Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 17 reviews
Fit for Life

Fit For Life Diet Review: Does it Work?

A permanent weight loss plan that guarantees health.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Fit For Life Diet is a weight loss diet that claims it can provide results without calorie counting but instead through structured eating. There are suggested principles meant to promote weight loss and maintain any weight you do lose.

All the information about this diet is available in the official book. The main focus is to use proper timing and combining foods which help aid the body’s natural cycles. There’s also a 4-week plan full of shopping tips, menus, and exercises. Also offered are some suggested recipes. By reviewing many different diets our experts conclude that the best overall for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a meal replacement made to suppress appetite for hours with just 90 calories, and a stimulant free calorie burning diet pill. Learn more information about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by clicking this link.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Fit For Life Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The approach to this diet is followed by applying the following:

         • Having only fruit for breakfast.

• Not combining animal protein alongside complex carbohydrates such as sweet potatoes, beans, lentils, certain green vegetable, whole grains and peas. This means one cannot have classic food combinations such as sandwiches.

• Limiting meats since meats don’t provide fuel for the body. It instead can lead to things like vitamin b12 deficiency. While it’s preferred to stop eating meat since its not healthy, they to add one can still eat it.

• Eating live food instead of “dead” food. The claim is that cooking food leads to destroyed enzymes needed to better process nutrients.

• Not eating canned goods, white bread, vinegar in salad dressings, no excessive raw onions and garlic, and other simple carbohydrates.

Eating raw vegetables and fruits is the best method one can choose for losing weight and keeping a healthy body according to this diet. While this means one will be getting less calories since these foods are high in fiber and low in calories, there is no proof that this is the best diet to have.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 diets can be read about by clicking the link here.

Exercise is also not required for weight loss, but it’s suggested in order to maintain health. Some sort of aerobic exercise every day is suggested to improve heart health, such as a 20-miute brisk walk.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Fit For Life Diet Quality of Ingredients

There’s nothing wrong in eating mostly whole foods which are unprocessed, but questionable claims are made without any proof.

Not cooking foods, preventing the use of meats, and avoiding the combination of certain food groups are unproven strategies for health. There’s no evidence provided and this calls into account the rest of the claims made.

Both the American Dietetic Association as well as the American Academy Of Family Physicianshas claimed that it’s simply another fad diet not based in real science.

The belief that water can dilute stomach acids has been shown to be unproven, and in fact water promotes digestion. The Mayo Clinic adds:

“There’s no concern thatwaterwill dilute the digestive issues or interfere with digestion. In fact, drinking water during or after a meal actually acids digestion”

 Dairy products are also nutritious since they can contain healthy fats, calcium, and other nutrients. Web MD mentions:

“Mil contain a big package of nutrientsthat are especially important to bone health”

As far as the claim that eating cooked foods destroys enzyme this is also not true. Scientific American adds:

“Cooked carrots, spinach, mushrooms, asparagus, cabbage, peppers, and many other vegetables also supply more antioxidants… to the body than they do raw”

These 3 major claims made by the diet have been debunked. The link cited here has a comprehensivelisting of the top 10 diet plans.

The suggestion that eating proteins and carbohydrates is bad is also not proven anywhere.  There is no separating mechanism in which these kinds of macronutrients are better processed on their own. Since no legitimate science is provided, it makes many of the suggestions of this diet seem questionable.

The Price and Quality of Fit For Life Diet

The actual book can be purchased for $11.60 currently on Amazon.com. Most of the money one spends will be on whole fruits and vegetables.

While this diet does have some suggestions which might promote weight loss, it’s not verified by the scientific community. A lot of claims about how to mix foods are suggested, though this has not been proven nor is there any proof provided by the creatorsof the book.

It’s suggested that one should never mix certain foods and that things like meats have no nutritional value. This is easy to deny since there are clear accepted scientific reasoning’s as to what nutrients are offered in meat, and it’s often advised to have a mixed diet combining healthy fats, proteins, and carbohydrates.

The need for not mixing certain foods has also not been proven anywhere. The body can digest all types of foods without having to time when you’re allowed meals. The highest rated weight loss diets can be seen in the link provided.

Business of Fit For Life Diet

The book is based out of concepts of Orthopathy, which is an alternative form of medicine which claims that there are certain lifestyles changes need to help prevent and treat diseases. It’s not based in any actual legitimate science.

