Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

97%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 38 reviews

Retrofit

A technologically advanced weight loss program that promises a 10-15% total loss.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

SAVE NOW: 10% off the Retrofit Plan of Your Choice! Get Your Retrofit Coupon

Retrofit is a weight loss program that gives you a team of health experts and uses the latest technology to help you reach your weight loss goal and prevent future weight gain. The year-long program is designed to not only guide you to a 10 to 15 percent loss, but to help you maintain your goal. Each participant will work with a team made up of a registered dietitian, an exercise physiologist and a behavior coach.

The program is facilitated online and is accessible from anywhere. Participants will meet with their wellness team each week through private online video conferences. Video conferences are easy to fit into your schedule and will help you keep on track. You will also be assigned a program adviser who will oversee your overall progress and follow-up regularly via email.

Making the most of technology is also an important part of the Retrofit weight loss plan. As part of the program you will receive a FitBit wireless activity tracker and a Withings Wi-Fi scale that also calculates your body composition. All of this data makes up your personal data profile, so that your wellness team can see what's working and what isn't.

Retrofit-Save-10-468
PRO
  • Highly personalized service
  • Weekly meetings create accountability
  • Extended maintenance phase prevents clients from re-gaining the weight
  • Created by a team of respected medical experts
  • Each wellness team is made up of educated experts
  • Addresses both the physical and mental aspects of weight loss
  • Experts are always available to answer your questions
  • Helps clients set reasonable goals
  • If you do not reach your goal, Retrofit will provide you with a second year of services for free
  • Works with reputable brands like Skype, FitBit, and Withings
CON
  • Premium price
  • Not ideal for those with minimal weight to lose
  • Not ideal for those uncomfortable with technology, such as Skype
DIET and NUTRITION

Adjusting your diet to the proper number of calories and correct portion sizes is one of the first steps you will take in the Retrofit program. After a preliminary 50 question intake quiz to determine your previous habits, you will work with your registered dietitian to create an eating plan that suits your needs. Your dietitian will help you identify your biggest nutrition challenges, and come up with specific strategies for addressing them. You'll work on changing one or two things each week, so that you're not overwhelmed by changes. Participants will also receive a cookbook full of healthy recipe ideas. No one is allowed to start the program without taking the intake quiz so that is the first step of the process.

An additional component of the program that’s just as important as what you eat is why you eat. You will work with your assigned behavior coach to identify different types of stress in your life that may be hindering weight loss along and gain strategies to cope with those situations. Some of the possible nutrition behaviors that can affect your weight loss are being a convenient diner, fruitless feaster, meal skipper or a nighttime nibbler. Your personalized meal plan will include advice for your specific situation with food. If you typically skip meals, you will learn how to properly time your meals. If you typically eat large portion sizes, you might start using a lunch sized plate or learn to use your hands as a portion-control guide. Because the program is so personalized, there is no standard nutrition plan that most dieters follow. Retrofit really does give you food advice that will be perfect for your nutrition needs.

EXERCISE

Incorporating an exercise program is extremely important for maintaining weight loss. As with nutrition, the preliminary quiz plays a part in reviewing your previous exercise history. The first thing you will do with Retrofit is wear your FitBit for two weeks to determine your baseline activity level. From there, you will work with your exercise physiologist to increase your activity level by 10 percent.

For someone who has a very sedentary baseline, this will mean just increasing your number of steps per day. From there, you will begin to incorporate other types of exercise, including cardio and strength training. Your exercise physiologist will take into account what you really want from the program and any particular health issues you may have. You can choose to focus on losing 10 or 15 percent of your total body weight with the Retrofit program. These numbers may seem small, losing this amount of weight is realistic and can lower your risk for several weight related health issues or diseases.

CONCLUSION

Retrofit is one of the most personalized and comprehensive diet programs that's available. It offers all of the services of the most premium medically supervised weight loss clinics but with the convenience of an online program, so your access isn't limited by geography. The data-driven approach to fitness is a great way to keep you honest about your activity level. Having a team of wellness experts will help you address all the aspects of weight loss, not only diet and exercise, but also the mental and behavioral challenges associated with this kind of lifestyle change. Most importantly, this program is set up to help you maintain your weight loss long-term and keeps you very accountable.

