Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 19 reviews

Shake Weight

A revolutionary dumbbell that tones your arms in just six minutes.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Shake Weight is an arm strengthening and toning hand weight that features Dynamic Inertia, a kind of technology that ignites the muscles in your arm, shoulders and chest.

The Shake Weight has been featured on television infomercials as well as on the Ellen DeGeneres show and in Glamour magazine.

The Shake Weight is targeted towards women, although a male Shake Weight can also be purchased. The device, which is like a vibrating arm weight, claims to increase upper body muscle activity by more than 300% compared to traditional weights.

PRO
  • May help to strengthen and tone upper arms
  • Convenient fitness tool
CON
  • Looks a bit gimmicky
  • Result claims are likely exaggerated
  • May break down
  • Ads are sexually suggestive and may offend some potential consumers
  • No diet guidance
Shake Weight Video Review

via Fit Test Dummies

DIET and NUTRITION

There are no diet or nutrition guidelines associated with this product.

EXERCISE

The Shake Weight features the Dynamic Inertia technology, which is supposed to help tone and strengthen your arms, shoulders and chest. By using the Shake Weight six minutes a day, you are supposed to get a complete upper body workout.

CONCLUSION

The Shake Weight is a bizarre piece of fitness equipment designed to help women sculpt lean and toned upper arms. But the product's website and accompanying infomercials are not only a bit sexually suggestive but they also have a gimmick or fad feel to them.

While the product may provide some comic relief, its claims of producing lean and sculpted arms in just six minutes a day are likely exaggerated.

Common Misspellings

shaker weight, chake weight, shake wait, shake weiht, shake weigth


Related Diets: Ab Circle Pro, Chest Shaper


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 27 total comments)

Jon Fionnlagh

The product is well made and I use mine at the office as a quick morning toning regiment which works extremely well. While Shake Weight should not be a considered a total workout... it augments a more complete workout from the gym or home. It's good if you travel for use at the hotel room as well. But if you use this at the office get there early before the other guys and girls because obvious jokes of a sexual nature will be tendered for the "real" toning you use the device for! While I don't report sexual harassment I do grade it... Shake Weight gets a B+

posted Sep 20th, 2011 6:15 pm


Kimberly

I like this little contraption! I feel the burn every time I use it. I use it while watching tv. I even find myself doing reps throughout watching a cooking show ;)

posted May 20th, 2011 3:52 pm


caribbean gal

I just started using it about a few days now ,and already seeing the results... I LOVE IT!!!

posted May 1st, 2011 2:06 pm


Ms. Toni Smith

The ShakeWeight DoesNot Work I recieved one for Xmas I used it like the DVD showed for about 3 months. And my arms are still waving in the wind. I also had girl friends of mine who bought it and it didnot work for them either. The money back is joke because it's only good for 30 days,it will time more then 30 days to tone your arms. So we are just screwed all around No toned arms and No money back. So when all my friends ask did your shake weight work I tell them HELL NO, don't waste your money.

posted Apr 10th, 2011 10:46 pm


Josh Miller

I have used the shake weight for 4 days straight now. Friends have noticed a huge change already. I know I will continue to use this product each day. I however do not use the CD workout. I do one set of each in the morning and another later in the day. Everyone should at least try it for a week. Brilliant

posted Apr 5th, 2011 1:36 pm


cedricj

Love it, at first it was a little hard to get going but it became easier! Now, it seems to easy, is there a way to add weight or is there a new one coming out.

posted Mar 1st, 2011 11:35 am


Jess

I am a CNA and I have noticed my strenghth has gone through the roof with this invention!! I have more energy and used to hate working out. Now something that works and is easy, my style!!

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 11:58 pm


wandy lopez

THAT THING WORKS!!!!!!!!

posted Feb 16th, 2011 11:11 pm


Rimjob69

I finally found something that fits in my butt! i love it!

posted Feb 16th, 2011 10:34 am


Courtney

I use it almost everday it is a easy and fun exercise also i've seen my arms improve I think everyone should try it.

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 1:11 am


rdclark115@yahoo.com

I wasnt sure this would work, but I have used it twice, you can feel the burn and my arms were sore so it must be working, I will continue to use it as I am sure after a few weeks I will be able to notice muscle instead of flab.

posted Jan 25th, 2011 10:44 pm


Daniel

I used to be depressed and was over 400 lbs overweight. Now after working out with the Shake Weight for a month I now weight 125 and can run the marathon in 3 hours. Thanks Shake Weight!!!

posted Jan 17th, 2011 2:34 am


Ash

I was an AAU athlete for a decade, totally ripped in my teens and twenties. Then I covered my musculature with beer and pizza outings! It's been 17 years since I worked out steady. 3 months of The Shaker melted the belly fat and revealed the muscle tone underneath. My joints don't hurt and my energy level is through the roof. Buy it!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:42 am


sandra

I LOVE my shake weight. the first day i really felt the burn. but now its a fun exercise routine i do every day. i turn on some music and do it as fast as i can

posted Jan 6th, 2011 10:49 pm


bob

ITS AWSOME I LOST 30 POUNDS IN 2 MONTHS

posted Jan 5th, 2011 7:16 pm


dan

assome

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 1:34 am


Joe

This DOES work people doubt it because its so small and easy but after 3 weeks of using it my arms have become very toned and my chest has gotten bigger i see veins all over my chest and arms, Works great, couldn't believe it burned so badly

posted Dec 25th, 2010 12:54 pm


grkorb

It's a waste of good hard cash. Hard to impossible to get started. If it worked with batteries or electricity, it would be something. However, you have to get the thing moving and it is hard.

posted Dec 5th, 2010 10:13 pm


Adria

I have to admit I was very reluctant to buy this product. I did not think it would work, especially not as effectively as advertised.
It does work! I felt the burn from the first 30 seconds, and the results started to come pretty quickly. Within a couple of weeks.

posted Dec 3rd, 2010 10:07 pm


Bob Smigglestein

I absolutely love the shake weight. i bought all of my friends and i a shake weight. we all get together in a circle and see how long we can last using the shake weight. we get all sweaty and have to towel eachother off. its fun for the whole family.

posted Nov 30th, 2010 6:57 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account