Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 12 reviews
MonaVie

MonaVie Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

Juice made of Acai Berries offers powerful health benefits.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

MonaVie is a wellness drink brand that offered powders, fruit juice, and concentrates. They also specialized in providing a patented form of acai said to help provide healthy antioxidants.

Each brand is targeted for improving energy, anti-aging, aiding joint health, increasing the immune system, and providing the body with natural nutrients. The company has been out of business since 2015, but their products are still sold online by 3rd party retailers. Our review experts look at many kinds of weight loss diets, and they’ve found the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It’s a combination of a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. For more on the 18Shake Diet, follow the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

MonaVie Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some common ingredients added to their products:

AcaVie

Red Palm Oil

Camu Camu

Cellulose Gum

Black Currant

Sodium Benzoate

Wolfberry

Citric Acid

Soy Lecithin

Natural Flavor

Yumberry

Maqui

Cranberry Seed Oil

Corn Starch

Flaxseed Oil

AcaVie: Patented version of acai mixed with freeze dried jacura. It contains 10 times more polyphenols, which are a form of antioxidants. Web MD has found:

“There is not enough information to know if acai is safe”

Drinking this juice raw has also shown the possibility for causing a disease called trypanosomiasis.

Our review experts have compiled a list of the best weight loss diets.

Red Palm Oil: Highly saturated fat source that comes from the palm tree. It contains amounts of beta-carotene and vitamin E. Due to the high amounts of saturated fat; it may lead to cardiovascular issues.

Cellulose Gum: A thickener and stabilizer added to things like laxatives, detergents and toothpaste. A study by Nature a weekly journal of science found it caused:

“low-grade inflammation can promote adiposity and its associated metabolic effects”

It showed a possibility for causing an increase in obesity and in causing serious issues related to inflammation. This can lead to long term health damage if one is not careful.

Sodium Benzoate: Preservative added to processed foods. In certain amounts it can lead to dangerous side effects. It can produce the active chemical benzene which has been found to:

“increased risk of leukemia and other blood cancers”

This is according to Live Strong.com. A study by the UK Food Standards Agency also found that it may lead to hyperactivity.

Flaxseed Oil: High fiber seed which also contains omega fatty acids. Not everyone can process this ingredient the same, and in high amounts it can lead to digestive issues.

Follow the link cited for an expert reviewed list of the top ranked weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

MonaVie Quality of Ingredients

Judging from the kinds of ingredients used MonaVie uses a blend of super fruits, fatty acids, some preservatives, and moderate to high amounts of sugar. A small 2 fluid ounce serving size of the Pulse brand has 8 grams of sugar.

The research on whether or not acai berries are actually good for overall health is unknown.

There’s not much added to this which can’t be substituted with whole foods. It’s also known that this brand is no longer in circulation, so each bottle sold is slowly coming closer to their expiration date. There’s no guarantee of safety or purity in these dated bottles. Click on the link here for a list of the top ranked weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of MonaVie

Sales are only offered via 3rd party sellers online. One person on Amazon is selling 4 bottles for $120. At the advised 2 fluid ounces a day, each 13 serving bottle lasts 6.5 days. Therefore, a full 4 bottle case lasts a total of 26 days.

This averages to a daily price of $4.61. This is incredibly expensive especially when you factor in the lack of a money back guarantee. Sellers add how bottles are fresh but they do not have to insure against spoiled bottles.

For the kinds of ingredients used this is greatly overpriced. One can get the same kinds of ingredients from whole foods. This makes the overall quality poor. Find the list of the best weight loss diets via the link here.

Business of MonaVie

The official company website is no longer active, and they’ve since stopped making or marketing their products. They have gone into foreclosure and were claimed to be a pyramid scheme by Forbes magazine.

They were subject to many controversies including:

• Tests which showed their drinks had only small amounts of antioxidants.

• Polyphenols which are said to be in high amounts have not been proven effective for humans.

• A clinical study showing that MonaVie could lead to birth issues and blood clotting problems

• Many studies by respected scientist showing that their drinks were nowhere near as beneficial as actual whole foods, and that the health claims made were unproven.

