Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 21 reviews

The Genotype Diet

A customized diet based on your DNA.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Have you ever felt that your body's natural wiring is stopping you from obtaining your weight loss goals? Many people share this very common problem. The Genotype Diet calculates the way your body reacts to dieting and then creates a custom plan to counteract your body's natural tendencies. Created by Dr. Peter D'Adamo, this completely custom program will help you resist your body's negative predispositions and drop the pounds.

By taking a few measurements of your body, all outlined in the book, you can determine how your genetic code places you into one of six lifestyle groups. Things like thumbprint, blood type and torso length vs. leg length are all signs of your genetic code.

He says research has found that 70% of your genes are changeable because they are influenced so heavily by your environment. "It's possible, all experts in complete agreement, the single biggest influence environmentally on gene expression is diet. Here we have an entirely new way of understanding how supplements work, an entirely different way of looking at food, and what it's doing with the expression on your genes," said Dr. D'Adamo during an interview with DietsInReview.com.

PRO
  • The Genotype Diet is tailored to your body
  • The program is backed by years of positive scientific research
  • Dr. D'Adamo is a well respected nutritionist professional
  • The program comes with 24-hour support lines
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Parts of the research have been criticized by other medical professionals
DIET and NUTRITION

The Genotype Diet promotes healthy eating, and custom tailors a diet to fit your specific needs. Based on your particular body type, Genotype will fine tune the plan to both agree with and optimize your metabolism. Each person will be categorized per their particular body type, and then given custom meal plans and recipes per that categorization. For instance, a "hunter" will enjoy Grilled Steak with Red Onions and Peas while a "gatherer" will have Asian Vegetable Stir Fry.

EXERCISE

The Genotype Diet prescribes exercises that, like the food plans, meet the needs of each individual person.

CONCLUSION

If you are confused about which diet plan is right for you, have Genotype Diet tell you what is right for your body. The Genotype Diet takes all the guess work out of losing weight and puts you on a healthy and accurate plan to achieve the body that you've been dreaming of.

Common Misspellings

The Geno-Type Diet, geotype diet, geneotype diet, genetype diet


Related Diets: Eat Right for Your Type, The Spectrum Diet, Blood Type diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 31 total comments)

Karrah

This diet has been a god-send! I am an explorer but with AB+. (at least when I checked years ago I was, who knows, maybe I am a negative secretor as explorers blood tend to change) Years ago I read Eat for Your Blood Type. I couldn't believe all the foods that I had to cut out. I thought Dr. D'Adamo was crazy.

Fast forward 13 years or so and I am STILL having trouble, even though I have cut out a lot of foods on the genotype diet. (I did this before reading his newest book) I learned that I need to be very lean on portions, fats/nuts/seeds and eat a lot of plant foods like spirulina.

I just ordered this shake (has 3 kinds of whey) which I will drink 2x daily. The other times, I will be using plant powders for my protein mostly. Only a few times a week will I be actually eating protein. I will continue to eat all veggies for carbs. I will not be eating some grains and dairy like the book suggests. They make me super sick. It has helped eating a very strict Paleo diet. Between the two, I am doing better, but not to where I want to be yet. As an Explorer, we are medical enigams...isn't that the truth! I've been searching for a solution my entire life.

On another note, this book has helped me find out my nationality. I was abandoned and left at a government station in S Korea in 1974. For my entire life, I have always wondered "who I was." This book helped determine that I am part Russian. I have always been fascinated with Russia. I hope to find my answer someday. I am actually in the process of learning the language, moving there once I become fluent and find a job in Moscow and becoming a Russian Orthodox. I can't say enough good things about this book!!

I found out that my boyfriend is a warrior 100%!! I read portions of the book to him and he looked at me and asked,"are you sure you're not a psychic?" My bf is more than skeptical about anything. Eventually he believed that there has to be some truth to this book. I love this book so much that I think I will purchase it instead of just checking it out from the library again like I did last time!!

Thanks for such an AMAZING and LIFE CHANGING book!!

posted Nov 16th, 2011 12:36 pm


Kab

This is not a one size fits all program. Each person is unique and this program allows for that by tailoring a food list that is needed based on foods that your blood type can digest and avoid damage.

Yes, eating right does cost more, but it is saving medical expenses, and pain/suffering in the long run.