Common Misspellings

retrofitme, retro fit, retrofits

Author

by


Related Diets: Eat Smart Move More Weigh Less, My Body Tutor, SparkPeople LIVE!, Weight Watchers Online, Jenny Craig, Fitbit, Withings WiFi Body Scale


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 33 total comments)

Brian

Retrofit has been a fantastic journey. I was initially drawn to the program by the technology aspect. I thought I would enjoy using the fitbit, skype sessions with Retrofit staff and the internet connected scale. I also thought the support of a behavioral coach, nutritionist and exercise physiologist was important and would help with my motivation and accountability. All of this has been true. The program has worked well for me, although the weight loss has not been a straight downward journey. That said, my team worked hard to identify how to improve and did whatever it took to get things back on track. I highly recommend Retrofit.

posted Feb 11th, 2014 6:40 pm


Debbie

I went to the doctor and was told I was obese, pre-diabetic, and on the verge of high cholesterol and high blood pressure. It was a wakeup call that I needed to do something. About a month later I found Retrofitme. I was skeptical at first that it would work, but I was amazed when I started losing weight. I consistently lost 1 to 2 pounds a week for almost my entire first year on the program. I blew by 10% goal out of the water. It was so easy, I was shocked. My coworkers called me the amazing shrinking woman. The first year I lost 60 pounds. That’s almost a 30% weight loss! I am no longer obese, my blood pressure is awesome, my BMI is in the normal range, and my cholesterol is normal too.
The thing I liked best about the program is the accountability. The wireless scale and fitbit report in to my dashboard. My program advisors can look and see how I am doing all the time. They gave me advice and kept me going. It was like having cheerleaders online.
Now I find that keeping the weight off has been fairly easy since I have learned to change my eating and exercising pattern. I pay attention to the portion size of my food, try to eat only healthy foods and I exercise daily. This combination has really helped me.

posted Feb 10th, 2014 4:45 pm


Donna Brown

Retrofit is the plan for me...Loving the time spent cooking good healthy meals and setting small goals in my weight loss journey....and the coaches are all GREAT!

posted Feb 5th, 2014 9:00 pm


lynda

sounds interesting.

posted Jan 6th, 2014 1:08 am


ANDREW

Very useful method. I tried this water fast weight loss method and it

really helped me to lose weight. We should have a little patience to get

results.Thanks

posted Nov 17th, 2013 4:53 pm


Michele

As a weary and pretty beat-up veteran of the Dieting Wars, I took a chance on RetroFit because the company where I work was promoting and discounting it. I was intrigued with the tech toys: the WIFI scale and fit bit tracker. And I was at a point in my life where even though my time at work was increasing, my responsibilities at home were decreasing – my daughter was off at college. I wanted something different for myself and for the second half of my life. I was tired of dragging around excess weight, I was tired of my doctor prescribing a new drug every time I went in for a check-up, I was tired of my formless, dark-colored clothes. Of course, I had been on Weight Watchers (too many times), Atkins (the worst), South Beach (only liked the name) and lost weight and regained it. I wasn’t interested in losing weight just to regain it so I was encouraged by the long-term goals Retrofit sets up and by the fact that my contract with them was for a year. I was immediately impressed with the professionalism and knowledge of the Retrofit staff who worked with me, but I was increasingly moved by their compassion and care. I have never felt that I was doing this alone. In 16 weeks I have lost 17 lbs and my BMI is very near normal. But what is more incredible is that during this time of discovery – and it has been a discovery for me – I have run a mile for the first time in my life, I have signed up for a swimming class, and I have taken responsibility for my health and well-being in a way that I never did before on any of the myriad diet plans I have been on. I journal every day; it takes almost no time – and with the help of the dedicated staff that surrounds me each day and comments on my every bite and motion, I have changed. Actually changed. And I have not excluded any foods, nor calculated points, nor added up calories – though I am aware of them I would recommend this program to anyone. It's a transformational program.