Many lawsuits lead to the downfall of the company. The final issue was due to a $182 million default on a loan which leads to them not being able to pay off their debts.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of MonaVie

Provided are select reviews from online users:

“tried this on my way to the gym and I felt sick. It gave me the runs and I had to go to the bathroom”

“way too expensive and not worth it”

“though it tasted OK but didn’t notice any changes from it”

“terrible, this company is operating a scam and should not get away with it”

There were some positive reviews online, but it’s clear this was from people who used to work for the company. The issue with multilevel marketing companies is that since regular people can join in on the company, this then leads to many false reviews.

Judging from the few verified reviews customers felt it was not worth the cost, and some even experienced side effects. Provided in this link is a list of the best weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does MonaVie Work?

There are a lot of important considerations one should think about with MonaVie. There are some healthy fruit extracts added to these drinks, but it’s incredibly pricy. They also add preservatives and there’s no guarantee of purity or safety anymore.

The official company has stopped making MonaVie after piling lawsuits and dangerous issues revealed that they are making exaggerated claims. They were the subject of serious allegations and even harmful studies showing how it can lead to blood clotting issues and pregnancy irregularities. Since they no longer make this brand, any 3rd party sales are not guaranteed to be safe or pure.

In analyzing many kinds of weight loss diets our review experts found the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It offers a meal replacement shake for hours of appetite suppression and a fat burning diet pill. Customers have enjoyed it for its ease of use and effective weight loss results. They’ve provided before and after photos to showcase their weight loss results.

Each ingredient is all natural and made without stimulants, preservatives, colors, binders, or any unwanted additives. They also make their ingredients in a GMP certified facility to ensure routine quality inspections.  Discover more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link here.

How Does MonaVie Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • MonaVie
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 20 total comments)

CHRIS

-

Listen every one seems to think that it is the real deal with weight loss well i tried this stuff for 8 weeks and lost 10 pounds stoped taking it and still was eating healthy gained 15 back and then sat down and put my self on a real food diet no premade meals no special drinks just food and a regular work out routine and went from 200lbs to 165 in 8 weeks and i feel great but to sum it all up anyone can lose weight if your only taking in 1200-1500 calories a dayand part of that is coming from 1-2 meals a day being in a can but once you up the food intake and drop onedrink you gain it back so stop the bull and get comitted to your self and do it the right was there is pros and cons about every diet but lets face it if some one who is a good sales person tells you some thing and gives numbers and fact that might or might not be true your going to try it and make it work so that is true if you just do it on your own

posted Feb 3rd, 2013 9:41 pm


BeckyC

I'm the cheapest person around, and I drink MonaVie. It has made a huge difference in my health, and the money I save on prescription and over the counter drugs more than pays for my juice.

posted Jun 20th, 2012 2:04 am


Jeff Dearman

+

Critics are stupid: They don't know what they are talking about. I have lost from 310 lbs in January of 2011 to September, am now around 255-260lbs. That's amazing. Nothing has ever worked for me before, except Monavie. So to the negative critics, I say Bah! Monavie RVL is the real thing!

posted Sep 22nd, 2011 2:13 pm


wendyfostercare

?

Just a comment Ryan Brown what does the owner's religion have to do with ANYTHING that this product does. If their religion was Judaism or Protestant would you have brought that up? I thought we live in America where people weren't judged based on their religion. Please bring up what the product does and doesn't, not what the owner's religious preference is.

posted Jun 12th, 2011 1:26 am


Stella

MONAVIE has done wonders for my 86yr old mom & myself and I thank my Nieghbor for introducing it to us... It's not medicine, It's the RIGHT FRUITS BLENDED TOGETHER after Scientic Studies that have a Great Health Benefit for Everyone...Have been publicized in SUCCESS, FORTUNE 500, BEVERAGE MAGAZINE, DR.OZ, ORPHAY< RACHEAL RAY, etc...Athletes, actors, Warren Buffet & over 3million people are members and Sharing the Product with thier LOVE ONES...Why Not Make them FEEL GOOD??? IT DOES WORK...THAT'S FORSURE..

posted Feb 20th, 2011 2:42 pm


richoicles

+

Monavie is great and I thank my wife for becoming a distributor of the juice . It has done wonders for both of us .Check it out at mymonavie.com/doitfolife.At least try it for 3 months and feel the differance. I really mean it GREAT STUFF!

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 2:04 pm


Vicki

+

I've been using MonaVie for over a year, and love it. It'd be pretty difficult to purchase all of the organic fruits and vegetables - and prepare them - for the cost of the product. Is it expensive? Yep. Would I give it up? Nope. And, this site needs updating, since MonaVie also has the Mmun line out now.

posted Sep 21st, 2010 10:26 am


doug broadbent

+

Mona Vie is the Best Product that I've seen so far in the Juice and Beverage industry.

