Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

70%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 20 reviews

Xpel

Here's a supplement meant for athletic competition.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

A common weight loss practice is reducing water weight via a diuretic. A diuretic will increase urination, removing all excess water from the body. Body builders and other athletes use diuretics, like Xpel from MHP, to reduce weight prior to sporting events. Xpel is an herbal diuretic, sold as a water release pill that claims to help you lose weight.

MHP is a supplement company, otherwise known as Maximum Human Performance. The company was founded by Vincent Giampapa, M.D., specializing in hormone studies and aging, and his partner Gerard Dente, an accomplished body builder. Xpel is one of many products in the company's family of diet supplements.

PRO

Xpel contains natural ingredients, eliminating concern about manufactured ingredients. Xpel also has electrolytes, which help keep muscles hydrated.

  • Available without a prescription
  • Natural ingredients
  • Contains electrolytes
  • Affordable
  • Disclaims that it's not for long-term weight loss
CON

Using a diuretic as a primary means for weight loss is not a healthy plan. This typically requires that you rid your body of important water needed for function. That is why Xpel is recommended strictly for professional athletes.

  • Contains caffeine, a stimulant and diuretic
  • Not for long-term results
  • Specific side effects not cited
INGREDIENTS

The herbal blend in Xpel is patented. There is concern that Xpel contains two sources of caffeine, as it acts as a stimulant and known to give the jitters and a queasy stomach. Caffeine is also a popular diuretic. Some of these ingredients include:

  • Green tea leaf - caffeine
  • Guarana seed extract - caffeine
  • Dandelion extract - diuretic
  • Buchu leaf - South African plant with a peppermint flavor
  • Horsetail extract - helps the body absorb calcium
EXERCISE

Xpel does not make mention of the inclusion of exercise while using its product. However, it is recommended for use only by athletes who are already committing to regular exercise.

CONCLUSION

Xpel is certainly not recommended for anyone looking for a healthier lifestyle or any long-term results. It is sold as a tool for athletes to rid their body of additional water weight prior to an event. Before taking a diuretic like Xpel, you should consult your physician.

Common Misspellings

Expel, X-Pel, XPEL, Xpel Diuretic


Related Diets: Green Tea, Hydroxycut, Body Building Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 41 total comments)

Mike

I am using this product to cut weight for a military weigh in. I'm in good shape now, but have 3 pounds to loose in a week after I seemed to have leveled off. I started two days ago and will check my weight today. Xpel was recommended to me by my MMA coach, so I am expecting good results.

posted Dec 16th, 2009 9:23 am


Rocketansky

I noticed a change in 2 days. I'm not gonna take these after 5 days, and see if there is a diffrence

posted Dec 7th, 2009 2:37 am


wsn

this product is only good to take before an event and not for daily use. gonna end up with prostate or bladder issues ....

posted Dec 6th, 2009 7:36 am


chris

I would like to try expel to get rid of excess water weight. I do not exercise alot. I am pretty much at home right now. Is Expel right for me?

posted Dec 2nd, 2009 4:45 pm


Marcee

I've read several reviews comparing this to other "sgredding" diuretics, and by far, Xpel seems to be the most promising out there. I'm going to buy some today and start from there.

I'll post in a few days and let y'all know how it's working for me.

posted Nov 18th, 2009 12:59 pm


rodney

i do like this stuff it flushes u out.. i been taking it for 3 or 4 days now and it does give me a slight headache but my mucles feel harder.. im gonna continue this product with great confidence that it will show more results.

posted Nov 9th, 2009 10:50 pm


tre

i have been taking it 4 three days now and really have not seen results yet, but my muscles do seem fuller and harder, hopefully it will tighten up my midsection alot more.

posted Aug 16th, 2009 4:41 pm


Julie

I decided to try these pills 3 days ago since I am planning on going to the beach tomorrow. I though it would help slim me down so I'd look great in my bikini but it did nothing. I have not dropped 1lb. I've been taking 4 day. Maybe I don't retain water...not really sure. I do eat a very healthy and low sodium diet so maybe there was just no excess water to flush but I'm disappointed

posted Jul 18th, 2009 6:48 pm


rose

I have been taking X-Pel for about 6 mos. I don't use it daily-I do work out 3- 4x week. I really only use it on days when I take the turbo kicking class when I know I will be working out hard. I like to sweat out more, when doing the class. It has worked for me. I see more definition in my muscles plus I do weight training after the turbo class. I don't take the recommmended doses however, because I am small framed & petite so I use 1 X-pel for the whole day. No side effects and get results. Very satisfied -Thanks and hope this helps

posted May 26th, 2009 1:41 pm


Kris

I've been taking it for 4 days now and I have been drinking 8 glasses of water each day as directed but have had a headache the last 2 days...I do feel more toned, but I was told I would loose 10 lbs by the 5th day...i don't know if this is the case.

posted Mar 13th, 2009 8:52 pm


kym

tried them a couple months ago read it wrong took 4 per day with lots of water worked great. bought some the other day realized was supposed to be 8 per day gave me headaches and nasuea.i will say the 4 per day worked well decrease your servings and drinks lots of water but remember it will all come back in like a week after you stop taking them not for long term use

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 7:58 pm


John

I'm getting bad headaches when I wake up since I started taking this. I've been taking it for 3 days now. Don't really see results yet either.

posted Jan 27th, 2009 8:30 pm


amanda

this pill i used after i had a baby it made me keep passing out. i did not feel normal for weeks after.

posted Jan 25th, 2009 8:03 pm


not mention

I have taken it and it works. It stop your back and feet from hurting . I saw and felt the difference in 3 days and look temendously. Now that I have gotten where I want to be I am going to work on calories and intake instead of continuely taking the xpel. Its great to me no side effect and drink lots of water do as direct. I also have acid reflux and helps me a lot also with that notice the difference.

posted Dec 14th, 2008 12:45 pm


cat

I am getting ready to try it

posted Dec 12th, 2008 11:32 pm


Cindy

This product actually works. Helped me shed excess water and tightened up my midsection.

posted Oct 9th, 2008 8:32 pm


nc

i use xpel 3-5 days before an event (ie. photo shoot, special occassions, etc). i have no side effects. i drink water regularly even when im not on xpel but when i start taking xpel i drink a little bit more. it does not take all the water from your body. believe it or not, the more water intake the more water retention (even without xpel). do your research! it is not a method for permanent weight lose.

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:01 pm


anonymous

this sounds really wrong and my cousin and his friend are using it and htye don't know that i know but im going to tellt here parents and see what they do then

posted Jul 28th, 2008 9:11 am


Tastan

Do you research first! It won't take all the water out of your body. Drink plenty of water, and follow directions and you won't have side effects. Dont' use it for a long time though

posted Apr 9th, 2008 7:08 am


hankyspank

i would not use this as a DIET



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account