Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 276 reviews

Hydroxycut

One of the leading diet and weight loss supplements

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Founder: Muscle Tech Research and Development
  • Headquarters: Mississauga Ontario Canada
  • Accessibility: Online and major retailers
  • Diet Type: Supplement taken with diet and exercise
  • Gender: Male, Female
BACKGROUND

Hydroxycut Recall after FDA Warning to Stop Using the Diet Pill

Once making headlines for containing a controversial herb, Ephedra, banned by the FDA, Hydroxycut now offers an Ephedra-free product that claims to increase metabolism and energy while curbing your appetite, cutting calories and maintaining blood sugar.

When Hydroxycut is combined with a diet and exercise regimen, the product claims to help users shed two-to-three times more weight that without. When taking Hydroxycut, it is suggested that users commit to consistent exercise and a low-calorie diet. Take Hydroxycut half-to-one hour prior to meals with eight ounces of water.

PRO
  • Increases energy
  • Control appetite
  • Burn calories
  • Lose up to 4.5 times more weight than with diet and exercise alone
  • Recipes and exercises available
  • Research studies available
CON
  • Hydroxycut Recall due to product association with death and liver damage

  • Must diet and exercise for Hydroxycut to work

  • Pills must be taken 30-60 minutes before meals which can be difficult if you don’t always eat at the same time
  • Contains caffeine
INGREDIENTS
  • Hydroxycitric Acid, extracted from tropical fruit and linked with liver problems
  • Calcium
  • Chromium
  • Potassium
  • Hydroxagen Plus
  • HydroxyTea
  • Caffeine
  • Green Tea extract
  • White Tea extract
  • Soy
ADMINISTRATION

Take two caplets with eight ounce of water as a dietary supplement 3 times per day approximately 30-60 minutes before each meal. Do not snack after dinner. Consume 10 eight ounce glasses of water per day. Do not take within five hours of bedtime. For best results, use Hydroxycut for eight weeks with a low-calorie diet and exercise program. For the first three days of the program, take one capsule three times per day. From day four beyond, take two capsules three times per day.

DIET and NUTRITION

There is no clear advice from Hydroxycut on an eating plan. You are encouraged to sticky to a healthy diet while taking the supplement. This kind of flexibility allows you to choose a plan of your liking.

For those with food allergies- Hydroxycut is a gluten-free product.

EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

ConsumerHealthDigest.com conducted research of 30 dietary supplements. Scoring 3 on a scale of 1-5 for metabolism enhancement, weight-loss potential and ingredient control and 4 on a scale of 1-5 for appetite suppression, Hydroxycut ranked number 11.

Common Misspellings

Hydroxy Cut, Hydroxicut, hydroxcut, hydroxycut.com, hydroxy-cut, hydrox-cut,


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, Hoodia P57, HOT-ROX, Hydrox-Slim, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, Trimspa X32



Wikipedia

Hydroxycut is a nutritional supplement marketed by Iovate Health Sciences Inc., designed to help consumers lose weight. It is sold at conventional retailers, such as GNC and Wal-Mart, online retailers such as and , and through direct television marketing.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 40, 796 total comments)

stephanie

hi i want to take hydroxycut but i am not sure my body can take it i herd its too strong i am 18 and i am 5 foot 3 in and 125 pounds i just want to be 115 or 110 POunds pls write back i dont want to make a mistake tnks

posted Jul 19th, 2011 3:56 pm


David

I dont know what to say. My brother took Hydroxycut, he started having problems with his liver, he turned yellow. We have had to put him in the hospital. Doctors say he is going to need a liver transplant...this is no joke. Do not use! Please, please its not worth your health.

posted Jul 12th, 2011 4:59 am


Precious demyers

How long will it take to lose 20-40 pounds on Hydroxycut? Im 5'3 and i weigh 150 pounds i want to lose 20-40 pounds. I want to know how long it would take to lose tht much. I can keep the weight off if i lose it but i dont want to take anymore than what i need.

posted Jul 12th, 2011 2:00 am


Seferino Florez

Works good for cardio and definitely helps control weight gain. I've used it with low cal and with regular eating and if you don't do low cal it does work in helping you sustain a good weight and not gain. Seriously, diet and exercies a con. Give me a break. Without it even diet and exercise is a pro.

posted May 24th, 2011 12:21 am


Whit Whit

I would just stick to my diet i woke up last night and my chest was in so much pain and my heart was beating fast. today was the last day that im taking it

posted Apr 10th, 2011 9:36 pm


James

Before I Actually Went Out And Bought Hydroxy cut I Was 5'5 And 250 Pounds. Honestly This Stuff Is Legit. I'm Down To 180 Now And Dude I Love It! This Product Is A Life Changer Man For Real.