They Get their Acai Superfruit from the purest source, coming from the amazon rain forest.

I have not seen any other beverage with as many fruits in it. And, NEVER have I heard of Juice having the effects On Human Health Like Mona Vie has. If you really don't beleive that mona vie works, you ought to go to my channel on youtube.

Which is : And, Before I stop I want to tell everyone, Mona Vie is not a Weight Loss Program or a Diet.

It's simply nutrition for everyone.

posted Aug 15th, 2010 3:52 pm


Heather

It is very expensive at $140 a month and did not see any great benefits for that type of money. However in researching Monavie... i came across a company called GBG science that has a 10 in1 liquid vitamin that has acai, and many other superfruits in it. Plus it is only $29.95 a month.. The product is great!!..Also GBG Science is releasing new products that will change the health industry. for more info goto www.shopgbg.com/michigan

posted Mar 1st, 2010 5:39 pm


Dan

+

It does the job well, makes you sleep and wake up much better, skin feels different in a better way, and hey, its a multi billion dollar company in less than 5 years...can't be crap if people who drink it come back for it right? The bigger something is the more people going to try to hate it, like the pope, president, w/e lol

posted Jan 15th, 2010 2:34 am


Jeromy

Something much better for you is Xocai. Xocai is all natural Acai berry and Cocoa; cold pressed, so all the nutrients are kept in the product . It taste great and it has many health benefits. If you want to learn more about Xocai go to www.acaiandhealthychocolate.com

posted Jan 4th, 2010 9:48 pm


Carolyn

Monavie may be able to do what it says it does, but it seems extremely expensive. Eating 7-10 servings of raw fruits and vegatables is the way to go for proper nutrition. If you can't do that, and want a good supplement, than you can buy a better product for less than half of the price. Go to my website It has 15 primary published studies showing it's bioavailability and benefits and many of it's supporters are physicians and not just celebrities.

posted Oct 27th, 2009 4:49 pm


Jordan Tyler Flores

my parents bought a whole case full of This stuff and my brother and sister dont like it but i think it tastes really good. its an aquired taste at first but then once u get past the strength its good. Ive been drinking half a cup a day since...4 days ago; i dont know how long im supposed to drink it before i start feeling different (in a good way) but it really hasnt been doing anything now.

Im kinda bummed when i read that it actually tested low in anti-oxidents or something because i really wanted it to work. But im sure a lot of it is Mind over Matter, the expense of the product and the high reviews and big production of this juice makes it seem like a big deal.

But it tastes Good!!! haha.

posted Mar 28th, 2009 7:06 pm


jm0979

+

I do like it but it gave me a bad growling stomach ache all day when I take it. I will probably try it again when the price goes down.

posted Jan 27th, 2009 9:52 pm


Bridget

+

Tastes great! I have more energy through the day, and am sleeping better! Also, is a great hangover fix...go figure!

posted Jan 13th, 2009 10:58 am


Ryan Brown

-

Monavie is all hype. Nothing proven see the facts here:


everyone who hypes it are simply distributors hoping to make money

Don't be a sucker. These guys selling it head co are seasoned MLM mormons out of Salt Lake City selling you their snake oil. Also to correct you diets in review none of the ingredients in their product are at all certified organic.




posted Jan 7th, 2009 3:41 am


Dr. Bob Anderson

+

I am a Chiropractor and have tried and sold many types of liquid vitamins. Most of my patients like mona vie, however, the price is too high for most. In my opinion, the benefits you receive from mona vie is similar to the benefits of other liquid vitamins.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 1:05 am


David Paul

+

Monavie is no longer organic. They have removed their statement declaring monavie acai to be certified organic. They have told me this in an official email, along with the fact they they are not committed to be GE free.

posted Nov 19th, 2008 10:27 pm


Alma

+

I have Lupus and was also just diagnose with lymphoma. I started drinking MonaVie two months ago . I had night sweats and also couldn;t sleep at night . I really believe that Monavie has helped me I no longer have the night sweats and have been sleeping much better it has also given me more energy . I have bought it for a healthier life. I really have enjoyed it and highly recommend you try it. You will see the difference within a weeks time.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 12:07 pm


danayonce

I have lupus 7 have been drinking Monavie since Feb.08. I am off all my meds & feel wonderful. My doctor told me to keep drinking because i was healthly for the 1st time in my life. No pain 7 lots of energy. Just for info, you don't have sell anything. This is a wonderful product

posted Sep 25th, 2008 9:06 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

MonaVie is a multilevel marketing company that produces a line of drinks, juices and pulps. The products are a certified organic blend of 18 fruits that are high in antioxidants. Diets rich in antioxidants have been linked to preventing certain cancers, chronic illnesses and slowing the effects of aging.

