Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

88%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 17 reviews

The Weight Loss Cure

Kevin Trudeau says his cure for obesity has been suppressed by the establishment.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Author Kevin Trudeau says he has a big secret to share; one he claims has been locked away from the public for 30 years or more. Trudeau says that 30 years ago, an English physician uncovered the end-all cure for obesity. In his book, The Weight Loss Cure, Trudeau introduces the public to revolutionary information that he says the FDA, AMA, diet industry and food manufacturers have worked steadfastly to keep away from the public.

The Weight Loss Cure aims to help you overcome obesity once and for all. Suggesting that obese and overweight people can blame their condition on "uncontrollable urges to eat when not hungry, low metabolism, abnormally high amount of fat stores.

PRO
  • New York Times Bestselling author
  • Removes fat
  • Boosts metabolism and energy
  • Reduces hunger and cravings
  • Rids toxins from the body
  • Claims to uncover hidden secrets about the weight loss industry
CON
  • Author has a criminal background
  • Author does not have a medical background
  • New York Consumer Protection Board warns of Trudeau's history of making false claims/fraud
  • Proposes one solution for fighting obesity; not customized to the individual
  • Uncomplimentary consumer reviews
  • Recommends colonics every-other-day for 30 days
  • All food purchased must be 100-percent organic (can be costly)
  • Treatments not FDA approved
  • Promotes hCG injections
DIET and NUTRITION

The diet outlined in The Weight Loss Cure recommends eating only 100-percent organic foods for the first 30 days. These resources are not necessarily available in all communities and are often quite expensive. There is also a high herbal supplement regimen to commit to. Several herbs and upward of nine pills a day will be taken with this plan.

The book recommends having hCG injections daily. The hCG hormone produced in pregnant women to protect the body from losing good fat and muscle. The FDA has not approved this treatment for losing weight. Few medical doctors will prescribe nor offer this treatment.

EXERCISE

The Weight Loss Cure is one of many weight loss programs that suggests that limited or no exercise is necessary to lose weight and keep it off. It's recommended that you visit with your physician before committing to any program that removes consistent physical activity.

CONCLUSION

The book The Weight Loss Cure proposes to offer the cure for weight loss. The author, Kevin Trudeau, makes it clear that these are not his findings, but those of a British medical doctor about 30 years ago. Trudeau says he's presenting this information to the public for the first time, in spite of reputable organizations like the FDA and AMA. Trudeau does not have any medical or nutritional background. In fact, his resume ranges from billiards to alternative medicine and now weight loss. Trudeau does not have a flattering reputation and many websites warn consumers of his criminal background, including fraud.

While the book is discussed across the Web, its own site offers very limited information - merely Kevin's testimonial and an opportunity to order the book for a reduced price.

Common Misspellings

The Wieght Loss Cure, Wait Loss Cure, Weight Lose Cure, Kevin Truedo, Keven Trudeau


Related Diets: hCG Diet, Jillian Michaels' Master Your Metabolism, Colonics, Metabolic Syndrome Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 26 total comments)

Jason Schembri

I tried this diet in 2009 and had amazing success. Everything went exactly as described in the book including the lack of hunger experienced and the loss of stored fat. I was actually physically stronger during and after the protocol indicating no loss of muscle tissue. I recommend everyone with weight issues to try this diet for themselves and ignore those critics that would discourage you.

posted Apr 2nd, 2010 6:49 pm


NORMA

I DID NOT LOOSE ONE POUND A DAY, BUT I DID LOOSE 15 POUNDS IN 40 DAYS. I AM VERY HAPPY BECAUSE I HAD TRIED SO MANY DIFFERENT DIETS AND I COULDN'T LOOSE ANYTHING AT ALL SO, 15 POUNDS LESS IN MY BODY MAKES ME FEEL VERY GOOD.

