Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

83%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 12 reviews

MonaVie

Juice made of Acai Berries offers powerful health benefits.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

MonaVie is a multilevel marketing company that produces a line of drinks, juices and pulps. The products are a certified organic blend of 18 fruits that are high in antioxidants. Diets rich in antioxidants have been linked to preventing certain cancers, chronic illnesses and slowing the effects of aging.

The MonaVie product line includes three juices: MonaVie Original, MonaVie Active, and MonaVie Pulse. These juices are also available in a gel version.

Developed with the philosophy Balance-Variety-Moderation, MonaVie delivers the phytonutrients and antioxidants you need to maintain a healthy and active lifestyle. By consuming the MonaVie juice everyday, the product claims that you will experience increased energy, a healthier immune system and freedom from joint pain.

The Monavie product and its high-level distributors have been the subject of four legal lawsuits in 2007 and 2008. The various legal controversies center around the product’s health claims and question the cost. In addition, the senior distributors were issued a warning by the FDA because the product is in direct violation of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.

Yet, despite these legal problems, MonaVie claims to be one of the world's fastest-growing private companies, impacting five continents, and an army of drinkers and distributors signing up at a rate of 10,000 a week. In 2008, the company announced that cumulative sales had topped $1 billion and that it had signed its millionth unsalaried sales person.

In addition, since it is a multilevel marketing venture, for a $39 start-up fee and responsibility for selling at least eight bottles of MonaVie a month, people can retail the product and build their own sales business.

PRO
  • MonaVie contains a host of ingredients that are nutritionally-dense, particularly, the acai berry
  • May help to jump-start a healthy lifestyle program
  • acai is a superfood
  • Business opportunities
CON
  • MonaVie could be expensive for some
  • Health claims are exaggerated
  • Multiple ingredients, not pure acai
  • Brand has faced legal troubles with FDA for purporting false claims and possibly charging too much for its products
  • Does not promote exercise
  • Can get the same antioxidant effects by eating the pure and less expensive whole forms of the fruits used in MonaVie products
  • Laboratory tests showed that MonaVie Active tested extremely low in some of the antioxidants it claimed to contain
INGREDIENTS

MonaVie contains the fruit juice or pulp of the following fruits: acai, apricot, aronia, acerola, purple grape, passion fruit, camu camu, banana, lychee fruit, apple, kiwi, pomegranate, prune, wolfberry, pear, bilberry, cranberry, blueberry, white grape. The exact concentrations are not disclosed, but the ingredients are listed in a range from greatest amount to the least amounts with the acai berry pulp being the most abundant ingredient in the product.

MonaVie's Active Formula also contains the added benefits of glucosamine to help maintain healthy joints and esterified fatty acids.

MonaVie Pulse contains acai, reconstituted fruit juice blend of concord grapes, pineapple, apple, pricly pear, pomegranate, elderberry, yumberry, bilberry, blackberry, blueberry, cherry, cranberry, raspberry and aronia. It also contains acerola, strawberry, cupuacu, camu camu, plant sterols, apple phyto-phenolics, omega-3 oil, reveratrol, natural flavors, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate and citric acid.

ADMINISTRATION

The recommended daily serving size is two to four ounces (about 1/4-1/2 cup). It can be consumed at any time throughout the day.

DIET and EXERCISE

Although there is no specific dietary or exercise information cited on the company’s website, any successful healthy lifestyle program also includes an eating plan that is comprised of fresh vegetables and fruits, lean proteins and whole grains as a consistent eating program.

CONCLUSION

It is still to be seen whether MonaVie is the real deal or a pyramid marketing scheme. Many users swear by its beneficial health effects while others have claimed to notice no difference in their health after testing out the product.

MonaVie has been called into question for its exaggerated nutritional and health claims and its hefty price tag. In addition, the legal lawsuits against the product as well as the sharp criticism from leading medical experts raise some very important questions about the validity of the MonaVie product line.