posted Jun 29th, 2013 3:19 am


Lisa

I've been working with Retrofit for about 4 months and have lost nearly 25 pounds. Results? Retrofit delivers. I was a skeptic. I've lost weight numerous times before and always gained it back. I thought I knew all there was to know about weight loss and frankly wondered if I was meant to struggle indefinitely with weight and body issues because I didn't see how the programs out there could yield a different outcome. But Retrofit is unique and there are several aspects of the program that make it vastly more effective than anything else I've tried. First, I have a team of experts who are as committed as I am to my success and work with me on a regular basis to address questions, provide me with relevant info, monitor my data and offer insights. I thought I knew it all having consumed vast amounts of information about weight loss over the years, but what I've learned is that my piecemeal (mis)understanding of the physiology and psychology of weight loss was lacking and out of whack. The second aspect of Retrofit is the holistic and 360 degree approach. This program is not just about losing weight, although that's where it starts. Instead it's about creating a healthy lifestyle through mastering proper nutrition and understanding the mind-body connection through exercise and behavioral modification. I've been amazed at what I'm able to eat and ENJOY, as well as how much I look forward to daily walking and exploring other exercise options and how my stress level has moderated as I've learned to prioritize my wellbeing. It's like Retrofit offers the keys to making the critical pieces - nutrition, exercise and mindset - lock together in a coherent, reinforcing and powerful foundation. I'm a busy professional and it has felt completely manageable to be on the program including through really stressful times and frequent travel. I'm not eating processed, pre-packaged foods or counting calories or points; I'm learning how to build exercise and stress-reducers into my day without upending my schedule or disrupting my life in a way that's unsustainable. It's absolutely do-able even for those who are short of time and stretched to the max. For me, the dashboard is such a positive reinforcer that I look forward to daily check-ins to monitor my progress. With the Fitbit and the wireless scale I have an instant snapshot of how I'm doing at all times and where I exchange messages with my team which I find motivating and insightful. As corny as it sounds, my life has improved with Retrofit, beyond the number on the scale, and I anticipate the habits and skills I've learned will pay dividends into the future. It's worth the investment.

posted Jun 13th, 2013 12:09 am


Judy

If you on the west coast, don't bother unless you are available for calls during the day. They appear to have a relatively small staff and almost all are in the eastern and central time zones.

posted May 26th, 2013 3:11 am


Steve R

I have been on the Retrofit program for 12 weeks and it has changed my way of thinking regarding eating and excercise. To date I have lost 9 pounds.

posted Mar 26th, 2013 3:47 pm


Rick F

When I received a pre-diabetic diagnosis from my doctor, I was depressed. If I didn't lose weight, I was very likely to become fully diabetic with all the heath challenges that would bring. I was determined to make a change.

But I didn't want a crash diet, and I didn't want a "group activity" based program. I didn't want to eat "special" meals and I needed this to fit into my busy schedule.

Retrofit was and is the perfect program for a person like me. It uses technology to keep you informed and accountable. It's a long-term commitment, not a quick-fix. The experts they provide are super experienced and super supportive. We meet via Skype when it's convenient for me.

But ultimately, the responsibility is mine. They give me the tools and knowledge, but I need to make it happen. They set a realistic pace and I feel like I could live this way forever.

I've now lost over 30 lbs and am totally confident I can lose even more and keep it off. They have really changed the way I think about eating and exercise. Slow and steady wins the race.

I'd recommend this approach to any busy professional who wants a realistic approach to losing weight and getting healthy.

posted Mar 25th, 2013 11:19 pm


Kara M

It is not like any other program I have tried. It focuses on small goals and changes.You have a team to talk about struggles that work with you to offer other ways of thinking about the problems you face . The technology helps you really see the little things can add up with graphs and weekly progress information . This program is not a diet its lifestyle. Thanks Retrofit !

posted Mar 21st, 2013 10:54 pm


Sherri

Retrofit is hands down the best program out there. I have been on every "diet" there is over the years with quick losses only to gain the weight back. With the accountability, the tools provided and my team support I have managed to lose in a healthy sustainable way. I feel great and have changed my relationship with food and exercise. Retrofit has changed my life and I will be forever grateful.

posted Mar 21st, 2013 2:28 pm


Bradley Breuer

I have lost about 22 pounds and this is the first time the weight loss feels sustainable. The diet really gets you to think differently about eating and lifestyle, so I am certain this will be a long term solve, not just another crash diet. Thank you retrofit, it has been wonderful!!!

posted Mar 21st, 2013 2:21 pm


Joe

Well, I have tried a few diet programs, WW, watching what I eat and have only lost a few pounds here and there.

