Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

37%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 19 reviews

eDiets Fresh Prepared

A new meal-delivery service from eDiets.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1997
  • Founder: David R. Humble
  • Headquarters: Deerfield Beach, Florida
  • Stock Symbol: DIET
  • Accessibility: Online, telephone
  • Diet Type: Meal delivery
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Fresh Prepared meal-delivery plan from eDiets replaced the online diet giant's previous meal-delivery plan, Deliciously Yours.

The improved eDiets Fresh Prepared contains all the hallmark components of the original meal-delivery plan but with some added features.

The customizable weight loss meal-delivery program continues to live up to its name by offering fresh, never frozen meals that are delivered to your door.

eDiets Fresh Prepared makes it easy for members to choose a plan that suits their lifestyle, for instance, changing from a seven-day plan to a five-day plan. You can also stop and restart your meal delivery schedule when you will be out of town or away from your home.

All Fresh Prepared customers have access to the ediets registered and licensed nutritional experts. You can lose 10 pounds in five weeks by following the eDiets Fresh Prepared meal-delivery plan.

eDiets also features17 online diet programs where you log in to get your meal plan to cook, chat with nutritionists, participate in the community and learn about fitness techniques to support your weight loss. Some of the most popular of these online diet plans are the vegetarian, diabetic, glycemic impact, Mediterranean, wheat-free, heart-smart and Bill Phillips' Eating for Life weight loss programs.

eDiets members can switch from the meal-delivery program to the online program. For example, if a Fresh Prepared member decides to take a break he or she can go to the online program, and then change back to the Fresh Prepared meal-delivery program without losing any weight loss momentum.

PRO
  • Offers a convenient way to eat healthy
  • Meals are fresh, not frozen
  • Contains many customizable features to suit individual lifestyle needs
  • Choose from more than 100 delicious meals and desserts
  • Features live support from registered dietitians
  • Includes a custom fitness plan for every level
  • No additional grocery items needed
  • Leader in online weight loss
  • Allows customer to switch back and forth between the meal-delivery and the online diet
CON
  • Does not teach you how prepare your own healthy and portion-controlled meals
  • May not be financially feasible to follow for the long-term
DIET and NUTRITION

eDiets' Fresh Prepared offers a convenient and healthy way to lose weight by delivering fresh meals to your door each week. You select from more than 100 different menu options and from either a five- or seven-day menu plan.

Meals are delivered each week via a FedEx cooler pack. Unlike some meal-delivery plans, you do not need to supplement your Fresh Prepared meals with any additional store-bought items.

The program is simple and gets you going in four simple steps. You choose your menu from over 150 choices, chefs prepare your food, your meals are delivered and you heat them up and enjoy. You don’t have to cook anything or count calories or other nutrition specifics. The meals available through eDiets Fresh Prepared have been voted number one by Epicurious.com in taste and include no powdered, processed or dehydrated foods. When designing the plan, registered dieticians evaluated the optimal calorie levels to lose weight and determined how to make the most out of each calorie you’ll be eating. The meals contain essential elements like lean protein, smart carbs, fruits and vegetables.

Most meals will have to be heated. A sample day might look like this:

  • Breakfast: French Toast with Raspberry Sauce and Turkey Sausage or a Yogurt Parfait with Cashews and Raisins
  • Lunch: Blackened Chicken with Herb Rice or Chicken Flatbread Pizza
  • Dinner: Lasagna with Vegetable Medley or Roasted Cod with Squash and Spanish Rice
  • Snack or Dessert: Cinnamon Sugar Cookies or Terra Chips.

All meals are portion- and calorie-controlled and do not contain any trans fats. Alcohol can be consumed but it must be limited to no more than two drinks a day for men and one a day for women.

EXERCISE

By signing up for eDiets Fresh Prepared, you will receive a personalized exercise plan designed by fitness trainers just for you and your weight loss goals.

Fitness plans are tailored to not just your goals but also your ability level. Most plans will include a cardio component coupled with a strength training program.

CONCLUSION

eDiets Fresh Prepared meal-delivery service takes the guesswork out of calorie-counting, measuring and weighing food and even shopping at the grocery store. With a choice of more than 100 different menu items, you can have fresh, never frozen, meals delivered to your door each week, plus the added bonus of personalized nutrition and fitness support.

Rated #1 by Epicurious.com, millions of people have found weight loss success with eDiets meal-delivery service plans. But do keep in mind that while the service is incredibly convenient, healthy and tasty, it does not teach you how to prepare your own portion-controlled meals.