I have seen improvements after a short time on the GTD. There isn't a diet program out there with negative and positive reviews. Find something that you can do and stick with it.

posted Apr 10th, 2011 5:19 pm


Donna

I've lost over 28 pounds* four children* I've catered to my husbands food instead of mine* It's OK to make different dishes * I haven't been this weight over 14 years ago* I feel great* I have energy I even coached a soccer team last year***

posted Feb 14th, 2011 9:54 am


Aristobulus

I was on D'Adomo's diet since 1996. This nw one has helped me even more. With very few exceptions, the foods he recommends for hunters is what my body deals with. My only disappointmen is that I am unable to find sweat potato greens o discover what he means by 100% artichoke flour. Does he mean Jerusalem artichoke flour?? And if not, where does one obtain this stuff?

posted Jul 18th, 2010 9:20 pm


STG

I find the concepts in the GTD to be interesting. My problem with the approach is that DTD does not address differences in age groups. What a hunter or teacher can eat at 25 may be different at 60. Aging adults often have multiple issues (e.g. rising blood sugar and insulin levels;
inflammation, autoimmune issues and allergies; assimilation and digestion issues). In other words, the various conditions that each genotype is prone to may all appear in one individual! Also, I found that I seemed to be a mix of two types. Perhaps D'Adamo future books will address these issue?

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 1:24 pm


Ron T

I'm an A+ and a Teacher. I've had chronic foot fungus and now that's GONE. I've been on the diet 2 months. Yes, it can be expensive to eat these foods but it's my health and it's worth it--if you read the book CLOSELY, there is a section where Dr. D talks about other things AS IMPORTANT as the foods, such as sleep, eating prior to 7pm, exercise, etc. You're not suppose to get too obsessed with the food lists!! The naysayers are oversimplifying this whole thing. Complaining about not finding "emu"? Come on!! Also, those who say it costs too much? What is more important that the food you eat? All I can say is, I feel better. Try it.

posted Jan 12th, 2010 7:06 pm


Sarah

I've Been on (and off) the GTD for about 8 months and as one who frequently "falls off the wagon" I think I have some special insight :o)

I keep reading things like, "it's too hard" and "there's no support," etc. Dr. D didn't give you the genetic profile, he just shows you how to deal with it. He's a doctor, not your mommy.

The GTD IS hard but then, its not a crash diet to help you lose weight, its a lifestyle change; isn't any lifestyle change hard? To be successful the GTD takes committment, discipline, and a positive attitude. The results will not be seen overnight, in fact it will probably take at least 2 months for you to really experience the benefits.

You are the only person responsible for your health. If you are not willing to make difficult decisions to achieve maximum health, then you have to accept that you will not feel as good as you could! I know that when I eat sugar, gluten, or soy I'll feel sick, but it is my responsibility.

If the GTD doesn't sound like your cup of tea, buy some pills that help you deal with the symptoms of your poor diet. You still won't feel as good as you could, but that's the easy answer.

posted Dec 14th, 2009 12:45 pm


Heather

I really recommend reading this book if you are interested in health issues. There were a lot of points made I had never thought of before and I seemed to fit my genotype (Hunter). However, keeping in mind that this is a new science and so IMHO it wouldn't be good to get too fanatical about following every little point. The lists of foods you can/ can't eat (esp the strange, unknown ones in the "can eat" column) is more fanatical than practical, and in another 30 years scientists will be saying something totally different anyway.

posted Oct 15th, 2009 2:33 pm


Jean Petersen

Doctor D 'Adamo,
Will you be publishing ratings on foods which are not as yet in your books? I have searched your Website with no results.
Example, hemp & it's oil, pau 'd Arco are two of many I have hoping to find. I began using the diet about 10 years ago.

posted Sep 4th, 2009 9:15 pm


Roland

First off, some of the negative reviews include ridiculously ignorant statements.

I can forgive the odd good choices, just because something isn't popular doesn't mean it isn't good for us.

What I cannot forgive is the recipes. How on earth do they justify charging a very high fee for recipes that are rubbish. One so called recipe is roast beef. The recipe ingredients is roast beef, the directions is to roast the beef. Ummm, really?! Wow I would never have thought of that!

Another example is the open roast beef sandwich. Ingredients one slice of flax bread and roast beef. That is it, that is the whole freaking recipe.

Of ALL of the recipes that show up with 'beef' as the search term, and NOMAD as the diet type (which emphasizes beef) one is useful and not creative at all.

No wonder they abandoned the business model to charge for the recipes. There are no recipes.