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 2:37 pm


Heather

Weight Loss Cure works just like it says and you do not have to do everything recommended. Find things online (including hCG) and do what you can. I gave myself injections and felt great while losing 25 lbs in under a month. It is staying off with no cravings, even during the holidays. It is an eye-opener to the truth and possibly the best gift you will ever give yourself if you just try it - read it cover to cover.

posted Dec 15th, 2009 11:36 pm


LORENA

I have lost 7.5 pounds in 4 days!!!! im loving it!

posted Oct 23rd, 2009 4:45 pm


Krissie

I am doing this diet now. I have lost 5 pounds in 4 days. Yes it works but I am hungry all the time. You don't need to buy the book and they have sublingual (you take under your tongue) HCG now. That is what I am using and it is working great!!!

posted Oct 10th, 2009 6:08 pm


Ann

I am on the "last leg" of phase 2; today is my last 24 hours of the 72-hour post period. This is BY FAR the best weight-loss "program" I have ever tried. As of this morning, I have lost a total of 37 pounds. Hunger was never a problem during this phase. However, I did get very bored with the food I was allowed to eat (despite my creativity) and have thought about my first day of phase 3 for weeks now. I did experience headaches several times and did get some acne breakout on my face. All in all, I have nothing bad to say about this diet and recommed it to everyone. Not only does it change your body, but your mind as well. This is definitely not for those with low will power, that is for sure. As soon as the holidays are over, I will be doing Round 2. Good luck to anyone who gives this a try!

posted Oct 2nd, 2009 12:09 pm


Di

I will be starting this diet next week. If I had not known someone first hand that had tried it, I would NEVER have considered it. To me, at first, the injections sounded way too extreme. My brother in law has lost 38 lbs. My two sisters have also had great success. One has lost 23, the other 28. My husband is against me trying this diet, but my family swears by it. They do not have any sens of having to go hungry. I am worried about being able to have the willpower to stay away from sweets and any fat whatsoever, but I am also very hopeful.

posted Sep 21st, 2009 1:28 am


Michelle

I have been on the HCG diet and found it great!! If you experience charley horses-try trace mineral tablets-they cured all!! Also, my MD has me on a potassium pill during the diet

posted Aug 30th, 2009 12:40 am


Julie

Liked it a lot! Helped to get weight off I had been trying for for months.

posted Jun 24th, 2009 10:20 am


tyrantozone

Really worked. I lost 40 pounds in 62 days and now maintaining fine.

posted Jun 23rd, 2009 9:23 am


Gm7b5

KT's book is essentially Naturopathy 101 - nothing new here. The suggestion of 15 colonics in 30 days is a bit too much...as a colon hydrotherapist, I'd offer that 1-2 per week is plenty, especially coupled with everything else on his list.

As someone who tried the HCG diet, I found the injections unpleasant, but not nearly as unpleasant as the charley horse I had 5 days into the diet. This leg cramp was so bad I couldn't walk for 3 days and ended up in the hospital. My heart rate became erratic and my breathing was also affected by it. That ended the diet for me.

I was doing it alone (w/o medical supervision) and I recently met a ND who has gone on it himself and also experienced the same severe charley horse.

I do know people who have experienced very rapid and enjoyable weight loss on HCG, and I'm understandably envious. But I just don't think I could go back on it without absolute certainty I wouldn't experience such a horrible leg cramp (or worse) again, with or without electrolyte supplementation. It was just too freaking scary.

posted Apr 26th, 2009 5:22 am


Andrea

I would not be considered overweight but had a few problem areas and about 15 lbs to shed to reach my goal.
Just starting my 5th week and already lost 9lbs., I have great energy and even deviated from the diet a little (wine and a few small sweet treats) I think its great

posted Mar 25th, 2009 2:34 pm


Pertti Mustajoki

There are 4 double-blind controlled trials on HCG, first in 1976. None of them showed any effect.

Stein MR, Julis RE, Peck CC. ym. Ineffectiveness of human chorionic gonadotropin in weight reduction: a double-blind study. Am J Clin Nutr 1976;29:940-8.

Young RL, Fuchs RJ, Woltjen MJ. Chorionic gonadotropin in weight control. A double- blind crossover study. JAMA 1976;236:2495-7.

Miller R, Schneiderman LJ. A clinical study of the use of human chorionic gonadotrophin in weight reduction. J Fam Pract 1977;4:445-8.

