields

I??ve been looking around the web to see what kind of reaction the book is getting from people who know about the different topics it covers. The sex stuff (15 minute orgasm) is what got me to buy There some good stuff in those two chapters - useful illustrations and a fairly straightforward approach from his teachers and trainers ?? but its really just an introduction ?? I??m guessing this one of the topics in the book he has researched the least. If these chapters are an example of Tim??s 80/20 rule ?? what he thinks is the 20% that produces 80% of the result - then I??d say what is in the book is closer to 10%, not 20% - there is a lot more available for both parties than what he describes. I??m guessing that as Tim??s research continues he??ll eventually wind up looking at the original source of this information. For people who??ve never seen the information Tim is presenting, it's a fast way to get started on a very very fun journey.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 12:31 pm


Pareto

I think one of the biggest contributions that Tim has made is the introduction of the PAGG stack. I've been using EGCG (green tea extract) for a while with good results, and have also experimented with ALA. The science behind the stack makes sense and my skinfold ab measurement is down from 24mm to 21mm in a week on it. Which has been a problem area for me for a while.

It's expensive and confusing to buy all the separate ingredients though so I've got my company to produce an all-in-one package at two months for the price of one for readers of the Four Hour Body with coupon code

posted Dec 24th, 2010 2:31 am


James M

I received the Kindle version of The 4 Hour Body yesterday and dove right into it. After reading the first 90 pages of it, I'm psyched to continue on the journey and learn more about Tim's ideas. I've been following a paleo/primal lifestyle for the past 6 months and have lost 40 pounds. That diet is very close to the one TIm suggests so I'm sure a lot of people will be seeing results in the coming months. I'm hoping to use his fitness routines to lose the final 20 pounds and lean up.

I'm posting reviews of the book as I finish sections on my blog: foursides.ca

posted Dec 15th, 2010 8:16 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account