I'd say buy the book as it is worth it. Learn a bit but know that you're on your own, they have near zero support.

posted Jul 12th, 2009 3:51 pm


Chiara

I have been on the BTD for 3 months. It immediately got rid of my stomach aches, gas and bloating. My frequent lifelong headaches are gone. My tendonitis and body aches are gone. My energy level has improved. Staying off wheat, corn, oats, peanuts, potatoes, pork and dairy has been a challenge but totally worth it. FYI my cholesterol dropped from 212 to 180 with my good cholesterol really high and my bad cholesterol really low. I'm convinced. It's not brainwashing - it's results!

posted Jul 3rd, 2009 12:00 pm


nelle

Very disappointed - read the book but no specific diet plan as promised, only a very short rediculous food list (emu?!) with no guidance. The promise to find out more about your specific diet on website leads you to paying WEEKLY for advice, very misleading.

posted Apr 27th, 2009 10:05 am


Maryanne

I was diagnosed of Sacroilitis, Fibromyalgia, Ankylosing Spondylitis. It's been more than a year since I stopped working. I've tried different diets like alkaline diet, suzanne somers diet, and others. Is so doing I have discovered that my food intake affects my condition big time! I have an inflammation in my gut which affects my whole body. I am a Hunter. When I discovered the book from our public library, I felt hopeful that it might help me. I feel that the book is so right onto something. I started the diet and I woke up without achiness and soreness and felt stronger. I will continue this diet and keep you posted when I'm better and able to go back to work! I'm excited.

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 1:59 pm


Italybound

James, the info in wikipedia can be written by anyone can't it? You say the people on BTD/GTD are trying to get you sick to make you buy more. Buy more of what? There is nothing to buy but a book. If you have the internet, you can log right on to Dr D'Adamo's website and read all about it for FREE. How much more generous can one man be?
And James, honestly, calling someone you know nothing about a bastard, makes you look petty and sad. Don't you think?
John, you got Omega 6 deficiency after 3 months on the diet? Highly unlikely given our society's foods are CHOCK FULL of omega6. Thus the reason so many have to supplement w/ omega3.
For those of you who find the foods for GTD too hard to find or too costly, please have a look at BTD. I started on BTD and have remained there. Just haven't made the switch. Honestly don't know if I will. That is not to take anything away from GTD, it's just that I have done so extremely well on BTD, I sort of feel like "if it ain't broke, don't fix it", ya know. For me, BTD got rid of daily migraines and sinus headaches. Other sinus issues, many many digestive problems, and varied arthritis like pains. I'm not one to stick to a diet but somehow I gave it a real try. Three months at 100% percent. Had I not done the 'diet' at 100%, I would've never known just how wonderful I can really feel!!!
I challenge :-) each of you who has a doubt, to find out your blood type, secretor status, especially if you're an A blood type, and give it the same chance I did. Three months at 100%. I did it cold turkey.
I still follow BTD. I'm not as compliant as I was. Do I pay for eating things I shouldn't? Sadly yes. On the other hand, feeling like crud helps to reinforce the fact that I shouldn't be eating certain foods. Gets me back on track.
I can never ever thank Dr D'Adamo (and my sister who introduced me to BTD) enough!!!! Life hasn't been the same.........I mean that in a good way. :)

posted Feb 18th, 2009 10:12 pm



BandGTD Aficionado

See my comment under Blood Type Diet. It applies to the Genotype Diet as well. I was on the Blood Type Diet for years before transitioning to Dr. D'Adamo's Genotype Diet when it came out. In short: both of these diets RULE. They are customized, whole-foods-oriented, empowering, cravings-busting, health-bestowing, and just generally a joy to live by.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 2:56 pm


Arlene

Even though we are both type blood type B, I am an Explorer and he is a Nomad. That helped clear up why the same foods affect us differently. It has helped me learn more about myself. I am B-, non-secretor, super taster and my son is B+, secretor taster. We are unique individuals, so why does the general public think a one size food pyramid should fit all. I went even further and had a personalized SWAMI done that took into account my medical history and my ancestry. I would recommend this diet to everyone.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 8:55 pm


Diana

Excellent explanation of my personality..Warrior. Incredibly accurate in the profile of me as a Warrior genotype. Dr. D'Adamo said Warriors have thick blood for quick healing from battle wounds...I found out I have a blood clotting disorder...nothing bad...my blood clots quickly! A coincidence?? Nope.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 7:42 pm


debra+

Eight years on BTD and over one year on GTD. Things have really improved and sense of well-being is so wonderful. Don't let the naysayers get you down. I don't. Give it a try before you judge.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 5:57 pm


D'Adamo Fan

See my very positive comment on the related article regarding the Blood Type Diet, also by Dr. D. It applies to the Genotype Diet as well. Both are amazingly customized, individualized, and empowering for health.

posted Feb 17th, 2009 2:22 pm


Bubulina

I went to the local bookstore to check this book hoping to get good information on how to eat right for my type. I agree with the basic principle of his diet: everybody is different and should eat different. However, I found the diet awfully unrealistic: ostrich meat? No chicken at all? And all the other food I had never heard of before... I don't think this diet is feasible for 98% of people. If you limit yourself to the few foods you can buy locally out of the already limited foods you should only eat, you can end up depriving yourself of a lot of nutrients.

posted Feb 1st, 2009 6:19 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account