posted Apr 8th, 2011 3:04 pm


Guest

Im 18 years old and i weigh about 150lbs, I was thinking about starting to use this product but im very iffy about it now because of th feedback. I want to loose about 15-20 pounds for both my Sr.prom (May 14th) & the summer time, Im willing to drink lots of water & do the excercise. Is it worth it?

posted Apr 8th, 2011 9:45 am


Shane

Most of you people that are having increased heart rate are probably sensitive to caffine. If you are wondering if there are side effects when you quit taking it, the answer will be yes. You will probably have headaches for a few days from caffine withdrawal. The amount of caffine in these pills is high, so you will need to drink a lot of water. I started taking it yesterday, and I drank around 80 ounces of water. So far, all I have noticed has been more energy and increased concentration. I only plan to use this product for 12 weeks to give a unbiased review.

posted Apr 6th, 2011 8:46 am


blake

Jacob, what happened to you happened to my friend. Well not fully. You see he actually needed the transplant(s) but it was too little to late. 31 years old with two kids that he will never see grow up. We pulled the breathing tube on him 2 weeks ago. A completely healthy young male who was on Hydroxycut to cut weight. It kills I have seen it. It took my friend. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT!! Read all the pages about recalls and everything else, its not a joke.

posted Apr 5th, 2011 7:54 pm


Emily

Will the Hydroxycut side affects disappear after time? I'm 5'8 and weigh 140. I just started taking pro clinical hydroxycut-My heartbeat has increased immensely and I feel dizzy often. Will this go away or will I feel like this the entire time while on the diet?

posted Apr 5th, 2011 5:13 am


AJ

Where do I begin. I weighed 355 about a week ago im down to 346 as of today because of hydroxycut hardcore pro series. Ive exercised like ive usually have before but I really dont feel any effects after i take the pill. I've followed the directions on the bottle I know i'm a big guy I have 22.4% body fat. Would I not feel the affects of hydroxycut because im so big? Oh and back in the day i use to take that exenadrin with efedra or whatever its called and i would get the symptoms of feeling jittery to. Maybe everyone's different and what works for one person doesnt work for another. Sorry about my spelling.

posted Apr 1st, 2011 1:24 am


rockyriot92

I just got discharged from the hospital from Hydroxycut. I honestly don't recommend it just because this experience was traumatic. It was 4 am and my heart was pumping so fast, I was extremely jittery and felt this negative aura that reminded of the kind I got when I had a seizure last year. At the hospital I had continuous EKGs and my blood pressure checked very often. I'm throwing away these Hydroxycut pills and sticking to a regular diet...my life is far too precious to risk.

posted Mar 31st, 2011 9:25 am


Jacob

Ive been using Hyroxycut for about a year and a half now. I lost over 100 pounds but I would advise everyone NOT to take any form of Hydroxycut. On 2/18/11 I went to the Doctor because of abdominal pain. They did blood and urin test. And when I got the tests back they told to get to a hospital. My liver enzymes were off the charts and started to turn jundus. They were talking liver trasplant if my enzymes didn't go down. I was in the hospital for five days. Ive lost weight but it could've cost me my life.

posted Mar 29th, 2011 7:09 pm


tindy

what is the dosage i should take of the hydroxycut capsules...i take 1 a day half an hour prior to working out...should i increase it or just keep tahing the same amount?

posted Mar 26th, 2011 2:10 am


Britt

I was wondering, What happens when yo stop taking it? Is there a bad side effect to not taking it anymore. Like more weight gain or headaches? I'm thinkin about taking it but I want make sure it won't hurt me or my body if I choose to stop

posted Mar 24th, 2011 9:38 pm


JG

Lynsey: which version of the product are you taking? Thanks!

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 3:32 pm


kate

I hear you Lily! I have noticed LOTS of people doing this lately- what is UP with that? These are people that should know better, too!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 4:49 pm


Lily

wow! you people need to learn proper english... "LOOSE" is when something is loose, like a loose tooth.... to "LOSE" is when you lose something like to lose weight...thats pretty sad that like half of you spelled it wrong.

posted Feb 6th, 2011 2:50 am


Lynsey Ingram

I started using Hydrixycut 2 weeks ago with regular a calorie controlled diet and regular exercise. I was 180lbs when i started the diet with hydroxycut and after 1.5 weeks, i weighed in at 172. Im sure exercise has a lot to do with it, but hydroxycut helped energize me. I was never motivated until i started taking it and i love it. So far i have no symptoms other people say they have. No headaches, no heart murmurs, nothing. I feel great.

posted Jan 9th, 2011 11:19 pm


Ashley

I currently take Hydroxycut Hardcore X and it works great for me. With this formula it curbs your appetite to make your body use to consuming less. Now if I eat a sandwich my stomach feels bloated lol But now I have enough motivation to get up a work out and this product gives me the energy I need. It also helps to listen to loud music and roll off into another world. I recommend this product for persons who have the WANT to loose their extra baggage.

posted Dec 31st, 2010 1:46 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account