Common Misspellings

Mona Vie, Mona V, MonaV, Moona Vie, Mona Vy, Mona Vee, MonaVee, Acai Juice, Acai, Acia


Related Diets: Acai, Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Maqui Superberry, Zrii, Acai Roots, POM, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 20 total comments)

CHRIS

Listen every one seems to think that it is the real deal with weight loss well i tried this stuff for 8 weeks and lost 10 pounds stoped taking it and still was eating healthy gained 15 back and then sat down and put my self on a real food diet no premade meals no special drinks just food and a regular work out routine and went from 200lbs to 165 in 8 weeks and i feel great but to sum it all up anyone can lose weight if your only taking in 1200-1500 calories a dayand part of that is coming from 1-2 meals a day being in a can but once you up the food intake and drop onedrink you gain it back so stop the bull and get comitted to your self and do it the right was there is pros and cons about every diet but lets face it if some one who is a good sales person tells you some thing and gives numbers and fact that might or might not be true your going to try it and make it work so that is true if you just do it on your own

posted Feb 3rd, 2013 9:41 pm


BeckyC

I'm the cheapest person around, and I drink MonaVie. It has made a huge difference in my health, and the money I save on prescription and over the counter drugs more than pays for my juice.

posted Jun 20th, 2012 2:04 am


Jeff Dearman

Critics are stupid: They don't know what they are talking about. I have lost from 310 lbs in January of 2011 to September, am now around 255-260lbs. That's amazing. Nothing has ever worked for me before, except Monavie. So to the negative critics, I say Bah! Monavie RVL is the real thing!

posted Sep 22nd, 2011 2:13 pm


wendyfostercare

Just a comment Ryan Brown what does the owner's religion have to do with ANYTHING that this product does. If their religion was Judaism or Protestant would you have brought that up? I thought we live in America where people weren't judged based on their religion. Please bring up what the product does and doesn't, not what the owner's religious preference is.

posted Jun 12th, 2011 1:26 am


Stella

MONAVIE has done wonders for my 86yr old mom & myself and I thank my Nieghbor for introducing it to us... It's not medicine, It's the RIGHT FRUITS BLENDED TOGETHER after Scientic Studies that have a Great Health Benefit for Everyone...Have been publicized in SUCCESS, FORTUNE 500, BEVERAGE MAGAZINE, DR.OZ, ORPHAY< RACHEAL RAY, etc...Athletes, actors, Warren Buffet & over 3million people are members and Sharing the Product with thier LOVE ONES...Why Not Make them FEEL GOOD??? IT DOES WORK...THAT'S FORSURE..

posted Feb 20th, 2011 2:42 pm


richoicles

Monavie is great and I thank my wife for becoming a distributor of the juice . It has done wonders for both of us .Check it out at mymonavie.com/doitfolife.At least try it for 3 months and feel the differance. I really mean it GREAT STUFF!

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 2:04 pm


Vicki

I've been using MonaVie for over a year, and love it. It'd be pretty difficult to purchase all of the organic fruits and vegetables - and prepare them - for the cost of the product. Is it expensive? Yep. Would I give it up? Nope. And, this site needs updating, since MonaVie also has the Mmun line out now.

posted Sep 21st, 2010 10:26 am


doug broadbent

Mona Vie is the Best Product that I've seen so far in the Juice and Beverage industry.

They Get their Acai Superfruit from the purest source, coming from the amazon rain forest.

I have not seen any other beverage with as many fruits in it. And, NEVER have I heard of Juice having the effects On Human Health Like Mona Vie has. If you really don't beleive that mona vie works, you ought to go to my channel on youtube.

Which is : And, Before I stop I want to tell everyone, Mona Vie is not a Weight Loss Program or a Diet.