Common Misspellings

ediets deliciously yours, ediets freshly prepared, ediet fresh-prepared, ediets fresh prepare, ediets meal delivery program, ediets meal delivery service, ediets, edeits, ediets fresh-prepared, fresh-prepared meal delivery


Related Diets: eDiets, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, eDiets Deliciously Yours, Fresh Dining, Healthy Chef Creations, Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 18 total comments)

Wayne Rich

the crappiest food of any diet ever. these guys are a joke. i implore you to not do anything with this company. worst experience ever. the food is awful and one would be better off buying frozen meals at the market for 1/10 the price. a few items even popped open in shipping and had exploded all over the place leaving a big mess too. i told them specifically i do not want recurring service and they charged me anyways. then when i called to get it fixed they told me sorry u missed the deadline too bad for you and now i'm in a full dispute. worst customer service and company i have ever dealt with. i will be filing a formal complaint with the BBB. DO NOT PURCHASE

posted Apr 24th, 2013 3:37 pm


Michelle

Hello! I have tried Diet-To-Go, BistroMd and eDiets Home Meal Delivery Plans, and am currently on the Diet-To-Go 1,600 Calories/day Traditional Plan...

I can honestly say that My Hubby and I tried the food from each of these services and that the BEST is definitely the Diet-To-Go! It isn't at all bland, TASTES FRESH and VERY GOOD, offers many great substitutions, offers everyday food that one would actually crave, and is the cheapest of these 3. The people there are helpful and friendly too if you have any questions of concerns. And they do offer credits if your order is wrong and I believe they also do if you didn't like a meal, although I have never asked for that because I don't feel it's their fault if something just didn't taste good to me. They also make it extremely easy to do most anything from their website including stopping and restarting your plan whenever you choose, which is very convenient! Their website is the best of all 3 and again the food is fabulous! Plus you get the option of either 5 or 7 day plans with 1,200 or 1,600 calories per day with the Traditional Low Fat Plan and they also offer a Low Carb Plan and a Vegetarian Plan. Also you can choose to have Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or just Lunch and Dinner. My hubby and I are thoroughly impressed with Diet-To-Go and highly recommend it to anyone wanting to eat a more balanced healthy diet or for weight loss. This food is seriously excellent and worth the money!

BistroMD wasn't at all bad, but was too bland for us. They did allow you to add or remove certain meals or ingredients, but it was more fancy foods that frankly we are not into. Plus it was more expensive and you didn't get your choice of omitting breakfast or different calorie plans although did also offer 5 and 7 days plans. I don't think they offer Low Carb or Vegetarian Plans either. And I felt the meals seemed more repetitious than Diet-To-Go. There seemed to be a lot of very similar meals with only a small change to it, like a different sauce or something. One thing about BistroMD though is they have the NICEST people working there! Also they are very good about cancellation and setting any billing errors straight. I can say I would recommend BistroMD, it just wasn't as good as Diet-To-Go, in our opinions.

And then there's eDiets... That was just terrible all the way around! Bad customer service, deceptive fees for cancelling, the food was not at all good and the portions were tiny. Didn't taste fresh AT ALL! I would never use this service again and would never recommend it. Even using the online only plan is a pain! They don't take cancellations lightly and if you use ANY offer code and cancel before 28 days, you WILL get charged the ENTIRE amount of whatever the offer was upon cancellation. I found a code for 50% off the first week and within a day of receiving my first order, I cancelled because it was extremely disappointing. When I called to cancel the girl told me because I used an offer code and was cancelling before 28 days, that my credit card would be charged the entire amount of the food. I was angry and told her that I read the agreement before signing up and never saw that anywhere (which is the truth!) but she stated it is there and that I would have to pay the remaining amount. At that point I didn't care and just wanted to be done with this dishonest company and their barely edible food. I will NEVER use ANY of their services again!

posted Mar 27th, 2013 6:25 pm


Wanda

Ediet has 94 complaints filed against it with the BBB. http://www.bbb.org/south-east-florida/business-reviews/not-elsewhere-classified/edietscom-in-fort-lauderdale-fl-23000167

posted Jan 8th, 2013 11:03 pm


Paula

I sent this letter to them and their corporate office has not replied back. They really don't care about losing customers. It's a shame as I was trying to help them. Still no response.

PRO's:

. eMeal Delivery - The food is really quite good (minus the
breakfast menu).

. The "concept" is great! (however execution seems to be lacking -
see CON's for more details).

CON's:

. The website overall. Poor navigation. Not easily followed. Not
user friendly (especially if you are a paying customer).