It was created in 1985 by a husband and wife whose ideas were criticized by the scientific community.They have gained their nutritional degree from a non-accredited school. Many scientists have criticized this diet since it became popular. One such quote was mentioned by the nutrition specialist Helene Swenerton who has a Ph.D. in the University of California, she said:

“this book is not recommended except as a prime example of extreme food faddism”

There are many other scientists and respected minds in the field of nutrition which have discredited much of what this diet suggests. To see a link of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

QuackWatch.com also did a review on the diet and mentioned:

“the Fit For Life diet is low in calcium zinc, iron ,and vitamins b12”

This can lead to nutritionaldeficiencies and severe issues if not supplemented correctly. There are many claims made by the book which are based in the unproven technique of natural medicine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Fit For Life Diet

There are reviews available online, here are some direct quotes from users:

“Food for Life plan is too drastic, and possibly dangerous in the long haul”

“I DID FEEL HUNGY all the time”

“The only “magic” here is calorie counting”

“This is a strange diet with no science behind it”

There were major complaints from people who tried this diet. Many felt that it was obvious one would lose weight when all you get to eat are fruits and vegetables. Those who tried it did some loseweight, but there were also complaints about intense feelings of hunger.

Those who understand more of the science behind dieting mention that the book offers a lot of advice which is not backed by science. Some also found it odd that  the book declares meat to have no nutritional value, but that one can still eat it.

Click the link here for a comprehensive to top 10 of the best weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Fit For Life Diet Work?

The Fit For Life Diet emphasizes the field of naturalhygiene, which suggests certain tips for dieting to help maximize potential. It’s advised to eat only whole unprocessed foods, not eating meats, combining only certain foods and not eating proteinandcarbohydrates, making sure to eat uncooked foods, and other general tips. Many of these claims have been debunked by legitimatenutritionists and health organizations. By eating the kinds of foods advised it’s likely one might experience a deficiency in important vitamins and minerals according to nutritionists who reviewed this diet. Users often say that they feel extremely hungry, and that there’s a lack of evidence to prove any of the claims made.

Our experts have rated countless diets and have found that the most effective for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers the combination of both a meal replacement for appetite suppression and a weight loss diet pill. There are no preservatives, unnatural, filler, or binder ingredientsincluded. The idea behind this diet is to keep one’s appetite suppressed for a few hours via a low calorie nutritious shake. The diet pill then helps to increase metabolism and aid fat burning.  User testimonials and positive reviews also mention how effective this plan is for weight loss.

The 18Shake Diet is fully supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows people to use try this diet plan with no risks and with no questions asked if a return is made. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link here.

How Does Fit for Life Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Fit for Life
  • 47 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 16 total comments)



Is it normal to gain weight in the beginning? Fit for Life

posted Apr 14th, 2016 2:50 pm



posted Oct 28th, 2015 3:12 am

Paul Ruttenberg


Is th;is diet harmful to older men I am 89 and have prostate cancer. Is there a danger to start this diet at my age? I went on this diet 20 years ago and lost 35 lbs

posted Sep 27th, 2015 8:21 pm



I read the book in the early 90's and it changed my life. Not only did I maintain a healthy weight but much of what it said about GMO, organic food, fluoride, etc. was on point. I don't follow the food combining perfectly but do feel that much of what they put forth for healthy living is true and only now much of it is coming to light. I feel bad that they were labeled quacks. This book changed my life!!! And, I am so healthy because of it.

posted Aug 5th, 2015 1:18 am



I love it! I read the book at least 15 years ago and had amazing success with the diet. Fresh fruit and juice in the morning is wonderful once you get used to it. In a pinch frozen fruit with no added sugar also works. The book claimed that people who craved sweets would lose the craving if they ate the fruit as directed, and it worked! I was able to have ice cream in the house and never touch it. My lunches and dinners were usually 30% starch, think mashed potatoes or even stuffing with vegetables, or hot cornbread with butter, and the other 70% was salad and/or vegetables.Or even a bowl of vegetable soup. Now and then, maybe 1 time a week, I would have chicken or beef or fish for lunch or dinner in place of the starch. But can you believe it, the thing I missed most was hot dogs! Try Fit for Life, you'll be amazed how it will work for you!

posted Jun 18th, 2015 12:31 am



Well, I think I like it, anyway. Mostly, I wanted to say thank you for writing about the diet in a way that is more truthful than what I found on another site.