It's simply nutrition for everyone.

posted Aug 15th, 2010 3:52 pm


Heather

It is very expensive at $140 a month and did not see any great benefits for that type of money. However in researching Monavie... i came across a company called GBG science that has a 10 in1 liquid vitamin that has acai, and many other superfruits in it. Plus it is only $29.95 a month.. The product is great!!..Also GBG Science is releasing new products that will change the health industry. for more info goto www.shopgbg.com/michigan

posted Mar 1st, 2010 5:39 pm


Dan

It does the job well, makes you sleep and wake up much better, skin feels different in a better way, and hey, its a multi billion dollar company in less than 5 years...can't be crap if people who drink it come back for it right? The bigger something is the more people going to try to hate it, like the pope, president, w/e lol

posted Jan 15th, 2010 2:34 am


Jeromy

Something much better for you is Xocai. Xocai is all natural Acai berry and Cocoa; cold pressed, so all the nutrients are kept in the product . It taste great and it has many health benefits. If you want to learn more about Xocai go to www.acaiandhealthychocolate.com

posted Jan 4th, 2010 9:48 pm


Carolyn

Monavie may be able to do what it says it does, but it seems extremely expensive. Eating 7-10 servings of raw fruits and vegatables is the way to go for proper nutrition. If you can't do that, and want a good supplement, than you can buy a better product for less than half of the price. Go to my website It has 15 primary published studies showing it's bioavailability and benefits and many of it's supporters are physicians and not just celebrities.

posted Oct 27th, 2009 4:49 pm


Jordan Tyler Flores

my parents bought a whole case full of This stuff and my brother and sister dont like it but i think it tastes really good. its an aquired taste at first but then once u get past the strength its good. Ive been drinking half a cup a day since...4 days ago; i dont know how long im supposed to drink it before i start feeling different (in a good way) but it really hasnt been doing anything now.

Im kinda bummed when i read that it actually tested low in anti-oxidents or something because i really wanted it to work. But im sure a lot of it is Mind over Matter, the expense of the product and the high reviews and big production of this juice makes it seem like a big deal.

But it tastes Good!!! haha.

posted Mar 28th, 2009 7:06 pm


jm0979

I do like it but it gave me a bad growling stomach ache all day when I take it. I will probably try it again when the price goes down.

posted Jan 27th, 2009 9:52 pm


Bridget

Tastes great! I have more energy through the day, and am sleeping better! Also, is a great hangover fix...go figure!

posted Jan 13th, 2009 10:58 am


Ryan Brown

Monavie is all hype. Nothing proven see the facts here:


everyone who hypes it are simply distributors hoping to make money

Don't be a sucker. These guys selling it head co are seasoned MLM mormons out of Salt Lake City selling you their snake oil. Also to correct you diets in review none of the ingredients in their product are at all certified organic.




posted Jan 7th, 2009 3:41 am


Dr. Bob Anderson

I am a Chiropractor and have tried and sold many types of liquid vitamins. Most of my patients like mona vie, however, the price is too high for most. In my opinion, the benefits you receive from mona vie is similar to the benefits of other liquid vitamins.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 1:05 am


David Paul

Monavie is no longer organic. They have removed their statement declaring monavie acai to be certified organic. They have told me this in an official email, along with the fact they they are not committed to be GE free.

posted Nov 19th, 2008 10:27 pm


Alma

I have Lupus and was also just diagnose with lymphoma. I started drinking MonaVie two months ago . I had night sweats and also couldn;t sleep at night . I really believe that Monavie has helped me I no longer have the night sweats and have been sleeping much better it has also given me more energy . I have bought it for a healthier life. I really have enjoyed it and highly recommend you try it. You will see the difference within a weeks time.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 12:07 pm


danayonce

I have lupus 7 have been drinking Monavie since Feb.08. I am off all my meds & feel wonderful. My doctor told me to keep drinking because i was healthly for the 1st time in my life. No pain 7 lots of energy. Just for info, you don't have sell anything. This is a wonderful product

posted Sep 25th, 2008 9:06 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account