| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 264 reviews


Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)


A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating


Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11


Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.


Nutrisystem Channel on

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem,, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.



Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 14, 268 total comments)


In the first week I have dropped 12lbs. I also exercised for 15 minutes on my Bowflex Max Trainer. The program works as long as you follow it. Many people have lost 100+. There are many ways to make their program more affordable such as buying gift cards through Costco (20% off), auto-ship discount, and I would be happy to send you a code for $30 off your first order. Send your name and email address to and I will get you a code for $30 off. Take the first step, get started today!

posted Oct 11th, 2015 7:06 pm

Kathy S

There is no guarantee to get your money back. I called each week for the first 3 weeks about not losing weight, and the horrible gas I was experiencing. They said it was the fiber. On the 4th week, I told them I did not want to order a 3rd month. They said I could cancel my second month. I told them to go ahead. Then I call back and they are charging me $80 to cancel the second month! I would tell everyone I know not to fall for this. I had to pay for two months, just to keep from getting charged $80 to cancel, when I called them each week for three weeks with my dissatisfaction. Read other reviews. I am not the only person this happened to.

posted Sep 14th, 2015 6:56 pm


THIS IS A HORRIBLE COMPANY and only a MEDIOCRE DIET! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! I saw an add for nutrisystem and became excited about the prospect of losing some weight. I am not a super heavy girl but I stood to loose about 20 pounds and thought that two months on a diet like this one would be a perfect solution for me to shed that final weight. I soon spoke with a rep for nutrisystem and she assured me that I would be signed up for two months ONLY and that I would only be charged for those two months as they shipped. It sounded perfect. I got to choose my food over the phone and everything was in order. When I received my first month of food EVERYTHING was wrong. The complete shipment was full of food that I never chose, some foods that I am allergic too and others that just plain disgust me (a bag of tuna? No way). So I made my first call to customer service. Instead of offering me a completely new shipment (which would have been the proper suggestion since it was obviously their mistake). They asked if I could just replace the foods that I absolutely hated or was allergic to. So out of utter annoyance I did just that. My replacement shipment arrived soon after but was missing the dessert portion. SO I ONCE AGAIN MADE ANOTHER CALL to customer service and they promised to send the desserts as soon as possible. My second order was at least what I asked for but boxes were squished and broken and holes in macaroni and cheese. It was disgusting. Half of the food is disgusting, honestly, but that is not my issue. I knew I was signing up for a mediocre diet. I didn't know I was signing up to be screwed over. They unknowingly sent me a third package and when I called about it told me it would be rerouted. When it was not rerouted I called again and was told that I would return it FREE OF CHARGE. When I was refunded my money, however, $20 was missing from the refund. I called again and couldn't get ahold of anyone. Finally I got through and was told that my refund wasn't okayed by a supervisor but soon would be.... Although customer service was very helpful with fixing all of my concerns... THERE SHOULDNT HAVE HAD TO BE SO MANY CONCERNS. What a horrible company. I feel bad for the poor girls that work in that call office. Never order from them unless you want to be on hold for the rest of your life eating disgusting meals.

posted Aug 10th, 2015 5:32 pm


They are a rip-off. I got one carton of food. I got real sick, lost 40 pounds and never opened the food. 4 months later, they're telling me they are going to charge me $70.00 because I didn't order 2 months of food. HUH????Cheaters under the cloaks of Mormons!

posted Jul 25th, 2015 12:31 am

Andy Vand

Complete fraud !

Be carefull with this company and all the lies on their website with regards to ,

a) result,
b) Money back guaranty

They never honer the money back guaranty

posted Jul 23rd, 2015 8:02 pm


I tried nutrisystem for 3 weeks, with fast5 being my first week and was incredibly disappointed. I lost 400 bucks, just like that. I did NOT lose 5 pounds my first week and I am on my third week and so far it seems I am only down 2 pounds, and I doubt it was because of the food.

Since I am past the 14 return window, I have to pay 85 bucks to stop the next shipment. I feel dupped and like an idiot for belieivng these too good to be true claims. I just noticed a lot of people online were saying it worked for them, but keep in mind, these people are like 250 pounds and up, so losing 5 pounds for them was like nothing, probably just water weight. I am simply looking to eating healthier and losing that stubborn last 10 pounds. This program should only be advertised to the obese, not the overweight.

Plus, the food was AWFUL. I could barely stomach it and the portions were so small, I was always hungry, even though it claimed you wouldn't be. The only way to curb the hunger was to eat the 4 servings of veggies they recommended, which kinda sucks because on top of buying this I STILL had to buy groceries. What a waste! I found myself desperately munching on veggies to keep full.

So all in all, unless you're obese, DON'T BUY THIS. It only works if you are severely overweight.

posted Jul 14th, 2015 5:09 pm


Nutrisystem is a SCAM! They keep your credit card information without asking your permission, then they automatically charge and ship you their crap.

If you cancel they charge you 99.00 for cancelling their auto renewal program. I was never informed of any of this.
Their food is at best one click above dog food. No wait, dog food is better tasting. It's all microwaved, nothing fresh. You will probably loose weight because the food is so disgusting that you can't eat it.