They said all sorts of things that he didn't address, even though he did and ... it was just crazy.

I just started reading the original book, today, and, was trying to do a little online research to see what I could find regarding his references, and, also, reviews from people who have done the program.

It worked for the Hilton Head Metabolism Diet, which had stunning reviews on Amazon.com from previous dieters who said it worked so well they never gained their weight back.

This Fit for Life reminds me of that diet, in some of the things he said about what causes weight gain and about self esteem (at least), plus, many things I've read from various diet gurus, as they are called.

posted Jun 4th, 2015 7:10 am


I have practice the Fit For Life lifestyle since 1989 and I lost about 45 lbs and started having regular bowl movements for the first time in my life and I will never change it saved my life and when I did a bio tracker reading on my metabolic age it read 37 yrs and I will be 67 yrs old in July 2015. when something work don't try finding faults if you haven't try it for a lifestyle change

posted Jun 2nd, 2015 10:22 pm



I have practice the Fit For Life lifestyle since 1989 and I lost about 45 lbs and started having regular bowl movements for the first time in my life and I will never change it saved my life and when I did a bio tracker reading on my metabolic age it read 37 yrs and I will be 67 yrs old in July 2015. when something work don't try finding faults if you haven't try it for a lifestyle change

posted Jun 2nd, 2015 10:20 pm



My family tried this diet 15 years ago. We all lost weight in several months, my father's cholesterol was back to normal and I was in a great shape. I also practiced aerobic exercises every day or every other day, and my father used to take long walks. I am willing to start again, because I could still eat what I wanted, and since then no other diet had such results for me. I don't believe in diets that restrict certain types of food or starve you, that's why I loved this one. You can still eat your favorite food, just to follow the basic rules regarding the combinations. Maybe the science did not find any logic in the rule not to combine carbohydrates with proteins, but our experience shows that it works. Eating less processed food that has no extra sugars, fat of chemicals is always a good choice. The way you cook your food is also important - no fried food and no unnecessary oil.

posted May 26th, 2015 9:47 pm

Karen Tuttle


What rules apply to drinking alcohol on the Fit for Life diet plan? If you want to drink alcohol with the Fit for Live diet, which is the best type of drink to have? Beer, vodka, rum, wine? What rules apply?

posted Apr 16th, 2015 9:02 pm



This diet is the best cleansing, and renewing diet I have ever found. In one summer, I lost about 60 lbs. I ate the correct combinations, never ate any processed foods and my skin looked healthy for the first time in many years. I am now going on the Fit For Life Program again because it is 1000% better than any other diet I have ever tried. It is based on solid principles that really work !

posted Mar 18th, 2015 5:50 pm

Beverley Soued


Tried this when it first came out ... Remarkable results... Now I am going to start again and am very confident of success

posted Jan 31st, 2015 7:39 am



I did it years ago and lost 7 lbs in one week. It definitely works to lose weight but is a lifestyle in order to maintain the weight loss. I am doing it again now because of meds that made me blow up.

posted Jul 5th, 2013 10:31 pm



Fit for Life provides one of the basic pillars of my platform for a healthy life. A must read health basic.

posted Nov 15th, 2012 5:21 pm



posted Feb 16th, 2012 11:19 am



This book changed my life. Not only did I lose weight quickly and easily, I had more energy, slept better, and could think more clearly. I can eat what I want as long as I follow the guidelines. Amazing!

posted Aug 7th, 2011 9:57 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Fit for Life is #1 New York Times Bestselling book by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond.

This international sensation explains how to change both your figure and your life. Nutritional specialist Harvey and Marilyn Diamond explain how you can eat more kinds of food than you ever ate before without counting calories and still lose weight!