Bosch B, Venter I, Stewart RI, Bertram SR. Human chorionic gonadotrophin and weight loss. A double-blind placebo-controlled trial. A Afr Med J 1990;77:185-9.

posted Feb 15th, 2009 3:41 am


anastasia

UNBELIEVABLE BUT ABSOLUTELY TRUE TRUE TRUE....THIS DIET IS IT!!!...I have thyroid, pocs,high cholestrol,had been on steroids in the past becoz of a serious back issue...gained 60lbs in no time at all...absolutely zilch excersice, no metabolism to talk about...tried & wasted 1000's on various expensive diets....la /jenny craig/atkins/southbeachetc...which were all too complicated ,expensive& so short term & sum which didn't work at all!!! As a last resort & so discouraged with every thing around (a friend who owns a natural health clinic swore that she had seen several patients loose on this new diet adminstered by a naturopath no less which was no less than a miracle & she would be doing it & encouraged i do it too) I resigned myself to the fact that i had tried so many anyways and another added to my done this list would not make a earth shaking diffrence so i said YES!).....At first i had many reservations...the daily injections...the hormones administered ...500 calories...no oil.. etc but i jumped in nevertheless...and OMG! to my surprise...off went 1 lb per day as promised...first time in my life morning weight ins became a happy obsession...till in 43 days i was down by 25 lbs( despite the fact I had caught the flu ,followed by my periods so missed a good 8 days in between)...my friend by 33lbs in our first phase...after a six week rest phase ( a single pound gained this after no excercise or diet to talk about!)am crossing fingers my second yet short round 23 days( have a vacation to go) are equally miraculous!! I FELL I HAVE FOUND THE BIGGEST SECRET IN WEIGHT LOSS WORLD & MY BODY HAS PROVEN ITS TRUE!!)

posted Jan 25th, 2009 12:37 am


MAC

I followed KT's book. Yes it's Dr. Simeons who started this program. If you read the book you will understand why KT added clensing and organic foods. It's logical regarless who publishes the info. The problem is not one has the balls to publish this info when the FDA is as anal as all hell. When the FDA can't profit they will not endorse. I followed KT's book and lost over 30 pounds and did not need to continue losing any more wait. I have maintained it for over a year. I look and feel great. I've also read all KT's books and feel that anyone who does not should not pass judgement until they read and research. We all make mistackes in life and if you continue to judge someone on the same mistake you are no better. KT's past is an excuse somenone usese to try and discredit someone else (That's politics). Great program KT, keep educating us on the crap the FDA prevents us from knowing.

posted Dec 29th, 2008 10:30 pm


Jose

I have lost 17 pounds so far in 17 days - after months of research before deciding to move forward. My wife has lost 12 so far. I recommend finding a doctor to supervise the program to ensure that your lab work is done, medical history reviewed, and your vitals are being monitored before attempting ANY weight-loss program - especially one that has such startling results.



While I think the publicity for the protocol is good, KT is once again simply making money from someone else's work. Don't let him and his history dissuade you from talking with a professional treatment facility supervised by a medical doctor regarding whether HCG can work for you. For *ME* - yes - it truly is a weight-loss cure.



My treatment program is not ridiculously complicated like KT's. It is simply hcg, low-cal diet, and lifestyle changes which will last long-term.

posted Nov 28th, 2008 10:07 pm


Kristy

What did people eat for the first 2 days of the phase 2 where you are supposed to gorge yourself? In the book, it doesn't say that you are supposed to avoid anything, just eat a lot of fat

posted Nov 20th, 2008 2:33 pm


Happy

My husband and I used HCG and it was the best diet we have ever done! this is the only diet I have ever used where I didn't starve to loose. We went to a clinic in Colorado Springs, and were evaluated first, and used the original protocol by Dr. Simeons, NOT the "Phases" recomended in this book. My husband lost 45 pounds and I have lost 28 pounds so far. We feel like we are 10 years younger.



Find a good doctor or clinic and you will not be sorry.

posted Oct 29th, 2008 10:58 am


Bonnie

I bought Kevin's book and did only one thing he recommended...take HCG. It works I have lost 35 pounds and kept it off. I have done every diet out there. I trained for and ran a marathon. Nothing would take the weight off. HCG does work!

posted Jul 28th, 2008 9:11 am


Mike

The book lays out program that works wonderfully, with a little focus. The HCG is the trick to easy weight loss with dieting... it help the appite and the weight come off the hard to get areas, which always come off last.. As to say about Kevin be carefull, I working with a doctor, full blood test, tracking the changes in blood work up, vidials.... But yes I highly recommend it.... as fast way to loose weight in the correct areas.... Good Luck..

posted Apr 25th, 2008 6:13 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account