The MonaVie product line includes three juices: MonaVie Original, MonaVie Active, and MonaVie Pulse. These juices are also available in a gel version.

Developed with the philosophy Balance-Variety-Moderation, MonaVie delivers the phytonutrients and antioxidants you need to maintain a healthy and active lifestyle. By consuming the MonaVie juice everyday, the product claims that you will experience increased energy, a healthier immune system and freedom from joint pain.

The Monavie product and its high-level distributors have been the subject of four legal lawsuits in 2007 and 2008. The various legal controversies center around the product’s health claims and question the cost. In addition, the senior distributors were issued a warning by the FDA because the product is in direct violation of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.

Yet, despite these legal problems, MonaVie claims to be one of the world's fastest-growing private companies, impacting five continents, and an army of drinkers and distributors signing up at a rate of 10,000 a week. In 2008, the company announced that cumulative sales had topped $1 billion and that it had signed its millionth unsalaried sales person.

In addition, since it is a multilevel marketing venture, for a $39 start-up fee and responsibility for selling at least eight bottles of MonaVie a month, people can retail the product and build their own sales business.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • MonaVie contains a host of ingredients that are nutritionally-dense, particularly, the acai berry
  • May help to jump-start a healthy lifestyle program
  • acai is a superfood
  • Business opportunities
CON
  • MonaVie could be expensive for some
  • Health claims are exaggerated
  • Multiple ingredients, not pure acai
  • Brand has faced legal troubles with FDA for purporting false claims and possibly charging too much for its products
  • Does not promote exercise
  • Can get the same antioxidant effects by eating the pure and less expensive whole forms of the fruits used in MonaVie products
  • Laboratory tests showed that MonaVie Active tested extremely low in some of the antioxidants it claimed to contain
INGREDIENTS

MonaVie contains the fruit juice or pulp of the following fruits: acai, apricot, aronia, acerola, purple grape, passion fruit, camu camu, banana, lychee fruit, apple, kiwi, pomegranate, prune, wolfberry, pear, bilberry, cranberry, blueberry, white grape. The exact concentrations are not disclosed, but the ingredients are listed in a range from greatest amount to the least amounts with the acai berry pulp being the most abundant ingredient in the product.

MonaVie's Active Formula also contains the added benefits of glucosamine to help maintain healthy joints and esterified fatty acids.

MonaVie Pulse contains acai, reconstituted fruit juice blend of concord grapes, pineapple, apple, pricly pear, pomegranate, elderberry, yumberry, bilberry, blackberry, blueberry, cherry, cranberry, raspberry and aronia. It also contains acerola, strawberry, cupuacu, camu camu, plant sterols, apple phyto-phenolics, omega-3 oil, reveratrol, natural flavors, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate and citric acid.

ADMINISTRATION

The recommended daily serving size is two to four ounces (about 1/4-1/2 cup). It can be consumed at any time throughout the day.

DIET and EXERCISE

Although there is no specific dietary or exercise information cited on the company’s website, any successful healthy lifestyle program also includes an eating plan that is comprised of fresh vegetables and fruits, lean proteins and whole grains as a consistent eating program.

CONCLUSION

It is still to be seen whether MonaVie is the real deal or a pyramid marketing scheme. Many users swear by its beneficial health effects while others have claimed to notice no difference in their health after testing out the product.

MonaVie has been called into question for its exaggerated nutritional and health claims and its hefty price tag. In addition, the legal lawsuits against the product as well as the sharp criticism from leading medical experts raise some very important questions about the validity of the MonaVie product line.

Common Misspellings

Mona Vie, Mona V, MonaV, Moona Vie, Mona Vy, Mona Vee, MonaVee, Acai Juice, Acai, Acia

Related Diets: Acai, Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Maqui Superberry, Zrii, Acai Roots, POM, Sambazon Acai

Whats better than
MonaVie?