The natural body cycles, permanent weight-loss plan that proves it's not only what you eat, but also when and how, Fit for Life is the perfect solution for those who want to look and feel their best. Join the millions of Americans who are Fit for Life and begin your transformation with:

  • The vital principles that bring you permanent weight loss and high energy
  • The FIT FOR LIFE secrets of timing and food combining that work with your natural body cycles
  • A four-week meal plan, menus, shopping tips, and exercise
  • Delicious recipes and more

Fit for Life offers an integrative medicine approach that combines the principles of food combining with energy-based science. Integrative medicine merges centuries of preventive medical concepts from hundred of different cultures with the modern need to reduce stress, resolve conflict and avoid detrimental lifestyles and change behavioral patterns that lead to obesity, lethargy and a host of diseases and health conditions.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • Integrative approach to health offers numerous and far-reaching physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health effects
  • Promotes a whole-foods diet
  • Offers a lifelong way of eating that promotes satiety and weight loss
  • Focuses on eating foods in their natural state
  • Promotion of raw milk is controversial
  • Food combining principles have not been scientifically proven
  • High fiber in diet may cause digestive challenges for those not used to eating lots of plant-based foods

The "Fit for Life" diet is truly a whole and natural foods nutrition plan. Its approach encourages you to stop "living to eat" and instead, to start "eating to live."

The authors explain that body functions have a daily cycle: noon to 8 p.m.-- appropriation (eating and digestion); 8 p.m. to 4 a.m.--assimilation (absorption and use); 4 a.m. to noon--elimination (of body wastes and food debris).

Fit for Life aims to return you to a lifestyle based on your natural body cycles. That means 70 percent of your diet should be "high-water-content foods"--fruits and vegetables--which facilitate all body functions. Consume nothing but fruit or fruit juice until noon, then eat salad and vegetables with every meal for the rest of the day.

The plan advocates for a largely plant-based diet filled with fresh and raw vegetables, tons of fruit , legumes, nuts and limited amounts of animal proteins and select grains.

The idea behind the plan is to keep you feeling satisfied while offering your body the ideal digestive and absorption environment to lose weight, improve energy and function at its absolute best.

Here is a sample day on the Fit for Life plan:

  • Upon waking up: A glass of fresh fruit juice that you ideally make yourself.
  • Breakfast: Fresh fruit salad (not canned)
  • Mid-morning: More fresh fruit. Peaches, plums, oranges and melon are recommended. If you are really hungry, a banana can be eaten.
  • Lunch: Large salad with tons of raw greens and water-soluble vegetables or a tomato and avocado sandwich. You can add whole-grain toast with real butter or some soup if you are extra hungry.
  • Dinner: Buttered yams, a big green salad or lightly steamed vegetables. Mediterranean Rice Salad or a Steak-lovers Salad may also be consumed as a special main course.

Fit for Life also includes extensive resources on products to buy, shopping lists, meal guidelines, and a four-week sample menu plan.

In addition, it outlines specific lifestyle nutrition guidelines. Some of them are as follows:

  • Use fresh fruits and vegetables whenever possible.
  • Never use produce that is canned in syrups or sodium-packed sauces.
  • Fruit can be consumed if you are hungry three hours after your main meals.
  • Only use salad dressings made without preservatives.
  • Never use vinegar in salad dressings.
  • Use only whole-grain bread.
  • Use raw butter and raw dairy products whenever possible.
  • Avoid the excess consumption of raw onions and raw garlic.
  • Carbohydrates and proteins should never be combined in one meal.

- Water should never be consumed at meals.



Exercise is strongly encouraged as part of the Fit for Life plan to not just lose weight but to remain healthy.

It is recommended you do some sort of aerobic exercise everyday to exercise your heart. As a very daily minimum, you should perform a 20-minute brisk walk every day.

Rebounding or jumping on a trampoline is the preferred method of daily exercise as it stimulates the heart as well as boosts mood and provides a complete overall body workout.

In addition, walking, biking or hiking are also encouraged. But rather than counting down minutes on the treadmill, you are encouraged to go outdoors for exercise to breathe in fresh air and let the sun rejuvenate your body and spirit. Because of the sun's rejuvenating power, you are instructed to not wear sunscreen while you exercise outside.


The Fit for Life program offers an amazing program that is tuned in to your body's natural cycles and rhythms.

Its focus on plant-based foods in their natural state as well as its promotion of plant-based protein sources will not only enhance weight loss, but this is precisely the kind of diet that scientific studies are showing us through data that is the healthiest for our bodies.

Fit for Life is truly a way of life that incorporates a number of principles and a basic philosophy that we function at our absolute best when our lifestyle patterns are aligned with the natural ways and rhythms of life.

Common Misspellings

fit 4 life, fit for health, fit for live

Related Diets: Volumetrics, Diet for a New America, Food Combining, Beverly Hills Diet, The Kind Diet, Whole Foods Diet Cookbook

Whats better than
Fit for Life?