Avoid doing business with this company. They are company that is less than honest.

posted Jun 29th, 2015 6:42 pm


The worst program ever.
#1...shipping is NOT free. It's included in the price so you will be deducted shipping charge if you return. Which mine was $19.
#2..the portion sizes are way too small and most of the food is disgusting, microwaveable junk that's close to processed food as possible order to stay full all day and not starve, you will HAVE to buy your own groceries which adds up fast! Ex: milk, bread, lean meats, fish, yogurt, cheese...and all low fat or fat free, and if family doesn't eat that, it's extra groceries which is expensive!
#4....customer service is RUDE!! I cancelled and the rep hung up in my face and had major attitude!! Before I cancelled I spoke to a counselor and he was insanely rude and was of no help.
Thank god I got a refund minus shipping and will never try again

posted May 28th, 2015 4:18 am


I am also addicted to Evernote, Jessica :)! I use it for everything (from class notes to blog posts to gift ideas and journaling)!!

posted May 23rd, 2015 6:22 pm

V Broman

I ordered a week early due to my hectic schedule, and told the representative that I was not going to start for a week. The first week (fast 5) I lost 1 pound. I called and was told that the amount of weight to lose is really a percentage, and because I was not overweight, that was good. After the first week of food, I was told I should eat more, etc. I then chose to cancel, since I did not lose much weight, and now they say it will cost me $80 to cancel. So BEWARE. IF IT DOES NOT WORK THE FIRST 14 DAYS, DEMAND YOUR MONEY BACK. Do not listen to their excuses or they will make you pay for another month of food, even if you told them it was not working within the 14 days!

posted Apr 28th, 2015 10:18 pm


Perhaps if you are really, really overweight and can totally buy into their system and tolerate their chocolaty drinks/bars and pasta w/ what tastes like reconstituted meat meals, you may lose weight. But it won't come as quickly as they'd like you to believe, nor as cheaply - the $10-12/day, when augmented with groceries to fill out the necessary menu add-ons will set you back another $5. After 7 weeks, I lost about 8 lbs. at a cost of around $100/lb. A better alternative, and much faster, might be a gentle laxative. Also watch out for penalty shipping costs - another $75 - if you're not totally satisfied after the 14 day trial period.

On balance: a positive: they are an extraordinarily accomplished marketing organization. .

posted Apr 23rd, 2015 7:43 pm

Marie Gifford

I'm new to NS. I can also make the food work where it tastes good, but NS is in the process of transitioning their program from one NS website to two websites. Users will now have to use the NS website for food management only. They have another site called NuMi that is basically a food tracker. It is a lousy food tracker and doesn't give a person room to track their powerfuels and smart carbs. Apparently, NS is saying now that they can be eaten any time (but still no way to track accurately on NuMi).

A major problem is NS is doing away with their discussion boards (even though their current website has this as one of their selling points). This is significant for several reasons. Once the transition is complete, no members will have access to a discussion board with other losers, weight maintainers, and newbies. They suggest using their Facebook forum but their are so many security issues with that. When I first received my shipment, it was overwhelming. The counselors were not helpful and not reliable in that I would get different answers to the same questions. It was the discussion board members that assisted me in understanding how the NS program worked. Members on the board also hold challenges that people participate in which is all helpful to weight loss.

NS also had a "Daily Dose" that you could click and read and receive discounts, etc. after a period of time. They will still have the "Daily Dose" on the NuMi website, but you get nothing for reading them. Basically, NS is doing away with all their current perks.

So I'm on to using and will be able to do this by buying my food to fit the tracker.

Good luck to all those on a weight loss journey.

posted Apr 20th, 2015 9:50 pm


Do I buy the snacks or will I recieve them in another order? I want to know how many food items I will receive. I'm really excited about starting this. I have noticed that there are no snacks all desserts. Without the shakes I have about 130 135 food items. Please let me know asap. I am so ready to get started.

posted Apr 17th, 2015 10:04 pm


You can't pick your food in the first auto delivery order and some of the food that is sent is bad and poorly rated. I also had issues trying to delay the delivery of an order because I was going on vacation. I received a confirmation email of the delay but they sent it anyway and then gave me a very hard time trying to get credit for the frozen food.

posted Mar 18th, 2015 3:08 am

Phyllis McQueen

Easy to follow BUT the food is disgusting and a lot of them are hard for me to open. I regret buying this crap!

posted Mar 8th, 2015 4:02 am


I bought the 5 day box at Walmart and did not finish it. They need to improve the taste on the meals and muffins. I do not recommend it

posted Feb 14th, 2015 6:02 am

Helene Gates

My mom got me started on this program. She began with the fast 5 and lost 8 pounds in the first week. I am on my second day and so far so good. I feel that the food is very good a flavorful! This program is perfect for me, because I am not the best when it comes to portion control. My favorite part of the program is the desserts. I so far tried the carrot cake and it was so good. This morning I began with the blueberry muffin and for lunch the loaded baked potato. I am very satisfied with this program. I haven't purchased my food box online. I purchased a 5 day kit at Wal-Mart so I can buy the meals weakly.

posted Jan 27th, 2015 5:58 pm

jo ann j. hilmes

This is the fourth time I am ordering Nujtrisystem and I did not lose one ounce the other three times. Whatt am doing wrong

posted Jan 18th, 2015 8:22 pm


i dont have any changes with my body..i have really only lost 10 pounds im 12 weeks..maybe it only works for some people.

posted Dec 7th, 2014 2:38 am


Ithis plan is really high in salt. Is there a plan that is low sodium

posted May 26th, 2014 4:57 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account