With Retrofit and the support I recieved, I was able to lose 10% of my body weight in 8 weeks. Almost 20 lbs! I feel great and like the use of Skype and the flexibility of Retrofit. The coaches are awesome and are very supportive of how to make it work and lose weight.

It is what I have been looking for and would highly recommend it to anyone!

posted Mar 20th, 2013 6:47 pm


Jeffrey Yordon

I am a member of Retrofit and the program has all of the key elements to enable very busy people to lose weight in a very healthy manner

posted Mar 16th, 2013 3:34 pm


Linda Segervall-Baldini

Retrofit has been nothing short of life changing. I’m 30 pounds lighter and have kept it off for a year. Their knowledgeable, supportive team helped me crack the code on what I needed to change in my routine to finally achieve the results I wanted. Their use of technology is smart and motivational – it was great setting daily goals of how many steps I would take with a pedometer and really fun to watch the scale steadily show progress. I now feel totally in control, like it is second nature to eat well and exercise as part of my daily activities. And, I don’t feel like I’m on a diet. I know I can have cake or pizza or whatever, but then have a plan to ensure that I don’t go off track. I feel 10 years younger and feel great! Thank you Retrofit!

posted Mar 15th, 2013 4:33 pm


John Tavern

No different than JC or WW. They are all out there to get rich at our expense...

posted Feb 2nd, 2013 8:52 pm


Betsy

I've tried a lot of weight loss programs: Weight Watchers (6 or 7 times, at least), NutriSystems, calorie-counting, etc. I never stuck with them over the long haul. There was always some "inconvenience" factor that gave me an excuse to slack off. I'm really busy, and it was hard to get myself to go to weekly meetings, or religiously count calories, or whatever.

But I think I'm going to be able to stick with this program. To begin with, my advisors are experts in their fields, and that goes a long way with me. And they've gone out of their way to work with *my* schedule and with my particular situation. I couldn't ask for better support.

The automatic upload scale and the FitBit have worked well for me. The FitBit is especially cool, because it showed me how little sleep I was getting. Making an adjustment there made a big difference in my motivation.

I would highly recommend this program. Pricey, but it's like having the experts in the room with you. I've lost 40 pounds, and I'm still going.

posted Jan 6th, 2013 4:14 pm


Emily

To echo many of the comments above, Retrofit has been wonderful for me. It actually delivers on what many other programs try to provide, which is a true "lifestyle" change rather than just a diet. The data tracking scale and pedometer are awesome, the Skype sessions are intense but totally help you focus, and the dashboard provides an easy way to stay in touch and track your progress and your daily successes/challenges. I love the accountability I have to my "team" of experts, but they amaze me with their ability to support without judging. I don't need a "mom" figure telling me what I should do - they have really helped with practical suggestions as well as helping me identify and change unhealthy habits! My weight loss has been more slow and steady over the past year but I feel wonderful and Retrofit has let me decide whether I'm happy with the slow and steady approach (I am - this feels like something I will never be "off" of, and therefore I have no fear that the weight will come back. I just keep plugging away!).

posted Dec 13th, 2012 2:20 am


Terry

I have dieted all my life, really!! Since I signed up for the Retrofit program almost a year ago, not only am I almost at my goal weight, but for the first time I feel I have found a program that has helped me look at living a healthy lifestyle, not just losing weight. I feel awesome and others say I look "incredible". No longer do I talk about my "diet" now I talk about the support that I received from my 3, yes 3, coaches! They helped me see the patterns in my life which have caused my 40 years of yoyo weight loss. NO MORE! Take a chance on you and sign up! If you stay true to your committment, you too will see the success that I have.

posted Dec 12th, 2012 1:21 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account