. The "tools" on the site. Great concept, but no good concrete
instructions to provide a natural "follow these simple steps" flow.

. Customer service - (let me emphasize, they all seem to be very
nice; minus one experience, however not at all knowledgeable).

. The orders do not arrive accurately (missing food, wrong food,
etc.).

. Food containers do not have heating instructions 30 to 40% of the
time.

. Food containers are not easily opened (peeling back the plastic
wrap is quite an experience at times).

. The "recording" on the 800# indicates you can conduct a brief
survey at the end of your call (when calling customer service), however I
have never been directed to it (and there were 3 specific times I would have
loved to have given feedback). When I asked to be transferred to it, the
operators did not understand what I was talking about.

posted Apr 17th, 2012 1:29 am


Lee

I was so excited about this program because it sounded logical -- loose weight slowly and consistently with fresh food. My excited lasted only 10 days. I didn't see a difference in the first week. In fact, I gained a pound that week. Never lost more than 5 lbs in the total six weeks I was on the diet. When I canceled and asked for my money back -- a guarantee, right? -- They only credited me for 3 weeks at one price and one week at another lower price. The consultant said that they only give credit for the first 4 weeks so beware. Also, make sure you do all the support and check-in things they ask otherwise you won't get the credit. I would not recommend this program.

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 3:57 pm


Mitch King

No variety after a few weeks. Not real fresh.

posted Oct 16th, 2011 12:51 pm


Claudia319

I cannot believe The Biggest Loser would actually endorse such a horrible food program! The best thing about this food plan is the customer service. The food is horrible. I had what was supposed to be a Canadian bacon/egg/cheese breakfast sandwich this morning. The bread was wet & soggy from soaking up the moisture from the other food, and the Canadian bacon was almost microscopic in size! The taste? AWFUL! I cancelled after only the first week...and have gone to BistroMD.com, where the food is GREAT & the service is even better!

posted May 25th, 2011 1:38 pm


Julia

eDiets? No, thank you... worst food ever, not even close to fresh :(

posted Mar 28th, 2011 5:05 pm


Shari

Food was surprisingly good and filling. I've had good experiences with customer service so far (it's been a month). Website community is great!

posted Mar 15th, 2011 7:14 pm


Vanessa

AWFUL. The food, the customer service, everything. Awful. The whole experience was the opposite of Convenient. I signed up, went to choose my meals, and first, was told my first shipment wouldn't arrive for over a week, because I missed a cut-off time that was posted nowhere on the site, and I couldn't cancel at that point. Then, it says "choose from hundreds of meals." Well, no. For each week, you get maybe 6-8 entree choices. I am allergic to seafood and broccoli, which limited me to 2-3 entrees to rotate for a week. Then, the day my order is supposed to arrive, it doesn't. I call e-diets & UPS and am told they delivered it, I'm out of luck. They delivered to the wrong house, and thankfully I have an honest neighbor, who returned it. I open the box, and the meals are freezer-burned (they're supposed to be Fresh), and I'm missing all my snacks, and 3 breakfasts. I call in and am told there was an issue with their snacks, they'll be delivered in 2-3 days. No one notified me in advance. I am credited for them & the missing breakfasts, but am still out the meals, which I now have to replace. They also Substituted several meals, so from the 3 acceptable options, I'm now rotating 2 entrees for 7 days. The first meal I had included mashed potatoes which cooked up as Soup. In the ingredients it lists potato flakes - not my idea of Fresh food. The Cheesy Stuffed Chicken was good, until, on my last bite, I notice bits of green in the filling - Broccoli. I reach e-diets and am told flat out that the plan is not for anyone with allergies, and that was in the disclaimer. Who would think BROCCOLI would be in Cheesy Stuffed Chicken?! The next meal was Florentine Chicken. The chicken tasted boiled, the spinach was gross (and I LOVE spinach) and the rice pilaf was tough and tasteless. I couldn't bring myself to eat the breakfast with scrambled egg whites, as it all smelled like rotten eggs.

I called last Tuesday - it's the following Monday and I just today received my missing snacks. No one at their customer service was even remotely helpful, and for the whole experience I was credited $21.95 for shipping, $13 for my missing snacks, and $12 for my missing breakfasts. They agreed to cancel my account immediately, but I was not offered anything else. I had to throw most of the remaining meals away, as they wouldn't take them back, and they're too gross to eat. Save your money and your sanity and try something else!

posted Feb 8th, 2011 3:59 am


mike

Not as advertised. Where to start. Every week I went online and set up my menu for the following weeks. I don't know why? There was not one week where the meals I ordered were the meals that were delivered. I ended up by throwing 1/3 of my meals in my compost bin. I finally was fed up and called to complain and was told someone would call me back within 24 hours. ~40 later I gave up and canceled my membership. I was actually given a credit for the part of my delivery that was never delivered (even though they charged for it), and told that my membership would be canceled after NEXT weeks shipment. So now I get to waste another 160 bucks. All I can say is that if you are seriously considering this system I would suggest that you think long and hard. And, oh yes. You had better like chicken... a lot.

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 11:55 pm



Queenotu

It's not a lot of food but it's good and it teaches you just how much more food you eat in a day than you actually need to live healthily. I liked it and it worked for me. I lost about 20 pounds on the plan in 6 or 8 weeks and it helped me reach my goal weight. It feels awesome!

posted Jan 16th, 2011 3:25 am


Katrina

I hadn't eaten Jenny Craig food and truly loved many of the meals. I decided to try something different to hopefully eat some different meals and save some money. The first shipment of ediet food never arrived. The second shipment was late but nevertheless made it. I was excited to stop cooking and meal planning. The food was HORRIBLE. Uneditable!! I tried several meals breakfast, lunch, and dinner - ended up throwing all the meals away. So much for saving money and eating good food.

posted Jan 9th, 2011 2:21 pm


oregano

Food was for the most part terrible, but I was excited to lose about 4 pounds in the first two weeks. Then, I packed it all back on, plus another pound, in weeks 3 and 4, despite not "cheating" at all and going to the gym several days a week. No options for a lower-calorie menu. Buckets of carbs in most of the meals, and sadly lacking in vegetables in most of them as well. Mealy potatoes, undercooked slightly crunchy black beans, tiny portions of meat (while they picture a whole chicken breast on their site, you actually get about two or three little slices of a breast). Bright spots were roast pork loin with barley pilaf, and the omlettes for breakfast, which were surprisingly not rubbery. I can say that it was very easy to cancel with no one trying to harass me into staying. Overall, won't go back. Not effective and well, Yuck!

posted Dec 20th, 2010 11:54 pm


MissD

I tried this diet for 3 months and lost 10 lbs. I loved losing the weight, but I got tired of eating the same foods. I'm not a picky eater so I tried pretty much every meal they had to offer. Most of the food was okay, but I stuck with it anyway. I finally cancelled my membership, because I started to feel as if it wasn't worth the cost. I was afraid customer service might give me hard time, but it was a breeze. No hassle at all.

posted Apr 17th, 2010 4:48 pm


Judi

I am about 50-50 on this diet. My partner and I have been on for 2 months and are stopping. On the pro side, it is fairly complete -- all you add is a fruit and dairy and you're done for the day. It is also psychologically helpful for you to see a set of 3 packages and tell yourself, "This is my food for today." And very convenient. On the down side, as was already written, the food is bland and I have gotten creative with adding spices, salt, and I Can't Beleive It's Not Butter :). Personally, I think Lean Cuisine meals are better on taste. The "fresh food" concept is a good one, but there is so much packaging that I feel guilty about reciving these huge Styrofoam cubes every week! I don't think there is a significant enough difference in the fresh food delivery over frozen diet dinners to justify the cost. I will advise that if you go for this diet, get the 5 day plan, not the 7-day -- there are just days you end up going out for lunch or have a dinner to attend, etc, and you can eat those packaged meals on the weekend.

posted Mar 24th, 2010 12:31 pm


Colleen Murphy

Mostly the food is VERY bland
There are no options to customize when selecting weekly meals (I'm lactose intolerant and ended up throwing out 10% of the food)
there is way too much food (weird,huh?)
and the website does not make it easy to cancel the order
in addition the customer service was unresponsive to my queries about seeing an ingredients list, but boy they were all over it when I said I quit
took over 2 months to get my money back

posted Mar 24th, 2010 1:56 am


Naomi

My husband and I are on the 4th week. A majority of the food is really good, but every onece in a while they throw in something really bazaar like lemon chicken that had actual pieces of pickle in it.

As for results, we are on the 5 day plan. My husband has lost 6lbs and I have lost 4. So that is very satisfactory.

You do still have to buy fruit and dairy, but for me the convienance of not having to worry about what is for dinner is worth the cost. And my husband is the type that if he has to wait for me to come home for dinner, he will eat an entire bag of chips before I get there. Now he can just pop his meal in the microwave and skip the chips.

posted Mar 19th, 2010 6:10 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account